DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is taken in response to Applicant’s Amendment and Remarks filed on 11/24/2025
regarding Application No. 18/251,897 originally filed on 05/05/2023. Claims 1-2,4 and 6-7 as filed are currently pending and have been considered as follows:
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sagasaki (US Pub. No. 20220011754) in view of Kado (US Pub. No. 20150127140) in view of Saitou (US Pub. No. 20190129382) in further view of Brogaardh (WO Pub. No. 2008113807).
As per Claim 1, Sagasaki discloses of a numerical control device comprising:
a machine tool control module that controls operation of a machine tool based on a numerical control program to machine a workpiece; (as per Fig. 1, as per “A control system 100A is a system for controlling a machine tool 70 and a robot 60 by using numerical control (NC) programs” in ¶38)
a robot control module that generates operation command for a robot controller that controls operation of a robot to move a control point of the robot based on a numerical control program; (as per “sends the robot program to the robot controller 50X.” in ¶73, as per “the robot IF 510 performs a process associated with the function and the command coordinates on the robot 60” in ¶197)
wherein the robot control module includes:
a first movement command generator that calculates a target movement trajectory, which is a target of a movement trajectory of the control point, (as per "The function of G201 is a function of moving the robot 60 by linear interpolation (robot linear interpolation). Thus, G201 is a robot linear interpolation command for moving the robot 60 by linear interpolation." in ¶81)
generates a first movement command including the target movement trajectory based on the numerical control program; (as per Fig. 8 / Fig. 9)
a second movement command generator that generates a second movement command which does not include the target movement trajectory based on the numerical control program; (as per "or example, when A1=60 in an absolute command, the joint shaft moves to a position at 60°. Here, x represents a shaft name of a joint shaft, and is any of 1 to 6. For example, A1=abc (a, b, and c are numbers) in the shaft movement amount command system AM1 is a command for moving a joint of the robot 60 to an angle abc. The unit of Ax=_, which is a shaft movement amount, is an angle regardless of the settings of the robot 60." in ¶93, "As described above, a command in the shaft movement amount command system AM1 is a command for controlling the position of the robot 60 to be a position specified by a joint shaft of the robot 60 so that the movement time of the shaft to be moved by the longest movement distance is shortest." in ¶94)
a transmitter that transmits a movement command generated by the movement command generation subject to the robot controller to move the control point of the robot. (as per "The robot controller 50X controls the robot 60 in accordance with the robot program sent from the numerical control device 1X. " in ¶45)
the first movement command generator as a movement command generation subject when the robot is performing machining (as per “The function of G201 is a function of moving the robot 60 by linear interpolation (robot linear interpolation). Thus, G201 is a robot linear interpolation command for moving the robot 60 by linear interpolation” in ¶81, as per “In control system 100A, the robot 60 loads a raw workpiece 82 placed in a raw piece placement area 75 onto the machine tool 70 (ST1). The machine tool 70 machines the workpiece 82 by using a tool 71 (ST2)… Thereafter, the robot 60 grips a deburring tool 84, which is an external tool, with the robot hand 61, and the deburring tool 84 deburrs the machined workpiece 82 (ST4).” in ¶146)
the second movement command generator as the movement command generation subject when the robot is performing transporting. (as per “A second command system of robot joint interpolation commands is a shaft movement amount command system. In the description below, the shaft movement amount command system of robot joint interpolation commands will be referred to as a shaft movement amount command system AM1. The shaft movement amount command system AM1 of robot joint interpolation commands is a command system for controlling the position of the robot 60 to be a position specified by a joint shaft of the robot 60.” in ¶92, as per “the robot 60 moves the machined workpiece to the temporary placement area 76 in N730, the robot 60 temporarily places the machined workpiece in the temporary placement area 76” in ¶185)
Sagasaki fails to expressly disclose:
a storage device that stores at least either tool information on a shape of a tool used by the robot or workpiece information on an installation position of a workpiece to be machined by the machine tool:
a selector that selects the first movement command generator or selects the second movement command generator as the movement command generation subject;
wherein the first movement command generator generates the first movement command by compensating a movement trajectory of the control point designated by the numerical control program based on at least either of the tool information or the workpiece information.
