DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is reply to the Application Number 18/252,114 filed on 10/12/2025
Claims 1, 2, 4 – 6, 8 and 10 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1 and 8 have been amended
This action is made NON-FINAL
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4 – 6, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 8 state: “each of the staying time and the staying frequency fulfilling a criterium in a predetermined time period of the past”, however the term criterium is known to one with knowledge in the art to be a bike race. Within the context of the claim, it is indefinite to what “fulfilling a criterium” is in reference to.
Claims 2, 4 – 6 and 10 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4 – 6, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozawa et al. (US 20100036601 A1), further in view of Onimaru et al. (US 20170147989 A1) and Andreas et al. (EP3620751A2)
Regarding claim 1, Ozawa teaches an information presentation device comprising: (Ozawa: Paragraph 0001: “The present invention relates to an apparatus in a mobile object represented by an in-vehicle device, a mobile phone,”,
Supplemental Note: the in-vehicle device is interpreted to be the information presentation device)
a processor (Ozawa: Paragraph 0115: “FIG. 2 is a block diagram showing, as an example, a hardware structure for realizing the destination prediction apparatus. The destination prediction apparatus is, for example, realized by hardware which includes a Central Processing Unit 3601, a working memory 3602, an LCD device 3603, a touch panel 3604, a hard disk device 3605, a GPS receiving device 3609, and a bus line 3610 that connects these devices. Note that the hardware is an example, and the present invention includes a case where an alternative having an equivalent function is used.”)
determining whether or not a current traveling situation in which a vehicle is currently traveling corresponds to an outward trip based on a traveling history of the past, and (Ozawa: Paragraph 0153: “The travel history accumulating unit 1401 periodically pairs a position of vehicle with a time based on a current point obtained by the current point obtaining unit 101 and a current time obtained by the current time obtaining unit 105, and accumulates it as a travel history.”; Paragraph 0157: “a regular route from a home to an office is accumulated as a travel history of vehicle. Furthermore, a route between the office and a restaurant is also accumulated as a regular travel. Here, in the case of travelling from the office to Business Trip Destination A for the first time, although a travel history from the office to Business Trip Destination A is accumulated, a travel history in which Business Trip Destination A is a departure point does not exist when departing from Business Trip Destination A”; Paragraph 0159: “When the engine is not started, the process proceeds to S1602. When the engine is started, the process proceeds to S1603. When the engine is not started but the vehicle is moving, a current time and a current position are accumulated as a travel history by the travel history accumulating unit 1401 (S1602). After the accumulation, the process returns to S1601”; Paragraphs 0161 – 0162: “It is judged whether or not the number of departures is zero (S1604). In the case where the number is not zero, that is, it is not the first departure, as the travel history in which the current point is a departure point is accumulated by the travel history accumulating unit 1401, the process proceeds to S1606 and a destination is predicted using the travel history. Note that the method, for example, disclosed in Patent Reference: WO 2004/034725, can be applied in predicting the destination using the travel history. In the case of the first departure, as the travel history in which the current point is the departure point is not accumulated, the process proceeds to S1605 and a destination is predicted using the stay characteristic accumulating unit 103.”,
Supplemental Note: an outward trip is equivalent to a business trip destination that is not in the travel history when traveling from that location. The travel history unit and accumulating unit in this example is responsible for this function in conjunction)
… wherein the processor is configured to: determine a point within the traveling history as the main destination, the point having a longest staying time except at a base within the traveling history that includes a course starting from the base and returning back to the base, the base being another point including a staying time and a staying frequency, each of the staying time and the staying frequency fulfilling a criterium in a predetermined time period of the past, (Ozawa: Abstract: “A destination prediction apparatus which predicts a destination of a mobile object includes: a stay characteristic accumulating unit (103) in which stay characteristic information indicating a time period when the mobile object will likely stay at a predetermined point is accumulated; a travel time calculating unit (104) which calculates a travel time in the case where the mobile object heads from a current location obtained by a current point obtaining unit (101) to the point; and a destination predicting unit (106) which calculates an estimated arrival time based on a current time obtained by a current time obtaining unit (105) and the calculated travel time and predicts the point as a destination only when a condition that the calculated estimated arrival time and a time period indicated by the stay characteristic information is satisfied.”; Paragraph 0122: “The stay characteristic accumulating unit 103 accumulates the stay characteristic information obtained from the user by the stay characteristic setting unit 102. For example, as shown in FIG. 4, regarding "Home", "Landmark 1", and the like, their registered names, positions by latitude and longitude, and additionally information on stay start times and stay end times are accumulated. The registered stay start times and stay end times here correspond respectively to the return home time, or the arrival time, and the departure time set on the interface shown in FIG. 3 by the user as mentioned above.”; Paragraph 0128: “In the example shown in FIG. 6, a current time is 16:00, and in the case of departing from the current point to Home, an estimated arrival time at Home is 17:30. On the other hand, since a stay start time at Home (regular return home time) is 18:00, a 30-minutes difference from the estimated arrival time is calculated. Moreover, although an estimated arrival time is 17:00 for Office, a stay at Office starts at 9:00, which is a time for coming to Office, according to a stay characteristic accumulated by the stay characteristic accumulating unit 103. Consequently, a difference between the estimated arrival time and the stay start time is calculated as 8:00.”,
