DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. The amendment filed April 09, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-12 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-4, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (WIPO Pub. No. WO 2013/121579 A1) in view of Terauchi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0088877 A1, hereinafter "Terauchi"), and further in view of Abanami (U.S. Pat. No. 7,889,173 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Sugawara teaches an audio device configured to play back music data (music player 1, Fig. 1, Para. [0021]), the audio device comprising a first playback controller (control unit 9, Fig. 2, Para. [0025]) configured:
in a case where a user performs an ON operation during playback of first music, to perform application of a first effect to the first music (user performs ON operation using input unit 3 and an effect is applied to the piece of music being played, Paras. [0024], [0025] and [0029]), the first effect being set in association with the first music (effect amount is predetermined based on the beats or the like of the piece of music included in the analysis data 4b and also may be set based on information relating to a piece of music, Para. [0038]; therefore the effect can be set in association with the first music); and
in a case where the user performs an operation after the application of the first effect, to stop the application of the first effect (after the application of the first effect user performs an operation by releasing finger on the input unit 3 to gradually stop the application of the first effect and switching to a release effect to reduce an uncomfortable feeling in terms of hearing, Paras. [0046] and [0047]).
Sugawara fails to explicitly teach the first effect being set in association with the first music; and
in a case where the user performs an OFF operation after the application of the first effect, to stop the application of the first effect and to perform playback of a sampling sound.
However, Terauchi teaches effect being set in association with the first music (recommended effect information can be incorporated in the attribute information associated with a particular piece of music, Paras. [0105]-[0108]; during playback of music, when the attribute information includes effect information indicating a recommended effect, the recommended effect is applied to the music being played, Para. [0226]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the audio device (as taught by Sugawara) to include the effect being set in association with the first music (as taught by Terauchi). Doing so, automatic reconstruction may be performed to present the music in a form expected to be liked by the listener (Terauchi Para. [0225]).
However, Abanami teaches in a case where the user performs an OFF operation and to perform playback of a sampling sound (user performs a forward function [Off operation] which allows user to stop playing a first music file and start playing a second music file [a sampling sound], Claim 2, col. 5, lines 14-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the audio device (as taught by Sugawara in view of Terauchi) to include the playback of a sampling sound after the first effect is stopped (as taught by Abanami). Doing so improves user convenience and usability.
Regarding Claim 2, Sugawara in view of Terauchi, and further in view of Abanami teach wherein the first playback controller is configured to play back an effect sound related to the first effect in synchronization with a beat position of the first music (Sugawara, effect amount playback of the first effect can be in synchronization with beat position, Para. [0038]).
Regarding Claim 3, Sugawara in view of Terauchi, and further in view of Abanami teach wherein, in a case where the OFF operation is performed, the first playback controller is configured to perform the playback of the sampling sound after application of a second effect to the first music, or to perform the application of the second effect to the first music after the playback of the sampling sound, the second effect being different from the first effect.
Sugawara teaches wherein, in a case where the OFF operation is performed, the first playback controller is configured to perform the playback of a second effect to the first music, the second effect being different from the first effect (after the application of the first effect user performs an OFF operation by releasing finger on the input unit 3 to gradually stop the application of the first effect and switching to a release effect [second effect], Paras. [0046] and [0047]).
Abanami teaches playback of sampling sound after an Off operation (user performs a forward function [Off operation] which allows user to stop playing a first music file and start playing a second music file [a sampling sound], Claim 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Sugawara in view of Terauchi, and further in view of Abanami teach further comprising a storage unit in which setting information is stored, the setting information comprising a combination of the first effect (Sugawara, music player program to add effects can be stored in a computer-readable recording medium, Paras. [0019] and [0020]; also the effects added by the effect unit 6 is preset, Para. [0029]), and the sampling sound (Abanami, second music [sampling sound] is stored in memory, Claim 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the audio device with storage for storing sound effects (as taught by Sugawara in view of Terauchi) to include storing the sampling sound (as taught by Abanami). Doing so provides creative control over transitions between music tracks for a more comfortable and memorable listening experience.
