DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear what is meant by “wherein moving the magnet assembly from the first position to the second position including moving a component outside of a vacuum chamber that is magnetically coupled to the magnet assembly, the magnet assembly, ionization assembly, and the electron source are within the vacuum chamber.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 11, 12, 14, 16, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thermo Scientific, ISQ 7000 Mass Spectrometers Hardware Manual, December, 2018; cited in IDS, copy in IFW.
Regarding claim 1, Thermo Scientific discloses a mass spectrometer, comprising:
A removable ionization assembly including an ionization chamber and at least one ion lens, the removable ionization assembly having a primary axis defined by the direction of an ion beam exiting the ionization assembly, the ionization chamber and the at least one ion lens arranged along the primary axis (pp. 83, 86; Figs. 79 and 84);
An electron source aligned along the primary axis of the ionization assembly and configured to provide an electron beam parallel to the primary axis (Fig. 82); and
A magnet assembly including a magnet (pp. 375-376; Figs. 425-426);
The magnet assembly movable between a first position in which the magnet is positioned to allow removal of the ion source (when the manifold door is removed as in Fig. 426) and a second position in which the magnet is aligned with the electron source (When the manifold door is closed. P. 378, Fig. 431 shows it open, but it is clear from Figs. 431 combined with 436 and Fig. 49, pg. 62 that closing it will align the magnet with the ion source assembly.).
Regarding claim 2, Thermo Scientific discloses wherein the magnet assembly includes a second magnet (p. 375, “source magnets” implies at least two).
Regarding claim 4, Thermo Scientific discloses wherein the magnet assembly is thermally coupled to a portion of the vacuum chamber, the portion of the vacuum chamber acting as a heat sink (Figs. 426 and 427, the magnets are attached to the manifold door).
Regarding claim 5, Thermo Scientific discloses wherein the electron source includes a thermionic filament (p. 84, point 5).
Regarding claim 7, Thermo Scientific discloses wherein the magnet assembly rotates around a pivot point between the first position and the second position (p. 378, Fig. 431 – the magnet moves around the hinge of the door).
Claim 11 is drawn to the method of using the ion source of claim 1, and the same rejection applies mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claim 12, Thermo Scientific discloses inserting the ionization assembly or a replacement ionization assembly into the ion source, and moving the magnet assembly from the second position to the first position (pp. 375-378).
Regarding claim 13, the first position described in claim 11 is the position in which the manifold door of Thermo Scientific’s electron source is closed; therefore, the electron source is used to ionize a sample when the magnet is in the first position.
Claims 14, 16, 17, and 19 are drawn to the method of using the ion source of claims 2, 4, 5, and 7, and the same rejections apply mutatis mutandis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thermo Scientific.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Thermo Scientific teaches the ion source of claims 1 and 11, but fails to specify if the magnet is an electromagnet. The choice to use an electromagnet is one of a finite list of options (i.e. a permanent magnet or an electromagnet), which one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued with a reasonable expectation of success; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to try using electromagnets as Thermo Scientific’s magnets. See MPEP 2143(E).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Thermo Scientific teaches the ion source of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the electron source includes a field emitter. Field emitters are one of a finite list of options for electron sources, which one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued with a reasonable expectation of success; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an electron source including a field emitter as Thermo Scientific’s electron source.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10, 20 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 8, 9, 20 and 21, Thermo Scientific’s magnet assembly is moved by removing and replacing the manifold door, not by slidably translating or using a motor to move the magnet between the first position and the second position. Regarding claim 10, while Thermo Scientific teaches wherein the magnet assembly, ionization assembly, and electron source are within a vacuum chamber, it fails to teach wherein movement of the magnet assembly is controlled by a component outside the vacuum chamber and magnetically coupled to the magnet assembly.
/MICHAEL MASKELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881 07 January 2026