Kado discloses of a numerical control system (as per Abstract), comprising a selector that selects the first movement command generator or selects the second movement command generator as the movement command generation subject. (as per “a switching unit that switches between a first processing mode in which a first position command for an amplifier, which drives a motor, is generated by performing an interpolation process and an acceleration/deceleration process on a program command in a program, and a second processing mode in which a position command for the amplifier is generated as a second position command generated every intra-amplifier control cycle by performing an acceleration/deceleration process on a command that is generated every intra-amplifier control cycle,” in ¶11, as per “When the initial mode parameter is a direct command (Yes at Step S1), the switching unit 13 switches the numerical control device 1 to the direct command mode (Step S2). In contrast, when the initial mode parameter is a normal processing command (No at Step S1), the switching unit 13 switches the numerical control device 1 to the normal processing mode (Step S3)” in ¶53, as per ¶28-¶29)
In this way, Kado operates to improve machining performance (as per ¶69). Like Sagasaki, Kado is concerned with numerical control systems.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the numerical control method unit as taught by Sagasaki with the numerical control system of Kado to enable another standard means of selecting a movement command. Such modification also allows the system to dynamically select between two movement commands (i.e. absolute command, joint interpolation, linear interpolation, etc.) (¶90-¶94, ¶111).
Sagasaki and Kado fail to expressly disclose:
a storage device that stores at least either tool information on a shape of a tool used by the robot or workpiece information on an installation position of a workpiece to be machined by the machine tool;
wherein the first movement command generator generates the first movement command by compensating a movement trajectory of the control point designated by the numerical control program based on at least either of the tool information or the workpiece information.
Saitou discloses of a numerical controller, comprising:
a storage device that stores tool information on a shape of a tool used by the robot (as per “If a machining program is given the shape of a machining surface, the numerical controller 310 generates a tool path through tool shape compensation. If a machining program is given the shape of a machining surface, the machining program includes information pieces from information Inf1A to Information Inf5A as follows: (Inf1A) information about the shape of a machining surface; (Inf2A) information about a characteristic shape on a machining surface; (Inf3A) information about a tool used for machining; (Inf4A) information about a machining condition; and (Inf5A) information about order of machining” in ¶42, as per “The information Inf3A (=information about a tool used for machining) includes information about the type, dimension, etc. of a tool, for example” in ¶44)
wherein the first movement command generator generates the first movement command by compensating a movement trajectory of the control point designated by the numerical control program based on the tool information. (as per “In another case, a machining program to be input into the numerical controller 310 is given a tool path resulting from offsetting of a tool shape to conform to the shape of a machining surface. If a machining program is given the shape of a machining surface, the numerical controller 310 generates a tool path through tool shape compensation” in ¶42, as per “If a machining program is given a tool path resulting from. offsetting of a tool shape to conform to the shape of a machining surface” in ¶43, ¶55)
In this way, Saitou operates to generate/alter control-relevant path data using tool geometry (dimensions) and tool offset/compensation (¶42-¶45). Like Sagasaki and Kado, Saitou is concerned with numerical control systems.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Sagasaki and Kado with the numerical controller of Saitou to yield a controller that adjusts the commanded trajectory using tool shape. Such modification also allows the system to offset a tool shape to conform to the shape of a machining surface (¶43).
Saitou fails to expressly disclose:
a storage device that stores workpiece information on an installation position of a workpiece to be machined by the machine tool;
wherein the first movement command generator generates the first movement command by compensating a movement trajectory of the control point designated by the numerical control program based on the workpiece information.