Supplemental Note: in the example, the stay time of the office interpreted as the main destination and has the longest staying time of 8 hours versus the base which is the home)
based on the traveling history, determine a first route starting from the base and extending to the main destination as the outward trip, and determine a second route starting from the main destination and extending to the base as the return trip, (Ozawa: Paragraph 0153: “The travel history accumulating unit 1401 periodically pairs a position of vehicle with a time based on a current point obtained by the current point obtaining unit 101 and a current time obtained by the current time obtaining unit 105, and accumulates it as a travel history.”; Paragraph 0157: “a regular route from a home to an office is accumulated as a travel history of vehicle. Furthermore, a route between the office and a restaurant is also accumulated as a regular travel. Here, in the case of travelling from the office to Business Trip Destination A for the first time, although a travel history from the office to Business Trip Destination A is accumulated, a travel history in which Business Trip Destination A is a departure point does not exist when departing from Business Trip Destination A”; Paragraph 0159: “When the engine is not started, the process proceeds to S1602. When the engine is started, the process proceeds to S1603. When the engine is not started but the vehicle is moving, a current time and a current position are accumulated as a travel history by the travel history accumulating unit 1401 (S1602). After the accumulation, the process returns to S1601”; Paragraphs 0161 – 0162: “It is judged whether or not the number of departures is zero (S1604). In the case where the number is not zero, that is, it is not the first departure, as the travel history in which the current point is a departure point is accumulated by the travel history accumulating unit 1401, the process proceeds to S1606 and a destination is predicted using the travel history. Note that the method, for example, disclosed in Patent Reference: WO 2004/034725, can be applied in predicting the destination using the travel history. In the case of the first departure, as the travel history in which the current point is the departure point is not accumulated, the process proceeds to S1605 and a destination is predicted using the stay characteristic accumulating unit 103.”,
Supplemental Note: an outward trip is equivalent to a business trip destination that is not in the travel history when traveling from that location. The travel history unit and accumulating unit in this example is responsible for this function in conjunction)
calculate a predicted staying time at the main destination based on the traveling history, and (Ozawa: Paragraph 0092: “a stay characteristic extracting unit which extracts, from the travel history information, information indicating a previous time period when the mobile object has stayed at a predetermined point; a stay characteristic accumulating unit which accumulates the extracted information as stay characteristic information indicating a time period when the mobile object will likely stay at a predetermined point; and a destination predicting unit which calculates an estimated arrival time in the case where the mobile object departs from a current location to the point and predicts the point as a destination only when a condition that the calculated estimated arrival time and the time period indicated by the stay characteristic information are temporally close is satisfied.”; Paragraph 0094: “In addition, the stay characteristic information may indicate a stay start time which is a time when the mobile object will likely start staying at the point and a stay end time which is a time when the mobile object will likely end staying at the point. The destination predicting unit may predict the point as the destination only when the calculated estimated arrival time falls between the stay start time and the stay end time both indicated by the stay characteristic information.”; Paragraph 0144: “Further, concerning the data displayed by the commercial facility data displaying unit 903, information regarding a point and business hours is accumulated as a stay characteristic by the stay characteristic accumulating unit 103. For example, as shown in FIG. 13, concerning Restaurant A, a service start time is 10:00 and a service end time is 20:00. Similarly, Restaurants B and C each presented as commercial facility data are accumulated in the same manner.”)
In sum, Ozawa teaches an information presentation device comprising: a processor determining whether or not a current traveling situation in which a vehicle is currently traveling corresponds to an outward trip based on a traveling history of the past, and wherein the processor is configured to: determine a point within the traveling history as the main destination, the point having a longest staying time except at a base within the traveling history that includes a course starting from the base and returning back to the base, the base being another point including a staying time and a staying frequency, each of the staying time and the staying frequency fulfilling a criterium in a predetermined time period of the past, based on the traveling history, determine a first route starting from the base and extending to the main destination as the outward trip, and determine a second route starting from the main destination and extending to the base as the return trip, calculate a predicted staying time at the main destination based on the traveling history, Ozawa however does not teach determining that the current traveling situation corresponds to the outward trip, at which stopping-off on a return trip associated with the outward trip is predicted; and a display device configured to present the estimated time of arrival at the facility at which stopping-off on the return trip is predicted, while the vehicle is traveling on the outward trip whereas Onimaru does.
