DETAILED ACTION
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
II. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
III. Response to Arguments
A. Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 10,17, and 31 and Lee et al. have been considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant generally argues that Lee et al. fails to disclose that light-emitting information including one or more pieces of information on at least one of brightness, chroma, and saturation is sent to the external flash as required by the independent claims. In support, Applicant makes a number of inaccurate characterizations regarding Lee et al. Specifically, Applicant claims that Lee’s color detector “20” does not communicate with the external flash. This claim can be readily dismissed after a cursory glance at Lee’s Fig. 1. There, Lee et al. clearly shows a connection between the color detector “20” and the drive circuit “16,” which is part of the flash.
Applicant then states that the color detector does not send light-emitting information to the flash. However, Lee’s para. [0022] states that “color detector 20 senses the spectral content or color temperature of the ambient light (and flash light – see para. [0023])…and communicates the sensed spectral content or color temperature of the ambient light (and flash light) to the driver 16 in the form of a control current or other control signal 17.” However, presumably in response to this disclosure, Applicant claims that Lee et al. does not send the sensed spectral content directly to the driver, only a control signal. Then, Applicant states that the color detector does not communicate with the control circuit. In regard to control signal argument, the control signal is indeed a proxy for the sensed spectral content but this is simply the nature of electronics–current and voltage are signals representative of some other information. However, the examiner does not believe that Applicant disputes this. Rather, Applicant is of the position that that camera must perform some degree of processing on the sensed spectral content, not the external flash/driver.
Whatever processing, if any, is performed on the sensed spectral content signal by the camera or color detector, it does not destroy the identity of the spectral content. Lee’s Fig. 1 clearly shows that the control signal is communicated to the control circuit “26” of driver “16.” Describing this connection, Lee’s para. [0022] states that in response to the control signal, the driver adjusts drive signals by mapping the control signal to drive signals in a look-up table by curve fitting or some other technique. That is, not only does Lee’s color detector communicate the spectral content control signal to the control circuit, the control circuit uses the spectral content control signal to specifically map it to drive signals. This disclosure expressly refutes the Applicant’s principal position regarding Lee et al., that the processing necessary to affect driving control is not performed by the external flash and, therefore, brightness, chroma (i.e., spectral content), or saturation information is not sent to the external flash.
B. Applicant’s arguments regarding Rivard et al., Aggarwal et al. and the remaining references of record are moot. The examiner has not relied up Rivard et al., Aggarwal et al., or the remaining references to satisfy the limitations at issue.
IV. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10,16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2005/0134723 A1).
As to claim 10, Lee et al. teaches a color correction detection device (Fig. 1, imaging system “10” and color detector “20”), comprising:
a light-emitting information collection circuit (Fig. 1, color detector “20”) configured to collect light-emitting information ([0023], lines 5-8) of an external flash (Fig. 1, light module “14” and driver “16”); and
a communication circuit configured to communicate with the external flash, wherein the communication circuit is electrically connected to the light-emitting information collection circuit, so as to receive the light-emitting information and send the light-emitting information (Fig. 1, control signal “17”) to the external flash ([0021], lines 6-11, “…communicates the sensed spectral content…”; {The examiner submits that communication circuitry that transmits the sensed spectral content to light module “14” the communication of the sensed spectral content is inherent in Lee’s imaging system. Note the dashed line from color detector “20.”}),
wherein the light-emitting information comprises one or more pieces of information on at least one of brightness, chroma ([0021], lines 6-11, “…sensed spectral content…”), or saturation.
As to claim 16, Lee et al. teaches the color correction detection device according to claim 10, wherein the color correction detection device is a handheld device (Figs. 2-4).
