Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 09/18/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Applicant’s amendment overcomes the 112(b) rejection from the previously filed Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments for the USC § 103 rejection of claim 1, Applicant argues on pg. 12 of the Remarks,
“When addressing the features of previously presented claim 1, the Office Action at pages 5 and 6 alleges that Chandra’s time-of-flight (“ToF”) feature described at paragraph [0003] teaches the previously recited time-divisional scanning operation. As best understood, however, Chandra’s time ToF feature does not recognize controlling multiple antennas one at a time in a sequence. Therefore, Chandra’s ToF feature fails to equate to the claimed time-divisional scanning operation. Thus, Chandra fails to disclose, teach or suggest “wherein the measurement unit measures an amount of moisture between the plurality of antennas by causing the plurality of antennas to perform a time-divisional scanning operation” as claimed. Thus, this feature is a distinction over the cited references.” (emphasis added)
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Chandra discloses operating the antennas one at a time. See Chandra pg. 3, paragraph 0044,
“Each of the plurality of subterranean antennas 22a, 22b, and 22c is configured to receive the wireless signal [from the transmitter 44] at a respective point in time.”
Each individual antenna can receive a signal at a specific, respective point in time. Meaning one antenna may be operational while the others are not, if it’s not time for their respective point in time. Therefore, Chandra does disclose operating antennas one at a time. Chandra further discloses operating sequentially in Chandra pg. 11, paragraph 0121,
“the instructions executed thereon may be configured for sequential, parallel, and/or distributed processing.”
As well as Chandra pg. 13, paragraph 0133,
“various acts illustrated and/or described may be performed in the sequence illustrated and/or described, in other sequences, in parallel, or omitted.”
According to the cited sections from Chandra, it is reasonable to believe that Chandra teaches operating antennas individually in a sequential manner. The antennas 22a-22c may be used in sequence. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1, Chandra does disclose the time-divisional scanning operation by being able to use antennas one at a time in a sequential order.
Applicant further argues on pg. 12,
“Moreover, the Office Action at page 6 alleges that Chandra’s logic processor described at paragraph [0121] and ToF feature described at paragraph [0090] teach the previously recited time-divisional scanning operation. As best understood and as discussed above, Chandra’s ToF feature fails to equate to the claimed time-divisional scanning operation. Moreover, Chandra’s logic processor fails to cure the deficiencies of Chandra’s ToF feature. Thus, Chandra fails to disclose, teach or suggest “wherein the time-divisional scanning operation measures an amount of moisture over an entire area of soil in which the plurality of antennas are disposed by sequentially performing a measurement in each of a plurality of sets of transmission/reception antenna pairs at one time and dividing a time frame in which measurement is performed” as claimed. Thus, this feature is a further distinction over the cited references.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The previous section 4 established that Chandra discloses individual antenna operation one at a time in a sequence. Chandra discloses measuring moisture in soil using the individual antennas on Chandra pg. 3, paragraph 0043,
“The system 10 is configured to measure soil moisture and soil EC using Wi-Fi wireless signals. An antenna 42 on a Wi-Fi wireless radio transmitter 44 on a soil surveying device 40, such as a phone or on a tractor, transmits packets which are received by a plurality of antennas 22a, 22b, and 22c on a radio receiver 20 in the soil. All antennas 22a, 22b, and 22c are connected to a single radio receiver 20. The received signal is used to estimate the permittivity of soil, which is then used to determine the soil moisture”
Chandra further discloses a divided time frame for measurements. According to Chandra Fig. 6A, the relative TOF measurements on the y axis of the figure are divided into various time frames that correlate to antenna depth distance. Chandra pg. 5, paragraphs 0056 and 0059 go into further detail about relative TOF, how it differs from absolute TOF, and the additional time it takes for a signal to travel path length differences due to refraction, resulting in divided time frames. Furthermore, secondary source Gilmore discloses on Gilmore pg. 4, paragraph 0033,
“the triggering of measurements may occur automatically based on a fixed time frame”
Because Chandra alone and in combination with Gilmore discloses soil moisture measurement, sequential measurement operations by antennas one at a time, and a divided time frame in which measurement is performed, Examiner asserts that Chandra and Gilmore teach the cited section of amended claim 1.