Onimaru teaches upon determining that the current traveling situation corresponds to the outward trip, (Onimaru: Abstract: “A portable device that displays action plan information which involves a movement within an arbitrary period and/or execution support information of the action plan which involves the movement includes: a display unit, a display control unit, and a spatiotemporal action diagram display control unit“; Paragraph 0095: “Moreover, the destination setting unit 103 sets a refueling recommendation function ON according to an instruction from the user. As will be described later, when the refueling recommendation function is set ON and a gas station is present on a route included in the action plan data or near the user's home, the action planning and navigation server system 1 (the action plan generation unit 104) can include the gas station in the action plan data as a stopover place on the route. By doing so, the portable device 2 (or the on-board navigation device 3) can display a refueling period or a refueling place during the route guidance.”,
Supplemental Note: the outward trip is interpreted in this example as being able to route to a gas station along a route)
… at which stopping-off on a return trip associated with the outward trip is predicted; and (Onimaru: Paragraph 0095: “As will be described later, when the refueling recommendation function is set ON and a gas station is present on a route included in the action plan data or near the user's home, the action planning and navigation server system 1 (the action plan generation unit 104) can include the gas station in the action plan data as a stopover place on the route. By doing so, the portable device 2 (or the on-board navigation device 3) can display a refueling period or a refueling place during the route guidance.”)
a display device configured to present the estimated time of arrival at the facility at which stopping-off on the return trip is predicted, (Onimaru: Paragraph 0141: “As illustrated in FIG. 6, the time table display control unit 2062 displays the time table generated by the time table generation unit 1062, received from the action planning and navigation server system 1 via the communication unit 22 on the display unit 24.”)
while the vehicle is traveling on the outward trip, (Onimaru: Abstract: “A portable device that displays action plan information which involves a movement within an arbitrary period and/or execution support information of the action plan which involves the movement includes: a display unit, a display control unit, and a spatiotemporal action diagram display control unit“; Paragraph 0095: “Moreover, the destination setting unit 103 sets a refueling recommendation function ON according to an instruction from the user. As will be described later, when the refueling recommendation function is set ON and a gas station is present on a route included in the action plan data or near the user's home, the action planning and navigation server system 1 (the action plan generation unit 104) can include the gas station in the action plan data as a stopover place on the route. By doing so, the portable device 2 (or the on-board navigation device 3) can display a refueling period or a refueling place during the route guidance.”,
Supplemental Note: the outward trip is interpreted in this example as being able to route to a gas station along a route)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Ozawa with the teachings of Onimaru with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Ozawa and Onimaru teach systems which can acquire navigational data and predict navigational attributes. For example, both systems are able to gather travel locations a vehicle is to travel to and predict corresponding attributes such as stay time at each location, travel time, routing, etc. Onimaru differs in the ability to allow the user to set the stay time at each location, as Ozawa teaches the stay period to be predicted by the stay characteristic accumulating unit. One with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to implement this function of Onimaru with the vehicle system of Ozawa. For example, instead of always predicting a stay period from a stay characteristic accumulating unit, the user has the ability to set that period themselves. If the stay period is different from what is already stored and can be predicted by the stay characteristic accumulating unit, the user defined stay period increases that accuracy. This further aids in the future calculations as if the stay period is different, traffic conditions to the next location may change, thus different routing may be needed. This combination mitigates unknown attributes of a trip that the user is able to provide and further increase the efficiency of the vehicle system. Ozawa in view of Andreas however does not teach initiating a calculation of an estimated time of arrival at a facility calculate the estimated time of arrival at the facility based on the predicted staying time whereas Andreas does.
Andreas teaches initiating a calculation of an estimated time of arrival at a facility (Andreas: Paragraph 0016: “In a preferred embodiment, the apparatus comprises a user interface for outputting the at least one adapted route to a user and for receiving a selected route selected by the user. Preferably, a plurality of possible adapted routes are determined, which pass through different charging stations, if appropriate. In order to enable the user (for example the driver of the electric motor vehicle) to be selected, an interaction (output of the options and input of the user's selection) can then take place via a user interface. In contrast to previous approaches, suggested routes are output with pre-planned intermediate stops at charging stations. By the selection, the user can additionally introduce his own preferences (for example by selecting a highway route which is shorter, but slightly more time-consuming than a similarly possible highway route).”; Paragraph 0022: “the charging planning unit is designed to determine a required charging duration at the selected charging station on the basis of the at least one adapted route. It is possible for the charging duration required in each case to be adapted individually. For example, a charging duration, in which the energy store is only partially charged, may be sufficient for the rest of the route. The required charging duration is determined or optimized individually on the basis of the planned route. This makes it possible to achieve a further shortening of the travel time, since only minimal charging takes place at the charging station along the route and the renewed complete charging is shifted to a point in time after reaching the destination.”)
