DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/23/2026, with respect to objection of Claim 3 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of Claim 3 has been overcome.
Applicant's arguments filed 01/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Salkind et al. (US 3782856, hereinafter: “Salkind”), the Applicant’s position is that Salkind does not disclose a blade being formed by a one piece fibrous preform as amended in the independent claims 1, 11, and 12 (Page 7 of the Applicant’s Remarks filed on 01/23/2026).
The Examiner has fully considered the Applicant’s position; however, respectfully disagrees. The Examiner agrees that Salkind discloses two halves of the core 40 (16a, 16b); however, Salkind also discloses that the core (40) could be a single, integral piece (“Filler material 110 and core member 40, and any other required filler material could be a single, integral piece. Core 40 and filler 110 perform the same shape stability function” Col. 7, ll. 16-20). Salkind also discloses “Those skilled in the art will realize that our blade could be manufactured by fabricating the twin spar as disclosed herein and then positioning and connecting the twin beam spar so fabricated in a blade cover member, which has previously been manufactured either as a one or two piece construction. Further, cover 90 (or torque-tube 122) with fiber composition spars 41 bonded thereto could be made as a hollow blade and the filler material added thereafter,” (Col. 11, ll. 48-56). Therefore, Salkind discloses a blade being formed from a one piece fibrous preform as claimed.
Regarding the Applicant’s position that “the Examiner seems to confound the fibre fabric of the covering element (90) and the splice cap (116)…We recall that the two elements are distinctive and that there is no passage in Salkind stating the opposite” (Page 7 of the Applicant’s Remarks filed on 01/23/2026). The Examiner has fully considered the Applicant’s position; however, respectfully disagrees. The splice cap 116 has not been used as a covering element (90) or an assembly part of the covering element (90) in the rejection.
Regarding the two adjacent edges of the fibre fabric of the covering element, the Applicant’s position that the two adjacent edges of the same at least one fibre fabric located under the first metal shield would not be possible since the cover element 90 is covered on each half of the preform and the preform is not one piece (Page 7 of the Applicant’s Remarks filed on 01/23/2026). The Examiner has fully considered the Applicant’s position; however, respectfully disagrees. Salkind discloses the covering element (90) are made in two halves and attached to the preform core (40) (“Blade cover 90 is also made in two halves and the two halves are bonded along surfaces 92 and 94. So as to provide ample bonding area, the blade cover is built up at both the blade leading edge 24 and the blade trailing edge 26, as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4. The blade cover 90 is preferably fabricated of a plurality of layers of preimpregnated fiber or filament material, preferably alternate layers of glass fibers and graphite fiber sheets,” Col. 6, ll. 16-25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkind et al. (US 3782856, hereinafter: “Salkind”) in view of Parkin et al. (US 20120134839, hereinafter: “Parkin ‘839 ”).
In reference to Claim 1
Salkind discloses:
A composite vane for a turbomachine, said vane comprising a blade (16) comprising a pressure side and a suction side (pressure side and suction side on 36a and 36b, Fig. 9) connected together by a leading edge (leading edge at 112, Fig. 9) and by a trailing edge (trailing edge at 26; Fig. 9), the blade being formed from a one piece fibrous preform (40 core) obtained by weaving fibres which is embedded in a polymeric matrix (40 core, 36a,36b; Col. 4, ll. 62-68; Col. 5, ll. 1-35; “Filler material 110 and core member 40, and any other required filler material could be a single, integral piece. Core 40 and filler 110 perform the same shape stability function” Col. 7, ll. 16-20), the vane comprising a first metal shield (118) extending over and along the leading edge of the blade, the vane further comprising at least one covering element (90) extending over and along the trailing edge of the blade, wherein the at least one covering element is made of layers of preimpregnated material (Col. 6,ll. 13-45) composite material and comprises at least one fibre fabric (fabric of 90) which is draped over at least one portion of the pressure side and of the suction side and which extends over and along the trailing edge and the leading edge of the blade (Fig. 9), the same at least one fabric (fabric of 90) being interposed between the first metal shield (118) and the leading edge and the same at least one fabric (fabric of 90, Col. 6, ll. 13-45) comprising fibres having a material that is different from a material of the fibres of the one piece fibrous preform (40, Col. 4, ll. 62-68; Col. 5, ll. 1-35), the same at least one fabric (fabric of 90) comprising two adjacent edges (Col. 6, ll. 16-25) which are located under the first metal shield (“A splice cap 116, which may be made of a glass fiber and carbon composite, or other composite may be bonded to the abutted leading edges 24 of the blade halves 16a and 16b to improve the bond therebetween, and a lightning rod-abrasion strip 118 may be positioned thereover. This strip 118 is preferably made of metal. FIG. 11 depicts the full cover blade embodiment in perspective with tip cap 102 positioned at the outer end of the blade. The full cover blade is accordingly seen to be a unitary blade with all parts thereof bonded together and with the blade cover 90, the fiber composite spars 41, and cuff 60 constituting the main load carrying components,” Col. 7, ll. 56-68).