Regarding the 103 rejection of claim 2, Applicant argues on pgs. 12-13,
“When addressing the features of previously presented claim 2, the Office Action at page 8 alleges that Chandra’s logic processor described at paragraph [0121] teaches the operations of the previously recited measuring unit. As best understood, Chandra’s description at paragraph [0121] merely describes the general operations of a processor. There is, however, nothing in Chandra that teaches or suggests sequentially performing the selection and transmission for each transmission/reception antenna pair until all predetermined transmission/reception antenna pairs have transmitted the electromagnetic waves. Therefore, Chandra fails to disclose, teach or suggest “wherein the measurement unit is configured to: select a transmission/reception antenna pair formed from one transmission antenna of the plurality of transmission antennas and a nearest reception antenna of the plurality of reception antennas to the one transmission antenna, cause the selected one transmission/reception antenna pair to transmit the electromagnetic waves and sequentially perform the selection and transmission for each transmission/reception antenna pair until all predetermined transmission/reception antenna pairs have transmitted the electromagnetic wave” as claimed. Thus, this feature is a distinction over the cited references.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As established in previous sections, Chandra discloses operating antennas one at a time and the ability to operate antennas sequentially. Chandra further discloses all antennas transmitting a signal on Chandra pg. 3, paragraph 0045,
“The relative ToF or relative amplitude that are determined may then be transmitted back wirelessly by the multiple antennas 22a, 22b, and 22c”
Further, secondary source Gilmore discloses selecting an antenna pair to transmit on Gilmore pg. 2, paragraph 0021,
“The antenna probes 14 are connected (via cabling) to a radio frequency (RF) switch matrix or RF multiplexor (MUX) of the antenna acquisition circuit 16, the switch/mux switching between the transmitter/receiver pairs. That is, the RF switch/mux enables each antenna probe 14 to either deliver RF energy to the container 18 or collect the RF energy from the other antenna probes 14”
Chandra and Gilmore disclose selecting and performing transmission with antennas. Chandra discloses operating in a sequential manner, as discussed above in section 4. Therefore, it is reasonable to believe that Chandra and Gilmore disclose selecting an antenna pair to operate, causing the pair to transmit electromagnetic waves, then sequentially selecting other antenna pairs to transmit signals. As there is no limit in Chandra or Gilmore as to how many times the antennas can be selected and caused to transmit signals, it is reasonable to believe that they can operate until all the pairs have transmitted a signal.
For at least these reasons, Examiner is unpersuaded and maintains previous rejections corresponding to the USC § 103 rejection. Therefore, the Examiner asserts that Chandra et al. (US 20200110170 A1) and Gilmore et al. (US 20220365002 A1) disclose each and every limitation of independent claims 1 and 2 based on the broadest reasonable interpretations of claims 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandra et al. (US 20200110170 A1) in view of Gilmore et al. (US 20220365002 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chandra discloses [Note: what Chandra fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
A sensor device (see Fig. 1, soil surveying device element 40), comprising:
a plurality of antennas including a plurality of transmission antennas and a plurality of reception antennas (see Fig. 1, antenna elements 22a-22c; pg. 3, paragraph 0045, these antennas can receive and transmit signals);
a measurement unit (see Fig, 1, soil measurement system 10);
a sensor casing (see Fig. 5A; pg. 5, paragraph 0053, a waterproof enclosure, such as a box, may be used to hold the antennas),
wherein the plurality of transmission antennas and the plurality of reception antennas are disposed inside the sensor casing (see pg. 5, paragraph 0053, a waterproof enclosure, such as a box, may be used to hold the antennas),
wherein the plurality of transmission antennas transmits electromagnetic waves (see pg. 3, paragraph 0042, the antennas receive and transmit RF waves),
wherein the plurality of reception antennas receives the electromagnetic waves transmitted from the plurality of transmission antennas propagated through a medium (see pg. 3, paragraph 0042, the antennas receive and transmit RF waves through mediums such as soil),
wherein the measurement unit causes the plurality of transmission antennas to transmit the electromagnetic waves and to perform wave detection of the electromagnetic waves received by the plurality of reception antennas (see pg. 3, paragraph 0045, “A wireless transmitter 44, e.g. Wi-Fi, from the soil surveying device, emits signals that are received by these antennas 22a, 22b, and 22c in the soil. The relative ToF or relative amplitude that are determined may then be transmitted back wirelessly by the multiple antennas 22a, 22b, and 22c),