… calculate the estimated time of arrival at the facility based on the predicted staying time (Andreas: Paragraph 0016: “In a preferred embodiment, the apparatus comprises a user interface for outputting the at least one adapted route to a user and for receiving a selected route selected by the user. Preferably, a plurality of possible adapted routes are determined, which pass through different charging stations, if appropriate. In order to enable the user (for example the driver of the electric motor vehicle) to be selected, an interaction (output of the options and input of the user's selection) can then take place via a user interface. In contrast to previous approaches, suggested routes are output with pre-planned intermediate stops at charging stations. By the selection, the user can additionally introduce his own preferences (for example by selecting a highway route which is shorter, but slightly more time-consuming than a similarly possible highway route).”; Paragraph 0022: “the charging planning unit is designed to determine a required charging duration at the selected charging station on the basis of the at least one adapted route. It is possible for the charging duration required in each case to be adapted individually. For example, a charging duration, in which the energy store is only partially charged, may be sufficient for the rest of the route. The required charging duration is determined or optimized individually on the basis of the planned route. This makes it possible to achieve a further shortening of the travel time, since only minimal charging takes place at the charging station along the route and the renewed complete charging is shifted to a point in time after reaching the destination.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Ozawa with the teachings of Andreas with a reasonable expectation of success. As stated above, Ozawa teaches the systems are able to gather travel locations a vehicle is to travel to and predict corresponding attributes such as stay time at each location, travel time, routing, etc. Andreas teaches the ability to identify routes which require the vehicle to be charged at charging locations and how long they need to charge. One with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to combine this system of Andreas with the system of Ozawa as to increase the efficiency of the vehicle system. For example, if a destination is too far and requires the vehicle to be charged along the way, the system will now automatically be able to display charging stations that the user can select while also informing the driver about the charging duration. This mitigates the need for the user to perform this task by themselves, saving them time while also increasing their punctuality as they can now receive estimates on long it will take to reach a charging station and how long to charge there.
Regarding claim 2, Ozawa, as modified, does not teach wherein display device is configured to further present associated information regarding the facility or a route to the facility in addition to the estimated time of arrival whereas Andreas does.
Andreas teaches wherein display device is configured to further present associated information regarding the facility or a route to the facility in addition to the estimated time of arrival. (Andreas: Paragraph 0016: “In a preferred embodiment, the apparatus comprises a user interface for outputting the at least one adapted route to a user and for receiving a selected route selected by the user. Preferably, a plurality of possible adapted routes are determined, which pass through different charging stations, if appropriate. In order to enable the user (for example the driver of the electric motor vehicle) to be selected, an interaction (output of the options and input of the user's selection) can then take place via a user interface. In contrast to previous approaches, suggested routes are output with pre-planned intermediate stops at charging stations. By the selection, the user can additionally introduce his own preferences (for example by selecting a highway route which is shorter, but slightly more time-consuming than a similarly possible highway route).”; Paragraph 0022: “the charging planning unit is designed to determine a required charging duration at the selected charging station on the basis of the at least one adapted route. It is possible for the charging duration required in each case to be adapted individually. For example, a charging duration, in which the energy store is only partially charged, may be sufficient for the rest of the route. The required charging duration is determined or optimized individually on the basis of the planned route. This makes it possible to achieve a further shortening of the travel time, since only minimal charging takes place at the charging station along the route and the renewed complete charging is shifted to a point in time after reaching the destination.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Ozawa with the teachings of Andreas with a reasonable expectation of success. As stated for claim 1, Ozawa teaches the systems are able to gather travel locations a vehicle is to travel to and predict corresponding attributes such as stay time at each location, travel time, routing, etc. Andreas teaches the ability to identify routes which require the vehicle to be charged at charging locations and how long they need to charge. One with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to combine this system of Andreas with the system of Ozawa as to increase the efficiency of the vehicle system. For example, if a destination is too far and requires the vehicle to be charged along the way, the system will now automatically be able to display charging stations that the user can select while also informing the driver about the charging duration. This mitigates the need for the user to perform this task by themselves, saving them time while also increasing their punctuality as they can now receive estimates on long it will take to reach a charging station and how long to charge there. Both Andreas and Ozawa teach a display device in which the routes and times can be displayed. One with knowledge in the art would find both of these to be simple substitutions of one another.
Regarding claim 4, Ozawa, as modified, does not teach wherein the display device also presents information regarding a facility at which stopping- off on the outward trip is predicted together with the estimated time of arrival at the facility at which stopping-off on the return trip is predicted whereas Andreas does.
Andreas teaches wherein the display device also presents information regarding a facility at which stopping- off on the outward trip is predicted together with the estimated time of arrival at the facility at which stopping-off on the return trip is predicted. (Andreas: Paragraph 0016: “In a preferred embodiment, the apparatus comprises a user interface for outputting the at least one adapted route to a user and for receiving a selected route selected by the user. Preferably, a plurality of possible adapted routes are determined, which pass through different charging stations, if appropriate. In order to enable the user (for example the driver of the electric motor vehicle) to be selected, an interaction (output of the options and input of the user's selection) can then take place via a user interface. In contrast to previous approaches, suggested routes are output with pre-planned intermediate stops at charging stations. By the selection, the user can additionally introduce his own preferences (for example by selecting a highway route which is shorter, but slightly more time-consuming than a similarly possible highway route).”; Paragraph 0022: “the charging planning unit is designed to determine a required charging duration at the selected charging station on the basis of the at least one adapted route. It is possible for the charging duration required in each case to be adapted individually. For example, a charging duration, in which the energy store is only partially charged, may be sufficient for the rest of the route. The required charging duration is determined or optimized individually on the basis of the planned route. This makes it possible to achieve a further shortening of the travel time, since only minimal charging takes place at the charging station along the route and the renewed complete charging is shifted to a point in time after reaching the destination.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Ozawa with the teachings of Andreas with a reasonable expectation of success. As stated for claim 2, Ozawa teaches the systems are able to gather travel locations a vehicle is to travel to and predict corresponding attributes such as stay time at each location, travel time, routing, etc. Andreas teaches the ability to identify routes which require the vehicle to be charged at charging locations and how long they need to charge. One with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to combine this system of Andreas with the system of Ozawa as to increase the efficiency of the vehicle system. For example, if a destination is too far and requires the vehicle to be charged along the way, the system will now automatically be able to display charging stations that the user can select while also informing the driver about the charging duration. This mitigates the need for the user to perform this task by themselves, saving them time while also increasing their punctuality as they can now receive estimates on long it will take to reach a charging station and how long to charge there. Both Andreas and Ozawa teach a display device in which the routes and times can be displayed. One with knowledge in the art would find both of these to be simple substitutions of one another.