As to claim 17, Lee et al. teaches a color correction system (system of Fig. 1), comprising an external flash (Fig. 1, light module “14” and driver “16”) and a color correction detection device (Fig. 1, imaging system “10” and color detector “20”);
wherein the external flash comprises:
a light source assembly (Fig. 1, light module “14”; [0009], lines 4 and 5, “…series of emitters of light…”);
a driver circuit (Fig. 1, current sources of driver “16”; [0015], lines 19-21) configured to drive the light source assembly to emit light ([0015], lines 1-5); and
a control circuit (Fig. 1, control circuit “26”) electrically connected to the driver circuit (Fig. 1), and the control circuit being configured to be electrically connected to the color correction detection device (Fig. 1), wherein the color correction detection device is configured to detect light-emitting information of the light source assembly ([0023], lines 1-8);
wherein the control circuit is configured to receive the light-emitting information of the light source assembly from the color correction detection device ([0023], lines 8-12) and perform color correction processing according to the light-emitting information, so as to generate color correction result information (e.g., [0022]); and the driver circuit is configured to drive the light source assembly to emit light according to the color correction result information ([0023], lines 13-17);
wherein the color correction detection device comprises:
a light-emitting information collection circuit (Fig. 1, color detector “20”) configured to collect light-emitting information of the light source assembly of the external flash ([0023], lines 5-8); and
a communication circuit configured to communicate with the external flash, wherein the communication circuit is electrically connected to the light-emitting information collection circuit, so as to receive the light-emitting information and send the light-emitting information to the external flash ([0021], lines 6-11, “…communicates the sensed spectral content…”; {The examiner submits that communication circuitry that transmits the sensed spectral content to light module “14” the communication of the sensed spectral content is inherent in Lee’s imaging system. Note the dashed line from color detector “20.”});
wherein the light-emitting information comprises one or more pieces of information on at least one of brightness, chroma ([0021], lines 6-11, “…sensed spectral content…”), or saturation.
V. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2005/0134723 A1) in view of Aggarwal et al. (US 2015/0338307 A1) and further in view of Beecroft et al. (US 2005/0229698 A1)
As to claim 13, Lee et al. teaches the color correction detection device according to claim 10, wherein the color correction device comprises a main body (Figs. 1-4). The claim differs Lee et al. in that it requires (1) that the color correction device comprises a light pick-up portion that protrudes from one side of the main body, (2) that the light-emitting information collection circuit is located in the light pick-up portion and (3) that the color correction detection device comprises a human-computer interaction assembly, that the human-computer interaction assembly is provided on the main body, that the human-computer interaction assembly is electrically connected to the communication circuit (The examiner submits that inherent direct or indirect electric connection exists in the elements of Lee’s and Beecroft’s colorimeters.), that the human-computer interaction assembly is used for one or more of receiving a color correction instruction, receiving a color correction setting parameter, switching a color correction mode, and transmitting the received instruction to the external flash through the communication circuit.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Aggarwal et al. teaches a color detection system (Fig. 1; [0043], lines 1-5) comprising a mobile device (Fig. 1, mobile device “120”), including a body (Fig. 1) and a flash (e.g., Fig. 5, flash “128”), attachable to a protruding optical accessory (1) (Fig. 1, optical accessory “100”), having a camera (Fig. 1A, camera “122”; [0042], lines 21-28) within the accessory’s body (2) (Fig. 1). The accessory communicates captured spectral information to the mobile device ([0043], lines 1-5). In light of the teaching of Aggarwal et al., the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design Lee’s camera for attachability between a light box with Lee’s color detector and Lee’s imaging system because an artisan of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a light box would optically process the colors of incident light in a way that allows for quality color measurements.
(3) Further in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Beecroft et al. discloses a handheld colorimeter (Fig. 1) having a main body (Fig. 1, command module “3-6”) and a protruding light pick-up portion (Fig. 1, measurement head “1-2”) which are detachable from one another ([0031], lines 8-10). The device also includes a touch-screen display on the main body through which a user can communicate color correction/detection mode instructions to the light pick-up portion ([0042], lines 1-3). In light of the teaching of Beecroft et al., the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the instant application to include a display on Lee’s imaging system body that allows for various color detection modes to be selected because one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the display would provide added user-friendly functionality, allowing for display of flash color measurement and selection of modes of measurement in different environments.
