DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 4-16 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This Final Rejection is in response to the amendment submitted on 4/30/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 4/30/2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1, 4-16 under 35 USC 102 and 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection provided below, which was necessitated based on Applicant’s amendments to the claims, which changed the scope of the claims. Examiner notes wherein Applicant’s arguments are directed towards the newly amended claim limitation(s), which are addressed, as indicated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Watanabe (US 20170106540 A1)
Claim 16:
Watanabe teaches the following limitations:
A device, comprising a processor configured to: obtain, as a detection position, a position of a workpiece in image data in which a workpiece feature of the workpiece imaged by a vision sensor is displayed, (Watanabe - [0049] The approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12 acquires a three-dimensional shape model of a target object from the three-dimensional shape model holding unit 10. Also, the approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12 acquires images (grayscale and range images) from the image pickup device 14. In the present embodiment, the images contain a pile of target objects. The approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12 detects an individual object in the pile of objects appearing in a three-dimensional model image, and calculates an approximate position and orientation of the object with respect to the image pickup device 14 to recognize the approximate position and orientation of the individual object. A three-dimensional coordinate system (reference coordinate system) serving as a reference for position and orientation measurement is defined for the image pickup device 14.) using a parameter for collating a workpiece model obtained by modeling the workpiece with the workpiece feature in the image data; (Watanabe - [0043] … Then, a transformation parameter between the two positions and orientations is registered. A method for accurately calculating a position and orientation will be described, which uses the registered transformation parameter to reduce erroneous recognition. … ; [0057] FIG. 3 is a flowchart illustrating a procedure for calculating a position and orientation of a target object according to the present embodiment.; Step S301 ; [0058] In step S301, the transformation parameter calculating unit 11 and the position and orientation calculating unit 13 acquire a three-dimensional shape model of a target object from the three-dimensional shape model holding unit 10. ; [0129] … The information processing apparatus 1501 is capable of storing a program that describes the processing procedure described above, and measuring the position and orientation of the target component 1505. …) generate the image data displaying the workpiece model arranged at the obtained detection position, together with the workpiece feature; Watanabe - [0063] One of the two displayed models is defined as a reference model, and the other model is defined as an operating model. The position or orientation of one of the two displayed models may be displaced from the other model. This is because if the two displayed models completely overlap each other in the initial display, it is difficult to see that there are two models. Then, an observation image obtained by the virtual camera is rendered and displayed on the display screen of the display device 15.; [see also Figures 6A-6E]) based on a number of image elements showing the workpiece feature, which exist in an occupying region of the workpiece model, in the image data, delete the workpiece model from the image data, or additionally display another workpiece model in the image data; (Watanabe - [0063] One of the two displayed models is defined as a reference model, and the other model is defined as an operating model. The position or orientation of one of the two displayed models may be displaced from the other model. This is because if the two displayed models completely overlap each other in the initial display, it is difficult to see that there are two models. Then, an observation image obtained by the virtual camera is rendered and displayed on the display screen of the display device 15. ; [0124] Upon completion of the addition to the transformation parameter list, as in the first embodiment, two three-dimensional shape models having positions and orientations used in calculating a transformation parameter are displayed in an overlapping manner as a thumbnail (registered orientation thumbnail 2) in registered orientation thumbnail display window 2. The thumbnail is associated with the transformation parameter registered in the list. Thus, pressing the “X” button in the upper right corner of the thumbnail allows the user to delete the registered transformation parameter from the list) receive first input data for displacing a position of the workpiece model displayed in the image data;
(Watanabe - [0065] By allowing the user of the information processing apparatus 100 to manipulate the operating model displayed on the display screen of the display device 15, the operating model is superimposed on the reference model in a position and orientation different from that of the reference model in such a manner that the operating model is similar in appearance to the reference model. …) acquire, as a matching position, a position of the workpiece model in the image data when the position of the workpiece model displayed in the image data is displaced in response to receiving the first input data to arrange the workpiece model to coincide with the workpiece feature in the image data; (Watanabe - [0121] When button 6 is pressed, a position and orientation display window displays parameters (X, Y, Z, Rx, Ry, Rz) representing each of M positions and orientations after model fitting (M=6 in FIG. 8). Main window 2 displays an image of a pile of target objects measured by the image pickup device 14. On the basis of a position and orientation (indicated by a thick line in FIG. 8) selected from the M positions and orientations displayed in the position and orientation display window, a three-dimensional shape model is superimposed on the image displayed in main window 2 (as indicated by a broken line in FIG. 8).) adjust the parameter so as to obtain the detection position as a position corresponding to the matching position, on the basis of data representing a difference between the detection position and the matching position; and (Watanabe - [0122] The user checks each of three-dimensional shape models displayed in main window 2 by switching among the M positions and orientations. When the user finds out a correct position and orientation and an incorrect position and orientation for the same individual object in the M positions and orientations, the user checks position and orientation selection checkboxes associated with the correct and incorrect positions and orientations to select them. … ; [0123] Button 7 is enabled when two positions and orientations are selected with position and orientation selection checkboxes. As in the case of pressing button 3 in the first embodiment, pressing button 7 calculates a transformation parameter between the two selected positions and orientations and adds it to a transformation parameter list. Upon completion of the addition to the list, all the position and orientation selection checkboxes are reset (unchecked). ; [see also Figure 3 and paragraphs [0057] –[0106]] ) acquire the detection position from image data of a workpiece imaged by the vision sensor, using the adjusted parameter, to control a robot to execute a work on the workpiece. (Watanabe - [0131] The robot system of the present embodiment recognizes a position and orientation of the target component 1505 in accordance with the processing procedure described in the first or second embodiment. Then, the robot system transforms the result from the camera coordinate system to the robot coordinate system. …)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Watanabe (US 20170106540 A1) as modified by Minato (US 20150262414 A1)