Regarding claim 5, Ozawa, as modified, teaches wherein, based on history information including information of a place of departure, a place of arrival, and staying time at the place of arrival, information of a base, the main destination, (Ozawa: Paragraph 0007: “an apparatus according to Patent Reference 1 searches the past travel histories with a current date and time condition and predicts, as a present destination, a place most frequently reached in past driving. For instance, it is assumed that a history of returning home from a company between 17:00 and 18:00 is accumulated. If a current time is 17:30, the present destination is determined to be a home based on the past destination. However, in the case where a current point is far away from the home and it is not possible to arrive there by 18:00 even when going home at the current time of 17:30, the destination is inappropriately determined as the "home".”; Paragraph 0119: “The stay characteristic setting unit 102 obtains stay characteristic information via the touch panel 3604 from a user who is a driver and the like. The stay characteristic information may indicate a stay start time when the user will likely start staying or, along with the stay start time, a stay end time when the user will likely end staying.”; Paragraph 0123: “The travel time calculating unit 104 calculates a travel time from a current point to each point using information of the current point obtained by the current point obtaining unit 101 and position information of each point accumulated by the stay characteristic accumulating unit 103. For instance, linear distance between the current point and each point is calculated, and it becomes possible to calculate the travel time to each point using an average speed of the vehicle (e.g. 10 km/hour). Furthermore, routes to a point pre-registered by the stay characteristic accumulating unit are searched using map information, and a required travel time may be calculated based on costs of each of the routes.”,
Supplemental Note: the place of departure in this example is equivalent to the company location, the place of arrival is the home location. The stay characteristics can be chosen by the user on how long they will stay at a current location so travel time calculating unit can calculate the time needed to reach home based on the various routes. The main destination in this example is the home location, same as the place of arrival)
and the outward trip or the return trip is added to the traveling history by the place of arrival. (Ozawa: Paragraph 0124: “For example, as shown in FIG. 5, in the case of departing from a business trip destination at 16:00, "Home", "Office", and "Restaurant" are assumed as three destination candidates. A difference between an estimated arrival time and a stay start time is calculated for all points registered by the stay characteristic accumulating unit 103, and all of the points having the difference equal to or smaller than a predetermined threshold may be extracted as candidates. As a result of calculating a travel time to each destination, a required time for arriving at each point is calculated as shown in FIG. 6. For instance, a required time for travelling from a current point to "Home" is 90 minutes. Moreover, a required time to Office is 60 minutes, and a required time to Restaurant is 30 minutes.”,
Supplemental Note: the system calculates the travel time and travel route to each destination per the travel history as these three are known locations to the system)
Regarding claim 6, Ozawa, as modified, teaches wherein the processor determines that the current traveling situation is the outward trip in a case where the main destination has not been passed by after departing the base. (Ozawa: Paragraph 0157: “as shown in FIG. 16, a regular route from a home to an office is accumulated as a travel history of vehicle. Furthermore, a route between the office and a restaurant is also accumulated as a regular travel. Here, in the case of travelling from the office to Business Trip Destination A for the first time, although a travel history from the office to Business Trip Destination A is accumulated, a travel history in which Business Trip Destination A is a departure point does not exist when departing from Business Trip Destination A. Consequently, a destination is predicted using past stay characteristics”; Paragraph 0162: “In the case of the first departure, as the travel history in which the current point is the departure point is not accumulated, the process proceeds to S1605 and a destination is predicted using the stay characteristic accumulating unit 103.”,
Supplemental Note: an outward trip is equivalent to a business trip destination that is not in the travel history when traveling from that location. The base is interpreted to be the home location as that is the location the user it departing from. The main destination is determined to be a destination the systems predicts using a past stay characteristics accumulating unit, therefore the trip to the business trip destination is an outward trip as it is not in the past travel history)
Regarding claim 8, Ozawa teaches an information presentation method executed by an information presentation device presenting predetermined information, the information presentation method comprising: (Ozawa: Paragraph 0001: “The present invention relates to an apparatus in a mobile object represented by an in-vehicle device, a mobile phone,”,
Supplemental Note: the in-vehicle device is interpreted to be the information presentation device)
determining, by a processor of the information presentation device, (Ozawa: Paragraph 0115: “FIG. 2 is a block diagram showing, as an example, a hardware structure for realizing the destination prediction apparatus. The destination prediction apparatus is, for example, realized by hardware which includes a Central Processing Unit 3601, a working memory 3602, an LCD device 3603, a touch panel 3604, a hard disk device 3605, a GPS receiving device 3609, and a bus line 3610 that connects these devices. Note that the hardware is an example, and the present invention includes a case where an alternative having an equivalent function is used.”)