As to claim 14, Lee et al., as modified by Aggarwal et al. and Beecroft et al., teaches the color correction detection device according to claim 13, wherein the human-computer interaction assembly comprises one or more of a key reception assembly, a voice input assembly, a touch input assembly (see Beecroft et al., Fig. 2, touch-screen interface “2”), and a gesture control assembly.
As to claim 15, Lee et al. teaches the color correction detection device according to claim 10, wherein the color correction detection device further comprises a main body (Figs. 1-4), and a display screen provided on the main body (Fig. 3). The claim differs Lee et al. in that it requires (1) that the color correction device comprises a light pick-up portion that protrudes from one side of the main body, (2) that the light-emitting information collection circuit is located in the light pick-up portion and (3) that the display screen is configured to display a color correction control interface and (4) that displayed content of the color correction control interface comprises one or more of color correction start-stop information, color correction parameter setting information, and color correction mode switching information (see Beecroft et al., [0032], lines 1-7).
However, in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Aggarwal et al. teaches a color detection system (Fig. 1; [0043], lines 1-5) comprising a mobile device (Fig. 1, mobile device “120”), including a body (Fig. 1) and a flash (e.g., Fig. 5, flash “128”), attachable to a protruding optical accessory (1) (Fig. 1, optical accessory “100”), having a camera (Fig. 1A, camera “122”; [0042], lines 21-28) within the accessory’s body (2) (Fig. 1). The accessory communicates captured spectral information to the mobile device ([0043], lines 1-5). In light of the teaching of Aggarwal et al., the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design Lee’s camera for attachability between a light box with Lee’s color detector and Lee’s imaging system because an artisan of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a light box would optically process the colors of incident light in a way that allows for quality color measurements.
Further in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Beecroft et al. discloses a handheld colorimeter (Fig. 1) having a main body (Fig. 1, command module “3-6”) and a protruding light pick-up portion (Fig. 1, measurement head “1-2”) which are detachable from one another ([0031], lines 8-10). The device also includes a touch-screen display on the main body through which a user can communicate color correction/detection mode instructions to the light pick-up portion (4) ([0042], lines 1-3) through an interface (3) ([0032], lines 1-7). In light of the teaching of Beecroft et al., the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the instant application to present an interface on Lee’s display that allows for various color detection modes to be selected because one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this functionality would provide added user-friendliness, allowing for display of flash color measurement and selection of modes of measurement in different environments.
B. Claims 18,31,33, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2005/0134723 A1) in view of Rivard et al. (US 2012/0154627 A1)
As to claim 18, Lee et al. teaches the color correction system according to claim 17 wherein the control circuit further comprises a color correction processing circuit ([0022], lines 3-8; {The examiner reads the color correction processing circuit as the inherent circuitry that accesses the look-up table and maps the control signal to the driver signals.}); and
wherein the color correction processing circuit is configured to be electrically connected to the color correction detection device (Fig. 1, connection between carrying control signal “17”), so as to receive the light-emitting information, generate the color correction result information, and send the color correction result information to the driver circuit (see Lee et al., [0022] and [0023]).
The claim differs from Lee et al. in that it requires that the control circuit includes a light-emitting control circuit that is electrically connected to the driver circuit, so as to control the driver circuit to operate.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Rivard et al. discloses a digital camera (Fig. 3C, digital camera “300”) comprising separate flash and color sensing modules (Fig. 3C, color compensated flash module “302” and digital image module “304”). The flash module includes a color controller (Fig. 3C, color controller “110”) that receives a target color balance signal from the color sensing module ([0052], lines 1-4) and outputs a color control signal for controlling the color profile of the flash (Fig. 3C, color control signal “112”). Additionally, the color controller outputs a flash command (Fig. 3C, flash control signal “113”), including flash trigger and flash extinguish commands, to a flash controller (Fig. 3C, flash controller “160”) that controls a driver of the flash module ([0049], last seven lines). In light of the teaching of Rivard et al., the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include a flash controller, like Rivard’s flash controller “160,” separate from control circuit “26” of Lee’s light module (Rivard’s flash controller and Lee’s control circuit together read as the claimed ‘control circuit.’) that receives flash trigger and extinguish commands because this would allow the timing of flash to be synchronized with image capture.