Claim 1:
Watanabe teaches the following limitations:
A device, comprising a processor configured to: obtain, as a detection position, a position of a workpiece in image data in which a workpiece feature of the workpiece imaged by a vision sensor is displayed, (Watanabe - [0049] The approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12 acquires a three-dimensional shape model of a target object from the three-dimensional shape model holding unit 10. Also, the approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12 acquires images (grayscale and range images) from the image pickup device 14. In the present embodiment, the images contain a pile of target objects. The approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12 detects an individual object in the pile of objects appearing in a three-dimensional model image, and calculates an approximate position and orientation of the object with respect to the image pickup device 14 to recognize the approximate position and orientation of the individual object. A three-dimensional coordinate system (reference coordinate system) serving as a reference for position and orientation measurement is defined for the image pickup device 14.) using a parameter for collating a workpiece model obtained by modeling the workpiece with the workpiece feature in the image data, the parameter including: (Watanabe - [0043] … Then, a transformation parameter between the two positions and orientations is registered. A method for accurately calculating a position and orientation will be described, which uses the registered transformation parameter to reduce erroneous recognition. … ; [0057] FIG. 3 is a flowchart illustrating a procedure for calculating a position and orientation of a target object according to the present embodiment.; Step S301 ; [0058] In step S301, the transformation parameter calculating unit 11 and the position and orientation calculating unit 13 acquire a three-dimensional shape model of a target object from the three-dimensional shape model holding unit 10. ; [0129] … The information processing apparatus 1501 is capable of storing a program that describes the processing procedure described above, and measuring the position and orientation of the target component 1505. …)
generate the image data displaying the workpiece model together with the workpiece feature; (Watanabe - [0063] One of the two displayed models is defined as a reference model, and the other model is defined as an operating model. The position or orientation of one of the two displayed models may be displaced from the other model. This is because if the two displayed models completely overlap each other in the initial display, it is difficult to see that there are two models. Then, an observation image obtained by the virtual camera is rendered and displayed on the display screen of the display device 15.; [see also Figures 6A-6E]) receive first input data for displacing a position of the workpiece model displayed in the image data; (Watanabe - [0065] By allowing the user of the information processing apparatus 100 to manipulate the operating model displayed on the display screen of the display device 15, the operating model is superimposed on the reference model in a position and orientation different from that of the reference model in such a manner that the operating model is similar in appearance to the reference model. …) acquire, as a matching position, a position of the workpiece model in the image data when the position of the workpiece model displayed in the image data is displaced in response to receiving the first input data to arrange the workpiece model to coincide with the workpiece feature in the image data; (Watanabe - [0121] When button 6 is pressed, a position and orientation display window displays parameters (X, Y, Z, Rx, Ry, Rz) representing each of M positions and orientations after model fitting (M=6 in FIG. 8). Main window 2 displays an image of a pile of target objects measured by the image pickup device 14. On the basis of a position and orientation (indicated by a thick line in FIG. 8) selected from the M positions and orientations displayed in the position and orientation display window, a three-dimensional shape model is superimposed on the image displayed in main window 2 (as indicated by a broken line in FIG. 8).)
so as to obtain the detection position as a position corresponding to the matching position, on the basis of data representing a difference between the detection position and the matching position; and (Watanabe - [0122] The user checks each of three-dimensional shape models displayed in main window 2 by switching among the M positions and orientations. When the user finds out a correct position and orientation and an incorrect position and orientation for the same individual object in the M positions and orientations, the user checks position and orientation selection checkboxes associated with the correct and incorrect positions and orientations to select them. … ; [0123] Button 7 is enabled when two positions and orientations are selected with position and orientation selection checkboxes. As in the case of pressing button 3 in the first embodiment, pressing button 7 calculates a transformation parameter between the two selected positions and orientations and adds it to a transformation parameter list. Upon completion of the addition to the list, all the position and orientation selection checkboxes are reset (unchecked). ; [see also Figure 3 and paragraphs [0057] –[0106]] ) acquire the detection position from image data of a workpiece imaged by the vision sensor, (Watanabe - [0131] The robot system of the present embodiment recognizes a position and orientation of the target component 1505 in accordance with the processing procedure described in the first or second embodiment. Then, the robot system transforms the result from the camera coordinate system to the robot coordinate system. …)
to control a robot to execute a work on the workpiece. (Watanabe - [0042] In a first embodiment, the present invention is applied to accurately determine a position and orientation of a target object (component) in a pile and grasp the target object with a robot hand on the basis of the determined position and orientation.)
