DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2020-210727, filed on 12/18/2020.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keito et al. (JP 4776508 B2, hereinafter Keito) in view of Nako et al. (EP 3511111 A1, hereinafter Nako).
Regarding claim 1, Keito discloses a flux-cored wire with a steel sheath filled with flux (Page 2, Para. 6 from end, “The flux cored wire for electrogas arc welding according to the present invention is a flux cored wire for electrogas arc welding formed by filling a steel outer shell with flux”), comprising: based on a total mass of the wire,
C: 0.026% by mass or more and 0.060% by mass or less (Page 2, Para. 5 from end, “C: 0.03 to 0.07 mass%”),
Si: more than 0% by mass and 0.50 by mass or less (Page 2, Para. 4 from end, “Si: 0.3 to 0.8 mass%”),
Mn: 1.3% by mass or more and 2.8% by mass or less (Page 2, Para. 3 from end, “Mn: 1.5 to 2.2% by mass”),
max Cu value within the weld: 0.20% by mass or more and 1.50% by mass or less (Page 9, Para. 4 from end, “In this case, if Cu exceeds 0.5% by mass, the strength increases too much, the toughness deteriorates, and the elongation also decreases.”),
Ni: 0.45% by mass or more and 1.00% by mass or less (Page 2, Para. 2 from end, “Ni: 0.4 to 1.5 mass%”),
Mo: 0.15% by mass or more and 0.65% by mass or less (Page 2, last Para., “At least one selected from the group consisting of Cr and Mo: 0.05 to 0.60 mass% in total”),
Mg: 0.30% by mass or more and 0.65% by mass or less (Page 3, Para. 3, “Mg: 0.20 to 0.50 mass%”), and
B: 0.001% by mass or more and 0.010% by mass or less (Page 3, Para. 2, “B: 0.005 to 0.020 mass%”),
provided that Cr: 0.10% by mass or less (Page 2, last Para., “At least one selected from the group consisting of Cr and Mo: 0.05 to 0.60 mass% in total”) and
Al: 0.10% by mass or less (Page 3, Para. 5, “Al: ≦ 0.10% by mass”),
wherein a Nb content [Nb] of the wire expressed in % by mass based on the total mass of the wire (Page 9, Para. 8, ““Nb ≦ 0.1 mass%”) and
a V content [V] of the wire expressed in % by mass based on the total mass of the wire (Page 9, Para. 4 from end, “V is also contained as an impurity in the filling flux of the flux-cored wire and in the steel outer shell, or V contained in the base metal is contained in the weld metal by dilution, but the amount is allowed to 0.5 mass%.”) satisfy [Nb] + [V] = 0.015 or less (Page 9, Nb is less than or equal to 0.1 and V is less than or equal to 0.5; where a combination of the Nb and V values can be 0.015 or less).
Keito does not disclose:
the Cu value within the wire: 0.20% by mass or more and 1.50% by mass or less.
However, Nako discloses, in the similar field of flux-cored wires (Abstract, “a flux cored wire for gas shield arc welding”), where a Cu value within the wire can be between 0.20-1.50% by mass or less (Para .0052, “(Cu: 0.40 mass% or less)”, and Para. 0054, “In addition, the Cu amount in the wire is preferably 0.40% or less, more preferably 0.30% or less, still more preferably 0.25% or less.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the Cu value within the wire from Keito to include the values as taught by Nako.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to ensure the strength of the weld metal and to prevent deterioration of weld toughness, as stated by Nako, Para. 0053, “Cu is an element effective in ensuring the strength of the weld metal. However, if the amount of Cu is excessive, the strength may increase excessively, causing deterioration of the toughness.”.
