The present application, filed on or after
March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-11, 13, 17, 18, 23-25, 27, 31, 32, 36 and 37 are pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I,
,
and the species of the compound of Formula 4a,
,
in the reply filed on June 11, 2026 is acknowledged.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10, 11, 13, 17, 18, 23-25, 27, 31, 32, 36 and 37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 11, 2026.
It is suggested that in order to advance prosecution, the non-elected subject matter in which rejoinder is not applicable (i.e., the claims of non-elected Groups II-IV) be canceled if Applicant files a response to this Office Action.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner has considered the Information Disclosure Statement filed on May 8, 2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of
37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 1, under the definition of variable R1, an “and” should be added between “-COR3,” and “CO2R3,” (the 4th line from the end of the claim).
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-11 and 15-25 of copending Application No. 19/161,127 (reference application), US 2026/0242370. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 19/161,127 claims a process for making an aza-bicyclic compound of Formula 1,
, comprising reacting a nortropinone compound of Formula 2,
, with a halogenated compound of Formula 3,
. The Specification on page 47 of copending Application No. 19/161,127 discloses a reaction which is embraced by its claims in Scheme 1,
The instant application and copending Application No. 19/161,127 share the same assignee. The instant application is not related to copending Application No. 19/161,127 and thus, no 35 USC 121 shield exists here. See MPEP 804.01. Therefore, the claims in copending Application No. 19/161,127 anticipate and/or render obvious the instant claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Webster et al. {U.S. Patent 9,365,564}.
Applicant claims a process for preparing an aza-bicyclic compound of Formula 4,
, comprising a Grignard reaction of a nortropinone compound of Formula 5,
, with a halogenated compound of Formula 6,
,
wherein R1 can represent an unsubstituted or substituted
monocyclic heterocyclyl, which monocyclic
heterocyclyl can be aromatic (such as pyrazine and
pyrimidine);
R2 represents an amine protecting group (such as a
benzyl or a tert-butyloxycarbonyl group); and
X represents a halogen.
Webster et al. disclose, for instance, Synthesis 15 (columns 84-85) and Synthesis 31 (column 96),
.
Therefore, Webster et al. anticipate the instant claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webster et al. {U.S. Patent 9,365,564}, taken alone, and in further view of Delia {Journal of Heterocyclic Chemistry, 50(4), July 2013, pages 735-745}.
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art (MPEP §2141.01)
Applicant claims a process for preparing an aza-bicyclic compound of Formula 4,
, comprising a Grignard reaction of a nortropinone compound of Formula 5,
, with a halogenated compound of Formula 6,
,
wherein R1 can represent an unsubstituted or substituted
monocyclic heterocyclyl (such as pyrazine and
pyrimidine);
R2 represents an amine protecting group (such as a
benzyl or a tert-butyloxycarbonyl group); and
X represents a halogen.
Webster et al. teach processes for producing aza-bicyclic compounds (such as
,
and
) in which a nitrogen protected nortropinone compound (such as
and
) is used as the starting material. Webster et al. disclose, for instance, Synthesis 15 (columns 84-85) and Synthesis 31 (column 96),
.
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claimed invention (MPEP §2141.02)
The difference, if any, between the processes of Webster et al. and the process instantly claimed, especially in instant claim 9, is that of analogous reactants/starting materials.
Finding of prima facie obviousness--rational and motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
However, Synthesis 3 (column 74) in Webster et al. prepares the product of instant Formula 4a,
, stated in instant claim 9. Synthesis 15 (columns 84-85) and Synthesis 17 (column 85) in Webster et al. teach that iodine can be used as the halogen in the starting material of instant Formula 6 in instant claim 1. Further, Delia discloses Compound 37,
, in Scheme 11 on page 737, which is the compound of instant Formula 6a,
, in instant claim 9. Synthesis 3 (column 74) and Synthesis 31 (column 96) in Webster et al. teach the tropinone compound of instant Formula 5a,
, in instant claim 9 and that said tropinone compound can be used as a starting material in the process.
The use of analogous reactants in a known process is prima facie obvious. In re Durden, 226 USPQ 359 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Once the general reaction has been shown to be old, the burden is on Applicants to present reasons or authority for believing that a group on the starting material would take part in or affect the basic reaction and thus alter the nature of the product or the operability of the process. In looking at the instant claimed process as a whole, as stated in In re Ochiai, 37 USPQ2d 1127 (Fed. Cir. 1995), the claimed process would have been suggested to one skilled in the art.
Note to Applicant: Not every piece of prior art found in the database search or class/subclass search which would anticipate and/or render obvious the instant claimed invention under examination has been applied against the instant currently pending claims under examination. See MPEP 904.03.
Reminder to Applicant
As a reminder, Applicant should specifically point out the support in the original disclosure {i.e., page number(s) and line number(s)} for any new claims or amended claims and for any amendments made to the disclosure. Making generic statements such as “all amendments are fully supported in the originally filed disclosure or the originally filed claims” without specifying page numbers and originally filed claim numbers are insufficient. See MPEP §714.02 and MPEP §2163.06(I).
Telephone Inquiry
Laura L. Stockton
(571) 272-0710.
The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:30 am to 6 pm, Eastern Standard Time.
James Alstrum-Acevedo can be reached on 571/272-5548. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/LAURA L STOCKTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626 Work Group 1620
Technology Center 1600
August 26, 2026
Book XXIX, page 55