Examiner Note:
Fitting corresponds to collating
Watanabe does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Minato teaches
a size of a window that defines a detection range of feature points of the workpiece model and the workpiece feature to be collated with each other in the image data;
data which identifies the feature points; or image roughness upon collation;
(Minato - [0053] When the user has set a parameter (hereinafter, also referred to as "range parameter") indicating a size of a search range, the user can provide a limit to a range (that is, a search range) of searching the input image 32 for a feature point corresponding to a control point of a model image 30A. … ; [0057] In this way, because the image processing device 100 changes the display size of the search range by matching the range parameter, the user can intuitively understand to what degree of influence the range parameter gives to a variable shape detection processing.; [see also Figures 3A, 3B, 8A and 8B] )
adjust the size of the window, the data identifying the feature points or the image roughness
(Minato - [0053] When the user has set a parameter (hereinafter, also referred to as "range parameter") indicating a size of a search range, the user can provide a limit to a range (that is, a search range) of searching the input image 32 for a feature point corresponding to a control point of a model image 30A. … ; [0057] In this way, because the image processing device 100 changes the display size of the search range by matching the range parameter, the user can intuitively understand to what degree of influence the range parameter gives to a variable shape detection processing.; [see also Figures 3A, 3B, 8A and 8B] )
using the adjusted size of the window, the adjusted data identifying the feature points or the adjusted image roughness,
(Minato - [0053] When the user has set a parameter (hereinafter, also referred to as "range parameter") indicating a size of a search range, the user can provide a limit to a range (that is, a search range) of searching the input image 32 for a feature point corresponding to a control point of a model image 30A. … ; [0057] In this way, because the image processing device 100 changes the display size of the search range by matching the range parameter, the user can intuitively understand to what degree of influence the range parameter gives to a variable shape detection processing.; [see also Figures 3A, 3B, 8A and 8B] )
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Watanabe to provide a method of adjusting the selection range for workpiece models and target objects while searching for an object’s feature points as taught in Minato. Having the ability to adjust the range and resolution of the target selection area increases accuracy, saves time and conserves computing resources by reducing the search area for target objects.
Claim 4:
Watanabe teaches the following limitations:
The device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: display the workpiece model at the detection position ; display the workpiece model at a randomly-determined position in the image data; or display the workpiece model at a position which is determined in accordance with a predetermined rule in the image data.
(Watanabe - [0049] The approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12 acquires a three-dimensional shape model of a target object from the three-dimensional shape model holding unit 10. Also, the approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12 acquires images (grayscale and range images) from the image pickup device 14. In the present embodiment, the images contain a pile of target objects. The approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12 detects an individual object in the pile of objects appearing in a three-dimensional model image, and calculates an approximate position and orientation of the object with respect to the image pickup device 14 to recognize the approximate position and orientation of the individual object. …)
Claim 5:
Watanabe teaches the following limitations:
The device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive second input data for deleting the workpiece model from the image data, or adding a second workpiece model to the image data and in accordance with the second input data, delete the displayed workpiece model from the image data, or additionally display the second workpiece model in the image data.
(Watanabe - [0063] One of the two displayed models is defined as a reference model, and the other model is defined as an operating model. The position or orientation of one of the two displayed models may be displaced from the other model. This is because if the two displayed models completely overlap each other in the initial display, it is difficult to see that there are two models. Then, an observation image obtained by the virtual camera is rendered and displayed on the display screen of the display device 15. ; [0124] Upon completion of the addition to the transformation parameter list, as in the first embodiment, two three-dimensional shape models having positions and orientations used in calculating a transformation parameter are displayed in an overlapping manner as a thumbnail (registered orientation thumbnail 2) in registered orientation thumbnail display window 2. The thumbnail is associated with the transformation parameter registered in the list. Thus, pressing the “X” button in the upper right corner of the thumbnail allows the user to delete the registered transformation parameter from the list)
Claim 6:
Watanabe teaches the following limitations:
The device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: in accordance with a predetermined condition, delete the displayed workpiece model from the image data, or additionally display a second workpiece model in the image data.