Regarding Claim 8, it is similarly rejected as Claim 1. The method can be found in Sugawara (Fig. 3, Paras. [0033], [0034], [0035], [0036], [0037], [0038], [0039], [0040], [0041], and [0042]).
Regarding Claim 9, it is similarly rejected as Claim 1. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium can be found in Sugawara (Paras. [0019] and [0020]).
4. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (WIPO Pub. No. WO 2013/121579 A1) in view of Terauchi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0088877 A1, hereinafter "Terauchi") in view of Abanami (U.S. Pat. No. 7,889,173 B2), and further in view of Carrier (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0131850 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Sugawara in view of Terauchi, and further in view of Abanami fails to explicitly teach wherein the first effect comprises multiple effects.
However, Carrier teaches wherein the first effect comprises multiple effects (one or more effects may be applied to audio data by playback engine, Para. [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the audio device (as taught by Sugawara in view of Terauchi, and further in view of Abanami) to include the first effect comprising multiple effects (as taught by Carrier). Doing so, enables the creation of richer, more dynamic and creative soundscapes.
5. Claims 6 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (WIPO Pub. No. WO 2013/121579 A1) in view of Terauchi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0088877 A1, hereinafter "Terauchi") in view of Abanami (U.S. Pat. No. 7,889,173 B2), and further in view of O'Donnell et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0334001 A1, hereinafter "O'Donnell").
Regarding Claim 6, Sugawara in view of Terauchi, and further in view of Abanami fails to explicitly teach further comprising a second playback controller configured to perform playback of second music after the playback of the sampling sound, the second music being different from the first music.
However, O'Donnell teaches a second playback controller (channel control sets 21A-D [multiple playback controllers] to control the playback of tracks assigned to deck 1 through 4, Fig. 1, Para. [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the audio device (as taught by Sugawara in view of Terauchi, and further in view of Abanami) to include a second playback controller (as taught by O'Donnell). Doing so, data associated with one or more tracks may be used to control effects applied to other tracks (O'Donnell Para. [0026]).
Regarding Claim 10, Sugawara in view of Terauchi in view of Abanami, and further in view of O'Donnell teach wherein the sampling sound (Abanami, a second music file [a sampling sound] is played which different from the first music, Claim 2) is different from the first music and the second music (O'Donnell, channel control sets 21A-D [multiple playback controllers] to control the playback of tracks assigned to deck 1 through 4, Fig. 1, Para. [0026]; the first music will be different from the second music and so the sampling sound will differ from both the first and second music).
Regarding Claim 11, it is similarly rejected as Claim 10. The method can be found in Sugawara (Fig. 3, Paras. [0033], [0034], [0035], [0036], [0037], [0038], [0039], [0040], [0041], and [0042]).
Regarding Claim 12, it is similarly rejected as Claim 10. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium can be found in Sugawara (Paras. [0019] and [0020]).
6. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (WIPO Pub. No. WO 2013/121579 A1) in view of Terauchi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0088877 A1, hereinafter "Terauchi") in view of Abanami (U.S. Pat. No. 7,889,173 B2), and further in view of Nagayama (WIPO Pub. No. WO 2010/053208 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Sugawara in view of Terauchi, and further in view of Abanami fails to explicitly teach further comprising:
one operation element configured to receive a rotating operation and a switching operation; and
a parameter setting unit configured to set a parameter related to the first effect in response to the rotating operation, wherein
the ON operation comprises the switching operation.
