DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 2 and 3, the phrase “the plurality of separate money item reservoir is located in the rotatable apparatus” is made better grammatically by replacing the word “is” with “are”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 3, the phrase “located a second” is made better grammatically by inserting the word “at” between the words “located” and “a”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 12-17, 19-21, 30 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the term “money” such as in the term “a money item supply apparatus”. The plain meaning of the term “money” includes both coins and banknotes, which renders the claim indefinite for the following reasons.
Paragraph 195 of Applicant’s specification states as follows.
[0195] The aspects described above may be used either singly or in combination. In this specification, the term “money items” refers, for example, to coins or other tokens of a monetary value.
Emphasis provided.
Applicant’s figures such as figure 2 expressly show the device (100) storing and dispensing coins or tokens. It is impossible for such a device to handle banknotes/currency/paper media. Therefore, since the term “money” is broad enough to be construed to include paper money/banknotes as well as coins, Claim 1 is rendered unclear and indefinite. It follows that for examination purposes, the term “money item” will be interpreted as referring to coins or coin-like tokens.
Regarding Claim 1, first four lines, the phrase a money item supply apparatus, comprising:
a plurality of separate money item reservoirs configured to store a plurality of sets of money items of mixed denomination, wherein each of the plurality of separate money item reservoirs is configured to store a different one of the plurality of sets of money items” is unclear and indefinite because it is not understood if each individual reservoir includes/holds mixed coins or if each reservoir holds only a large number of coins of the same denomination. Note that it is impossible for a single reservoir to both hold separated coins of a single denomination as well as coins of multiple denominations creating a group of stored coins of mixed denominations. For purposes of examination, the first four lines of Claim 1 will be interpreted as meaning that each reservoir holds coins of a single denomination.
Regarding Claim 30, it is noted that lines 3-6 recite similar unclear and indefinite language.
Regarding Claim 46, it is noted that lines 3-6 recite similar unclear and indefinite language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-17, 19-21 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Juan et al (US 9,881,436 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Juan discloses
a money item supply apparatus, i.e., coin escrow apparatus as illustrated in figure 1, for example, comprising:
a plurality of separate money item reservoirs, i.e., coin barrels (14), configured to store a plurality of sets of money items of mixed denomination, i.e. interpreted as meaning the collective storage of various denominations of coins, wherein each of the plurality of separate money item reservoirs (14) is configured to store a different one of the plurality of sets of money items, noting that con separator (16) separates coins by denomination and diverts them to one of the reservoirs (14), as mentioned at col. 4, lines 25-54 and col. 5, lines 21-45,
wherein each of the plurality of separate money item reservoirs (14) is selectively switchable between a plurality of operating configurations comprising at least a money item retention configuration, i.e., via inlet (40) and opening (44) when aligned with coin slot (34), and a money item supply configuration, i.e., via outlet (42) when coin slot (34) is aligned accordingly, as illustrated in figures 1, 2 and 5, for example.
Regarding Claim 2, Juan discloses
wherein, for each of the plurality of separate money item reservoirs (14), switching to the money item supply configuration from another of the plurality of operating configurations comprises aligning a money item outlet, i.e., coin slot (34) of the money item reservoir (14) with a money item output routing, i.e., construed as outlet (42), as illustrated in figures 1, 2 and 5, for example.
Regarding Claim 3, Juan discloses
wherein, for each of the plurality of separate money item reservoirs (14), switching from the money item supply configuration to another of the plurality of operating configurations comprises unaligning a money item outlet, i.e., coin slot (34) of the money item reservoir (14) with a money item output routing, i.e., construed as outlet (42), as illustrated in figures 1, 2 and 5, for example.
Regarding Claim 4, Juan discloses
wherein the plurality of operating configurations further comprises at least a money item receiving configuration, i.e., via inlet (40), when coin slot (34) is aligned with said inlet (40).