(Watanabe - [0063] One of the two displayed models is defined as a reference model, and the other model is defined as an operating model. The position or orientation of one of the two displayed models may be displaced from the other model. This is because if the two displayed models completely overlap each other in the initial display, it is difficult to see that there are two models. Then, an observation image obtained by the virtual camera is rendered and displayed on the display screen of the display device 15. ; [0124] Upon completion of the addition to the transformation parameter list, as in the first embodiment, two three-dimensional shape models having positions and orientations used in calculating a transformation parameter are displayed in an overlapping manner as a thumbnail (registered orientation thumbnail 2) in registered orientation thumbnail display window 2. The thumbnail is associated with the transformation parameter registered in the list. Thus, pressing the “X” button in the upper right corner of the thumbnail allows the user to delete the registered transformation parameter from the list)
Claim 9:
Watanabe teaches the following limitations:
A robot system, comprising: a vision sensor configured to image a workpiece; a robot configured to execute a work on the workpiece; and
(Watanabe - [0042] In a first embodiment, the present invention is applied to accurately determine a position and orientation of a target object (component) in a pile and grasp the target object with a robot hand on the basis of the determined position and orientation. ; [0091] In step S304, the approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12 detects an individual object in a pile of target objects appearing in the captured image, calculates six parameters representing an approximate position and orientation of the detected target object in the sensor coordinate system, and records them.) the device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: acquire, as a detection position, a position of the workpiece in the image data imaged by the vision sensor, (Watanabe - [0049] The approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12 acquires a three-dimensional shape model of a target object from the three-dimensional shape model holding unit 10. Also, the approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12 acquires images (grayscale and range images) from the image pickup device 14. In the present embodiment, the images contain a pile of target objects. The approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12 detects an individual object in the pile of objects appearing in a three-dimensional model image, and calculates an approximate position and orientation of the object with respect to the image pickup device 14 to recognize the approximate position and orientation of the individual object. A three-dimensional coordinate system (reference coordinate system) serving as a reference for position and orientation measurement is defined for the image pickup device 14.)
acquire position data of the workpiece in a control coordinate system for controlling the robot, on the basis of the detection position acquired using the
(Watanabe - [0131] The robot system of the present embodiment recognizes a position and orientation of the target component 1505 in accordance with the processing procedure described in the first or second embodiment. Then, the robot system transforms the result from the camera coordinate system to the robot coordinate system. …)
and generate an operation command for operating the robot on the basis of the position data. (Watanabe - [0131] … On the basis of the resulting position and orientation of the target component 1505 in the robot coordinate system, the robot system causes the robot controller 1503 to move the robot arm 1504 to the position and orientation in which the target component 1505 can be grasped.)
Watanabe does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Minato teaches
using the adjusted size of the window, the adjusted data identifying the feature points or the adjusted image roughness (Minato - [0053] When the user has set a parameter (hereinafter, also referred to as "range parameter") indicating a size of a search range, the user can provide a limit to a range (that is, a search range) of searching the input image 32 for a feature point corresponding to a control point of a model image 30A. … ; [0057] In this way, because the image processing device 100 changes the display size of the search range by matching the range parameter, the user can intuitively understand to what degree of influence the range parameter gives to a variable shape detection processing.; [see also Figures 3A, 3B, 8A and 8B] )
adjusted size of the window, the adjusted data identifying the feature points or the adjusted image roughness; (Minato - [0053] When the user has set a parameter (hereinafter, also referred to as "range parameter") indicating a size of a search range, the user can provide a limit to a range (that is, a search range) of searching the input image 32 for a feature point corresponding to a control point of a model image 30A. … ; [0057] In this way, because the image processing device 100 changes the display size of the search range by matching the range parameter, the user can intuitively understand to what degree of influence the range parameter gives to a variable shape detection processing.; [see also Figures 3A, 3B, 8A and 8B] )
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Watanabe to provide a method of adjusting the selection range for workpiece models and target objects while searching for an object’s feature points as taught in Minato. Having the ability to adjust the range and resolution of the target selection area increases accuracy, saves time and conserves computing resources by reducing the search area for target objects.
