DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 5/8/2023 in which claims 1-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 12, 14-16, 20-22, 24, 26, 27, 29, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumura et al. (US20230262612A1).
As to claims 1, 20, 29, and 30, Matsumura teaches a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising: ([0001] The present disclosure relates to a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station in next-generation mobile communication systems.)
generating a frame including a power headroom report (PHR) with one or more entries, wherein: ([0176] The control section 210 generates data, [0062] FIGS. 2A to 2D are each a diagram to show an example of a configuration of the panel specific PHR MAC CE.)
each of the one or more entries comprises at least:
a first field including power headroom information; and ([0064] The PH field and the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field in FIGS. 2A and 2B may correspond to a value regarding a panel of the panel ID indicated by the panel ID field.)
a second field including an indication of a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) limit; and ([0033] As one of the limitation methods, limitation using power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR, maximum permitted UE output power reduction) is defined. For example, the UE maximum output power P.sub.CMAX,f,c is configured so that corresponding P.sub.UMAX,f,c (measured maximum output power, measured maximum configured UE output power) satisfies the following expression. [0034] EIRP.sub.max is a maximum value of corresponding measurement peak equivalent isotopically radiated power (EIRP). P-MPR.sub.f,c is a value indicating reduction of maximum output power permitted for the carrier f of the serving cell c. [0055] In reference to (2) above, in the present disclosure, P-MPR may be interchangeably interpreted as required power backoff due to power management, allowed maximum output power reduction, P-MPR (P-MPR for the serving cell c), and the like. [0080] The panel specific PHR MAC CE may or may not include a P-MPR field indicating P-MPR for a panel of a panel ID implicitly or explicitly shown by the MAC CE.)
the frame includes information for indicating an antenna panel of the UE associated with the PHR; and ([0061] The panel specific PHR MAC CE may include a panel ID.)
transmitting the frame to a base station of a serving cell. ([0022] In NR, a UE transmits a PH report (Power Headroom Report (PHR)) including information of power headroom (PH) for each serving cell to a network.)
As to claim 2, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the PHR corresponds to a single serving cell of one or more serving cells of the UE. ([0062] Each of the present examples is an example of the single entry PHR MAC CE regarding a PCell)
As to claims 3, and 21, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 2, wherein: the PHR includes only one entry corresponding to the single serving cell; and (Fig. 2A and 2B)
the information for indicating the antenna panel of the UE comprises a panel identifier (ID) of the antenna panel of the UE to which the one entry in the PHR corresponds. ([0064] The PH field and the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field in FIGS. 2A and 2B may correspond to a value regarding a panel of the panel ID indicated by the panel ID field.)
As to claim 4, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the panel ID comprises one or more of: a beam group ID; a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state pool ID; a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource ID; a control resource set (CORESET) pool ID; or closed loop power control index. ([0040] Note that, in the present disclosure, a panel, a beam, a panel group, a beam group, an Uplink (UL) transmission entity, a TRP, spatial relation information (SRI), spatial relation, a control resource set (CORESET), a PDSCH, a codeword, a base station, a given antenna port (for example, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port), a given antenna port group (for example, a DMRS port group), a given group (for example, a code division multiplexing (CDM) group, a given reference signal group, a CORESET group), a given resource (for example, a given reference signal resource), a given resource set (for example, a given reference signal resource set), a CORESET pool, and the like may be interchangeably interpreted as each other. [0041] A panel Identifier (ID) and a panel may be interchangeably interpreted as each other. In other words, a TRP ID and a TRP, a CORESET group ID and a CORESET group, and the like may be interchangeably interpreted as each other. An ID and an index may be interchangeably interpreted as each other. [0042] In the following, the present disclosure will describe an embodiment in which the UE determines a relationship between an SRS and a panel, and reports the relationship to the base station.)
As to claim 5, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the information for indicating an antenna panel of the UE includes at least one bit specifying a number of entries in the PHR corresponding to the single serving cell. ([0076] FIG. 3B shows an example of the panel specific PHR MAC CE including a panel ID field corresponding to each panel ID. An AX (X=0 to 3) field indicates whether or not information (for example, the PH field, the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field) regarding panel #X+1 is included in the MAC CE (whether or not the information is reported by the MAC CE). For example, the PHR MAC CE of A0 field=‘0’ does not include the information regarding panel #1, and the PHR MAC CE of A0 field=‘1’ includes the information regarding panel #1.)