wherein the measurement unit measures an amount of moisture between the plurality of antennas by causing the plurality of antennas to perform a time-divisional scanning operation (see pg. 1, paragraph 0003, the device configures time of flight of respective radio signals to and from antennas to determine soil permittivity; see pg. 3, paragraph 0038, soil permittivity directly links to soil moisture content; pg. 3, paragraph 0043,“The system 10 is configured to measure soil moisture and soil EC using Wi-Fi wireless signals. An antenna 42 on a Wi-Fi wireless radio transmitter 44 on a soil surveying device 40, such as a phone or on a tractor, transmits packets which are received by a plurality of antennas 22a, 22b, and 22c on a radio receiver 20 in the soil. All antennas 22a, 22b, and 22c are connected to a single radio receiver 20. The received signal is used to estimate the permittivity of soil, which is then used to determine the soil moisture”), and
wherein the time-divisional scanning operation measures an amount of moisture over an entire area of soil in which the plurality of antennas are disposed by sequentially performing a measurement in each of a plurality of sets of transmission/reception antenna pairs (see pg. 11, paragraph 0121, the logic processor can configure instructions to be performed sequentially; pg. 13, paragraph 0133, “various acts illustrated and/or described may be performed in the sequence illustrated and/or described, in other sequences, in parallel, or omitted.”) at one time (see pg. 3, paragraph 0044, antennas can operate individually)
Gilmore discloses
a plurality of transmission lines (see pg. 4, paragraph 0033, cables connect the antenna probes to the antenna acquisition circuit);
a plurality of reception lines (see pg. 4, paragraph 0033, cables connect the antenna probes to the antenna acquisition circuit);
a transmission switch (see Fig. 1, RF switch matrix or RF MUX [multiplexor] part of element 16);
a reception switch (see Fig. 1, RF switch matrix or RF MUX [multiplexor] part of element 16);
wherein each of the plurality of transmission antennas is connected to the measurement unit via a respective independent transmission line of the plurality of transmission lines (see Fig. 1, cables connecting antenna probe elements 14 to antenna acquisition circuit 16),
wherein each of the plurality of reception antennas is connected to the measurement unit via a respective independent reception line of the plurality of reception lines (see Fig. 1, cables connecting antenna probe elements 14 to antenna acquisition circuit 16),
wherein the transmission switch selects one transmission antenna and one transmission line to be connected to the measurement unit among the plurality of transmission antennas and the plurality of transmission lines (see pg. 2, paragraph 0021, “the RF switch/mux enables each antenna probe 14 to either deliver RF energy to the container 18 or collect the RF energy from the other antenna probes 14”),
wherein the reception switch selects one reception antenna and one reception line for to be connected to the measurement unit among the plurality of reception antennas and the plurality of reception lines (see pg. 2, paragraph 0021, “the RF switch/mux enables each antenna probe 14 to either deliver RF energy to the container 18 or collect the RF energy from the other antenna probes 14”),
and dividing a time frame in which measurement is performed (see pg. 4, paragraph 0033, “the triggering of measurements may occur automatically based on a fixed time frame”)
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Gilmore into the invention of Chandra. Both Chandra and Gilmore are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose antennas immersed in an agricultural medium configured to measure parameters, including moisture content, of the medium. Chandra discloses a plurality of antennas, a measurement unit, a sensor casing, and a time-divisional operation for moisture detection; however, Chandra fails to disclose transmission lines, a switch, or a dividing a time frame in which measurement is performed. This feature is disclosed by Gilmore where the antenna probes are each connected via a cable to processing circuit outside of the medium, the circuitry includes a switch that controls which antennas are transmitting and which are receiving, and a time frame for measurements. The combination of Chandra and Gilmore would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce connection interference and improve data collection speed by having a direct wire from antenna to circuitry, to improve data collection location accuracy and reduce unnecessary data collection by controlling, via a switch, which antennas in specific locations are transmitting and receiving data and to improve data clarity by having specified times of data collection.