Claim 10:
Watanabe teaches the following limitations:
A method, comprising, by a processor: obtaining, as a detection position, a position of a workpiece in image data in which a workpiece feature of the workpiece imaged by a vision sensor is displayed, (Watanabe - [0049] The approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12 acquires a three-dimensional shape model of a target object from the three-dimensional shape model holding unit 10. Also, the approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12 acquires images (grayscale and range images) from the image pickup device 14. In the present embodiment, the images contain a pile of target objects. The approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12 detects an individual object in the pile of objects appearing in a three-dimensional model image, and calculates an approximate position and orientation of the object with respect to the image pickup device 14 to recognize the approximate position and orientation of the individual object. A three-dimensional coordinate system (reference coordinate system) serving as a reference for position and orientation measurement is defined for the image pickup device 14.) by using a parameter for collating a workpiece model obtained by modeling the workpiece with the workpiece feature in the image data, the parameter including: (Watanabe - [0043] … Then, a transformation parameter between the two positions and orientations is registered. A method for accurately calculating a position and orientation will be described, which uses the registered transformation parameter to reduce erroneous recognition. … ; [0057] FIG. 3 is a flowchart illustrating a procedure for calculating a position and orientation of a target object according to the present embodiment.; Step S301 ; [0058] In step S301, the transformation parameter calculating unit 11 and the position and orientation calculating unit 13 acquire a three-dimensional shape model of a target object from the three-dimensional shape model holding unit 10. ; [0129] … The information processing apparatus 1501 is capable of storing a program that describes the processing procedure described above, and measuring the position and orientation of the target component 1505. …)
generating the image data displaying the workpiece model together with the workpiece feature; (Watanabe - [0063] One of the two displayed models is defined as a reference model, and the other model is defined as an operating model. The position or orientation of one of the two displayed models may be displaced from the other model. This is because if the two displayed models completely overlap each other in the initial display, it is difficult to see that there are two models. Then, an observation image obtained by the virtual camera is rendered and displayed on the display screen of the display device 15.; [see also Figures 6A-6E] ) receiving first input data for displacing a position of the workpiece model displayed in the image data; (Watanabe - [0065] By allowing the user of the information processing apparatus 100 to manipulate the operating model displayed on the display screen of the display device 15, the operating model is superimposed on the reference model in a position and orientation different from that of the reference model in such a manner that the operating model is similar in appearance to the reference model. …) acquiring, as a matching position, a position of the workpiece model in the image data when the position of the workpiece model displayed in the image data is displaced in response to receiving the first input data to arrange the workpiece model to coincide with the workpiece feature in the image data; (Watanabe - [0121] When button 6 is pressed, a position and orientation display window displays parameters (X, Y, Z, Rx, Ry, Rz) representing each of M positions and orientations after model fitting (M=6 in FIG. 8). Main window 2 displays an image of a pile of target objects measured by the image pickup device 14. On the basis of a position and orientation (indicated by a thick line in FIG. 8) selected from the M positions and orientations displayed in the position and orientation display window, a three-dimensional shape model is superimposed on the image displayed in main window 2 (as indicated by a broken line in FIG. 8).)
so as to obtain the detection position as a position corresponding to the matching position, on the basis of data representing a difference between the detection position and the matching position; and (Watanabe - [0122] The user checks each of three-dimensional shape models displayed in main window 2 by switching among the M positions and orientations. When the user finds out a correct position and orientation and an incorrect position and orientation for the same individual object in the M positions and orientations, the user checks position and orientation selection checkboxes associated with the correct and incorrect positions and orientations to select them. … ; [0123] Button 7 is enabled when two positions and orientations are selected with position and orientation selection checkboxes. As in the case of pressing button 3 in the first embodiment, pressing button 7 calculates a transformation parameter between the two selected positions and orientations and adds it to a transformation parameter list. Upon completion of the addition to the list, all the position and orientation selection checkboxes are reset (unchecked). ; [see also Figure 3 and paragraphs [0057] –[0106]] ) acquiring the detection position from image data of a workpiece imaged by the vision sensor, (Watanabe - [0131] The robot system of the present embodiment recognizes a position and orientation of the target component 1505 in accordance with the processing procedure described in the first or second embodiment. Then, the robot system transforms the result from the camera coordinate system to the robot coordinate system. …)
to control a robot to execute a work on the workpiece. (Watanabe - [0042] In a first embodiment, the present invention is applied to accurately determine a position and orientation of a target object (component) in a pile and grasp the target object with a robot hand on the basis of the determined position and orientation.)
Examiner Note:
Fitting corresponds to collating
Watanabe does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Minato teaches
a size of a window that defines a detection range of feature points of the workpiece model and the workpiece feature to be collated with each other in the image data; data which identifies the feature points; or image roughness upon collation; (Minato - [0053] When the user has set a parameter (hereinafter, also referred to as "range parameter") indicating a size of a search range, the user can provide a limit to a range (that is, a search range) of searching the input image 32 for a feature point corresponding to a control point of a model image 30A. … ; [0057] In this way, because the image processing device 100 changes the display size of the search range by matching the range parameter, the user can intuitively understand to what degree of influence the range parameter gives to a variable shape detection processing.; [see also Figures 3A, 3B, 8A and 8B] )
adjusting the size of the window, the data identifying the feature points or the image roughness (Minato - [0053] When the user has set a parameter (hereinafter, also referred to as "range parameter") indicating a size of a search range, the user can provide a limit to a range (that is, a search range) of searching the input image 32 for a feature point corresponding to a control point of a model image 30A. … ; [0057] In this way, because the image processing device 100 changes the display size of the search range by matching the range parameter, the user can intuitively understand to what degree of influence the range parameter gives to a variable shape detection processing.; [see also Figures 3A, 3B, 8A and 8B] )
using the adjusted size of the window, the adjusted data identifying the feature points or the adjusted image roughness, (Minato - [0053] When the user has set a parameter (hereinafter, also referred to as "range parameter") indicating a size of a search range, the user can provide a limit to a range (that is, a search range) of searching the input image 32 for a feature point corresponding to a control point of a model image 30A. … ; [0057] In this way, because the image processing device 100 changes the display size of the search range by matching the range parameter, the user can intuitively understand to what degree of influence the range parameter gives to a variable shape detection processing.; [see also Figures 3A, 3B, 8A and 8B] )
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Watanabe to provide a method of adjusting the selection range for workpiece models and target objects while searching for an object’s feature points as taught in Minato. Having the ability to adjust the range and resolution of the target selection area increases accuracy, saves time and conserves computing resources by reducing the search area for target objects.