As to claims 6 and 22, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 5, wherein: when the at least one bit is a first value, the first value indicates that the PHR includes only one entry corresponding to the single serving cell, and that the one entry corresponds to a default antenna panel of the UE; and ([0076] FIG. 3B shows an example of the panel specific PHR MAC CE including a panel ID field corresponding to each panel ID. An AX (X=0 to 3) field indicates whether or not information (for example, the PH field, the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field) regarding panel #X+1 is included in the MAC CE (whether or not the information is reported by the MAC CE). For example, the PHR MAC CE of A0 field=‘0’ does not include the information regarding panel #1, and the PHR MAC CE of A0 field=‘1’ includes the information regarding panel #1.)
when the at least one bit is a second value, the second value indicates that the PHR includes at least two entries corresponding to the single serving cell, a first entry of the at least two entries correspond to a default antenna panel of the UE, and a second entry of the at least two entries corresponds to another antenna panel of the UE. ([0076] FIG. 3B shows an example of the panel specific PHR MAC CE including a panel ID field corresponding to each panel ID. An AX (X=0 to 3) field indicates whether or not information (for example, the PH field, the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field) regarding panel #X+1 is included in the MAC CE (whether or not the information is reported by the MAC CE). For example, the PHR MAC CE of A0 field=‘0’ does not include the information regarding panel #1, and the PHR MAC CE of A0 field=‘1’ includes the information regarding panel #1.)
As to claim 7, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the default antenna panel of the UE is an antenna panel of the UE used for transmitting a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) media access control element (MAC-CE). ([0023] The PHR may be transmitted by MAC (Medium Access Control) signaling using a PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel). [0026] Note that, for example, type 1 PH may be PH when a PUSCH is taken into consideration (for example, only power of the PUSCH is taken into consideration),)
As to claim 8, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the PHR further includes an indication of whether the second entry corresponding to the other antenna panel of the UE includes virtual power headroom information or real power headroom information. ([0026] Note that, for example, type 1 PH may be PH when a PUSCH is taken into consideration (for example, only power of the PUSCH is taken into consideration), type 2 PH may be PH when a PUCCH is taken into consideration (for example, power of both of the PUSCH and the PUCCH is taken into consideration), and type 3 PH may be PH when a reference signal for measurement (SRS (Sounding Reference Signal)) is taken into consideration (for example, power of the PUSCH and the SRS is taken into consideration).)
As to claims 12 and 24, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the PHR corresponds to multiple serving cells of the one or more serving cells; and ([0062] FIGS. 2A to 2D are each a diagram to show an example of a configuration of the panel specific PHR MAC CE. Each of the present examples is an example of the single entry PHR MAC CE regarding a PCell. However, this is not restrictive. The PCell may be interpreted as another cell (for example, an SCell). The multiple entry PHR MAC CE including a plurality of these configurations may be used (in this case, type 1 PH may be interpreted as PH of another type).)
the PHR includes multiple entries, each entry corresponding to one or more of the multiple serving cells. (Fig. 2C, 2D, and 3B)
As to claims 14 and 26, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 12, wherein: the information for indicating the antenna panel of the UE comprises a plurality of panel identifiers (IDs); and each respective panel ID of the plurality of panel IDs is associated with a different entry of the multiple entries in the PHR and specifies the antenna panel of the UE for that different entry. (Fig. 2C, 2D, and 3B)
As to claim 15, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 12, wherein: the information for indicating an antenna panel of the UE includes a plurality of bits; each bit of the plurality of bits corresponds to a different serving cell of the multiple serving cells; and each bit of the plurality of bits specifies a number of entries of the multiple entries in the PHR that corresponds to its corresponding serving cell of the multiple serving cells. ([0076] FIG. 3B shows an example of the panel specific PHR MAC CE including a panel ID field corresponding to each panel ID. An AX (X=0 to 3) field indicates whether or not information (for example, the PH field, the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field) regarding panel #X+1 is included in the MAC CE (whether or not the information is reported by the MAC CE). For example, the PHR MAC CE of A0 field=‘0’ does not include the information regarding panel #1, and the PHR MAC CE of A0 field=‘1’ includes the information regarding panel #1.)