Salkind is silent on the fibrous preform obtained by weaving fibers in three dimensions which is embedded in a polymeric matrix and the at least one covering element is made of thermoplastic composite material.
Parkin ‘839 teaches:
A composite vane (30 airfoil, 14a, 22, 24; [0016-0017]) for a turbomachine (10), said vane comprising a blade (30 airfoil) comprising a pressure side and a suction side (“the airfoil section 30 has a wing-like shape that provides a lift force via Bernoulli's principle such that one side of the airfoil section 30 is a suction side and the other side is a pressure side,” [0018], Fig. 5) connected together by a leading edge (41) and by a trailing edge (trailing edge is the opposing end of the leading edge 41 as shown in Fig. 5), the blade being formed from a fibrous preform (core 36, 38) obtained by weaving fibres in three dimensions which is embedded in a polymeric matrix (“the core 36 includes a three-dimensional network of fibers 42. The three-dimensional network of fibers 42 may include fibers 44 that are interwoven to form fiber sheets 46….The fibers 44 are disposed in a matrix 48a, such as a polymeric material,” [0020]), the vane comprising a first shield (40 sheath) extending over and along the leading edge of the blade (“The fan blade 14a may also optionally include a sheath 40 over a leading edge 41 of the airfoil section 30,” [0019]), the vane further comprising at least one covering element (“glass fabric cover ply”) extending over and along the trailing edge of the blade (“Optionally, the fan blade 14a may also include a glass fabric cover ply (not shown) over the composite skin 38 and core 36 to cover exposed ply ends,” [0019]) , wherein the at least one covering element is made of thermoplastic composite material (“glass fabric cover ply” [0019]) and comprises at least one fibre fabric which is draped over at least one portion of the pressure side and of the suction side and which extends over and along the trailing edge and the leading edge of the blade [0019], said at least one fabric being interposed between the first metal shield and the leading edge [0019] and said at least one –fabric-- comprising fibres (“glass fiber cover ply” [0019]) having a material that is different from a material of the fibres of the fibrous preform (fibers of 36 and 38, [0020-0021]. [0016-0029] (Fig. 1-9).
Based on the teaching of Parkin ‘839 and Salkind, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the airfoil of Salkind by constructing the fibrous preform obtained by weaving fibers in three dimensions which is embedded in a polymeric matrix and the at least one covering element to be made of thermoplastic composite material as taught by Parkin ‘839 for the purpose of utilizing well-known materials in airfoil manufacturing.
In reference to Claim 4
Salkind as modified by Parkin ‘839 discloses:
The vane according to claim 1, wherein Salkind discloses the at least one fabric is made of glass fibres (“The cover or skin 90 is preferably made of a plurality of layers of high tensile strength fiber composite material, such as alternate layers of glass fiber and graphite fiber composite sheets, with the fibers thereof extending in different directions with respect to blade longitudinal axis 32,” Col. 7, ll. 30-50).
In reference to Claim 5
Salkind as modified by Parkin ‘839 discloses:
The vane according to claim 1, wherein Salkind discloses the at least one fabric (90) extends over the entirety of the pressure side and of the suction side of the blade (Col. 6,ll. 13-45; Fig. 9).
In reference to Claim 6
Salkind as modified by Parkin ‘839 discloses:
The vane according to claim 1, wherein Salkind discloses the fibres of the fibrous preform (40) comprise high tensile strength fibres (“Central core 40 is preferably made of a low density material, such as honeycomb construction or machined or cast plastic foam. Each twin-beam spar assembly further consists of a spar 41 which comprises a plurality of high tensile strength fibers or filaments in a suitable matrix of U-shaped, folded or forked cross section which are bonded together and to central core 40 for substantially the full length of the core and extend therebeyond toward the blade root to form a loop and more particularly are a first layer or series of plies of high tensile strength fibers or filaments in a suitable matrix, which are preferably of the broadgood variety and made of preimpregnated continuous glass fiber or other suitable high tensile strength materials such as graphite, boron, PRD-49 by E. I. DuPont and metal fiber composites,” Col. 4, ll. 61-68; Col. 5, ll. 1-12).