Regarding Claim 5, Juan discloses
wherein for each of the plurality of separate money item reservoirs (14), switching to the money item receiving configuration from another of the plurality of operating configurations comprises aligning a money item inlet (34) of the money item reservoir (14) with a money item input routing (40), as illustrated in figure 5, for example.
Regarding Claim 6, Juan discloses
wherein, for each of the plurality of separate money item reservoirs (14), switching from the money item receiving configuration to another of the plurality of operating configurations comprises unaligning a money item inlet (34) of the money item reservoir (14) with a money item input routing (40), as illustrated in figure 5, for example.
Regarding Claim 7, Juan discloses
wherein the money item receiving configuration is a sub configuration of the money item retention configuration, noting that when the coin slot is moved out of alignment with either the inlet (40) or the outlet (42), the coins are retained within the housing of reservoir (14) as illustrated in figure 5, for example, and noting that the receiving configuration is the opposite of the coin dispensing configuration, as illustrated in figure 5.
Regarding Claim 8, Juan discloses
comprising a rotatable apparatus, i.e., noting the barrel assembly of coin barrels/reservoirs (14) connected together via shafts (24) each with interlocking shafts/connecting portion (46) that fits into connecting portion (48) to create a barrel assembly, wherein the plurality of separate money item reservoirs (14) is (are) located in the rotatable apparatus, as illustrated in figures 1-4, for example.
Regarding Claim 9, Juan discloses
wherein separate reservoirs (14) of the plurality of separate money item reservoirs (14) are separated from one another by at least one internal dividing wall, i.e., bottom base (26) and lid (30), of the rotatable apparatus, as illustrated in figures 1-4, for example.
Regarding Claim 12, Juan discloses
wherein the money item inlets (40) of the plurality of separate money item reservoirs (14) are located adjacent to one another in an inlet region (58, 60, 62, 64) of the rotatable apparatus, as illustrated in figures 1-4, for example.
Regarding Claim 13, Juan discloses
wherein the money item inlets (40) of the plurality of separate money item reservoirs (14) are located in a row which is uninterrupted by money item outlets (42), as illustrated in figures 1-5, noting that the outlets (42) are located opposite of the inlets (40).
Regarding Claim 14, Juan discloses
wherein the money item inlet (40) of at least one of the plurality of money item reservoirs (14) is located on an opposite side of the rotatable apparatus to the at least one of the plurality of money item reservoirs (14), as illustrated in figures 1 and 5, noting that the inlets (40) are located next to each other along the barrel/shaft direction (24) from motor (12), for example.
Regarding Claim 15, Juan discloses
wherein the money item inlet (40) of at least one money item reservoir (14) comprises a channel, i.e., noting the coin slot (34) comprises a channel, which extends through a central region of the rotatable apparatus to the at least one money item reservoir (14), as illustrated in figure 5, for example.
Regarding Claim 16, Juan discloses
wherein the rotatable apparatus, i.e., the barrel assembly in figures 1 and 4, for example, is configured to rotate on an axis, i.e., represented by the rotation axis of shaft (24), and wherein, for each of the plurality of separate money item reservoirs (14), switching from any particular one of the plurality of operating configurations to any particular other one of the plurality of operating configurations comprises the rotatable apparatus rotating from a first position to a second position, i.e., rotating so that the coin slot (34) is cycled from a receiving position under the inlet (40) and opening (44) to the outlet (42).
Regarding Claim 17, Juan discloses
wherein, for each of the plurality of separate money item reservoirs (14), each of the plurality of operating configurations corresponds to a different rotational position of the rotatable apparatus, i.e,. the barrel assembly as shown in figures 1-5, for example, rotating so that the coin slot (34) is cycled from a receiving position under the inlet (40) and opening (44) to the outlet (42).
Regarding Claim 19, Juan discloses
further comprising an actuator, i.e., motor (12), as illustrated in figure 1, configured to selectively rotate the rotatable apparatus, i.e., the barrel assembly as illustrated in figures 1-5, between different rotational positions, as mentioned in col. 5, line 46-col. 6, line 4.
