Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-4 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 30, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
Figures 3-4 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Reference numeral “50s” used in Fig. 3 should also be used in Fig. 4 to indicate the same elements between the two Figures
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "50", “51”, “D0”, “52”, “52a”, and "40p" have both been used to designate the same properties in Figs. 13, 17, and 17 of different embodiments of pin shapes. The Applicant may consider using subscripts to distinguish between the different embodiments. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following phrase in paragraphs 33-34 is awkward:
“a diameter of the solder paste dipped into the tip end portion”
The following phrases in paragraphs 3, 40-41, 43-44, 46, 64, 70, 82, 88, 95 is awkward:
“or the like” “and the like”.
Clarification is requested.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “film thickness” is a term that is possibly being used to describe different properties in two -three different setting.
Film thickness is used to described in paragraphs 11-12, 75, 79, 82, and 93-94 to describe: “film thickness of the solder paste accommodated in a container”. It is unclear if this term refers to “inherent thickness” or “liquid thickness in a supply container” or “viscosity”. Clarification is requested (based on support in the original priority document and translation is requested). For the purpose of prosecution, his term is being interpreted as “viscosity” based on the drawings and specification discussed above.
Film thickness is used to described in paragraphs 33-34 and Figs. 16A-B to describe: “shape of the solder paste held by the tip end portion when a film thickness is 60um or 200um”. It is unclear if this term refers to “shape of the liquid on the pin” or “bead of solder paste”. Clarification is requested (based on support in the original priority document and translation is requested). For the purpose of prosecution, his term is being interpreted as “bead of solder paste” based on the drawings and specification discussed above.
Film thickness is used to described in paragraphs 35-36 to describe: “film thickness of the solder paste and a diameter of the solder paste dipped into the tip end portion”. It is unclear if this term refers to “film thickness or height of the solder in the process of being transferred to a mounting portion of a component of a board” or “film thickness height of the solder remaining on a mounting portion of a component of a board after transfer has been complete “ie coating”. Clarification is requested (based on support in the original priority document and translation is requested). For the purpose of prosecution, his term is being interpreted as “film height of the solder remaining on a mounting portion of a component of a board after transfer has been complete” based on the drawings and specification discussed above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “selection section” in claim 5, “setting section” in claim 7,
The “releasing portion” is shown in Figs. 5-10 and 14 as reference numeral 53 is formed on the tip end side of the main body portion 51, and releases solder paste from tip end portion of main body portion when solder paste including the solder ball is dipped and transferred to mounting portion 91 of component 80 of board 90 and described in Abstract and paragraphs 10, 13, 59-60, 63, and 99-100.
The “mounting portion” is shown in Fig. 1as reference numeral 91 is a portion electrically connected to an electrode of component 80, and is also referred to as a pad and described in Abstract and paragraphs 7,10, 22-23, 49, 54, 56, 62, 65-69, 76-78, 91-92, 96-98, and 100.
The “selection section” is shown in Fig. 11 as reference numeral 61 provided in control device 17 of component mounter 10 and described in paragraphs 11, 72, 79-82, 87-88, 100.
The “setting section” is shown in Fig. 11 as reference numeral 62 provided in control device 17 of component mounter 10 and described in paragraphs 12, 72, 93-95, and 100.
The “control section” is shown in Fig. 11 as reference numeral 63 provided in control device 17 of component mounter 10 and described in paragraphs 72 and 96-100.
The “control device” is shown in Fig. 11 and includes a well-known arithmetic device, a storage device, and a control circuit and described in paragraphs 38, 43-47, 54, and 72 .
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites:
“a selection section configured to, in a case where a film thickness of the solder paste accommodated in a container is constant, select the transfer pin having a larger taper angle of the main body portion as a transfer diameter of the solder paste to be transferred increases”
A suggested revision is as follows:
“when thickness of the solder paste accommodated in a container is constant, a selection section is configured to select [[ the]] a second transfer pin having a larger taper angle of the main body portion than a first transfer pin to increase a transfer diameter of the solder paste
Claim 6 recites:
“the selection section is configured to, in a case where dipping and transferring are repeated multiple times on one transfer pin, select the transfer pin in which the taper angle of the main body portion is set so that the transfer diameter of the solder paste to be transferred is constant from the first time”
A suggested revision is as follows:
“when dipping and transferring are repeated multiple times on[[ one]] the first transfer pin, the selection section is configured to select [[the]] a third transfer pin in which the taper angle of the main body portion of the second transfer is such that the transfer diameter of the solder paste to be transferred is constant from the transfer diameter of the solder paste transferred with the first transfer pin
Claim 7 recites:
“ and a setting section configured to, in a case where a taper angle of the main body portion is constant, set a film thickness of the solder paste accommodated in a container to be thicker as a transfer diameter of the solder paste to be transferred increases”
A suggested revision is as follows:
“ when a taper angle of the main body portion is constant, a setting section is configured to set a film thickness of the solder paste accommodated in a container to be thicker to increase a transfer diameter of the solder paste to be transferred
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 recites:
“the multiple mounting portions”
A suggested revision is as follows:
“[[the]] multiple mounting portions”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-H1066911 to Sakamoto et al (hereinafter Sakamoto) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20160299510 A1 to Feine et al (hereinafter Feine).
Regarding claim 1 (the claim from which claim 5 depends), Sakamoto teaches a transfer pin (2) comprising: a main body portion (portion extending from 29) ; and a releasing portion (tip end of 2 adjacent 25) formed on a tip end side of the main body portion, and configured to, when a solder paste including a solder ball (25) is dipped and transferred to a mounting portion of a component of a board, release the solder paste from a tip end portion of the main body portion(portion extending from 29) . (See Sakamoto Abstract, Fig. 7a-d, Fig. 16 a-h).