Regarding claim 2, the same cited sections and rationale of claim 1 are applied. Chandra further discloses [Note: what Chandra fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
wherein the measurement unit is configured to:
sequentially perform the selection and transmission for each transmission/reception antenna pair until all predetermined transmission/reception antenna pairs have transmitted the electromagnetic waves (see pg. 11, paragraph 0121, the logic processor can configure instructions to be performed sequentially; pg. 13, paragraph 0133, “various acts illustrated and/or described may be performed in the sequence illustrated and/or described, in other sequences, in parallel, or omitted.”).
Gilmore discloses
select a transmission/reception antenna pair formed from one transmission antenna of the plurality of transmission antennas and a nearest reception antenna of the plurality of reception antennas to the one transmission (see pg. 2, paragraph 0021, the switch can select the transmitter/receiver antenna pairs);
cause the selected one transmission/reception antenna pair to transmit the electromagnetic waves (see pg. 2, paragraph 0021, the electromagnetic transceiver generates RF waves for the antennas to transmit); and
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Gilmore into the invention of Chandra. Chandra discloses a sequential performance of operations among the antennas; however, Chandra fails to disclose selecting an antenna pair for transmitting electromagnetic waves. This feature is disclosed by Gilmore where the circuitry can select an antenna pair and then cause the pair to transmit electromagnetic waves. The combination of Chandra and Gilmore would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the accuracy of location and time of data collection and reduce unnecessary data collection by controlling which antennas in specific order and locations are transmitting and receiving data.
Regarding claim 3, Chandra further discloses
The sensor device according to claim 2, wherein sequentially perform the selection and transmission for each transmission/reception antenna pair is performed according to an order of positions at which the transmission/reception antenna pairs are arranged (see pg. 11, paragraph 0121, “the instructions executed thereon may be configured for sequential, parallel, and/or distributed processing”; pg. 3, paragraph 0042, the data collection is at the location of the antennas).
Regarding claim 4, Chandra further discloses
The sensor device according to claim 2, wherein sequentially perform the selection and transmission for each transmission/reception antenna pair is performed according to an order that is different than an order of positions at which the transmission/reception antenna pairs are arranged (see pg. 11, paragraph 0121, “the instructions executed thereon may be configured for sequential, parallel, and/or distributed processing”; pg. 3, paragraph 0042, the data collection is at the location of the antennas).
Regarding claim 5, Chandra further discloses
The sensor device according to claim 2,
wherein the sensor device is configured to:
start to operate after sleeping for a period scheduled in advance (see pg. 5, paragraph 0051, the receiver may go “into a very low power mode until it receives a beacon with a predetermined Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID) which is emitted by the soil surveying device 40”),
perform an operation of causing transmission of the electromagnetic waves after starting to operate (see pg. 3, paragraph 0045, the receiver element 20 can have a transmitter to transmit signals),
wirelessly transmit a result obtained in accordance with the performing the operation (see pg. 5, paragraph 0045, “The relative ToF [time of flight] or relative amplitude that are determined may then be transmitted back wirelessly by the” receiver); and
sleep again for the period scheduled in advance when the wireless transmission ends (see pg. 5, paragraph 0054, “the receiver device 20 may be configured to enter a deep sleep mode, and “wake up” only when the soil surveying device 40 is nearby”).