Claim 11:
Watanabe teaches the following limitations:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program causing the processor to execute the method according to claim 10.
(Watanabe - [0041] FIG. 10 illustrates a hardware configuration of an information processing apparatus 100 according to an embodiment. Referring to FIG. 10, a central processing unit (CPU) 1010 controls an overall operation of each device connected via a bus 1000. The CPU 1010 reads and executes processing steps and programs stored in a read-only memory (ROM) 1020. An operating system (OS), each processing program according to the embodiment, device drivers, and the like are stored in the ROM 1020. They are temporarily stored in a random-access memory (RAM) 1030 and appropriately executed by the CPU 1010. …)
Claim 12:
Watanabe teaches the following limitations:
The device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to, in response to an operator manually operating an input device, receive the first input data from the input device for displacing the position of the workpiece model displayed in the image data.
(Watanabe - [0048] The transformation parameter calculating unit 11 displays a three-dimensional shape model of a target object in a virtual three-dimensional space and registers, through a user's manipulation, a relationship (transformation parameter) between two different positions and orientations confusable with each other. In the present embodiment, the transformation parameter calculating unit 11 sends a three-dimensional shape model held by the three-dimensional shape model holding unit 10 to the display device 15, and renders two three-dimensional shape models of the target object in the GUI of the display device 15. The transformation parameter calculating unit 11 receives a user's manipulation from the operating device 16 and places the two three-dimensional shape models in the confusable positions and orientations in the GUI of the display device 15.)
Claim 13:
Watanabe teaches the following limitations:
The device according to claim 1, wherein the parameter further includes: a displacement amount by which a position of the workpiece model is to be virtually changed in collating the workpiece model with the workpiece feature.
(Watanabe - [0051] …The position and orientation calculating unit 13 also acquires an approximate position and orientation from the approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12. The position and orientation calculating unit 13 also acquires a transformation parameter held by the transformation parameter calculating unit 11. The position and orientation calculating unit 13 also acquires measurement information (grayscale and range images) from the image pickup device 14. From the acquired information, the position and orientation calculating unit 13 calculates the position and orientation of the target object.; {0104] … the transformation parameter between the two positions and orientations is registered and held. In position and orientation calculation, a position and orientation confusable with a fitting result is generated on the basis of the registered transformation parameter, and another fitting is performed using the generated position and orientation as an initial value. Then, of the two fitting results, a position and orientation with a higher evaluation value is adopted. )
Examiner Note:
The transformations of the 6 values representing position (x,y,z) and orientation (Rx, Ry, and Rz) represent both linear and angular displacement amounts with respect to the relative positions of both the relative positions of both the workpiece model and the workpiece feature.
Fitting corresponds to collating
Claim 14:
Watanabe teaches the following limitations:
The device according to claim 1, wherein the parameter further includes a displacement amount by which a position of the workpiece model is to be virtually changed in collating the workpiece model with the workpiece feature and the processor is configured to obtain, as a detection position, a position of the workpiece in the image data, by changing the position of the workpiece model by the displacement amount in the image data to collate the workpiece model with the workpiece feature.
(Watanabe - [0051] …The position and orientation calculating unit 13 also acquires an approximate position and orientation from the approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12. The position and orientation calculating unit 13 also acquires a transformation parameter held by the transformation parameter calculating unit 11. The position and orientation calculating unit 13 also acquires measurement information (grayscale and range images) from the image pickup device 14. From the acquired information, the position and orientation calculating unit 13 calculates the position and orientation of the target object.; {0104] … the transformation parameter between the two positions and orientations is registered and held. In position and orientation calculation, a position and orientation confusable with a fitting result is generated on the basis of the registered transformation parameter, and another fitting is performed using the generated position and orientation as an initial value. Then, of the two fitting results, a position and orientation with a higher evaluation value is adopted. )
Examiner Note:
The transformations of the 6 values representing position (x,y,z) and orientation (Rx, Ry, and Rz) represent both linear and angular displacement amounts with respect to the relative positions of both the reference models (virtual workpiece) and the operating models (workpiece).
