DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 13 is rejected because “the elasticity”, “the following”, “the surface”, “the phase velocities”, “the fundamental mode” and “the set of pairs” all lack proper antecedent basis. Claim 14 is rejected because “the distance”, “the two furthest measurement points” and “the largest” all lack proper antecedent basis. Claim 15 is rejected because “the same impact point” lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 16 is rejected because “the measurement point”, “the time instants” and “the positions” all lack proper antecedent basis. Claim 17 is rejected because “the following condition”, “the straight line”, “the position x” and “the number” lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 20 is rejected because “the set of pairs” lack proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 19-20 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL “Optical Coherence Elastography-OCT at work in tissue biomechanics” to Larin et al. “Larin” in view of NPL “High Resolution SAW elastography for ex-vivo porcine skin specimen” to Zhou et al. “Zhou”.
Regarding Claims 13 and 19-20, Larin discloses a non-invasive method for measuring a physical quantity representative of the elasticity of a material (Abstract) comprising deforming the material at an impact point with a stimulator to generate a shear wave comprising components at different frequencies (Pages 1188-1190, “Loading Methods”; Pages 1196-1197, “Surface elastic wave methods and applications”). Larin explains that phase velocities are determined at given depths (Fig. 10 and corresponding descriptions). However, Larin does not expressly disclose processing steps form a dispersion curve and transforming the dispersion curve into a profile of phase velocities as claimed.
Zhou teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to elastography systems and methods where displacement of the material over time at at least three measurement points aligned behind one another on a measurement axis is measured (Fig. 5A and corresponding descriptions). Zhou further discloses determining a phase velocity curve and from that a dispersion curve as a function of depth to generate an elasticity map (Page 5 and Figs. 1 and 4 and corresponding descriptions). Zhou explains the phase dispersion curve was obtained by selecting the phase velocity with maximal intensity for each frequency and removing the low SNR part (Page 5).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified the elasticity system and method described by Larin to incorporate conventional elasticity processing techniques described by Zhou in order to enhance skin disease diagnosis and treatment monitoring (Zhang-Abstract). Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
As for Claims 22-24, Larin discloses measuring displacement amplitude (e.g. amplitude of the deformation) (Pages 1185 and 1196). In addition, Zhou depicts system components including a processor, optical sensors, and the sample in water (Fig. 3). Examiner notes that the shear wave would create a “jet” fluid on the surface of the material in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-18 and 21 are considered allowable over the prior art of record because the art of record does not appear to disclose the particulars of the equations claimed.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER L COOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797