DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 12/11/2025 in which claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 19-20, 22-24, 26-27 and 29 are pending. Claims 2, 6, 9-18, 21, 25 and 28 were canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 12/11/2025 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed on 12/11/2025 with respect to amended independent claims 1 and 5 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are addressed below. The claims have not overcome the claim rejections as shown below.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 19-20, 22-24, 26-27 and 29 are pending.
Claims 2, 6, 9-18, 21, 25 and 28 were cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Applicant argues that the AMF disclosed in the prior art Yang is not and cannot be equivalent to the “first edge application server” as recited in the claimed invention because, in the 3GPP technology field, the AMF (Access and Mobility Management Function) is not an application server. Applicant further argues that AMF mainly focuses on access and mobility management of the network, while application servers typically refer to servers to run specific applications.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim does not recite or indicate the functions being performed by the "first edge application server" besides transmitting UPF handover information and receiving a notification message from a SMF. The functions described by the Applicant in the Remarks regarding the application server are not disclosed in the claims and thus not relevant to the invention. On the contrary, the AMF disclosed in Yang received the NAS message from the SMF and transmits the NAS message to the terminal (Yang, Fig. 4A, step S408), where the NAS message indicates the re-selection of the anchor UPF entity (Yang, Fig. 4A- 4B, [0243]-[0246], [0248]-[0249]). Thus, the AMF in Yang is interpreted as the claimed "first edge application server" because the AMF performs the functions of the claimed "first edge application server". As shown by Yang, the AMF performs other functions besides the “primarily” and “main functions” argued by the Applicant.
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Applicant further argues the differences between AMF and Edge Application Server in terms of their different locations at the network side and different functions played.
In regards to the location of the AMF and Edge Application Server and the NPL filed in the IDS with date 12/11/2025, Applicant argues that “Figure 4.2.8.2.1-1 and Figure 4.2.8.2.1-2, it is clear that Edge Application Server is located on the right side of N6 interface and within Data Network. Obviously, Edge Application Server is different from AMF (is located on the left side of N6 interface) in terms of their different locations”. However, none of the Figures cited by the Applicant show an Edge Application Server or a Data Network including an Edge Application Server. Additionally, the claim does not recite any feature related to the position of the Edge Application Server. Thus, the argument is not relevant to the claimed invention.
In regards to the functions played by Edge Application Server and the NPL filed in the IDS with date 12/11/2025, Applicant argues that “from section 5.13, pertinent functions played by Edge Application Server have been discussed in detail, which is also different from functions realized by AMF, as it is well known in the related art”. However, section 5.13 cited by the Applicant does not recite an “edge application server” or a first “edge application server” receiving a notification message from a SMF which indicated that access UPF of UE changes, as recited in claim 1. Thus, the argument is not relevant to the claimed invention.
Regarding amended independent claim 5, Applicant argues that sharing user context information by two application servers and synchronization of two application servers are different in the 3GPP field. Applicant further provides differences, such as implementation methods, data update frequency, complexity, etc.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior art Chandramouli recites in [0044], "the first AS may provide the UE context information to the second AS in the new 5GNB serving area, as shown in step 214" (see Fig. 2), in [0049], “UE context in new GW and second AS can be used to map uplink or downlink packets to the proper tunnel between the new GW and second AS” , and in [0059] "The second AS can then initiate application session context retrieval with the first AS, as shown in step 616" (see Fig. 6). This shows that the first AS transmits/shares the UE context information with the AS-2 to map packets to the proper tunnels, which is interpreted as "the first edge application server (EAS) to synchronize service data corresponding to the user identification information to the second EAS". Applicant's indicated difference describes features not disclosed in the claim, thus are not relevant to the claimed invention.
Regarding amended independent claim 5, Applicant further argues that it is technically wrong to equate the AF in the prior art Zhu to the claimed “edge dispatch node” because the “AF is located in the core network, whereas Edge Dispatch Nodes are located at the edge of the network” and their corresponding roles and functions.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim does not recite any feature related to the location of the Edge Dispatch Node. Therefore, the location of the Edge Dispatch Node is not relevant to the claimed invention. Zhu discloses in [0090] and shows in Fig. 6, step 5-6 (610-612), the AF transmitting application relocation information to the SMF via the NEF. This shows the AF in Zhu performs the function of the claimed Edge Dispatch Node, such as the claimed feature “transmitting, by the edge dispatch node, a notification message to a session management function (SMF) through a network exposure function (NEF) or a policy control function (PCF)”. Zhu further shows in Fig. 3 the AF 332 at the edge of the core network 330. Thus, the AF can also be considered an edge node.