whether or not a current traveling situation in which a vehicle is currently traveling corresponds to an outward trip based on a traveling history of the past; (Ozawa: Paragraph 0153: “The travel history accumulating unit 1401 periodically pairs a position of vehicle with a time based on a current point obtained by the current point obtaining unit 101 and a current time obtained by the current time obtaining unit 105, and accumulates it as a travel history.”; Paragraph 0157: “a regular route from a home to an office is accumulated as a travel history of vehicle. Furthermore, a route between the office and a restaurant is also accumulated as a regular travel. Here, in the case of travelling from the office to Business Trip Destination A for the first time, although a travel history from the office to Business Trip Destination A is accumulated, a travel history in which Business Trip Destination A is a departure point does not exist when departing from Business Trip Destination A”; Paragraph 0159: “When the engine is not started, the process proceeds to S1602. When the engine is started, the process proceeds to S1603. When the engine is not started but the vehicle is moving, a current time and a current position are accumulated as a travel history by the travel history accumulating unit 1401 (S1602). After the accumulation, the process returns to S1601”; Paragraphs 0161 – 0162: “It is judged whether or not the number of departures is zero (S1604). In the case where the number is not zero, that is, it is not the first departure, as the travel history in which the current point is a departure point is accumulated by the travel history accumulating unit 1401, the process proceeds to S1606 and a destination is predicted using the travel history. Note that the method, for example, disclosed in Patent Reference: WO 2004/034725, can be applied in predicting the destination using the travel history. In the case of the first departure, as the travel history in which the current point is the departure point is not accumulated, the process proceeds to S1605 and a destination is predicted using the stay characteristic accumulating unit 103.”,
Supplemental Note: an outward trip is equivalent to a business trip destination that is not in the travel history when traveling from that location. The travel history unit and accumulating unit in this example is responsible for this function in conjunction)
… wherein the processor determines a point within the traveling history as the main destination, the point having a longest staying time except at a base within the traveling history that includes a course starting from the base and returning back to the base, the base being another point including a staying time and a staying frequency, each of the staying time and the staying frequency fulfilling a criterium in a predetermined time period of the past, (Ozawa: Abstract: “A destination prediction apparatus which predicts a destination of a mobile object includes: a stay characteristic accumulating unit (103) in which stay characteristic information indicating a time period when the mobile object will likely stay at a predetermined point is accumulated; a travel time calculating unit (104) which calculates a travel time in the case where the mobile object heads from a current location obtained by a current point obtaining unit (101) to the point; and a destination predicting unit (106) which calculates an estimated arrival time based on a current time obtained by a current time obtaining unit (105) and the calculated travel time and predicts the point as a destination only when a condition that the calculated estimated arrival time and a time period indicated by the stay characteristic information is satisfied.”; Paragraph 0122: “The stay characteristic accumulating unit 103 accumulates the stay characteristic information obtained from the user by the stay characteristic setting unit 102. For example, as shown in FIG. 4, regarding "Home", "Landmark 1", and the like, their registered names, positions by latitude and longitude, and additionally information on stay start times and stay end times are accumulated. The registered stay start times and stay end times here correspond respectively to the return home time, or the arrival time, and the departure time set on the interface shown in FIG. 3 by the user as mentioned above.”; Paragraph 0128: “In the example shown in FIG. 6, a current time is 16:00, and in the case of departing from the current point to Home, an estimated arrival time at Home is 17:30. On the other hand, since a stay start time at Home (regular return home time) is 18:00, a 30-minutes difference from the estimated arrival time is calculated. Moreover, although an estimated arrival time is 17:00 for Office, a stay at Office starts at 9:00, which is a time for coming to Office, according to a stay characteristic accumulated by the stay characteristic accumulating unit 103. Consequently, a difference between the estimated arrival time and the stay start time is calculated as 8:00.”,
Supplemental Note: in the example, the stay time of the office interpreted as the main destination and has the longest staying time of 8 hours versus the base which is the home)
determines a first route starting from the base and extending to the main destination as the outward trip,
determines a second route starting from the main destination and extending to the based as the return trip based on the traveling history, (Ozawa: Paragraph 0153: “The travel history accumulating unit 1401 periodically pairs a position of vehicle with a time based on a current point obtained by the current point obtaining unit 101 and a current time obtained by the current time obtaining unit 105, and accumulates it as a travel history.”; Paragraph 0157: “a regular route from a home to an office is accumulated as a travel history of vehicle. Furthermore, a route between the office and a restaurant is also accumulated as a regular travel. Here, in the case of travelling from the office to Business Trip Destination A for the first time, although a travel history from the office to Business Trip Destination A is accumulated, a travel history in which Business Trip Destination A is a departure point does not exist when departing from Business Trip Destination A”; Paragraph 0159: “When the engine is not started, the process proceeds to S1602. When the engine is started, the process proceeds to S1603. When the engine is not started but the vehicle is moving, a current time and a current position are accumulated as a travel history by the travel history accumulating unit 1401 (S1602). After the accumulation, the process returns to S1601”; Paragraphs 0161 – 0162: “It is judged whether or not the number of departures is zero (S1604). In the case where the number is not zero, that is, it is not the first departure, as the travel history in which the current point is a departure point is accumulated by the travel history accumulating unit 1401, the process proceeds to S1606 and a destination is predicted using the travel history. Note that the method, for example, disclosed in Patent Reference: WO 2004/034725, can be applied in predicting the destination using the travel history. In the case of the first departure, as the travel history in which the current point is the departure point is not accumulated, the process proceeds to S1605 and a destination is predicted using the stay characteristic accumulating unit 103.”,