However, Nagayama teaches further comprising:
one operation element configured to receive a rotating operation and a switching operation (rotation switch 30 is pivoted so as to be operable in a forward and reverse manner by a finger, and turns an initial position to an off state, and turns the rotation switch 30 to an on state, Fig. 1, Para. [0010]); and
a parameter setting unit configured to set a parameter related to the first effect in response to the rotating operation (when the rotation switch 30 or the push switch 31, which is the sound effect switch 3, is operated while the music piece of the audio player 10 is in a playback state, the controller 40 [mapped as the parameter setting unit] is configured to control the operation of the rotation switch 30 or the push switch 31, sound effect data corresponding to the operated sound effect switch 3 is read out from a ROM42 serving as a storage unit, music data input from an audio player 10 and the sound effect data are synthesized, and the synthesized data is amplified by a mini-amplifier 45 to drive the mini-speaker 4, Fig. 1, Para. [0010]), wherein
the ON operation comprises the switching operation (rotation switch 30 is pivoted so as to be operable in a forward and reverse manner by a finger, and turns an initial position to an off state, and turns the rotation switch 30 to an on state, Fig. 1, Para. [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the audio device (as taught by Sugawara in view of Terauchi, and further in view of Abanami) to include the rotating operation element (as taught by Nagayama). Doing so enables switching between sound effects such as a scratch sound when forward rotated or a siren sound when reverse rotated (Nagayama Para. [0010]).
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed April 09, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent Claims 1, 8, and 9, applicant argues (see applicant’s remark pages 5-8), Applicant contends the cited art does not teach or suggest an audio device which performs playback of a sampling sound when a user performs an OFF operation after the application of the first effect (i.e. "a first playback controller configured ... in a case where the user performs an OFF operation after the application of the first effect, to stop the application of the first effect and to perform playback of a sampling sound”), as required by claim 1. The cited art does not teach or suggest all features of claim 1 and consequently does not support a prima facie case of obviousness with respect to claim 1.
Applicant submits that a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand the performance of a “sampling sound” to be different from the playing of a next track. It is considered to be clear that the performance of a sampling sound is not the same as the playing of a music track. To this point, Applicant directs attention to specification paragraph 27, which defines the term “sampling sound” as "a sound effect that is played back immediately before switching between pieces of music.".
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s assertions. Sugarawa teaches stopping the application of a first effect applied to first music and switching to a release effect (Paras. [0046] and [0047]). Abanami teaches performing a forward function [an Off operation as defined by Abanami] that stops the playing of a previous music file and plays another music file [the sampling sound] (Claim 2). Applicant further argues that playing a “sampling sound” is different from playing a “next track”. According to Oxford learner’s Dictionary, sampling is the process of copying and recording parts of a piece of music in an electronic form so that they can be used in a different piece of music. Therefore, playing a next track would obviously be similar to playing a “sampling sound”. It is further noted that paragraph 27 of applicant’s specification clearly states that “Note that a portion of music data stored in the music data storage 6 may be used as the sampling”. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art that a “next track” is a portion of music data stored in a medium. The court explained that "reading a claim in light of the specification, to thereby interpret limitations explicitly recited in the claim, is a quite different thing from ‘reading limitations of the specification into a claim,’ to thereby narrow the scope of the claim by implicitly adding disclosed limitations which have no express basis in the claim."
Applicant further argument that Abanami is silent with respect to playing anything in between the switching of the first and second music files and therefore is silent with respect to the playing of a sampling sound as required by independent claims 1, 8 and 9. In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., playing anything in between the switching of the first and second music files and therefore is silent with respect to the playing of a sampling sound) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Independent Claims 1, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara in view of Terauchi, and further in view of Abanami. The combination of the teachings of Sugawara in view of Terauchi, and further in view of Abanami render Claims 1, 8, and 9 obvious.
The rejections of Claims 1, 8, and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara in view of Terauchi, and further in view of Abanami are maintained.
Dependent Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara in view of Terauchi, and further in view of Abanami.
The rejections of Claims 2-4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara in view of Terauchi, and further in view of Abanami are maintained.
Dependent Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara in view of Terauchi in view of Abanami, and further in view of Carrier.
The rejection of Claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara in view of Terauchi in view of Abanami, and further in view of Carrier is maintained.
Dependent Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara in view of Terauchi in view of Abanami, and further in view of O’Donnell.
The rejection of Claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara in view of Terauchi in view of Abanami, and further in view of O’Donnell is maintained.
Dependent Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara in view of Terauchi in view of Abanami, and further in view of Nagayama.
The rejection of Claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara in view of Terauchi in view of Abanami, and further in view of Nagayama is maintained.
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIMEZIE EZERIWE BEKEE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691