Parkin ‘839 teaches the fibres of the fibrous preform (36, 38) comprise carbon fibres (“For instance, boron fibers may be used in the ply 38d and carbon fibers may be used in the ply 38a” [0029]).
Based on the teaching of Parkin ‘839 and Salkind, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preform of Salkind by constructing it utilizing carbon fibers as taught by Parkin ‘839 for the purpose of utilizing well-known materials in airfoil manufacturing.
In reference to Claim 12
Salkind discloses:
A composite vane for a turbomachine, said vane comprising a blade (16) comprising a pressure side and a suction side (pressure side and suction side on 36a and 36b, Fig. 9) connected together by a leading edge (leading edge at 112, Fig. 9) and by a trailing edge (trailing edge at 26; Fig. 9), the blade being formed from a one piece fibrous preform (40 core) obtained by weaving fibres which is embedded in a polymeric matrix (40 core, 36a,36b; Col. 4, ll. 62-68; Col. 5, ll. 1-35; “Filler material 110 and core member 40, and any other required filler material could be a single, integral piece. Core 40 and filler 110 perform the same shape stability function” Col. 7, ll. 16-20), the vane comprising a first metal shield (118) extending over and along the leading edge of the blade, the vane further comprising at least one covering element (90) extending over and along the trailing edge of the blade, wherein the at least one covering element is made of layers of preimpregnated material (Col. 6,ll. 13-45) composite material and comprises at least one fibre fabric (fabric of 90) which is draped over at least one portion of the pressure side and of the suction side and which extends over and along the trailing edge and the leading edge of the blade (Fig. 9), the same at least one fabric (fabric of 90) being interposed between the first metal shield (118) and the leading edge and the same at least one fabric (fabric of 90, Col. 6, ll. 13-45) comprising fibres having a material that is different from a material of the fibres of the one piece fibrous preform (40, Col. 4, ll. 62-68; Col. 5, ll. 1-35), the same at least one fabric (fabric of 90) comprising two adjacent edges (Col. 6, ll. 16-25) which are located under the first metal shield (“A splice cap 116, which may be made of a glass fiber and carbon composite, or other composite may be bonded to the abutted leading edges 24 of the blade halves 16a and 16b to improve the bond therebetween, and a lightning rod-abrasion strip 118 may be positioned thereover. This strip 118 is preferably made of metal. FIG. 11 depicts the full cover blade embodiment in perspective with tip cap 102 positioned at the outer end of the blade. The full cover blade is accordingly seen to be a unitary blade with all parts thereof bonded together and with the blade cover 90, the fiber composite spars 41, and cuff 60 constituting the main load carrying components,” Col. 7, ll. 56-68). Salkind discloses the same at least one fabric (fabric of 90) completely surrounds the blade.
Salkind is silent on the fibrous preform obtained by weaving fibers in three dimensions which is embedded in a polymeric matrix and the at least one covering element is made of thermoplastic composite material.
Parkin ‘839 teaches:
A composite vane (30 airfoil, 14a, 22, 24; [0016-0017]) for a turbomachine (10), said vane comprising a blade (30 airfoil) comprising a pressure side and a suction side (“the airfoil section 30 has a wing-like shape that provides a lift force via Bernoulli's principle such that one side of the airfoil section 30 is a suction side and the other side is a pressure side,” [0018], Fig. 5) connected together by a leading edge (41) and by a trailing edge (trailing edge is the opposing end of the leading edge 41 as shown in Fig. 5), the blade being formed from a fibrous preform (core 36, 38) obtained by weaving fibres in three dimensions which is embedded in a polymeric matrix (“the core 36 includes a three-dimensional network of fibers 42. The three-dimensional network of fibers 42 may include fibers 44 that are interwoven to form fiber sheets 46….The fibers 44 are disposed in a matrix 48a, such as a polymeric material,” [0020]), the vane comprising a first shield (40 sheath) extending over and along the leading edge of the blade (“The fan blade 14a may also optionally include a sheath 40 over a leading edge 41 of the airfoil section 30,” [0019]), the vane further comprising at least one covering element (“glass fabric cover ply”) extending over and along the trailing edge of the blade (“Optionally, the fan blade 14a may also include a glass fabric cover ply (not shown) over the composite skin 38 and core 36 to cover exposed ply ends,” [0019]) , wherein the at least one covering element is made of thermoplastic composite material (“glass fabric cover ply” [0019]) and comprises at least one fibre fabric which is draped over at least one portion of the pressure side and of the suction side and which extends over and along the trailing edge and the leading edge of the blade [0019], said at least one fabric being interposed between the first metal shield and the leading edge [0019] and said at least one –fabric-- comprising fibres (“glass fiber cover ply” [0019]) having a material that is different from a material of the fibres of the fibrous preform (fibers of 36 and 38, [0020-0021]. [0016-0029] (Fig. 1-9).