Regarding claim 5, Sakamoto teaches the main body portion is formed integrally with the tip end portion in a shape that tapers from a base end portion (top of 2 in Fig. 7c) toward the tip end portion (bottom of 2 in Fig. 7c). (See Sakamoto, Fig. 7c)
Further, regarding claim 5, Sakamoto does not explicitly teach a selection section configured to, in a case where a film thickness of the solder paste accommodated in a container is constant, select the transfer pin having a larger taper angle of the main body portion as a transfer diameter of the solder paste to be transferred increases.
Feine is directed to a tip based computer controlled system.
Feine teaches a selection section (microprocessor 102, memory 108, operating characterstic controller) contains the operating control algorithims and tip device profiles and boundary parameters. (See Feine, Abstract, Fig. 6 and paragraphs 58, 64, 80.) Examiner is considering a tip device profile to be equivalent to taper angle of the transfer pin and transfer diameter equivalent to a boundary parameter.
The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. lnterchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, taking the references as a whole, it would have been obvious to have a selection section configured to, in a case where a film thickness of the solder paste accommodated in a container is constant, select the transfer pin having a larger taper angle of the main body portion as a transfer diameter of the solder paste to be transferred increases with a reasonable expectation of success, because Feine teaches these tools are known to be used to adjust an operating characteristic to a determined level. (See Feine, Abstract, Fig. 6 and paragraphs 58, 64, 80.)
Further, regarding claim 7, Sakamoto teaches the main body portion being formed integrally with the tip end portion in a shape that tapers from a base end portion ( top of 7c) toward the tip end portion( bottom of 7c) . (See Sakamoto, Fig. 7c)
Sakamoto does not explicitly teach a setting section configured to, in a case where a taper angle of the main body portion is constant, set a film thickness of the solder paste accommodated in a container to be thicker as a transfer diameter of the solder paste to be transferred increases.
Feine teaches the main body portion being formed integrally with the tip end portion in a shape that tapers from a base end portion toward the tip end portion; and a setting section (operating characteristic controller) configured to, in a case where a taper angle (tip device profile) of the main body portion is constant, set a film thickness of the solder paste accommodated in a container to be thicker as a transfer diameter (boundary parameter) of the solder paste to be transferred increases. (See Feine, Abstract, Fig. 6 and paragraphs 58, 64, 80.)
The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. lnterchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, taking the references as a whole, it would have been obvious to have a setting section configured to, in a case where a taper angle of the main body portion is constant, set a film thickness of the solder paste accommodated in a container to be thicker as a transfer diameter of the solder paste to be transferred increases be transferred increases with a reasonable expectation of success, because Feine teaches this would enable to adjust an operating characteristic to a determined level. (See Feine, Abstract, Fig. 6 and paragraphs 58, 64, 80.)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-H1066911 to Sakamoto et al (hereinafter Sakamoto) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20160299510 A1 to Feine et al (hereinafter Feine) as applied to claim 5 and further in view of JP-2005000776 A to Saito Katsumi et al (hereinafter Saito).
Regarding claim 6, Sakamoto does not explicitly teach the selection section is configured to, in a case where dipping and transferring are repeated multiple times on one transfer pin, select the transfer pin in which the taper angle of the main body portion is set so that the transfer diameter of the solder paste to be transferred is constant from the first time.
Saito teaches a pin transfer method capable of efficiently and accurately an object. (See Saito, Table 1, Abstract, paragraph 14, and 41-50.)
Saito teaches a particular angle (60o ) in a case where dipping and transferring are repeated multiple times on one transfer pin, select the transfer pin in which the taper angle of the main body portion is set so that the transfer diameter of the solder paste to be transferred is constant from the first time. (See Saito, Table 1, Abstract, paragraph 14, and 41-50.)
Feine teaches the selection section (microprocessor 102, memory 108, operating characteristic controller) is configured to, in a case where dipping and transferring are repeated multiple times on one transfer pin, select the transfer pin in which the taper angle of the main body portion (device profile) is set so that the transfer diameter (boundary parameter) of the solder paste to be transferred is constant from the first time. (See Feine, Abstract, Fig. 6 and paragraphs 58, 64, 80.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the selection section is configured to, in a case where dipping and transferring are repeated multiple times on one transfer pin, select the transfer pin in which the taper angle of the main body portion is set so that the transfer diameter of the solder paste to be transferred is constant from the first time, because Feine teaches this known structure for its intended purpose to adjust an operating characteristic to a determined level. (See Feine, Abstract, Fig. 6 and paragraphs 58, 64, 80.)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-H1066911 to Sakamoto et al (hereinafter Sakamoto) in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20160299510 A1 to Feine et al (hereinafter Feine) as applied to claim 5 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20020083998 A1 to Overbeck et al ( Overbeck).
Regarding claim 8, Sakamoto does not explicitly teach further comprising a control section configured to simultaneously transfer the solder paste to the multiple mounting portions using at least one transfer pin provided on a pedestal portion.
Overbeck teaches for depositing dots in an ordered array.
Overbeck teaches further comprising a control section (computer ) configured to simultaneously transfer the solder paste (minute drops of fluid) to the multiple mounting portions using at least one transfer pin (pin 12) provided on a pedestal portion (precision XY gantry, common support). (See Overbeck, Abstract, paragraphs 13, 21, 36, 195-197.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include further comprising a control section configured to simultaneously transfer the solder paste to the multiple mounting portions using at least one transfer pin provided on a pedestal portion, because Overbeck teaches this would enable small quantities of material to be deposited precisely in a fluid array. (See Overbeck, Abstract, paragraphs 13, 21, 36, 195-197.)
Conclusion
/KARL KURPLE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717