Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 14-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tallury et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0049389 in view of Datta et al, WO 2016/053467.
Tallury teaches a bicomponent fiber comprising a first component comprising a first polypropylene homopolymer and a second component comprising a blend of a propylene based elastomer and a polypropylene homopolymer. See paragraph 0004. The blend has a melt flow rate that it at least as least 20% greater or 20% less than the melt flow rate of the first polypropylene homopolymer. See paragraph 0004, 0005. The first and second polypropylene homopolymers can be the same or different. See paragraph 0024. The polypropylene can have a heat of fusion of greater than 60 J/g and at least 80 J/g. The MFR can be 1-500 g/10 min. See paragraph 0027. The polypropylenes can have a melting point of 110-170 degrees Celsius. See paragraph 0025. The bicomponent fiber can comprise a first component including the first polypropylene homopolymer and a second component comprising a blend of a propylene based elastomer and a second polypropylene homopolymer. See paragraph 0031. The amount of polypropylene homopolymer or blend of propylene homopolymers in the first component can be 80-100 wt% and the amount of polypropylene homopolymer or blend of propylene homopolymers in the second component can be 10-90-wt %. See paragraph 0032-0033. The propylene based elastomer can have a heat of fusion of less than 80 J/g, a melting point of 105 degrees C or less and an MFR of 2-50 g/min. The propylene based elastomer can have a triad tacity of at least 75%. See paragraph 0038. The propylene based elastomer can have a density of 0.850-0.900 g/cc. See paragraph 0042. The propylene based elastomer has 1-35 wt % of alpha olefin. See paragraph 0035. The alpha olefin can be ethylene. See paragraph 0035. The bicomponent fibers can have a side by side configuration. See paragraph 0061. With regard to the tacity, Tallury does not teach the claimed value measured in the same way, however, since the same polymer is present, it is reasonable to expect that either the tacity is necessarily present, or else it would have been obvious to select the particular composition of the elastomer in order to provide the desired properties. The fibers are formed by forming the blend, extruding and collecting the formed fibers into a nonwoven. The nonwoven can be a hygiene product. See paragraphs 0060-0062, 0084. With regard to the particular thickness, it would have been obvious to have deposited a suitable thickness of fibers to form the desired thickness in the final product.
Tallury differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose that the first polypropylene should be a blend of two polypropylenes and does not clearly disclose the claimed Tm for first and second polypropylenes in a blend, since Tallury only employs a single polypropylene as the first component.
However, Datta teaches a polymer blend comprising a blend of a first and second polypropylene. The first polypropylene has a TM of greater than 150C. The first polypropylene has a MFR of 0.1-50 g/10m. See paragraphs 0005-0006. The second polypropylene has an MFR of 50-1000 g/10 min. The second polypropylene has a Tm of greater than 150C. See paragraph 0015. Datta teaches that the blend provides a polypropylene having improved processability. See paragraph 0013.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed a blend of polypropylenes as taught by Datta as the first component in the blend of Tallury in order to provide a polypropylene composition having improved processability as taught by Datta.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tallury in view of Datta as applied to claims above, and further in view of Abubakar et al, WO 2016/192097A1.
Tallury in view of Datta do not teach the claimed crystallinity of the elastomer.
However, Abubaker discloses a propylene based elastomer. See abstract. Abubaker teaches that it was known to blend high and low MFR polymer and/or high and low crystallinity polymers. See page 2, paragraph 5. Abubakar teaches forming fibers from a propylene elastomer having a MFR of 30-80 g/10min with a thermoplastic polymer. The elastomer can have a crystallinity of about 5-15%. See paragraph 23, page 6. The elastomer can have a density of 0.850-0.920 g/cc, see paragraph 32. The elastomer can have a weight average molecular weight of 100,000 to 130,000 g/mole. The elastomer can be blended with a propylene based thermoplastic polymer having a crystallinity of at least 40%. See paragraph 42. The propylene polymer can have a density of 0.85-0.91 g/cc. see paragraph 45. The fibers can be formed by forming the polymer mixture, extruding and forming onto a forming belt. See paragraph 58.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have employed a propylene elastomer having a crystallinity as taught by Abubakar in view of its art recognized suitability for this purpose.
Applicant’s amendment filed 6/3/26 are sufficient to overcome the previous rejection. A new rejection is set forth above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789