As to claims 16 and 27, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 15, wherein: the plurality of bits comprises at least a first bit corresponding to a first serving cell of the multiple serving cells; a first value of the first bit indicates that the PHR includes only one entry for the first serving cell and that the antenna panel of the UE corresponding to the one entry comprises an antenna panel of the UE used for transmitting a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); anda second value of the first bit indicates that: the PHR includes at least two entries for the first serving cell; a first entry of the at least two entries corresponds to the antenna panel of the UE used for transmitting the PUSCH; and a second entry of the at least two entries corresponds to another antenna panel of the UE. ([0076] FIG. 3B shows an example of the panel specific PHR MAC CE including a panel ID field corresponding to each panel ID. An AX (X=0 to 3) field indicates whether or not information (for example, the PH field, the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field) regarding panel #X+1 is included in the MAC CE (whether or not the information is reported by the MAC CE). For example, the PHR MAC CE of A0 field=‘0’ does not include the information regarding panel #1, and the PHR MAC CE of A0 field=‘1’ includes the information regarding panel #1.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-19, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura.
As to claims 17 and 28, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 12, wherein: the information for indicating an antenna panel of the UE associated with the PHR includes a first plurality of bits and a second plurality of bits; (Fig. 2C and 2D)
a first bit of the first plurality of bits and a first bit of the second plurality of bits is associated with a first serving cell of the multiple serving cells; and (Fig. 2C and 2D)
But does not specifically teach:
a combination of a value of the first bit of the first plurality of bits and a value of the first bit of the second plurality of bits indicates whether the PHR: includes at least two entries corresponding to the first serving cell; only one entry corresponding to the first serving cell; or no entries corresponding to the first serving cell.
However Matsumura Fig. 2C and 2D in combination with Fig. 3B of Matsumura teaches a combination of a value of the first bit of the first plurality of bits and a value of the first bit of the second plurality of bits indicates whether the PHR: includes at least two entries corresponding to the first serving cell; only one entry corresponding to the first serving cell; or no entries corresponding to the first serving cell. ([0076] FIG. 3B shows an example of the panel specific PHR MAC CE including a panel ID field corresponding to each panel ID. An AX (X=0 to 3) field indicates whether or not information (for example, the PH field, the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field) regarding panel #X+1 is included in the MAC CE (whether or not the information is reported by the MAC CE). For example, the PHR MAC CE of A0 field=‘0’ does not include the information regarding panel #1, and the PHR MAC CE of A0 field=‘1’ includes the information regarding panel #1.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the embodiments of Fig. 2C or 2D with the embodiment of Fig. 3B in order to identify if information of a specific panel of a specific cell is included in the PHR MAC-CE.
As to claim 18, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 17, wherein: the combination indicates that the PHR includes the at least two entries corresponding to the first serving cell; and the combination further indicates a different antenna panel of the UE corresponding to each entry of the at least two entries. (Fig. 2C and 2D in combination with [0076] FIG. 3B shows an example of the panel specific PHR MAC CE including a panel ID field corresponding to each panel ID. An AX (X=0 to 3) field indicates whether or not information (for example, the PH field, the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field) regarding panel #X+1 is included in the MAC CE (whether or not the information is reported by the MAC CE). For example, the PHR MAC CE of A0 field=‘0’ does not include the information regarding panel #1, and the PHR MAC CE of A0 field=‘1’ includes the information regarding panel #1.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the embodiments of Fig. 2C or 2D with the embodiment of Fig. 3B in order to identify if information of a specific panel of a specific cell is included in the PHR MAC-CE.
As to claim 19, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 17, wherein: the combination indicates the PHR includes only the one entry corresponding to the first serving cell; and the combination further indicates one of a first antenna panel of the UE corresponds to the one entry or a second antenna panel of the UE corresponds to the one entry. (Fig. 2C and 2D in combination with [0076] FIG. 3B shows an example of the panel specific PHR MAC CE including a panel ID field corresponding to each panel ID. An AX (X=0 to 3) field indicates whether or not information (for example, the PH field, the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field) regarding panel #X+1 is included in the MAC CE (whether or not the information is reported by the MAC CE). For example, the PHR MAC CE of A0 field=‘0’ does not include the information regarding panel #1, and the PHR MAC CE of A0 field=‘1’ includes the information regarding panel #1.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the embodiments of Fig. 2C or 2D with the embodiment of Fig. 3B in order to identify if information of a specific panel of a specific cell is included in the PHR MAC-CE.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11, 13, 23, and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Elton Williams/Examiner, Art Unit 2465