DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02 December 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-4, 10-12, 14-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by CH372822 to Christensen et al., an English translation of which was provided by Applicant via the IDS filed 02 December 2025 and is referred-to herein, (“Christensen”).
With regard to Claims 1-3, 10-12, and 14-15, Christensen teaches a method of coating edges of an acoustic panel composed of man-made vitreous fiber to form a film thereon, the method comprising applying inorganic filler and/or pigment powder and binder layers and heat treating (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0024], [0039]-[0040], [0044]). Christensen teaches spray-application of materials (see ¶ [0047]).
With regard to Claim 4, Christensen teaches milling before or after edge treatment (see ¶ [0050]).
With regard to Claim 17, Christensen teaches a suspended ceiling comprising acoustic panels (see ¶ [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US 4,248,379 to Hollstein et al. (“Hollstein”).
With regard to Claims 5-6, Christensen does not teach processing and sourcing powder from a fluidized bed. Hollstein is directed to powder coating operations, and teaches valve-controlled processing and sourcing of powder coating material from multiple fluidized beds for application of powder to a target surface (see Abstract; FIG. 1). The arrangement of Hollstein enables quick changes in applied powder material without process interruption or contamination (see Col. 1, Lns. 44-52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have processed and sourced powder coating material using valve-controlled fluidized beds in the method of Christensen, as taught by Hollstein, in order to maintain continuity of coating operations.
3. Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US 4,056,647 to Garrick et al. (“Garrick”) and US 2,758,564 to Randall.
With regard to Claims 8-9, Christensen does not teach vacuum-facilitated powder application as claimed. Garrick is similarly directed to provision of powder coating material on panel edges, and indicates an apparatus therefor such as that of Randall (see Garrick at Abstract; Col. 3, Lns. 37-39; Col. 4, Lns. 18-30). Randall discloses a frame apparatus comprising a powder inlet for applying powder material on surfaces and edges of sheet materials, with masking of areas not to be coated (see FIG. 1). Garrick teaches usage of the apparatus of Randall to apply coating material to sheet edges and collection of excess via vacuum (see Garrick at Col. 4, Lns. 18-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed the apparatus of Randall as directed by Garrick in order to efficiently apply and recover powder coating material to panel edges.
4. Claims 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen as applied to Claim 14, and further in view of US 2016/0296971 to Hung et al. (“Hung”).
With regard to Claims 16 and 20, Christensen does not teach the claimed film thickness. Hung is similarly directed to methods of producing edge-coated performance panels, and teaches applying powder and particulate binder followed by heat treatment therefor (see Abstract; FIGs. 14-15; ¶¶ [0002]-[0003], [0027], [0119], [0143], [0174]). Hung teaches coating thicknesses within the claimed range (see ¶ [0044]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided coating thicknesses within the claimed range in the method of Christensen, as taught by Hung, with a reasonable expectation of success.
5. Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen as applied to Claim 14, and further in view of US 2014/0166836 to Kabatsi et al. (“Kabatsi”).
With regard to Claims 17-19, Christensen teaches ceiling suspension of acoustic panels (see ¶ [0031]); however the reference does not expressly teach deployment as wall structures or vertical baffles as claimed. Kabatsi teaches vertical arrangement of board-shaped members affixed to grid supports suspended from ceilings as repeatable decorative architectural features to conceal utilities while permitting function and access thereof (see Abstract; FIGs. 2, 8, 12; ¶ [0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have deployed panels produced by the method of Christensen as acoustic panel members of a decorative and/or functional architectural feature as taught by Kabatsi.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03 September 2025 have been fully considered but are deemed moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented herein in response to the claims as amended.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed valve arrangement and operation in cooperation with a conveyor system on which an acoustic panel is transported to control sourcing and application of powder material to panel edges form a fluidized bed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715