Regarding Claim 20, Juan discloses wherein the money item input routing, i.e., represented by inlet (40), is located at a first position, i.e., the top, relative to the rotatable apparatus, i.e., the barrel assembly as illustrated in figures 1-5, and a money item output routing, as represented by the outlet (42), is located (at) a second, different position, i.e., at the bottom, relative to the rotatable apparatus, as illustrated in figures 1-5.
Regarding Claim 21, Juan discloses wherein the
money item input routing, i.e., represented by inlet (40), is configured to feed money items towards the rotatable apparatus, i.e., the barrel assembly, from a first direction and wherein the money item output routing, i.e., represented by outlet (42), is configured to receive money items from the rotatable apparatus from a second direction, as illustrated in figures 1-5, for example.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juan et al (US 9,881,436 B1) in view of Shuren et al (US 2010/0234985 A1) and further in view of Quatrini et al (US 8,517,163 B2).
Regarding Claims 30 and 46, Juan teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 30, Juan teaches
a method of operating a money item supply apparatus, as illustrated in figures 1-5, comprising:
storing, in a plurality of separate money item reservoirs (14) of the money item supply apparatus, i.e., the barrel assembly as illustrated in figures 1-5, a plurality of sets of money items, i.e., coins of varying denominations, wherein each set of money items is stored in a different one of the plurality of separate money reservoirs (14) and comprises money items of mixed denominations;
selecting, from the plurality of separate money item reservoirs (14) and sets of stored money items, a money item reservoir and a set of stored money items;
switching an operating configuration of the selected money item reservoir from a first
operating configuration to a second operating configuration, wherein the second operating
configuration is a money item supply configuration; and
supplying, from the selected money item reservoir in the money item supply
configuration, the selected set of stored money items.
Regarding Claim 30, Quattrini teaches
a method of operating a money item supply apparatus, as illustrated in figures 1-7, comprising:
storing, in a plurality of separate money item reservoirs, i.e., bins (11), of the money item supply apparatus, a plurality of sets of money items, i.e., coins of varying denominations, wherein each set of money items is stored in a different one of the plurality of separate money reservoirs (11) and comprises money items of mixed denominations, i.e., the step of sending coins to a default path to a common bin (205) as illustrated in figure 7 and as mentioned at col. 5, lines 43-57;
selecting, from the plurality of separate money item reservoirs (11) and sets of stored money items/coins, a money item reservoir (11) and a set of stored money items/coins;
in which the reservoirs/bins (11) receive authenticated/discriminated coins via acceptor unit (1) and track module (5), as mentioned at col. 4, lines 6-41, which states as follows.
(12) As shown in FIG. 1 the coin handling system of this invention has a front end coin acceptor unit 1 which receives coins from a customer and determines whether or not the coin is legal tender and if it is, the coins denomination is identified. The acceptor unit 1 generates signals reflecting the denomination. The acceptor unit 1 has two mechanical output paths, one in which a rejected coin will be directed to the coin return slot 14 and a second in which the coin is inserted into a coin pocket 7. Coin pocket 7 comprises a chamber that receives an accepted coin for firing outward by the action of a solenoid 6. A sensor 15 detects the presence of a coin in the pocket to start a sequence of events prior to firing the coin.
(13) The coin pocket 7 provides the actuator for sorter unit 2 and is selectively aligned with a track of module 5 for transporting coins to a particular one of the bins 11. The track module 5 of sorter unit 2 comprises a series of tracks constructed to direct fired coins from the coin pocket to the desired bin. The ejector head 4, consisting of coin pocket 7 and striking solenoid 6, is mounted for movement, in the direction of arrow 20 in FIG. 4. After each coin firing, the ejector head 4 is returned to alignment with the output of acceptor 2. Track module 5 is mounted on chassis 16.