Based on the teaching of Parkin ‘839 and Salkind, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the airfoil of Salkind by constructing the fibrous preform obtained by weaving fibers in three dimensions which is embedded in a polymeric matrix and the at least one covering element to be made of thermoplastic composite material as taught by Parkin ‘839 for the purpose of utilizing well-known materials in airfoil manufacturing.
Claims 2-3, 8-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkind et al. (US 3782856, hereinafter: “Salkind”) in view of Parkin et al. (US 20120134839, hereinafter: “Parkin ‘839 ”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Parkin et al. (US 20110194941, hereinafter: “Parkin ‘941 ”).
In reference to Claim 2
Salkind as modified by Parkin ‘839 discloses:
The vane according to claim 1.
Salkind as modified by Parkin ‘839 is silent on said vane comprising a shield extending over and along the trailing edge of the blade, said at least one fabric being interposed between the shield and the trailing edge.
Parkin ‘941 discloses a shield (21 sheath at trailing edge 12, Fig. 1a-1b; Parkin ‘941) extending over and along the trailing edge of the blade, said at least one fabric being interposed between the shield and the trailing edge [0015] (Fig. 1a-b; Parkin ‘941).
Based on the teaching of Parkin ‘941 and Salkind as modified by Parkin ‘839, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the airfoil of Salkind by including a shield extending over and along the trailing edge of the blade, said at least one fabric being interposed between the shield and the trailing edge as taught by Parkin ‘941 for the purpose of reducing the effects of erosion during operation [0004,Parkin ‘941].
In reference to Claim 3
Salkind as modified by Parkin ‘839 and Parkin ‘941 discloses:
The vane according to claim 2. Parkin ‘941 teaches airfoil sheaths can be made from various materials (“Sheath 17 may be made from any of the conventional materials. For example, sheath 17 can be made from any hard material, such as titanium and nickel sheaths, and those made from alloys of these metals. Sheath 17 may be made from other metals and other materials such as ceramics, plastics such as polyurethane or epoxy filled fiber materials, and the like,” [0014]). In addition, Parkin ‘941 teaches both the leading edge sheath (17) and the trailing edge sheath (21) can be made from metal (“6. The method of claim 1, wherein the metal sheath is selected to protect at least one of a leading edge, tip and trailing edge of the appropriate portion of the dry composite blade,” Claim 6).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first metal sheath (leading edge sheath 17) and the shield (trailing edge sheath 21) of Salkind as modified by Parkin ‘869 and Parkin ‘941 by constructing the shield to be made of a metal alloy that is different than that of said metal shield for the purpose of utilizing well-known materials in the airfoil art.
In reference to Claim 8
Salkind as modified by Parkin ‘839 discloses:
Salkind discloses a method for manufacturing a vane according to claim 1, wherein the method comprises the steps of placing the assembly thus formed into the cavity of a mould (120) hand bonding via adhesive (Col. 9, ll. 10-65; Fig. 14).
Salkind as modified by Parkin ‘839 is silent on
a) positioning the metal shield and said at least one covering element, on a fibrous preform of the blade,
b) placing the assembly thus formed into the cavity of a compaction mould, and
c) closing the mould and compacting the assembly,
d) transferring the assembly into a polymerisation mould in order to polymerise the resin which is injected into the cavity of said mould or which is previously present on the fibres of the fibrous preform, so as to ensure the simultaneous securing of the metal shield and of said at least one covering element with the blade.
