Claims 4-9, 12-14 and 16-19 are presented for examination.
Applicants’ information disclosure statement filed June 5, 2026 has been received and entered.
Applicants’ amendment and response filed June 8, 2026 have been received and entered.
Accordingly, the rejection made under non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,325,698 B2 as set forth in the previous Office action dated March 10, 2026 at pages 2-4 as applied to claims 4-16 is hereby WITHDRAWN due to applicants’ remarks.
Double Patenting
Claims 4-9, 12-14 and 16 are again provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-18 of copending Application No. 19/203,828 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of record, for reason of record as set forth in the previous Office action dated March 10, 2026 at pages 4-7 as applied to claims 4-16 is hereby MAINTAINED.
Applicants respectfully defer addressing the present rejection until there is allowable subject matter in the reference application or present application.
Claims 4-9, 12-14 and 16 are not allowed.
The rejection made under provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection is adhered to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4-9, 12-14 and 16 are again rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2020/022600 A1, hereby known as Bae et al.
The applied reference has a common joint inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Applicants’ remarks regarding the Bae et al. reference does not anticipate the instant claims for treating cancer in patients having cancer comprising the specific dual FLT3 mutants (ITD mutation and D835 point mutation) and FLT3 point mutations (specific D835 point mutations D835F, D8351, D835H, and D835A) and compounds of Formula 1 recited in the present claims (see compound of claim 4 (see page 38, Example 10) and instant compound of claim 5, (see page 37, Example 8) . However, the Bae et al. reference does teach a specific subpopulation of patients having cancer comprising the same specific dual FLT3 mutants (ITD mutation and D835 point mutation) and FLT3 point mutations (specific D835 point mutations D835F, D8351, D835H, and D835A); therefore, the specific subpopulation of patients having the same cancer is anticipated and encompassed by the broad present application’ method.
The rejection made under 35 USC 102(a)(2) is hereby MAINTAINED.
Claims 4-9, 12-14 and 16 are not allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-9, 12-14 and 16-19 are again rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/022600 A1, hereby known as Bae et al. in view of Liu et al., Journal of Hematology & Oncology, Vol. 10, No. 145, pages 1-7 (2017), because of record, for reason of record as set forth in the previous Office action dated March 10, 2026 at pages 8-10 as applied to claims 4-19 is hereby MAINTAINED.
Applicants’ remarks regarding the Bae et al. reference does not disclose the applicants’ instant compounds are not persuasive since the Bae et al. disclose applicants’ instant compound of claim 4 (see page 38, Example 10) and instant compound of claim 5, (see page 37, Example 8). Also note the Bae et al. reference does teach the compounds various abnormal overexpression and mutations of FLT3 such as D835V, D835Y and ITD that are found in patients with leukemia. Note applicants does not disclose any unexpected results for the combination of the instant compounds and the secondary active agent, an SYK inhibitor. Note Gilteritinib is not classified as a SYK inhibitor.
Claims 4-9, 12-14 and 16-19 are not allowed.
The rejection made under 35 USC 103 is adhered to.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KEVIN E. WEDDINGTON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1629
/KEVIN E WEDDINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629