(14) Movement of the ejector head 4 is provided by a rack and pinion drive 8, 9. Rack 8 engages pinion gear 9 to provide movement of the ejector head 4 relative to the openings at the entrance to the track module 5. Gear 9 is driven by a motor 10, in response to the coin denomination signal of acceptor unit 1. The bins 11 are arranged according to denomination and the coin pocket 7 is moved into alignment with the appropriate track of module 5 to receive a fired coin and direct it to the input opening 18 of the proper bin 11. Each of the tracks 5 is associated with one of the openings 18 of a particular bin 11. An additional bin (not shown), that may be positioned in the space between the dispensing hoppers, is identified as a common bin which is the default destination of coins of any denomination in the event of a malfunction of the system.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 30, Quattrini does not expressly teach
switching an operating configuration of the selected money item reservoir from a first operating configuration to a second operating configuration, wherein the second operating configuration is a money item supply configuration; and
supplying, from the selected money item reservoir in the money item supply configuration, the selected set of stored money items.
Note that it has been held that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Additionally, note that it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Regarding Claim 30, Quattrini does not expressly teach, but Juan teaches
switching an operating configuration of the selected money item reservoir (14) from a first operating configuration, i.e., in a coin reception configuration for accepting coins via inlet (40) and opening (44) in a configuration to accept coins when aligned with coin slot (34), as illustrated in figures 1-5, to a second operating configuration wherein the second operating configuration is a money item supply configuration, i.e., via outlet (42) when coin slot (34) is aligned accordingly, as illustrated in figures 1, 2 and 5, for example; and
supplying, from the selected money item reservoir (14) in the money item supply
configuration, the selected set of stored money items.
Regarding Claim 30, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a device that performs the steps of switching an operating configuration of the selected money item reservoir from a first operating configuration to a second operating configuration, wherein the second operating configuration is a money item supply configuration; and
supplying, from the selected money item reservoir in the money item supply configuration, the selected set of stored money items, as taught by Juan, in Quattrini’s method and apparatus, since Juan’s reservoirs (14) are coin reservoirs used to both receive coins and dispense them and are equivalent structures as Quattrini’s bins (11). Additionally, note that it would have been well within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Juan’s reservoirs to receive coins from Quattrini’s track unit (5) by duplicating each reservoir (14) with its own motor for each track, for example.
Regarding Claim 30, Quattrini does not expressly teach a money item reservoir comprising money items/coins of mixed denominations.
Regarding Claim 30, Quattrini does not expressly teach, but Shuren teaches a money item reservoir, i.e., bulk coin store (1) or drum (20), as illustrated in figures 1 and 5-19, comprising money items/coins of mixed denominations, as mentioned at paragraphs 30, 47 and 56, for example.
Regarding Claim 30, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a money item reservoir comprising money items/coins of mixed denominations, as taught by Shuren, in Quattrini’s method and apparatus, for the purpose of creating a reservoir of mixed coins that can resupply the system and other denomination specific reservoirs, thus extending the operation of the money item supply apparatus.
Regarding Claim 46, see the rejections of Claims 1 and 30, above, noting that it would have been well within the skill of an ordinarily skilled artisan to have adapted Juan’s reservoirs (14) to operate with Quattrini’s coin handling system so that individual reservoirs can be individually and selectively operated to receive and dispense coins of specific denominations as required to complete a transaction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gautherot ‘388 is cited as another example of a money item/coin supply apparatus as illustrated in figures 1-2e, for example.
Blythin ‘194 is cited as teaching another example of a money item supply apparatus (1) as illustrated in figures 1-9, with chains (9, 9a, 9b, 14, 14a, 14b) as seen in figures 3-6, for example, with bins (12) that dispense coins/money items onto said chains.
Harada ‘864 is cited as teaching a diverter (15a) that diverts a coin from a coin path to deposit the coins into a storage reservoir (21a-21c) based upon the authentication and denomination determination provided by identifying unit (11) as illustrated in figure 1, 2a and 2b, for example.
/JEFFREY A SHAPIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
January 17, 2026