Claims 4-19 are presented for examination.
Applicants’ drawings filed December 12, 2023 have been received and entered.
Applicants’ information disclosure statements filed August 8, 2023; October 25, 2023; February 12, 2024; November 11, 2024; and May 27, 2025 have been received and entered.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 4-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,325,698 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented application teaches compounds of chemical Formula 1, as stereoisomer thereof, or a mixture of stereoisomers thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt and/or solvate thereof, and pharmaceutical compositions containing these compounds (A product), and the present application teaches a method of use claims containing the compounds and compositions of the patented application therein which makes the composition claims of the patented application obvious variation of the present application’s claims.
Claims 4-16 are not allowed.
Double Patenting
Claims 4-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-11, 13-15 and 9-18 of copending Application No. 19/203,828 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present application teaches a method of treating cancer in a subject in need thereof comprising administering to the subject a compound of chemical Formula 1, a stereoisomer, and tautomer thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, or solvate thereof, wherein the cancer is associated with
internal tandem duplication (ITD) mutation and at least one FLT3 point mutation selected among F691L, D835Y, D835F, D8351, D835H, D835V and D835A, or
ii) at least one FLT3 point mutation selected among F691L, D835Y, D835F, D8351, D835H, D835V and D835A;
there cancer is leukemia, and the leukemia is acute myelogenous leukemia (AML), chronic myelogenous leukemia (CML), acute lymphocytic leukemia (ALL), chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL), acute promyelocytic leukemia (APL), hairy cell leukemia, or chronic neutrophilic leukemia (CNL), and the copending application teaches methods for treating a FLT3-mediated disease in a subject in need thereof comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a compound derived from the same compounds of chemical Formula 1, wherein the FLT3-rmediated disease is leukemia and the leukemia is acute myelogenous leukemia, acute lymphocytic leukemia, or chronic myelogenous leukemia.
Note in the copending application, the FLT3-mediated disease is caused by the FLT3 point mutation such as F691L, D835Y, D835F, D8351, D835H, D835V and D835A, thus being encompassed by the present application.
Claims 4-16 are not allowed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by WO 2020/022600 A1, hereby known as Bae et al.
The applied reference has a common joint inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claims 4-16 are not allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/022600 A1, hereby known as Bae et al. in view of Liu et al., “Syk inhibitors in clinical development for hematological malignancies”, Journal of Hematology & Oncology, Vol. 10, No. 145, pages 1-7 (2017).
Bea et al. teach pyrimidine compounds derived from the same chemical Formula 1 set forth on page 5, section [27] to page 7, section [68]. Note page 2, section [8] teaches the various abnormal overexpression and mutations of FLT3 such as D835V, D835Y and internal tandem duplication (ITD), that are found in patients with leukemia. Note page 37, Example 8, teaches applicants’ preferred active agent set forth in claim 5. Note page 38, Example 10, teaches applicants’ preferred active agent set forth in claim 4. Note page 67, claims 15-17 teaches the pyrimidine compounds are formulated into pharmaceutical compositions for the prevention or treatment of cancer, cancer comprises leukemia, leukemia comprises acute myelogenous leukemia, acute lymphocytic leukemia, or chronic myelogenous leukemia.
The instant invention differs from the cited reference in that the cited reference does not teach the addition of a second agent, an SYK inhibitor. However, the secondary reference, Liu et al., teaches Syk inhibitors are to treat hematological malignances such as leukemia (see the abstract). Clearly, one skilled in the art would have assumed the combination of two individual active agents, each known to treat hematological malignances and/or cancer such as leukemia, into a single combination would give an additive effect in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 4-19 are not allowed.
KEVIN E. WEDDINGTON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1629
/KEVIN E WEDDINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629