Brogaardh discloses of programming a material removal process carried out on an object by means of a robot, comprising:
a storage device that stores workpiece information on an installation position of a workpiece to be machined by the machine tool; (as per “picking a reference object processed with a desired process result, measuring the geometry of the processed parts of the reference object and storing the measurement results,” in P2L30-36, as per “measuring the geometry of the work object after the removal process and storing the measurement results,” in P3L1-6)
wherein the first movement command generator generates the first movement command by compensating a movement trajectory of the control point designated by the numerical control program based on the workpiece information. (as per “the deviations between the geometry of the robot processed work object and the processed reference object are calculated based on the stored measurements of the work object and the stored measurements of the reference object. In this way errors in the material removal of the robot are obtained and can be compensated for by adjusting the robot program throughout the programmed paths in such a way that the errors are compensated for” in P5L20-30, as per “The real pattern 35 is then measured by a scanner 36, which could be the same as the scanner 33, and the measured pattern profiles are compared with the CAD model or the processed reference object and the errors are then used to compensate the robot program iteratively. After that the production can start” in P12L15-25)
In this way, Brogaardh operates to alter control-relevant path data using workpiece information (P5L20-30). Like Sagasaki, Kado, and Saitou, Brogaardh is concerned with numerical control systems (P3L25-25).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Sagasaki, Kado, and Saitou with Brogaardh to yield a controller that adjusts the a trajectory using workpiece information. Such modification also allows the system to store workpiece measurement results and adjust/store a corresponding path for later selection (P12L15-25).
As per Claim 2, the combination of Sagasaki, Kado, Saitou, and Brogaardh teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Sagasaki further discloses wherein:
the first movement command includes a coordinate value of a designated position for each designated time obtained by time division of the target movement trajectory, (as per “In the coordinate command system CM1, a command of robot joint interpolation is issued in a format of “G200 RX_ RY_ RZ_ RA_ RB_ RC_ RS_ RT_ R_”. All of RX, RY, RZ, RA, RB, RC, RS, and RT are commands for the robot 60… RX_, RY_, and RZ_ in the coordinate command system CM1 are robot cartesian coordinate commands, and RA_, RB_, and RC_ are robot rotating coordinate commands. The robot cartesian coordinate commands are command specifying coordinates (X coordinate, Y coordinate, Z coordinate) in the cartesian coordinate system (X axis, Y axis, Z axis) of the robot 60. The robot rotating coordinate commands are commands specifying coordinates (A coordinate, B coordinate, C coordinate) in a rotating coordinate system (A axis, B axis, C axis) of the robot 60.” in ¶88-¶89, ¶66)
when the first movement command generator is selected as the movement command generation subject, the transmitter transmits the first movement command to the robot controller at each of the designated time. (as per “The program converting unit 414 converts the robot joint interpolation into robot program instructions corresponding to the robot joint interpolation by using the robot command list information 101, the association information 102, the joint interpolation information 103, and the address information 104.” in ¶143)
As per Claim 4, the combination of Sagasaki, Kado, Saitou, and Brogaardh teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1.
Sagasaki fails to expressly discloses wherein the selector selects, as the movement command generation subject, one of the first movement command generator and the second movement command generator based on the numerical control program.
See Claim 1 for teachings of Kado. Kado further discloses wherein the selector selects, as the movement command generation subject, one of the first movement command generator and the second movement command generator based on the numerical control program. (as per “a switching unit that switches between a first processing mode in which a first position command for an amplifier, which drives a motor, is generated by performing an interpolation process and an acceleration/deceleration process on a program command in a program, and a second processing mode in which a position command for the amplifier is generated as a second position command generated every intra-amplifier control cycle by performing an acceleration/deceleration process on a command that is generated every intra-amplifier control cycle,” in ¶11, as per “When the initial mode parameter is a direct command (Yes at Step S1), the switching unit 13 switches the numerical control device 1 to the direct command mode (Step S2). In contrast, when the initial mode parameter is a normal processing command (No at Step S1), the switching unit 13 switches the numerical control device 1 to the normal processing mode (Step S3)” in ¶53, as per ¶28-¶29)
In this way, Kado operates to improve machining performance (as per ¶69). Like Sagasaki, Kado is concerned with numerical control systems.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Sagasaki, Saitou, and Brogaardh with the numerical control system of Kado to enable another standard means of selecting a movement command. Such modification also allows the system to dynamically select between two movement commands (i.e. absolute command, joint interpolation, linear interpolation, etc.) (¶90-¶94, ¶111).