As to claim 31, Lee et al. teaches an external flash (Fig. 1, light module “14” and driver “16”) automatically correcting color thereof ([0023], lines 8-12) comprising:
a light source assembly (Fig. 1, light module “14”; [0009], lines 4 and 5, “…series of emitters of light…”);
a driver circuit (Fig. 1, current sources of driver “16”; [0015], lines 19-21) configured to drive the light source assembly to emit light ([0015], lines 1-5); and
a control circuit (Fig. 1, control circuit “26”) electrically connected to the driver circuit (Fig. 1), and the control circuit being configured to be electrically connected to the color correction detection device (Fig. 1), wherein the color correction detection device is configured to detect light-emitting information of the light source assembly ( [0023], lines 1-8);
wherein the control circuit is configured to receive the light-emitting information of the light source assembly from the color correction detection device ([0023], lines 8-12) and perform color correction processing according to the light-emitting information, so as to generate color correction result information ([0022]); and the driver circuit is configured to drive the light source assembly to emit light according to the color correction result information ([0023], lines 13-17); wherein the light-emitting information comprises one or more pieces of information on at least one of brightness, chroma ([0021], lines 6-11, “…sensed spectral content…”), or saturation;
wherein the control circuit further comprises a color correction processing circuit ([0022], lines 3-8; {The examiner reads the color correction processing circuit as the inherent circuitry that accesses the look-up table and maps the control signal to the driver signals.}) and a light-emitting control circuit, wherein the light-emitting control circuit is electrically connected to the driver circuit, so as to control the driver circuit to operate (); and
wherein the color correction processing circuit is configured to be electrically connected to the color correction detection device (Fig. 1, connection between carrying control signal “17”), so as to receive the light-emitting information, generate the color correction result information, and send the color correction result information to the driver circuit ([0022] and [0023]).
The claim differs from Lee et al. in that it requires that the control circuit includes a light-emitting control circuit that is electrically connected to the driver circuit, so as to control the driver circuit to operate.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Rivard et al. discloses a digital camera (Fig. 3C, digital camera “300”) comprising separate flash and color sensing modules (Fig. 3C, color compensated flash module “302” and digital image module “304”). The flash module includes a color controller (Fig. 3C, color controller “110”) that receives a target color balance signal from the color sensing module ([0052], lines 1-4) and outputs a color control signal for controlling the color profile of the flash (Fig. 3C, color control signal “112”). Additionally, the color controller outputs a flash command (Fig. 3C, flash control signal “113”), including flash trigger and flash extinguish commands, to a flash controller (Fig. 3C, flash controller “160”) that controls a driver of the flash module ([0049], last seven lines). In light of the teaching of Rivard et al., the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include a flash controller, like Rivard’s flash controller “160,” separate from control circuit “26” of Lee’s light module (Rivard’s flash controller and Lee’s control circuit together read as the claimed ‘control circuit.’) that receives flash trigger and extinguish commands because this would allow the timing of flash to be synchronized with image capture.
As to claim 33, Lee et al., as modified by Rivard et al., teaches the external flash according to claim 31, wherein the control circuit further comprises a timing control circuit, and the timing control circuit is electrically connected to the driver circuit, so as to enable a driver power supply (see Lee et al., e.g., Fig. 1, current sources of driver “16”) to drive the light source assembly to emit light at a preset timing (see Lee et al., Fig. 6B; {Given the sequence of operations of Fig. 6B, the examiner submits that a timing circuit that controls the orderly performance of those operations, including step “58,” is inherent in Lee et al.}); and
wherein the timing control circuit is further electrically connected to the color correction detection device, so that when the light source assembly emits light at the preset timing, the timing control circuit controls the color correction detection device to detect the light-emitting information of the light source assembly at a preset timing accordingly (see Lee et al., Fig. 6B, steps “52” and “54”; {The examiner submits that control that allows light to be emitted by module “14” while color detector “20” detects the spectral content is inherent in Lee et al.}).