Regarding claim 2, modified Keito teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein a Cu content [Cu] of the wire expressed in % by mass based on the total mass of the wire (Keito, Page 9, Para. 4 from end, “In this case, if Cu exceeds 0.5% by mass, the strength increases too much, the toughness deteriorates, and the elongation also decreases.”, and teaching from Nako, Para .0052, “(Cu: 0.40 mass% or less)”),
a Ni content [Ni] of the wire expressed in % by mass based on the total mass of the wire (Keito, Page 2, Para. 2 from end, “Ni: 0.4 to 1.5 mass%”),
a Mo content [Mo] of the wire expressed in % by mass based on the total mass of the wire (Keito, Page 2, last Para., “At least one selected from the group consisting of Cr and Mo: 0.05 to 0.60 mass% in total”),
a Mn content [Mn] of the wire expressed in % by mass based on the total mass of the wire (Keito, Page 2, Para. 3 from end, “Mn: 1.5 to 2.2% by mass”),
a Si content [Si] of the wire expressed in % by mass based on the total mass of the wire (Keito, Page 2, Para. 4 from end, “Si: 0.3 to 0.8 mass%”),
a Cr content [Cr] of the wire expressed in % by mass based on the total mass of the wire (Keito, Page 2, last Para., “At least one selected from the group consisting of Cr and Mo: 0.05 to 0.60 mass% in total”),
satisfy ([Cu] + [Ni] + [Mo]) / ([Mn] + [Si] + [Cr] + 10 ([Nb] + [V])) = 0.55 or more and 0.90 or less (Keito, values for the elements can be as follows, Cu=0.4, Ni=0.6, Mo=0.5, Mn=1.7, Si=0.4, Cr=0.05, Nb=0.0001, V=0.001; (0.4+0.6+0.5)/(1.7+0.4+0.05+10(0.0001+0.001)) = 0.694, which satisfies the equation disclosed above).
Regarding claim 3, modified Keito teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein a Cu content [Cu] of the wire expressed in % by mass based on the total mass of the wire (Keito, Page 9, Para. 4 from end, “In this case, if Cu exceeds 0.5% by mass, the strength increases too much, the toughness deteriorates, and the elongation also decreases.”, and teaching from Nako, Para .0052, “(Cu: 0.40 mass% or less)”),
a Mo content [Mo] of the wire expressed in % by mass based on the total mass of the wire (Keito, Page 2, last Para., “At least one selected from the group consisting of Cr and Mo: 0.05 to 0.60 mass% in total”),
satisfy [Cu] / [Mo] = 0.5 or more and 5.0 or less (Keito, values for the elements can be as follows, Cu= 0.2 and Mo=0.05, where 0.2/0.05 = 4, which satisfies the equation disclosed above).
Regarding claim 10, modified Keito teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses a gas-shielded arc welding method, comprising gas-shielded arc welding using the flux-cored wire from claim 1 (Keito, Abstract, “a flux cored wire for one-electrode electrogas arc welding”; teaching from Nako, Abstract, “a flux cored wire for gas shield arc welding”).
Regarding claim 11, modified Keito teaches the apparatus according to claim 3, as set forth above, discloses a gas-shielded arc welding method, comprising gas shielded arc welding using the flux-cored wire from claim 3 (Keito, Abstract, “a flux cored wire for one-electrode electrogas arc welding”; teaching from Nako, Abstract, “a flux cored wire for gas shield arc welding”).
Claims 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keito et al. (JP 4776508 B2, hereinafter Keito) in view of Nako et al. (EP 3511111 A1, hereinafter Nako) in further view of Hashiba et al. (WO 2019186811 A1, hereinafter Hashiba).
Regarding claim 4, modified Keito teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein
a C content [C]b of the wire expressed in % by mass based on the total mass of the wire (Keito, Page 2, Para. 5 from end, “C: 0.03 to 0.07 mass%”).
Modified Keito does not disclose:
a C content [C]o of the steel sheath expressed in % by mass based on a total mass of the steel sheath and
satisfy [C]o / [C]b = 0.37 or less.
However, Hashiba discloses, in the similar field of flux-cored wires (Abstract, “This method for manufacturing flux-cored wire”), where a C content of the steel sheath has a mass percentage (Page 14, Para. 4 from end, “the material of the steel material to which the manufacturing method of the flux cored wire 10 and the welded joint according to the present embodiment is not particularly limited, and may be a normal steel material such as carbon steel or low alloy steel.”, where carbon steel has carbon mass percentage values of 0.05-2.1%, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carbon_steel, first paragraph, “Carbon steel (US) or non-alloy steel (Europe) is a steel with carbon content from about 0.05 up to 2.1 percent by weight.”), where [C]o / [C]b = 0.37 or less (Keito, [C]b=0.3; Hashiba, [C]o=0.05; where the equation is satisfied, 0.05/0.3 = 0.167). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the steel sheath in modified Keito to be carbon steel as taught by Hashiba.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use steel that is weather resistant to be used in buildings, as stated by Hashiba, Page 14, Para. 4 from end, “structural steel materials that require corrosion resistance of the weld metal, in particular, harbor facilities, bridges, building / civil engineering structures and tanks, It is particularly suitable to be applied to the manufacture of steel structures such as ships / marine structures, railways and containers…a normal steel material such as carbon steel or low alloy steel. Weather resistant steel or low alloy steel containing Ni, Sn and the like is more advantageous from the viewpoint of weather resistance and paint corrosion resistance.”.