Supplemental Note: an outward trip is equivalent to a business trip destination that is not in the travel history when traveling from that location. The travel history unit and accumulating unit in this example is responsible for this function in conjunction)
calculates a predicted staying time at the main destination based on the traveling history, and (Ozawa: Paragraph 0092: “a stay characteristic extracting unit which extracts, from the travel history information, information indicating a previous time period when the mobile object has stayed at a predetermined point; a stay characteristic accumulating unit which accumulates the extracted information as stay characteristic information indicating a time period when the mobile object will likely stay at a predetermined point; and a destination predicting unit which calculates an estimated arrival time in the case where the mobile object departs from a current location to the point and predicts the point as a destination only when a condition that the calculated estimated arrival time and the time period indicated by the stay characteristic information are temporally close is satisfied.”; Paragraph 0094: “In addition, the stay characteristic information may indicate a stay start time which is a time when the mobile object will likely start staying at the point and a stay end time which is a time when the mobile object will likely end staying at the point. The destination predicting unit may predict the point as the destination only when the calculated estimated arrival time falls between the stay start time and the stay end time both indicated by the stay characteristic information.”; Paragraph 0144: “Further, concerning the data displayed by the commercial facility data displaying unit 903, information regarding a point and business hours is accumulated as a stay characteristic by the stay characteristic accumulating unit 103. For example, as shown in FIG. 13, concerning Restaurant A, a service start time is 10:00 and a service end time is 20:00. Similarly, Restaurants B and C each presented as commercial facility data are accumulated in the same manner.”)
In sum, Ozawa teaches an information presentation method executed by an information presentation device presenting predetermined information, the information presentation method comprising: determining, by a processor of the information presentation device, whether or not a current traveling situation in which a vehicle is currently traveling corresponds to an outward trip based on a traveling history of the past wherein the processor determines a point within the traveling history as the main destination, the point having a longest staying time except at a base within the traveling history that includes a course starting from the base and returning back to the base, the base being another point including a staying time and a staying frequency, each of the staying time and the staying frequency fulfilling a criterium in a predetermined time period of the past, determines a first route starting from the base and extending to the main destination as the outward trip, determines a second route starting from the main destination and extending to the based as the return trip based on the traveling history and calculates a predicted staying time at the main destination based on the traveling history. Ozawa however does not teach upon determining that the current traveling situation corresponds to the outward trip, at which stopping-off on a return trip associated with the outward trip is predicted; and presenting, by a display device of the information presentation device, the estimated time of arrival at the facility at which stopping-off on the return trip is predicted, while the vehicle is traveling on the outward trip whereas Onimaru does.
Onimaru teaches upon determining that the current traveling situation corresponds to the outward trip, (Onimaru: Abstract: “A portable device that displays action plan information which involves a movement within an arbitrary period and/or execution support information of the action plan which involves the movement includes: a display unit, a display control unit, and a spatiotemporal action diagram display control unit“; Paragraph 0095: “Moreover, the destination setting unit 103 sets a refueling recommendation function ON according to an instruction from the user. As will be described later, when the refueling recommendation function is set ON and a gas station is present on a route included in the action plan data or near the user's home, the action planning and navigation server system 1 (the action plan generation unit 104) can include the gas station in the action plan data as a stopover place on the route. By doing so, the portable device 2 (or the on-board navigation device 3) can display a refueling period or a refueling place during the route guidance.”,
Supplemental Note: the outward trip is interpreted in this example as being able to route to a gas station along a route)
… at which stopping-off on a return trip associated with the outward trip is predicted; and (Onimaru: Paragraph 0095: “As will be described later, when the refueling recommendation function is set ON and a gas station is present on a route included in the action plan data or near the user's home, the action planning and navigation server system 1 (the action plan generation unit 104) can include the gas station in the action plan data as a stopover place on the route. By doing so, the portable device 2 (or the on-board navigation device 3) can display a refueling period or a refueling place during the route guidance.”)
presenting, by a display device of the information presentation device, the estimated time of arrival at the facility at which stopping-off on the return trip is predicted, (Onimaru: Paragraph 0141: “As illustrated in FIG. 6, the time table display control unit 2062 displays the time table generated by the time table generation unit 1062, received from the action planning and navigation server system 1 via the communication unit 22 on the display unit 24.”)