Fitting corresponds to collating
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 20170106540 A1 as modified by Minato (US 20150262414 A1) in view of Fujieda (US 20100232682 A1)
Claim 7:
Watanabe does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Minato teaches
The device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to adjust the size of the window, the data identifying the feature points or the image roughness by repeatedly executing a series of operations of: determining a change amount of the size of the window, the data identifying the feature points or the image roughness, (Minato - [0053] When the user has set a parameter (hereinafter, also referred to as "range parameter") indicating a size of a search range, the user can provide a limit to a range (that is, a search range) of searching the input image 32 for a feature point corresponding to a control point of a model image 30A. … ; [0057] In this way, because the image processing device 100 changes the display size of the search range by matching the range parameter, the user can intuitively understand to what degree of influence the range parameter gives to a variable shape detection processing.; [see also Figures 3A, 3B, 8A and 8B] )
updating the size of the window, the data identifying the feature points or the image roughness by changing the size of the window, the data identifying the feature points or the image roughness (Minato - [0053] When the user has set a parameter (hereinafter, also referred to as "range parameter") indicating a size of a search range, the user can provide a limit to a range (that is, a search range) of searching the input image 32 for a feature point corresponding to a control point of a model image 30A. … ; [0057] In this way, because the image processing device 100 changes the display size of the search range by matching the range parameter, the user can intuitively understand to what degree of influence the range parameter gives to a variable shape detection processing.; [see also Figures 3A, 3B, 8A and 8B] )
Watanabe in combination with Minato does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Fujieda teaches:
which allows the difference to be reduced, on the basis of the data representing the difference; ( Fujieda – [0019] … In the second step, a numerical range of the parameter, which is set while numerical data in which an amount of difference with sample data falls within the predetermined value in each parameter, is specified by performing the step A and the step B in a plurality of cycles, …)
by the determined change amount; and acquiring data representing a difference between the detection position obtained using the updated parameter and the matching position. ( Fujieda – [0106] When the three-dimensional recognition processing is ended, the recognition result closest to the sample data is selected, an amount of difference with the sample data (absolute value or square value of difference with sample data) is determined in each of the coordinate data and the angle data, and each difference amount is compared with a predetermined threshold (ST206). …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Watanabe and Minato to provide a method for updating the measured parameters and reducing the difference between the target feature position and the model position in a cyclic manner as taught in Fujieda. Having the ability to updated the measured position parameters of the model and target feature in a cyclic manner ensures a that the system is consistently monitoring and reducing the difference between the model and the target, thus improving the accuracy of robot tasks involving the target feature.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 20170106540 A1 as modified by Minato (US 20150262414 A1) in view of Ohnuki (US 20170236262 A1)
Claim 8:
Watanabe in Combination with Minato does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Ohnuki teaches:
The device according to claim 1, wherein the workpiece feature is acquired by virtually imaging the workpiece model with a vision sensor model being a model of the vision sensor. (Ohnuki - [0073] The visual sensor simulator 150 is a module for simulating the processing performed by the visual sensor 220, and performs image measurement of an input image including at least a part of a workpiece as a subject of the image in a manner associated with the imaging area predefined on the transporting path (conveyor) in the three-dimensional virtual space. … Typically, the image measurement performed by the visual sensor simulator 150 includes searching the input image for the part corresponding to one or more pieces of predetermined reference information.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Watanabe and Minato to provide a method for simulating the imaging of the workpiece model as taught in Ohnuki. Having the ability to run a simulation of the workpiece imaging and targeting function without operating the robot in a production setting allows the operator to make adjustments to parameters in a safer and more economical environment.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 20170106540 A1) as modified by Fujieda (US 20100232682 A1)
Claim 15:
Watanabe teaches the following limitations:
A device, comprising a processor configured to: obtain, as a detection position, a position of a workpiece in image data in which a workpiece feature of the workpiece imaged by a vision sensor is displayed, (Watanabe - [0049] The approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12 acquires a three-dimensional shape model of a target object from the three-dimensional shape model holding unit 10. Also, the approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12 acquires images (grayscale and range images) from the image pickup device 14. In the present embodiment, the images contain a pile of target objects. The approximate position and orientation recognizing unit 12 detects an individual object in the pile of objects appearing in a three-dimensional model image, and calculates an approximate position and orientation of the object with respect to the image pickup device 14 to recognize the approximate position and orientation of the individual object. A three-dimensional coordinate system (reference coordinate system) serving as a reference for position and orientation measurement is defined for the image pickup device 14.) using a parameter for collating a workpiece model obtained by modeling the workpiece with the workpiece feature in the image data; (Watanabe - [0043] … Then, a transformation parameter between the two positions and orientations is registered. A method for accurately calculating a position and orientation will be described, which uses the registered transformation parameter to reduce erroneous recognition. … ; [0057] FIG. 3 is a flowchart illustrating a procedure for calculating a position and orientation of a target object according to the present embodiment.; Step S301 ; [0058] In step S301, the transformation parameter calculating unit 11 and the position and orientation calculating unit 13 acquire a three-dimensional shape model of a target object from the three-dimensional shape model holding unit 10. ; [0129] … The information processing apparatus 1501 is capable of storing a program that describes the processing procedure described above, and measuring the position and orientation of the target component 1505. …) generate the image data displaying the workpiece model arranged at the obtained detection position, together with the workpiece feature; (Watanabe - [0063] One of the two displayed models is defined as a reference model, and the other model is defined as an operating model. The position or orientation of one of the two displayed models may be displaced from the other model. This is because if the two displayed models completely overlap each other in the initial display, it is difficult to see that there are two models. Then, an observation image obtained by the virtual camera is rendered and displayed on the display screen of the display device 15.; [see also Figures 6A-6E])