Regarding claim 5, modified Keito teaches the apparatus according to claim 3, as set forth above, discloses wherein
a C content [C]b of the wire expressed in % by mass based on the total mass of the wire (Keito, Page 2, Para. 5 from end, “C: 0.03 to 0.07 mass%”).
Modified Keito does not disclose:
a C content [C]o of the steel sheath expressed in % by mass based on a total mass of the steel sheath and
satisfy [C]o / [C]b = 0.37 or less.
However, Hashiba discloses, in the similar field of flux-cored wires (Abstract, “This method for manufacturing flux-cored wire”), where a C content of the steel sheath has a mass percentage (Page 14, Para. 4 from end, “the material of the steel material to which the manufacturing method of the flux cored wire 10 and the welded joint according to the present embodiment is not particularly limited, and may be a normal steel material such as carbon steel or low alloy steel.”, where carbon steel has carbon mass percentage values of 0.05-2.1%, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carbon_steel, first paragraph, “Carbon steel (US) or non-alloy steel (Europe) is a steel with carbon content from about 0.05 up to 2.1 percent by weight.”), where [C]o / [C]b = 0.37 or less (Keito, [C]b=0.3; Hashiba, [C]o=0.05; where the equation is satisfied, 0.05/0.3 = 0.167). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the steel sheath in modified Keito to be carbon steel as taught by Hashiba.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use steel that is weather resistant to be used in buildings, as stated by Hashiba, Page 14, Para. 4 from end, “structural steel materials that require corrosion resistance of the weld metal, in particular, harbor facilities, bridges, building / civil engineering structures and tanks, It is particularly suitable to be applied to the manufacture of steel structures such as ships / marine structures, railways and containers…a normal steel material such as carbon steel or low alloy steel. Weather resistant steel or low alloy steel containing Ni, Sn and the like is more advantageous from the viewpoint of weather resistance and paint corrosion resistance.”.
Claims 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keito et al. (JP 4776508 B2, hereinafter Keito) in view of Nako et al. (EP 3511111 A1, hereinafter Nako) in further view of Zhang et al. (CN 110480207 A, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 6, modified Keito teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Keito does not disclose:
further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of Ti, Zr, F, Na, and K, a Ti content being 3.3% by mass or more and 6.0% by mass or less,
a Zr content being 0.25% mass or less,
a F content being 0.05% by mass or more and 0.30% by mass or less, and
a Na and K content being 0.10% by mass or more and 0.30% by mass or less, based on the total mass of the wire.
However, Nako discloses where a Ti content is between 3.3-6% by mass (Claim 1, “based on total mass of the wire… Ti in terms of Ti in Ti alloy and Ti compound: from 2.4 to 4.5 mass%”), where a F content is between 0.05-0.30% by mass (Claim 6, “mass of the wire: F: 1.0 mass% or less.”), a Na and K content between 0.10-0.30% by mass (Para. 0016, “The flux-cored wire for gas-shielded arc welding above may further contain at least one member selected from the group consisting of, based on the total mass of the wire: a total of Li, Na and K: 1.0 mass%”, where the combination of Na and K could be between 0.1-0.3% with Li making up for the rest of the mass percentage). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the wire in modified Keito to include the elements and values as taught by Nako.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use Ti as a deoxidizer, as stated by Nako, Para. 0035, “Ti is an element acting as a deoxidizer, and an oxide-based inclusion thereof acts as a nucleus of acicular ferrite.”, use F to adjust the arc spraying force and reduce the amount of hydrogen diffused into the deposited metal, as stated by Nako, Para. 0070, “F may be incorporated into the wire so as to adjust the arc spraying force (concentration) and reduce the amount of hydrogen diffused in the deposited metal.”, and use Na and K to enhance arc stability and reduce spatter generation, as stated by Nako, Para. 0063, “Li, Na and K are elements having an effect of enhancing the arc stability and reducing spatter generation.”.