while the vehicle is traveling on the outward trip, (Onimaru: Abstract: “A portable device that displays action plan information which involves a movement within an arbitrary period and/or execution support information of the action plan which involves the movement includes: a display unit, a display control unit, and a spatiotemporal action diagram display control unit“; Paragraph 0095: “Moreover, the destination setting unit 103 sets a refueling recommendation function ON according to an instruction from the user. As will be described later, when the refueling recommendation function is set ON and a gas station is present on a route included in the action plan data or near the user's home, the action planning and navigation server system 1 (the action plan generation unit 104) can include the gas station in the action plan data as a stopover place on the route. By doing so, the portable device 2 (or the on-board navigation device 3) can display a refueling period or a refueling place during the route guidance.”,
Supplemental Note: the outward trip is interpreted in this example as being able to route to a gas station along a route)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Ozawa with the teachings of Onimaru with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both state the same functional claim language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses. Ozawa in view of Andreas however does not teach initiating a calculation of an estimated time of arrival at a facility calculate the estimated time of arrival at the facility based on the predicted staying time whereas Andreas does.
Andreas teaches initiating, by the processor, a calculation of an estimated time of arrival at a facility (Andreas: Paragraph 0016: “In a preferred embodiment, the apparatus comprises a user interface for outputting the at least one adapted route to a user and for receiving a selected route selected by the user. Preferably, a plurality of possible adapted routes are determined, which pass through different charging stations, if appropriate. In order to enable the user (for example the driver of the electric motor vehicle) to be selected, an interaction (output of the options and input of the user's selection) can then take place via a user interface. In contrast to previous approaches, suggested routes are output with pre-planned intermediate stops at charging stations. By the selection, the user can additionally introduce his own preferences (for example by selecting a highway route which is shorter, but slightly more time-consuming than a similarly possible highway route).”; Paragraph 0022: “the charging planning unit is designed to determine a required charging duration at the selected charging station on the basis of the at least one adapted route. It is possible for the charging duration required in each case to be adapted individually. For example, a charging duration, in which the energy store is only partially charged, may be sufficient for the rest of the route. The required charging duration is determined or optimized individually on the basis of the planned route. This makes it possible to achieve a further shortening of the travel time, since only minimal charging takes place at the charging station along the route and the renewed complete charging is shifted to a point in time after reaching the destination.”)
calculates the estimated time of arrival at the facility based on the predicted staying time (Andreas: Paragraph 0016: “In a preferred embodiment, the apparatus comprises a user interface for outputting the at least one adapted route to a user and for receiving a selected route selected by the user. Preferably, a plurality of possible adapted routes are determined, which pass through different charging stations, if appropriate. In order to enable the user (for example the driver of the electric motor vehicle) to be selected, an interaction (output of the options and input of the user's selection) can then take place via a user interface. In contrast to previous approaches, suggested routes are output with pre-planned intermediate stops at charging stations. By the selection, the user can additionally introduce his own preferences (for example by selecting a highway route which is shorter, but slightly more time-consuming than a similarly possible highway route).”; Paragraph 0022: “the charging planning unit is designed to determine a required charging duration at the selected charging station on the basis of the at least one adapted route. It is possible for the charging duration required in each case to be adapted individually. For example, a charging duration, in which the energy store is only partially charged, may be sufficient for the rest of the route. The required charging duration is determined or optimized individually on the basis of the planned route. This makes it possible to achieve a further shortening of the travel time, since only minimal charging takes place at the charging station along the route and the renewed complete charging is shifted to a point in time after reaching the destination.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Ozawa with the teachings of Andreas with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both state the same functional claim language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 10, Ozawa, as modified, teaches a computer-readable storage medium comprising an information presentation program stored thereon, the information presentation program being configured to cause a computer to execute the information presentation method according to claim 8. (Ozawa: Claim 12: “The destination prediction apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said destination predicting unit is operable, by causing a Central Processing Unit to execute a pre-stored program, to: read out, to a working memory, the stay characteristic information from said stay characteristic accumulating unit; perform prediction by referring to the stay characteristic information read out to the working memory; and output, to a display device, information indicating a result of the prediction.”,
Supplemental Note: the destination prediction apparatus is the apparatus performing the function stated in claim 8)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see section I. Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 of the REMARKS, filed 10/12/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) claim indefiniteness objections of claims 1 and 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) claim indefiniteness objections of claims 1 and 8 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see section II. Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 of the REMARKS, filed 10/12/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 101 claim rejection of claims 1, 2, 4 – 6, 8 and 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 101 claim rejection of claims 1, 2, 4 – 6, 8 and 10 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see section III. Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of the REMARKS, filed 10/12/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 103 prior art claim rejections of claims 1, 2, 4 – 6, 8 and 10 have been considered but are moot. Applicant merely states Ozawa in view of Onimaru do not teach the claim limitations without any arguments pertaining to how the prior arts are different from the claim limitations. Furthermore, another prior art of Andreas et al. (EP 3620751 A2) is utilized in view of Ozawa to reject amended claim limitations.
Conclusion
/SHIVAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665