receive first input data for displacing a position of the workpiece model displayed in the image data; (Watanabe - [0065] By allowing the user of the information processing apparatus 100 to manipulate the operating model displayed on the display screen of the display device 15, the operating model is superimposed on the reference model in a position and orientation different from that of the reference model in such a manner that the operating model is similar in appearance to the reference model. …) acquire, as a matching position, a position of the workpiece model in the image data when the position of the workpiece model displayed in the image data is displaced in response to receiving the first input data to arrange the workpiece model to coincide with the workpiece feature in the image data; (Watanabe - [0121] When button 6 is pressed, a position and orientation display window displays parameters (X, Y, Z, Rx, Ry, Rz) representing each of M positions and orientations after model fitting (M=6 in FIG. 8). Main window 2 displays an image of a pile of target objects measured by the image pickup device 14. On the basis of a position and orientation (indicated by a thick line in FIG. 8) selected from the M positions and orientations displayed in the position and orientation display window, a three-dimensional shape model is superimposed on the image displayed in main window 2 (as indicated by a broken line in FIG. 8).) adjust the parameter so as to obtain the detection position as a position corresponding to the matching position, on the basis of data representing a difference between the detection position and the matching position; and (Watanabe - [0122] The user checks each of three-dimensional shape models displayed in main window 2 by switching among the M positions and orientations. When the user finds out a correct position and orientation and an incorrect position and orientation for the same individual object in the M positions and orientations, the user checks position and orientation selection checkboxes associated with the correct and incorrect positions and orientations to select them. … ; [0123] Button 7 is enabled when two positions and orientations are selected with position and orientation selection checkboxes. As in the case of pressing button 3 in the first embodiment, pressing button 7 calculates a transformation parameter between the two selected positions and orientations and adds it to a transformation parameter list. Upon completion of the addition to the list, all the position and orientation selection checkboxes are reset (unchecked). ; [see also Figure 3 and paragraphs [0057] –[0106]] ) acquire the detection position from image data of a workpiece imaged by the vision sensor, using the adjusted parameter, to control a robot to execute a work on the workpiece. (Watanabe - [0042] In a first embodiment, the present invention is applied to accurately determine a position and orientation of a target object (component) in a pile and grasp the target object with a robot hand on the basis of the determined position and orientation. ; [0131] The robot system of the present embodiment recognizes a position and orientation of the target component 1505 in accordance with the processing procedure described in the first or second embodiment. Then, the robot system transforms the result from the camera coordinate system to the robot coordinate system. On the basis of the resulting position and orientation of the target component 1505 in the robot coordinate system, the robot system causes the robot controller 1503 to move the robot arm 1504 to the position and orientation in which the target component 1505 can be grasped. ; [see also Figure 3 and paragraphs [0057] –[0106]])
Watanabe does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Fujieda teaches:
receive second input data for adding another workpiece model to the image data, through an input device to which an operator can input data ;additionally displaying the another workpiece model in the image data, in accordance with the second input data; (Fujieda - [0091] When the user manipulates the "addition" button 36 after selecting the recognition result, processing (ST106 of FIG. 9) for receiving the manipulation is performed, and the numerical display corresponding to the selected recognition result (in this example, the recognition result corresponding to the workpiece model WM1) is moved into the region 32 as illustrated in FIG. 7. ; [0092] At this point, one recognition result is not always selected, but a plurality of recognition results may be selected. When the recognition result is selected, the "deletion" button 37 located on the right side of the button 36 is activated, and the selection can be cancelled by manipulating the button 37. [see also figures 6-8] )
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Watanabe to provide the user the ability to introduce additional workpiece models into a designated workpiece selection area as taught in Fujieda. Having the ability to add additional models into a workpiece selection area ensures that all workpieces that are identified in a selection range have an associated model which in turn ensures that the robot arm detects all target objects in a selection range.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure or directed to the state of the art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied:
Miao (US 20220228851A1) describes a technique for setting and values of parameters and specifying conditions for obtaining 3D measurement data represented by 3D coordinates indicating points on a surface of the measurement object. The system includes a three-dimensional sensor mountable on a robot, a parameter setter, a drive controller, a sensor controller, a registration processor, a storage, an input unit, and an output unit.
Harel (US 20190143523 A1) describes a control system which is configured to determine a location of a workpiece in the workspace based on first sensor data from the first sensor and a three-dimensional (3D) model corresponding to the workpiece. The control system is configured to map a set of 2D coordinates from a second 2D image from the second sensor to a set of 3D coordinates based on the location, and to generate one or more control signals for the at least one robotic manipulator based on the set of 3D coordinates.
Suzuki (US 20130238124 A1) describes a method for obtaining the positions and orientations of one or more target objects from the result of measuring a set of target objects by using a first sensor. A robot including a grip unit is controlled to grip one target object as a gripping target object among the target objects. Whether the grip unit has succeeded in gripping the gripping target object is determined from the result of measurement performed by a second sensor.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN LINDSAY OSTROW/
Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657