Further, Zhang discloses, in the similar field of flux-cored wires (Abstract, “ultra-high-strength steel welding with composite rare earth element flux-cored wire”), where a Zr content being 0.25% mass or less (Page 2, Para. 4 from end, “weight percentage are as follows…Zr: 0.05% to 0.25%”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the flux-cored wire in modified Keito to include the Zr values as taught by Zhang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of using Zr to enhance impact toughness, as stated by Zhang, Page 3, Para. 6, “proportion of zirconium (Zr): spheroidizing added promoting inclusion of zirconium, providing large amount of nucleation core, zirconium oxide is titanium oxide and sulphide of large and fine distribution of the inclusions, by improving the nucleation rate, good for acicular ferrite transition, reducing and other phase of bainite formation, enhanced impact toughness.”.
Regarding claim 7, modified Keito teaches the apparatus according to claim 3, as set forth above.
Modified Keito does not disclose:
further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of Ti, Zr, F, Na, and K,
a Ti content being 3.3% by mass or more and 6.0% by mass or less,
a Zr content being 0.25% mass or less,
a F content being 0.05% by mass or more and 0.30% by mass or less, and
a Na and K content being 0.10% by mass or more and 0.30% by mass or less, based on the total mass of the wire.
However, Nako discloses where a Ti content is between 3.3-6% by mass (Claim 1, “based on total mass of the wire… Ti in terms of Ti in Ti alloy and Ti compound: from 2.4 to 4.5 mass%”), where a F content is between 0.05-0.30% by mass (Claim 6, “mass of the wire: F: 1.0 mass% or less.”), a Na and K content between 0.10-0.30% by mass (Para. 0016, “The flux-cored wire for gas-shielded arc welding above may further contain at least one member selected from the group consisting of, based on the total mass of the wire: a total of Li, Na and K: 1.0 mass%”, where the combination of Na and K could be between 0.1-0.3% with Li making up for the rest of the mass percentage). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the wire in modified Keito to include the elements and values as taught by Nako.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use Ti as a deoxidizer, as stated by Nako, Para. 0035, “Ti is an element acting as a deoxidizer, and an oxide-based inclusion thereof acts as a nucleus of acicular ferrite.”, use F to adjust the arc spraying force and reduce the amount of hydrogen diffused into the deposited metal, as stated by Nako, Para. 0070, “F may be incorporated into the wire so as to adjust the arc spraying force (concentration) and reduce the amount of hydrogen diffused in the deposited metal.”, and use Na and K to enhance arc stability and reduce spatter generation, as stated by Nako, Para. 0063, “Li, Na and K are elements having an effect of enhancing the arc stability and reducing spatter generation.”.
Further, Zhang discloses, in the similar field of flux-cored wires (Abstract, “ultra-high-strength steel welding with composite rare earth element flux-cored wire”), where a Zr content being 0.25% mass or less (Page 2, Para. 4 from end, “weight percentage are as follows…Zr: 0.05% to 0.25%”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the flux-cored wire in modified Keito to include the Zr values as taught by Zhang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of using Zr to enhance impact toughness, as stated by Zhang, Page 3, Para. 6, “proportion of zirconium (Zr): spheroidizing added promoting inclusion of zirconium, providing large amount of nucleation core, zirconium oxide is titanium oxide and sulphide of large and fine distribution of the inclusions, by improving the nucleation rate, good for acicular ferrite transition, reducing and other phase of bainite formation, enhanced impact toughness.”.
Claims 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keito et al. (JP 4776508 B2, hereinafter Keito) in view of Nako et al. (EP 3511111 A1, hereinafter Nako) in further view of Hashiba et al. (WO 2019186811 A1, hereinafter Hashiba) and Zhang et al. (CN 110480207 A, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 8, modified Keito teaches the apparatus according to claim 4, as set forth above.
Modified Keito does not disclose:
further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of Ti, Zr, F, Na, and K,
a Ti content being 3.3% by mass or more and 6.0% by mass or less,
a Zr content being 0.25% mass or less,
a F content being 0.05% by mass or more and 0.30% by mass or less, and
a Na and K content being 0.10% by mass or more and 0.30% by mass or less, based on the total mass of the wire.