As per Claim 7, Sagasaki discloses of a numerical control device (as per Abstract), comprising:
a numerical control device that controls operation of a machine tool to machine a workpiece and generates a movement command for moving a control point of a robot, based on a numerical control program; (as per “A control system 100A is a system for controlling a machine tool 70 and a robot 60 by using numerical control (NC) programs” in ¶38, as per Fig. 1)
a robot controller that is communicable with the numerical control device and controls operation of the robot based on a movement command transmitted from the numerical control device, (as per “the machine tool 70, the numerical control device 1X, and the robot controller 50X communicate with each other, and the robot controller 50X and the robot 60 communicate with each other.” in ¶41)
wherein the numerical control device includes:
a first movement command generator that calculates a target movement trajectory, which is a target of a movement trajectory of the control point, (as per "The function of G201 is a function of moving the robot 60 by linear interpolation (robot linear interpolation). Thus, G201 is a robot linear interpolation command for moving the robot 60 by linear interpolation." in ¶81)
generates a first movement command including the target movement trajectory based on the numerical control program; (as per Fig. 8 / Fig. 9)
a second movement command generator that generates a second movement command which does not include the target movement trajectory based on the numerical control program; (as per "or example, when A1=60 in an absolute command, the joint shaft moves to a position at 60°. Here, x represents a shaft name of a joint shaft, and is any of 1 to 6. For example, A1=abc (a, b, and c are numbers) in the shaft movement amount command system AM1 is a command for moving a joint of the robot 60 to an angle abc. The unit of Ax=_, which is a shaft movement amount, is an angle regardless of the settings of the robot 60." in ¶93, "As described above, a command in the shaft movement amount command system AM1 is a command for controlling the position of the robot 60 to be a position specified by a joint shaft of the robot 60 so that the movement time of the shaft to be moved by the longest movement distance is shortest." in ¶94)
a transmitter that transmits a movement command generated by the movement command generation subject to the robot controller, (as per "The robot controller 50X controls the robot 60 in accordance with the robot program sent from the numerical control device 1X. " in ¶45)
wherein the robot controller moves the control point by controlling operation of the robot based on the second movement command when receiving the second movement command, (as per “The function of G200 is a function of causing the robot 60 to operate by joint interpolation (robot joint interpolation). Thus, G200 is a robot joint interpolation command for causing the robot 60 to operate by joint interpolation” in ¶79)
moves the control point by controlling operation of the robot to move the control point along the target movement trajectory when receiving the first movement command. (as per “The function of G201 is a function of moving the robot 60 by linear interpolation (robot linear interpolation). Thus, G201 is a robot linear interpolation command for moving the robot 60 by linear interpolation” ion ¶81)
the first movement command generator as a movement command generation subject when the robot is performing machining (as per “The function of G201 is a function of moving the robot 60 by linear interpolation (robot linear interpolation). Thus, G201 is a robot linear interpolation command for moving the robot 60 by linear interpolation” in ¶81, as per “In control system 100A, the robot 60 loads a raw workpiece 82 placed in a raw piece placement area 75 onto the machine tool 70 (ST1). The machine tool 70 machines the workpiece 82 by using a tool 71 (ST2)… Thereafter, the robot 60 grips a deburring tool 84, which is an external tool, with the robot hand 61, and the deburring tool 84 deburrs the machined workpiece 82 (ST4).” in ¶146)
the second movement command generator as the movement command generation subject when the robot is performing transporting. (as per “A second command system of robot joint interpolation commands is a shaft movement amount command system. In the description below, the shaft movement amount command system of robot joint interpolation commands will be referred to as a shaft movement amount command system AM1. The shaft movement amount command system AM1 of robot joint interpolation commands is a command system for controlling the position of the robot 60 to be a position specified by a joint shaft of the robot 60.” in ¶92, as per “the robot 60 moves the machined workpiece to the temporary placement area 76 in N730, the robot 60 temporarily places the machined workpiece in the temporary placement area 76” in ¶185)
Sagasaki fails to expressly disclose:
a storage device that stores at least either tool information on a shape of a tool used by the robot or workpiece information on an installation position of a workpiece to be machined by the machine tool;
a selector that selects the first movement command generator or selects the second movement command generator as the movement command generation subject;
wherein the first movement command generator generates the first movement command by compensating a movement trajectory of the control point designated by the numerical control program based on at least either of the tool information or the workpiece information,
Kado discloses of a numerical control system (as per Abstract), comprising a selector that selects the first movement command generator or selects the second movement command generator as the movement command generation subject. (as per “a switching unit that switches between a first processing mode in which a first position command for an amplifier, which drives a motor, is generated by performing an interpolation process and an acceleration/deceleration process on a program command in a program, and a second processing mode in which a position command for the amplifier is generated as a second position command generated every intra-amplifier control cycle by performing an acceleration/deceleration process on a command that is generated every intra-amplifier control cycle,” in ¶11, as per “When the initial mode parameter is a direct command (Yes at Step S1), the switching unit 13 switches the numerical control device 1 to the direct command mode (Step S2). In contrast, when the initial mode parameter is a normal processing command (No at Step S1), the switching unit 13 switches the numerical control device 1 to the normal processing mode (Step S3)” in ¶53, as per ¶28-¶29)
In this way, Kado operates to improve machining performance (as per ¶69). Like Sagasaki, Kado is concerned with numerical control systems.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the numerical control method unit as taught by Sagasaki with the numerical control system of Kado to enable another standard means of selecting a movement command. Such modification also allows the system to dynamically select between two movement commands (i.e. absolute command, joint interpolation, linear interpolation, etc.) (¶90-¶94, ¶111).
Sagasaki and Kado fail to expressly disclose:
a storage device that stores at least either tool information on a shape of a tool used by the robot or workpiece information on an installation position of a workpiece to be machined by the machine tool;
wherein the first movement command generator generates the first movement command by compensating a movement trajectory of the control point designated by the numerical control program based on at least either of the tool information or the workpiece information,
Saitou discloses of a numerical controller, comprising:
a storage device that stores tool information on a shape of a tool used by the robot (as per “If a machining program is given the shape of a machining surface, the numerical controller 310 generates a tool path through tool shape compensation. If a machining program is given the shape of a machining surface, the machining program includes information pieces from information Inf1A to Information Inf5A as follows: (Inf1A) information about the shape of a machining surface; (Inf2A) information about a characteristic shape on a machining surface; (Inf3A) information about a tool used for machining; (Inf4A) information about a machining condition; and (Inf5A) information about order of machining” in ¶42, as per “The information Inf3A (=information about a tool used for machining) includes information about the type, dimension, etc. of a tool, for example” in ¶44)
wherein the first movement command generator generates the first movement command by compensating a movement trajectory of the control point designated by the numerical control program based on the tool information. (as per “In another case, a machining program to be input into the numerical controller 310 is given a tool path resulting from offsetting of a tool shape to conform to the shape of a machining surface. If a machining program is given the shape of a machining surface, the numerical controller 310 generates a tool path through tool shape compensation” in ¶42, as per “If a machining program is given a tool path resulting from. offsetting of a tool shape to conform to the shape of a machining surface” in ¶43, ¶55)
In this way, Saitou operates to generate/alter control-relevant path data using tool geometry (dimensions) and tool offset/compensation (¶42-¶45). Like Sagasaki and Kado, Saitou is concerned with numerical control systems.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Sagasaki and Kado with the numerical controller of Saitou to yield a controller that adjusts the commanded trajectory using tool shape. Such modification also allows the system to offset a tool shape to conform to the shape of a machining surface (¶43).