As to claim 34, Lee et al., as modified by Rivard et al., teaches the external flash according to claim 31, wherein the control circuit further comprises a timing control circuit, and the timing control circuit is electrically connected to the driver circuit, so as to enable a driver power supply (see Lee et al., e.g., Fig. 1, current sources of driver “16”) to drive the light source assembly to emit light at a preset timing (see Lee et al., Fig. 6B; {Given the sequence of operations of Fig. 6B, the examiner submits that a timing circuit that controls the orderly performance of those operations, including step “58,” is inherent in Lee et al.}); and
wherein the timing control circuit is further electrically connected to the color correction detection device, so that when the light source assembly emits light at the preset timing, the timing control circuit controls the color correction detection device to detect the light-emitting information of the light source assembly at a preset timing accordingly (see Lee et al., Fig. 6B, steps “52” and “54”; {The examiner submits that control that allows light to be emitted by module “14” while color detector “20” detects the spectral content is inherent in Lee et al.}).
C. Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2005/0134723 A1) in view of Aggarwal et al. (US 2015/0338307 A1)
As to claims 29 and 30, Lee et al. teaches the color correction detection device according
to claim 10, wherein the color correction device comprises a main body (Figs. 1-4). The claim differs from Lee et al. in that it requires (1) that the color correction device includes a light pick-up portion protruding from one side of the main body, (2) that the light-emitting information collection circuit is located in the light pick-up portion, and (3) that the main body is detachably connected to the light pick-up portion.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Aggarwal et al. teaches a color detection system (Fig. 1; [0043], lines 1-5) comprising a mobile device (Fig. 1, mobile device “120”), including a body (Fig. 1) and a flash (e.g., Fig. 5, flash “128”), attachable to a protruding optical accessory (1), (3) (Fig. 1, optical accessory “100”), having a camera (Fig. 1A, camera “122”; [0042], lines 21-28) within the accessory’s body (2) (Fig. 1). The accessory communicates captured spectral information to the mobile device ([0043], lines 1-5). In light of the teaching of Aggarwal et al., the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design Lee’s camera for attachability between a light box with Lee’s color detector and Lee’s imaging system because an artisan of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a light box would optically process the colors of incident light in a way that allows for quality color measurements.
D. Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2005/0134723 A1) in view of Rivard et al. (US 2012/0154627 A1) and further in view of Gu et al. (US 2020/0375005 A1)
As to claim 32, Lee et al., as modified by Rivard et al., teaches the external flash according to claim 31. The claim differs from Lee et al., as modified by Rivard et al., in that it requires that the light-emitting control circuit comprises a programming circuit electrically connected to the color correction processing circuit, that the programming circuit receives the color correction result information, so as to adjust a light-emitting control program in the light-emitting control circuit, and that the driver circuit drives the light source assembly to emit light according to the adjusted light-emitting control program (see Gu et al., [0096] and [0097]; see Lee et al., [0022] and [0023]).
However, in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Gu et al. discloses a
flash system comprising a spectral analyzer (Fig. 6, color temperature sensor "604"), a processor
(Fig. 6, processor "602") connected a color temperature controller (Fig. 6, controller "603"; {In Fig. 1, note the connection between processor “602” (i.e., control circuit “26” of Lee et al.) and controller “603”).}), and an LED array (Fig. 6, light supplement module "605"; [0044], lines 4-7). The spectral analyzer detects the spectral content of surrounding illumination, communicates the spectral content to a processor that calculates a color temperature value of the spectral content, communicates the value to a color temperature controller that determines a pulse width modulation scheme ([0089], TABLE 1; {The examiner reads the programming terminal as the terminal of controller “603” that outputs the RGB-PWM of TABLE 1.}) for the LED array based on the color temperature value ([0095] and [0096]). In light of the teaching of Gu et al., the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to assign the spectral content determination function to the control circuit of Lee et al. and assign driver control based on the spectral content to a separate controller circuit, like Gu's controller "603" because an artisan of ordinary skill in the art would find this modification to be a simple substitution of function assignment that would yield predictable results. That is, Lee's order of operation remains the same only with an added circuit, re-assigned and specified functions, and without deviating from Lee's stated goal of providing scene-specific spectral illumination.
E. Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2005/0134723 A1) in view of in view of Rivard et al. (US 2012/0154627 A1) and further in view of Minakuti et al. (US 2003/0076424 A1)
As to claim 36, Lee et al., as modified by Rivard et al., teaches the external according to claim 31. The claim differs from Lee et al., as modified by Rivard et al., in that it requires that the device further comprises a wireless communication circuit that is electrically connected to the control circuit, that is configured to communicate wirelessly with the color correction detection device, so as to receive, through wireless transmission, light-emitting information detected by the color correction detection device, and that transmits the light-emitting information to the control circuit.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Minakuti et al. teaches an imaging system (Fig. 1, image processing system “100”) including a camera (Fig. 5, camera “1”) and a colorimeter (Fig. 7, colorimeter “2”). The camera and colorimeter are wirelessly connected ([0045]) for transmission of color information detected by the coloriometer to the camera ([0091], lines 7-9), and the camera includes a wireless interface (Fig. 5, radio I/F “157”) connected to a processor (Fig. 5, CPU “161”/WB circuit “147”) that receives the color information for correction of a captured image ([0109] and [0110]). Although Minakuti et al. uses the received color information from the colorimeter for image processing, the reference’s disclosure of wireless communication of color information from a colorimeter would implore one of ordinary skill in the art to look to implement a wireless communication protocol between the color detector and light module of Lee et al. as wireless communication provides numerous advantages over wired communication, like dispensing with the need for a wire and flexibility in positioning between transmitting and receiving devices.
F. Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2005/0134723 A1) in view of Rivard et al. (US 2012/0154627 A1) et al. (US 2015/0338307 A1) and further in view in view of Rees (US # 10,694,091 B2)
As to claim 36, Lee et al., as modified by Rivard et al., teaches the external flash according to claim 31, wherein the external flash further comprises a communication interface, and the communication interface is electrically connected to the control circuit, and the communication interface is configured to electrically connected to the color correction detection device, so as to receive the light-emitting information detected by the color correction detection device (see Lee et al., Fig. 1; {The examiner submits that a communication interface is inherent in Lee’s flash as it receives information from an external color detector.}). The claim differs from Lee et al. in that it requires that the electrical connection be through a connection wire.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Rees teaches a communication wire (Fig. 3, communication line “84”) that connects a color monitoring camera (Fig. 3, color monitoring camera “82”) and a plurality of scene cameras with light sources (Fig. 3, scene camera “86”). In light of the teaching of Rees, the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to allow for wired communication between Lee’s light module and color detector because wired communication allows for a comparatively stabler connection and less computationally intensive communication interfaces.
G. Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2005/0134723 A1) in view of Rivard et al. (US 2012/0154627 A1) et al. (US 2015/0338307 A1) in view in view of Rees (US # 10,694,091 B2) and further in view of Clawson (US 2014/0340573 A1)
As to claim 37, Lee et al., as modified by Rivard et al. and Rees, teaches the external flash according to claim 36. The claim differs from Lee et al., as modified by Rivard et al. and Rees, in that it requires that flash's communication interface be a USB interface used as a charging interface. However, in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Clawson teaches a light-emitting module for a camera/mobile device (Figs. 1 and 2, case "100" with light sources "104") including a USB port (Fig. 1, port "132") that allows for charging of the module's battery ([0047]). In light of the teaching of Clawson, the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include a USB port that accepts a USB wire as the connecting wire of Lee et al., as modified by Rees, because USB connection provides numerous advantages, like speedy communication without the need for Internet and battery charging functionality.
VI. Conclusion
/ANTHONY J DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
3/7/2026