Therefore, based on the response to arguments presented above, the independent claim 1 is rendered unpatentable. Independent claims 5 and 20 recite similar distinguishing features as claim 1 discussed above, thus are rendered unpatentable for the reasons discussed above. As a result the features of the claims are shown by the cited references as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao (US 2020/0329008) in view of Yang et al. (US 2020/0252367) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Yang”.
As to claim 1, Dao teaches a handover processing method (Dao, Figs. 12A-12B a method performed in a network including a UE), comprising:
in case that a user equipment (UE) makes sure a pre-defined condition is met (Dao, Fig. 1, Fig. 12B, [0483], the UE has moved to a new location 1252 at which point is closer to a UPF 130 than to the original UPF 110. Similarly, the UE 102 may move so that it is closer to a MEC server 126 than to the original server 112), transmitting, by the UE, a domain name system (DNS) resolution request carrying first information, to an edge dispatch node (Dao, Fig. 1, Fig. 12A, [0481], the UE transmits a DNS query to UPF, SMF and DNS server. Fig. 12B, [0483], after the UE moves to the new location, the UE transmits a DNS query to discover a new MEC server 1264); wherein the first information includes user identification information (Dao, [0126], the UPF performs a packet detection function (PDR) and detects a DNS query from the UE in a UL PDU. Fig. 5, [0147]-[0148], the DNS query includes the source IP address of the UE. [0251], the PDR performed by the UPF includes the UE IP address in the UL PDU), application identification information (Dao, Fig. 5, [0131], the UL packet (i.e. DNS query from the UE) includes information about application identifiers. [0126], the UPF performs a packet detection function (PDR) and detects the DNS query from the UE in a UL PDU. [0251], the PDR performed by the UPF includes the application ID in the UL PDU) and service continuity needs (Dao, Fig. 12B, [0483], the UE has moved to the new location 1252 at which point is closer to a UPF 130 than to the original UPF 110. Similarly, the UE 102 may move so that it is closer to a MEC server 126 than to the original server 112. The UE transmits the DNS query to discover to new MEC server 1264. [0014], [0019], “The DNS query includes a first destination address of a first DNS server. The DNS query is for determining an address of a data server in proximity to the UE. According to the first destination address of the first DNS server, obtain, from a session management function (SMF), a second destination address of a second DNS server for providing the address of the data server”. See also [0060], [0080], [0286]-[0287]. The data server provides continuity to the content or application of the UE from the previous data server (MEC server));
receiving a DNS resolution response from the edge dispatch node (Dao, Fig. 4, [0111], [0113]-[0115], Fig. 5, [0133]-[0134], the UE receives a DNS response message from the MNO DNS 116 via the corresponding UPF); wherein the DNS resolution response includes address information of an updated second edge application server (Dao, Fig. 4, [0111], [0113]-[0115], Fig. 5, [0148], Fig. 12A, [0481], the DNS response message includes the IP address of the MEC server closest to the location of the UE. [0063], the UE moves to a new location and sends a DNS query to obtain the IP address of the MEC server that could serve the UE better. For example, MEC server 2 in Fig. 1, or MEC server 126 in Figs. 4 and 6), which is updated in accordance with user identification information (Dao, [0148] “Step 7b: The MEC DNS server 114 receives the DNS query. The MEC DNS server 114 uses the source IP address or IP prefix of the received UL PDU to identify suitable MEC servers, such as MEC server 112, which may be represented by IP address(es)…The MEC DNS server 114 sends a DL PDU 520 to the UE 102, via the PSA UPF 110. The DL PDU 520 may carry a DNS response message, which may include one or more of IP addresses of MEC servers that the UE may establish a connection with”), application identification information and service continuity needs included in the first information (Dao, [0126], the UPF performs a packet detection function (PDR) and detects a DNS query from the UE in a UL PDU. Fig. 5, [0147]-[0148], the DNS query includes the source IP address of the UE. [0251], the PDR performed by the UPF includes the UE IP address and the application ID UL PDU (DNS query). As shown in Figures 5 and 12A-B, based on the PDR performed by the UPF, the UE obtains the DNS response with the address of the new or closest MEC server. [0019], the DNS query also includes a first destination address of a first DNS server, which is used to obtain the address of the new data server (MEC server)).