Saitou fails to expressly disclose:
a storage device that stores workpiece information on an installation position of a workpiece to be machined by the machine tool;
wherein the first movement command generator generates the first movement command by compensating a movement trajectory of the control point designated by the numerical control program based on the workpiece information.
Brogaardh discloses of programming a material removal process carried out on an object by means of a robot, comprising:
a storage device that stores workpiece information on an installation position of a workpiece to be machined by the machine tool; (as per “picking a reference object processed with a desired process result, measuring the geometry of the processed parts of the reference object and storing the measurement results,” in P2L30-36, as per “measuring the geometry of the work object after the removal process and storing the measurement results,” in P3L1-6)
wherein the first movement command generator generates the first movement command by compensating a movement trajectory of the control point designated by the numerical control program based on the workpiece information. (as per “the deviations between the geometry of the robot processed work object and the processed reference object are calculated based on the stored measurements of the work object and the stored measurements of the reference object. In this way errors in the material removal of the robot are obtained and can be compensated for by adjusting the robot program throughout the programmed paths in such a way that the errors are compensated for” in P5L20-30, as per “The real pattern 35 is then measured by a scanner 36, which could be the same as the scanner 33, and the measured pattern profiles are compared with the CAD model or the processed reference object and the errors are then used to compensate the robot program iteratively. After that the production can start” in P12L15-25)
In this way, Brogaardh operates to alter control-relevant path data using workpiece information (P5L20-30). Like Sagasaki, Kado, and Saitou, Brogaardh is concerned with numerical control systems (P3L25-25).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Sagasaki, Kado, and Saitou with Brogaardh to yield a controller that adjusts the a trajectory using workpiece information. Such modification also allows the system to store workpiece measurement results and adjust/store a corresponding path for later selection (P12L15-25).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sagasaki (US Pub. No. 20220011754) in view of Kado (US Pub. No. 20150127140) in view of Saitou (US Pub. No. 20190129382) in view of Brogaardh (WO Pub. No. 2008113807) in further view of Haraguchi (US Pub. No. 20150112459).
As per Claim 6, the combination of Sagasaki, Kado, Saitou, and Brogaardh teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Sagasaki, Kado, Saitou, and Brogaardh fail to expressly disclose wherein the first movement command generator generates the first movement command by prefetching a command block executed after a predetermined time period from a present time among a plurality of command blocks constituting the numerical control program.
Haraguchi discloses of a numerical control provided with program pre-reading function (as per Abstract), wherein the first movement command generator generates the first movement command by prefetching a command block executed after a predetermined time period from a present time among a plurality of command blocks constituting the numerical control program. (as per “in first means for determining the execution times of pre-read blocks, machining is performed in advance by using the machine tool, the execution times of each block when the machining is performed is measured, and the execution times thus measured are stored in a storage device of the controller of the machine tool.” in ¶97, as per “The execution time calculation unit may include: a division unit which divides a tool path into segments which are small sections;… a segment movement time calculation unit which calculates a time required for a tool to move along each segment, on the basis of the speed in the tangential direction as determined by the speed calculation unit; and a tool movement time calculation unit which determines, as a tool movement time, a sum of the times taken to move along each segment calculated by the segment movement time calculation unit, and the numerical controller may be configured so as to calculate a time required for the tool to move along a designated path in accordance with NC commands.” in ¶42)
In this way, Haraguchi operates improve the prediction accuracy of the machining time and shorten the calculation time for predicting the machining time (as per ¶6). Like Sagasaki, Kado, Saitou, and Brogaardh, Haraguchi is concerned with numeric controllers.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Sagasaki, Kado, Saitou, and Brogaardh with the numerical controller of Haraguchi to enable another standard means of generating a movement command by pre-reading blocks of a plurality of numerical control programs (¶97).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
O’Hare (US Pub. No. 20210387301) discloses robotic alignment method for workpiece measuring systems.
/T.R.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/TRUC M DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658