. Parkin ‘941 teaches the method comprises the steps of:
a) positioning the metal shield (17, Fig. 2 of Parkin ‘941) and said at least one covering element (“glass fabric cover ply” [0019] of Parkin ‘839; Fig. 2 of Parkin ‘941), on a fibrous preform of the blade (36, 38 of Parkin ‘941) (STEP 46 of Parkin ‘941; [0020-0021]; Fig. 3) ,
b) placing the assembly thus formed into the cavity of a compaction mould (33, 34; [0018-0020], Fig. 2-3; STEP 44-46 of Parkin ‘941), and
c) closing the mould and compacting the assembly (33, 34; [0018-0020], Fig. 2-3; STEP 44-46 of Parkin ‘941),
d) transferring the assembly into a polymerisation mould in order to polymerise the resin which is injected into the cavity of said mould or which is previously present on the fibres of the fibrous preform, so as to ensure the simultaneous securing of the metal shield and of said at least one covering element with the blade (33, 34; [0018-0020], Fig. 2-3; STEP 48 of Parkin ‘941). [0016-0023; Fig. 2-3; Parkin ‘941).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing of Salkind as modified by Parkin ‘839 by including the details of manufacturing as taught by Parkin ‘941 for the purpose of constructing the airfoil utilizing the well-known methods.
In reference to Claim 9
Salkind as modified by Parkin ‘839 and Parkin ‘941 discloses:
The method according to claim 8. Parkin ‘941 teaches the vane comprises a shield (21; [0015]; Parkin ‘941) extending over and along the trailing edge of the blade, said at least one fabric being interposed between the shield and the trailing edge; wherein the step a) also comprises positioning said shield on the trailing edge of the blade (STEP 42-44 of Parkin ‘941) ([0017-0020; Fig. 1-3; Parkin ‘941).
In reference to Claim 11
Salkind discloses:
A composite vane for a turbomachine, said vane comprising a blade (16) comprising a pressure side and a suction side (pressure side and suction side on 36a and 36b, Fig. 9) connected together by a leading edge (leading edge at 112, Fig. 9) and by a trailing edge (trailing edge at 26; Fig. 9), the blade being formed from a one piece fibrous preform (40) which is obtained by weaving fibres which is embedded in a polymeric matrix (40 core, 36a,36b; Col. 4, ll. 62-68; Col. 5, ll. 1-35; “Filler material 110 and core member 40, and any other required filler material could be a single, integral piece. Core 40 and filler 110 perform the same shape stability function” Col. 7, ll. 16-20), the vane comprising a first metal shield (118) extending over and along the leading edge of the blade, the vane further comprising at least one covering element (90) extending over and along the trailing edge of the blade, wherein the at least one covering element is made of layers of preimpregnated material (Col. 6,ll. 13-45) composite material and comprises at least one fibre fabric (fabric of 90) which is draped over at least one portion of the pressure side and of the suction side and which extends over and along the trailing edge and the leading edge of the blade (Fig. 9), the same at least one fabric (fabric of 90) being interposed between the first metal shield (118) and the leading edge and the same at least one fabric (fabric of 90, Col. 6, ll. 13-45) comprising fibres having a material that is different from a material of the fibres of the one piece fibrous preform (40, Col. 4, ll. 62-68; Col. 5, ll. 1-35), the same at least one fabric comprising two adjacent edges which are located under the first metal shield (“A splice cap 116, which may be made of a glass fiber and carbon composite, or other composite may be bonded to the abutted leading edges 24 of the blade halves 16a and 16b to improve the bond therebetween, and a lightning rod-abrasion strip 118 may be positioned thereover. This strip 118 is preferably made of metal. FIG. 11 depicts the full cover blade embodiment in perspective with tip cap 102 positioned at the outer end of the blade. The full cover blade is accordingly seen to be a unitary blade with all parts thereof bonded together and with the blade cover 90, the fiber composite spars 41, and cuff 60 constituting the main load carrying components,” Col. 7, ll. 56-68).
Salkind is silent on the fibrous preform obtained by weaving fibers in three dimensions which is embedded in a polymeric matrix. Salkind is silent on a second shield made of thermoplastic composite material and extending over and along the trailing edge of the blade, said at least one fabric being interposed between the second shield and the trailing edge.
