DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments filed on 03/02/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently under examination on the merits.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Table 1, Example 2, Ion conductivity is unreasonably high. Appropriate correction is required,
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities “(ii) a PS4 structure, with elemental halogen” should read “a PS4 structure, with (ii) elemental halogen”, in order to be consistent with claim 16. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 being unpatentable over Takahashi et al (US2018/0241077, ‘077 hereafter) in view of Yamada et al (EP3598462, of record, ‘462 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-9, 15 and 18, ‘077 discloses a resin composition comprising a compound having lithium, phosphorus and sulfur ([0011]-[0012], [0063], Example 2-1, [0125]) mixed with a thermoplastic resin having polyether chain reading upon polyether as in the present claim 6 ([0043], Chemical Formula 5, [0125], PPC). ‘077 does not set forth that the compound having a disulfide bond, which is obtained by oxidizing a compound having phosphorus and sulfur element and an oxidizing agent as recited in the present claims 2-4; however, in the same field of endeavor, ‘462 discloses a compound having phosphorus and sulfur with a disulfide bond which naturally shows a peak by Raman spectroscopy, is obtained by a process of oxidizing a compound having phosphorus and sulfur element with an oxidizing agent as recited in the present claims 2-4 and 15, wherein oxidizing agent X is iodine and/or bromine ([0006], Example 1, raw material lithium sulfide reacted with diphosphorus pentasulfide forms into Li3PS4, which is further oxidized by halogen to form a compound having disulfide bond in the process); and the compound also comprises a metal being lithium and further includes a halogen (Example 1, the material also contains halogen atom); which provides high ionic conductivity ([0005]). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the compound having phosphorus and sulfur with a disulfide bond as taught by ‘462, to modify the resin composition of ‘077, in order to render a resin composition having high ionic conductivity. It is also noted that the compound as recited in claims 2-4 is in product by process format and that the process limitation does not further limit the product structurally unless it imparts structure by the recited process steps. The product being formed as claimed would not differentiate over a product formed in another conventional way structurally. Therefore, if the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113 for PBP).
Regarding claims 10-14 and 20, modified ‘077 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘077 also discloses a binder, a composite electrode layer, a sheet and a battery comprising the composition ([0094]-[0105], slurry reading upon binder), wherein a thermoplastic such as styrene-butadiene-based thermoplastic elastomer and/or a cellulose ether can be used as a binder resin which is well-known in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The reason for the allowance is that the prior art of record does not specifically disclose or fairly suggests a resin composition as recited in the present claim 1, further comprising a halogen element and an element M as recited in the claim 17, wherein M:X is in a range of 9:2 to 3:6; or further comprising a crystalline phase of LiI. The prior art of record also fails to disclose a process as recited in the present claim 15, wherein the molar ratio of raw material compound (i) to halogen is in a range of 3:1 to 1:3.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/02/2026 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive regarding 103 rejection over cited prior art Takahashi and Yamada. Applicant argues that Yamada does not disclose a compound comprising a PS4 structure and a disulfide bonding to two phosphorus element, and the raw material does not have a PS4 structure. The examiner’s position is that Yamada discloses a process step of ball-milling lithium sulfide and diphosphorus pentasulfide together, which is the same as the process step applied in the present application (See examples of present application) would have produced a compound having PS4 structure. In the presence of bromine and iodine, this compound would have been further oxidized into the compound as presently claimed ([0093]-[0095]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782