DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 8 of the specification sets forth two particularly preferred compounds (d) in Lines 6 – 14. However, neither compound corresponds to the formula W-Kw-NH-C(O)-CH2-Q required for compound (d) on Page 7, Line 25 – Page 8, Line 5 in which W is required to be present and correspond to a cyclic amine. Neither of the compounds depicted on Page 8 comprise the cyclic amine moiety W.
Additionally, Page 13 sets forth four different compounds (d) in Lines 1 – 13. However, only compound A1 corresponds to a species of compound (d) which is characterized as having the formula W-Kw-NH-C(O)-CH2-Q. The remaining compounds V1, V2, and A2 do not correspond to species of this general formula.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 12, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 should be amended to recite “and aromatic hydrocarbons” in the final line;
Claim 5 should be amended to recite -Kw-;
it is suggested Claim 12 be amended to recite the polyurethane is in the form of a mattress; and
Claim 15 should be amended to recite “interior of a means”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention because:
As Claim 1 is written, it is unclear if only (e) blowing agents are optional or if all ingredients (e) – (g) recited after the phrase “optionally” are considered optional. As remaining pending claims (Claims 2 – 15) ultimately depend on Claim 1, they also inherit this deficiency. For the purposes of examination, each of ingredients (e), (f), and (g) recited in Claim 1 will be considered optional.
Claim 3 sets forth -Kw- represents a linear, unsubstituted hydrocarbon radical. It is unclear if this limitation intends to imply -Kw- as set forth in Claim 1 may be optionally substituted. For the purposes of examination, Claim 1 will be interpreted as setting forth -Kw- represents an unsubstituted linear or branched-chain hydrocarbon radical.
Claim 4 sets forth “-Kw- and -W- are as defined in claim 1”. It is unclear if this limitation requires that -Kw- and -W- correspond to the same moieties for -Kw- and -W- as in the general formula (d) or are simply also selected from the same general categories. For the purposes of further examination, Claim 4 will be interpreted as setting forth W- in Q represents a cyclic amine which may be substituted and which is bonded to -Kw- in Q via a nitrogen atom and -Kw in Q represents a linear or branched-chain unsubstituted hydrocarbon radical.
There is a lack of antecedent basis for “W” and “-Kw” in Claim 5. It is unclear to which of the previously recited moieties W and -Kw- refer. Additionally, it is unclear how W and Kw may be identical, as W is set forth as a pyrrolidine ring and -Kw- is a linear, unsubstituted hydrocarbon radical. For the purposes of further examination, Claim 5 will be interpreted as setting forth W in the general formula and in Q both correspond to a pyrrolidine ring and Kw in general formula and in Q both correspond to the same linear, unsubstituted radical having 1 to 10 carbon atoms.
There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the polyurethanes according to claim 13” in Claim 14. Claim 13 only sets forth a polyurethane (singular). Consequently, for the purposes of examination, Claim 14 will be interpreted as setting forth the polyurethane of Claim 13.
Claims 14 and 15 are indefinite, as the claims do not set forth any steps involved in the method/process of using the polyurethanes. It is consequently unclear what method/process applicant is intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced (see MPEP 2173.05(q)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 6 – 10, and 12 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 1 099 718 to Meier.
Regarding Claims 1 and 2. Meier teaches a process for producing polyurethanes comprising preparing a reaction mixture/formulation, i.e. mixing:
a polyisocyanate;
a polyol and polymer polyol, i.e. polymeric compounds having isocyanate-reactive groups;
a catalyst composition;
a cell opener;
a blowing agent and an auxiliary blowing agent;
a crosslinker [0040], [0044] – [0047];
optionally a chain extender [0042]; and
optionally other additives [0046].
The cell opener may correspond to a compound of the following formula:
Alternatively, the cell opener may correspond to a compound of the following formula:
[0011] and [0016] – [0018].
Either of the above cell openers compounds corresponds to a compound of the instantly claimed general formula W-Kw-NH-C(O)-CH2-Q. Specifically, the first compound depicted above corresponds to a compound of the instantly claimed general formula in which W represents a pyrrolidine ring, i.e. a cyclic amine which is unsubstituted, and bonded to -Kw- via the nitrogen atom in the ring; -Kw- is (CH2-)n and therefore represents a linear hydrocarbon radical; N represents a nitrogen atom; C represents a carbon atom; O represents an oxygen atom; H represents a hydrogen atom; and Q represents cyanide (CN). The second compound depicted above corresponds to a compound of the instantly claimed formula in which W represents a pyrrolidine ring, i.e. a cyclic amine, which is unsubstituted and bonded to -Kw- via the nitrogen atom in the ring; -Kw- is (CH2-)n and therefore represents a linear hydrocarbon radical; N represents a nitrogen atom; C represents a carbon atom; O represents an oxygen atom; H represents a hydrogen atom; and Q an electronegative radical of the formula -C(O)-R2 in which R2 represents -R7-- and -R7-- is a substituted araliphatic radical of the formula –(CO)-CH2-(CO)-NH-(CH2)n-W and W in this radical is also a pyrrolidine ring.