Regarding claim 6, Chandra further discloses
The sensor device according to claim 2, wherein each transmission antenna pair of the plurality of transmission antennas transmits the electromagnetic waves with a plurality of frequencies by changing the frequency over time (see Figs. 10A-10C, sensor device can operate at different frequencies).
Regarding claim 7, Chandra further discloses
The sensor device according to claim 6, wherein a propagation delay time of the electromagnetic waves is acquired based on a result of wave detection of the electromagnetic waves transmitted with the plurality of frequencies, and an amount of moisture is acquired based on the propagation delay time (see pg. 4, paragraph 0046, the system measures ToF [time of flight] of the signal and uses ToF to determine soil moisture).
Regarding claim 8, Gilmore discloses
The sensor device according to claim 6, wherein one transmission antenna pair of the plurality of transmission antennas transmits the electromagnetic waves, which correspond to a plurality of periods (see pg. 4, paragraph 0033, “the triggering of measurements may occur automatically based on a fixed time frame”), with one frequency (see pg. 7, paragraph 0053, the device gathers data corresponding to a plurality of frequencies and can analyze individual frequencies).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Gilmore into the invention of Chandra. Chandra discloses the limitations of claim 6; however, Chandra fails to disclose transmitting signals in a plurality of periods with one frequency. This feature is disclosed by Gilmore where the antennas can determine measurements in fixed time frames using a range of frequencies, with the ability to focus measurements on only one frequency. The combination of Chandra and Gilmore would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase valuable data collection by having controlled time frames of measurements so the time component of the measurements is known, while the frequency of the signals remains constant in order to see how the measurements change over time with no varying frequency. The addition of this data can be valuable in determining sensor function.
Regarding claim 9, Chandra further discloses
The sensor device according to claim 8, wherein the frequency is switched in a stepped pattern (see pg. 4, paragraph 0050, “the system sweeps through the 400-1400 MHz bandwidth with a step size of 5 MHz”).
Regarding claim 10, Chandra further discloses
The sensor device according to claim 8, wherein the frequency is raised or lowered (see Figs. 10A-10C, sensor device can operate at higher or lower frequencies).
Regarding claim 11, Chandra further discloses
The sensor device according to claim 8, wherein an order of frequencies is changed to be discontinuous or in an arbitrary order set in advance (see Figs. 10A-10C, sensor device can operate at a variety of frequencies; pg. 13, paragraph 0133, “the order of the above-described processes may be changed”).
Regarding claim 12, Gilmore discloses
The sensor device according to claim 8, wherein wave detection of the transmitted electromagnetic waves with one frequency in the one transmission/reception antenna pair is repeated a plurality of times (see Fig. 2B; pg. 5, paragraph 0038, the electromagnetic wave detection process can be repeated).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Gilmore into the invention of Chandra. Chandra fails to explicitly disclose repeating the measurement operation. This feature is disclosed by Gilmore where the wave detection and measurement method may be repeated. The combination of Chandra and Gilmore would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to continuously collect data without having to manually restart the data collection process, saving time and effort.
Regarding claim 13, Chandra further discloses
The sensor device according to claim 6, wherein, after the electromagnetic waves are transmitted with each frequency while changing the frequency using one transmission/reception antenna pair, the electromagnetic waves are transmitted while changing the frequency in each of a remaining number of transmission/reception antenna pairs transmitting the electromagnetic waves (see Figs. 10A-10C, sensor device can operate at different frequencies; pg. 4, paragraph 0050, the device can choose which antennas operate; pg. 4, paragraph 0049, the device can choose at which frequency it operates).
Regarding claim 14, Chandra further discloses
The sensor device according to claim 6, wherein the sensor device transmits the electromagnetic waves while changing the frequency and transmits the electromagnetic waves by selecting the transmission/reception antenna pair for each frequency (see Figs. 10A-10C, sensor device can operate at different frequencies; pg. 4, paragraph 0050, the device can choose which antennas operate; pg. 4, paragraph 0049, the device can choose at which frequency it operates; pg. 11, paragraph 0121, “the instructions executed thereon may be configured for sequential, parallel, and/or distributed processing”).