Parkin ‘839 teaches:
A composite vane (30 airfoil, 14a, 22, 24; [0016-0017]) for a turbomachine (10), said vane comprising a blade (30 airfoil) comprising a pressure side and a suction side (“the airfoil section 30 has a wing-like shape that provides a lift force via Bernoulli's principle such that one side of the airfoil section 30 is a suction side and the other side is a pressure side,” [0018], Fig. 5) connected together by a leading edge (41) and by a trailing edge (trailing edge is the opposing end of the leading edge 41 as shown in Fig. 5), the blade being formed from a fibrous preform (core 36, 38) obtained by weaving fibres in three dimensions which is embedded in a polymeric matrix (“the core 36 includes a three-dimensional network of fibers 42. The three-dimensional network of fibers 42 may include fibers 44 that are interwoven to form fiber sheets 46….The fibers 44 are disposed in a matrix 48a, such as a polymeric material,” [0020]), the vane comprising a first shield (40 sheath) extending over and along the leading edge of the blade (“The fan blade 14a may also optionally include a sheath 40 over a leading edge 41 of the airfoil section 30,” [0019]), the vane further comprising at least one covering element (“glass fabric cover ply”) extending over and along the trailing edge of the blade (“Optionally, the fan blade 14a may also include a glass fabric cover ply (not shown) over the composite skin 38 and core 36 to cover exposed ply ends,” [0019]) , wherein the at least one covering element is made of thermoplastic composite material (“glass fabric cover ply” [0019]) and comprises at least one fibre fabric which is draped over at least one portion of the pressure side and of the suction side and which extends over and along the trailing edge and the leading edge of the blade [0019], said at least one fabric being interposed between the first metal shield and the leading edge [0019] and said at least one –fabric-- comprising fibres (“glass fiber cover ply” [0019]) having a material that is different from a material of the fibres of the fibrous preform (fibers of 36 and 38, [0020-0021]. [0016-0029] (Fig. 1-9).
Based on the teaching of Parkin ‘839 and Salkind, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the airfoil of Salkind by constructing the fibrous preform obtained by weaving fibers in three dimensions which is embedded in a polymeric matrix as taught by Parkin ‘839 for the purpose of utilizing well-known materials in airfoil manufacturing.
Parkin ‘941 teaches a composite blade (10) of a turbomachine comprising a metal sheath at the leading edge (17 sheath at leading edge 14) and a metal sheath at the trailing edge (21 sheath at trailing edge 12, [0015]). (“Sheath 17 may be made from any of the conventional materials. For example, sheath 17 can be made from any hard material, such as titanium and nickel sheaths, and those made from alloys of these metals. Sheath 17 may be made from other metals and other materials such as ceramics, plastics such as polyurethane or epoxy filled fiber materials, and the like,” [0014]); “6. The method of claim 1, wherein the metal sheath is selected to protect at least one of a leading edge, tip and trailing edge of the appropriate portion of the dry composite blade,” Claim 6). (Fig. 1a-3).
Based on the teaching of Parkin ‘941 and Salkind as modified by Parkin ‘839, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the airfoil of Parkin ‘869 by including a trailing edge sheath made from thermoplastic composite material on top of the outermost layer/surface of the trailing edge of the airfoil as taught by Parkin ‘941 for the purpose of reducing the effects of erosion during operation and preventing damage from impact of foreign objects [0004-0005, Parkin ‘941).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkind et al. (US 3782856, hereinafter: “Salkind”) in view of Parkin et al. (US 20120134839, hereinafter: “Parkin ‘839 ”) and Parkin et al. (US 20110194941, hereinafter: “Parkin ‘941 ”) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Gimat et al. (FR 3040909, hereinafter: “Gimat”).
In reference to Claim 10
Salkind as modified by Parkin ‘839 and Parkin ‘941 discloses:
The method according to claim 8, wherein the step a) comprises positioning the at least one fabric (“glass fabric cover ply” [0019], Parkin ‘839) to facilitate its adhesion to the fibrous preform.
Salkind as modified by Parkin ‘839 and Parkin ‘941 is silent on spraying a viscous spray onto the fabric to facilitate its adhesion to the preform.
Gimat teaches using a spray adhesive or “tackifier” to adhere a fabric layer to a fibrous blade portion (520, 500) (Page 8 of the English Translation of Gimat).
Based on the teaching of Gimat and Salkind as modified by Parkin ‘839 and Parkin ‘941, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the airfoil of Salkind as modified by Parkin ‘839 and Parkin ‘941 by including a step of spraying a viscous spray or tackifier onto the fabric to facilitate its adhesion to the preform as taught by Gimat for the purpose of applying a fabric layer to a fibrous blade portion.
Conclusion
/AYE S HTAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745