Regarding Claim 3. Meier teaches the process of Claim 1. In each of the structures depicted in the rejection of Claim 1, -Kw- is (CH2-)n and n is 1 or 2 [0017] – [0018]. -Kw- in each of these structures therefore represents a linear, unsubstituted hydrocarbon radical having 1 or 2 carbon atoms.
Regarding Claim 6. Meier teaches the process of Claim 1 wherein the polymer compound having isocyanate-reactive groups may comprise polyalkylene ether polyols [0036].
Regarding Claims 7 – 9. Meier teaches the process of Claim 1, wherein the catalyst may be diethanolamine [0041]. Diethanolamine corresponds to a compound of the formula (CH3)2NCH2CH2OH. It therefore comprises one isocyanate-reactive group (OH), one tertiary amine group ((CH3)2NCH2), two organic radicals (the two CH3 groups), and one additional organic radical (CH--2CH2).
Regarding Claim 10. Meier teaches the process of Claim 1 wherein the polyurethane may be a polyurethane foam having a density of 12 – 100 kg/m3 [0043].
Regarding Claim 12. Meier teaches the process of Claim 1 wherein the polyurethane may be part of an item of furniture [0012].
Regarding Claim 13. Meier teaches a polyurethane producible by the process of Claim 1 [0011], [0016] – [0018], [0040], [0042], and [0044] – [0047].
Regarding Claims 14 and 15. Meier teaches a method in which the polyurethane of Claim 13 is formed as automotive seating [0012], i.e. an article which is an enclosed space which is the interior of a means of transport.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1 099 718 to Meier, as applied to Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 4. Meier teaches the process of Claim 1 wherein the cell opener may correspond to a compound of the following formula:
[0018]. This compound corresponds to a compound of the instantly claimed formula in which Q is an electronegative radical of the formula -C(O)-R2 in which R2 represents -R7-- and -R7-- is a substituted araliphatic radical of the formula –(CO)-CH2-(CO)-NH-(CH2)n-W and W in this radical is a pyrrolidine ring.
This compound in Meier differs from the instantly claimed compound in that the Q moiety in Meier contains an additional -(CO)-CH2- group. The compound in Meir thus differs regularly by the successive addition of a -(CO)-CH2- group, with the compound in Meir having three such groups and the instantly claimed compound having only two. However, compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). Notably, Meir itself discloses a number of other species of cell openers having only two -(CO)-CH2- groups (see, e.g. [0020] – [0021]) and thus the absence of this additional group would still be reasonably expected to provide a compound having similar properties, i.e. a compound which functions as a cell opener.
Regarding Claim 5. Meier teaches the process of Claim 4 wherein the cell opener may correspond to a compound of the following formula:
in which n is 1 or 2 [0018]. This compound corresponds to a compound of the instantly claimed formula in which W in the general formula and in Q both correspond to a pyrrolidine ring and Kw in general formula and in Q both correspond to the same linear, unsubstituted radical having 1 to 2 carbon atoms.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1 099 718 to Meier, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0334256 to Sesoko et al. (hereinafter Sesoko).
Regarding Claim 11. Meier teaches the process of Claim 1 but does not expressly teach it may have an average density of more than 850 g/L. However, Sesoko teaches the concept of preparing a polyurethane with a density as high as 1000 kg/m3 [0060]. Polyurethanes having densities of more than 850 g/L correspond to compact polyurethanes as set forth in instant Claim 11. Meier and Sesoko are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely flexible polyurethane foams. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the polyurethane of Meier with a density as high as 1000 kg/m3 as taught by Sesoko. The motivation would have been a higher density article may provide advantages such as improved load bearing and durability.
Notice of References Cited (PTO-892)
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additionally cited references also pertain to polyurethanes in which additives comprising cyclic amine groups and/or which function to reduce aldehyde emissions are provided.
Correspondence
/MELISSA A RIOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764