Regarding claim 15, Chandra further discloses
The sensor device according to claim 6, wherein, after the electromagnetic waves are transmitted with one frequency while changing the transmission/reception antenna pair performing transmission of the electromagnetic wave in order, the electromagnetic waves are transmitted while switching the transmission/reception antenna pair in each of a remaining number frequencies with which transmission of the electromagnetic waves is performed (see Figs. 10A-10C, sensor device can operate at different frequencies; pg. 4, paragraph 0050, the device can choose which antennas operate; pg. 4, paragraph 0049, the device can choose at which frequency it operates; pg. 11, paragraph 0121, “the instructions executed thereon may be configured for sequential, parallel, and/or distributed processing”).
Regarding claim 16, Chandra further discloses
The sensor device according to claim 6, wherein the electromagnetic waves of different frequencies are transmitted in order from one transmission antenna (see Fig. 1, first antenna element 22a; Figs. 10A-10C, sensor device can operate at different frequencies; pg. 4, paragraph 0050, the device can choose which antennas operate; pg. 4, paragraph 0049, the device can choose at which frequency it operates; pg. 11, paragraph 0121, “the instructions executed thereon may be configured for sequential, parallel, and/or distributed processing”) among the plurality of transmission antennas,
next, the electromagnetic waves of different frequencies are transmitted in order from a second transmission antenna among the plurality of transmission antennas (see Fig. 1, second antenna element 22b), and
next, the electromagnetic waves of different frequencies are transmitted in order from a third transmission antenna among the plurality of transmission antennas (see Fig. 1, third antenna element 22c).
Regarding claim 17, Chandra further discloses
The sensor device according to claim 6, wherein the electromagnetic waves of a first frequency among the plurality of frequencies are transmitted in order from first to third transmission antennas among the plurality of transmission antennas (see Fig. 1, antenna elements 22a-22c; Figs. 10A-10C, sensor device can operate at different frequencies; pg. 4, paragraph 0050, the device can choose which antennas operate; pg. 4, paragraph 0049, the device can choose at which frequency it operates; pg. 11, paragraph 0121, “the instructions executed thereon may be configured for sequential, parallel, and/or distributed processing”),
next, the electromagnetic waves of a second frequency are transmitted in order from the first to third transmission antennas among the plurality of transmission antennas (see pg. 4, paragraph 0049, the device can choose at which frequency it operates; pg. 11, paragraph 0121, “the instructions executed thereon may be configured for sequential, parallel, and/or distributed processing”), and
next, the electromagnetic waves of a third frequency are transmitted in order from the first to third transmission antennas among the plurality of transmission antennas (see pg. 4, paragraph 0049, the device can choose at which frequency it operates; pg. 11, paragraph 0121, “the instructions executed thereon may be configured for sequential, parallel, and/or distributed processing”).
Regarding claim 18, Chandra further discloses
The sensor device according to claim 6, wherein the measurement unit, the transmission switch, and the reception switch are disposed inside one semiconductor device (see Fig. 1, soil surveying device element 40).
Regarding claim 19, Chandra further discloses
The sensor device according to claim 6, wherein the measurement unit, the transmission switch, and the reception switch are disposed in different semiconductor devices (see Fig. 1, soil surveying device element 40 and receiver device 20; pg. 3, paragraph 0045, there may be another downstream computing device).
Regarding claim 20, Chandra further discloses
The sensor device according to claim 6, wherein, the measurement unit includes a transmitter that generates the electromagnetic waves to be transmitted (see Fig. 1, transmitter element 40), a receiver that performs wave detection of the received electromagnetic waves (see Fig. 1, receiver device element 20), and a control unit that performs control (see Fig. 1, processor element 46), and at least one of the transmitter and the receiver and the control unit are disposed in different semiconductor devices (see Fig. 1, transmitter 44 is in soil surveying device 40 while receiver device 20 is a separate device).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISABELLA AMEYALI EDRADA/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/William Kelleher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648