However, Nako discloses where a Ti content is between 3.3-6% by mass (Claim 1, “based on total mass of the wire… Ti in terms of Ti in Ti alloy and Ti compound: from 2.4 to 4.5 mass%”), where a F content is between 0.05-0.30% by mass (Claim 6, “mass of the wire: F: 1.0 mass% or less.”), a Na and K content between 0.10-0.30% by mass (Para. 0016, “The flux-cored wire for gas-shielded arc welding above may further contain at least one member selected from the group consisting of, based on the total mass of the wire: a total of Li, Na and K: 1.0 mass%”, where the combination of Na and K could be between 0.1-0.3% with Li making up for the rest of the mass percentage). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the wire in modified Keito to include the elements and values as taught by Nako.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use Ti as a deoxidizer, as stated by Nako, Para. 0035, “Ti is an element acting as a deoxidizer, and an oxide-based inclusion thereof acts as a nucleus of acicular ferrite.”, use F to adjust the arc spraying force and reduce the amount of hydrogen diffused into the deposited metal, as stated by Nako, Para. 0070, “F may be incorporated into the wire so as to adjust the arc spraying force (concentration) and reduce the amount of hydrogen diffused in the deposited metal.”, and use Na and K to enhance arc stability and reduce spatter generation, as stated by Nako, Para. 0063, “Li, Na and K are elements having an effect of enhancing the arc stability and reducing spatter generation.”.
Further, Zhang discloses, in the similar field of flux-cored wires (Abstract, “ultra-high-strength steel welding with composite rare earth element flux-cored wire”), where a Zr content being 0.25% mass or less (Page 2, Para. 4 from end, “weight percentage are as follows…Zr: 0.05% to 0.25%”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the flux-cored wire in modified Keito to include the Zr values as taught by Zhang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of using Zr to enhance impact toughness, as stated by Zhang, Page 3, Para. 6, “proportion of zirconium (Zr): spheroidizing added promoting inclusion of zirconium, providing large amount of nucleation core, zirconium oxide is titanium oxide and sulphide of large and fine distribution of the inclusions, by improving the nucleation rate, good for acicular ferrite transition, reducing and other phase of bainite formation, enhanced impact toughness.”.
Regarding claim 9, modified Keito teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, as set forth above.
Modified Keito does not disclose:
further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of Ti, Zr, F, Na, and K,
a Ti content being 3.3% by mass or more and 6.0% by mass or less,
a Zr content being 0.25% mass or less,
a F content being 0.05% by mass or more and 0.30% by mass or less, and
a Na and K content being 0.10% by mass or more and 0.30% by mass or less, based on the total mass of the wire.
However, Nako discloses where a Ti content is between 3.3-6% by mass (Claim 1, “based on total mass of the wire… Ti in terms of Ti in Ti alloy and Ti compound: from 2.4 to 4.5 mass%”), where a F content is between 0.05-0.30% by mass (Claim 6, “mass of the wire: F: 1.0 mass% or less.”), a Na and K content between 0.10-0.30% by mass (Para. 0016, “The flux-cored wire for gas-shielded arc welding above may further contain at least one member selected from the group consisting of, based on the total mass of the wire: a total of Li, Na and K: 1.0 mass%”, where the combination of Na and K could be between 0.1-0.3% with Li making up for the rest of the mass percentage). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the wire in modified Keito to include the elements and values as taught by Nako.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use Ti as a deoxidizer, as stated by Nako, Para. 0035, “Ti is an element acting as a deoxidizer, and an oxide-based inclusion thereof acts as a nucleus of acicular ferrite.”, use F to adjust the arc spraying force and reduce the amount of hydrogen diffused into the deposited metal, as stated by Nako, Para. 0070, “F may be incorporated into the wire so as to adjust the arc spraying force (concentration) and reduce the amount of hydrogen diffused in the deposited metal.”, and use Na and K to enhance arc stability and reduce spatter generation, as stated by Nako, Para. 0063, “Li, Na and K are elements having an effect of enhancing the arc stability and reducing spatter generation.”.
Further, Zhang discloses, in the similar field of flux-cored wires (Abstract, “ultra-high-strength steel welding with composite rare earth element flux-cored wire”), where a Zr content being 0.25% mass or less (Page 2, Para. 4 from end, “weight percentage are as follows…Zr: 0.05% to 0.25%”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the flux-cored wire in modified Keito to include the Zr values as taught by Zhang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of using Zr to enhance impact toughness, as stated by Zhang, Page 3, Para. 6, “proportion of zirconium (Zr): spheroidizing added promoting inclusion of zirconium, providing large amount of nucleation core, zirconium oxide is titanium oxide and sulphide of large and fine distribution of the inclusions, by improving the nucleation rate, good for acicular ferrite transition, reducing and other phase of bainite formation, enhanced impact toughness.”.
Conclusion
/KEVIN GUANHUA WEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
02/24/2026