Dao teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Dao does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 1, wherein the method further includes:
in case that the UE receives user plane function (UPF) handover information transmitted by a first edge application server before updating, making sure the pre-defined condition is met;
wherein the UPF handover information is transmitted after the first edge application server receives a notification message from a session management function (SMF), which indicates that accessing UPF of UE changes.
However, Yang teaches wherein the method further includes:
in case that the UE receives user plane function (UPF) handover information transmitted by a first edge application server before updating, making sure the pre-defined condition is met (Yang, Fig. 4A-4B, [0243]-[0246], the terminal device receives the NAS message indicating the re-selection of the anchor UPF entity to the UPF entity 2 (step S408) before updating the application server from 1 to 2 (steps S403-S406 and S411-S414). [0248]-[0249], the terminal device transmits its location information 2 in step S410, before updating to the application server 2 (step S411-S414));
wherein the UPF handover information is transmitted after the first edge application server receives a notification message from a session management function (SMF), which indicates that accessing UPF of UE changes (Yang, Fig. 4A-4B, [0243]-[0246], the NAS message S408 is transmitted after the AMF entity receives the NAS message from the SMF entity, which indicates the re-selection of the anchor UPF entity for the terminal device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dao to have the features, as taught by Yang in order to obtain an IP address of another suitable application server by re-performing the DNS resolution on the domain name, thereby the communication efficiency of the terminal device can be improved, and waste of transmission resources in a communications system is also avoided (Yang, [0259]).
As to claim 19, Dao teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising a computer program stored thereon; wherein the program is executed by a processor to perform the steps of the method according to claim 1 (Dao, Fig. 13, [0484]-[0485], [0530], a computing system, such as a UE, includes a memory which stores a program readable and executed by a processor to perform the functions of the UE, as described above for claim 1).
As to claim 20, Dao teaches a communication device, comprising: a memory, a processor and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor; wherein the processor executes the program to perform (Dao, Fig. 13, [0484]-[0485], [0530], a computing system, such as a UE, includes a memory which stores a program readable and executed by a processor to perform the functions of the UE):
in case that a user equipment (UE) makes sure a pre-defined condition is met (Dao, Fig. 1, Fig. 12B, [0483], the UE has moved to a new location 1252 at which point is closer to a UPF 130 than to the original UPF 110. Similarly, the UE 102 may move so that it is closer to a MEC server 126 than to the original server 112), transmitting a domain name system (DNS) resolution request carrying first information, to an edge dispatch node (Dao, Fig. 1, Fig. 12A, [0481], the UE transmits a DNS query to UPF, SMF and DNS server. Fig. 12B, [0483], after the UE moves to the new location, the UE transmits a DNS query to discover a new MEC server 1264); wherein the first information includes user identification information (Dao, [0251], a packet arriving at the UPF 110 in the UL direction (i.e. DNS query from the UE) includes UE IP address), application identification information (Dao, Fig. 5, [0131], the UL packet (i.e. DNS query from the UE) includes information about application identifiers) and service continuity needs (Dao, Fig. 12B, [0483], the UE has moved to the new location 1252 at which point is closer to a UPF 130 than to the original UPF 110. Similarly, the UE 102 may move so that it is closer to a MEC server 126 than to the original server 112. The UE transmits the DNS query to discover to new MEC server 1264. [0014], [0060], [0080], [0286]-[0287], this is used to update its connection for the content or application requested by the UE and provide service continuity via the new MEC server);
receiving a DNS resolution response from the edge dispatch node (Dao, Fig. 4, [0111], [0113]-[0115], Fig. 5, [0133]-[0134], the UE receives a DNS response message from the MNO DNS 116 via the corresponding UPF); wherein the DNS resolution response includes address information of an updated second edge application server (Dao, Fig. 4, [0111], [0113]-[0115], Fig. 5, [0148], Fig. 12A, [0481], the DNS response message includes the IP address of the MEC server closest to the location of the UE. [0063], the UE moves to a new location and sends a DNS query to obtain the IP address of the MEC server that could serve the UE better. For example, MEC server 2 in Fig. 1, or MEC server 126 in Figs. 4 and 6), which is updated in accordance with user identification information (Dao, [0148] “Step 7b: The MEC DNS server 114 receives the DNS query. The MEC DNS server 114 uses the source IP address or IP prefix of the received UL PDU to identify suitable MEC servers, such as MEC server 112, which may be represented by IP address(es)…The MEC DNS server 114 sends a DL PDU 520 to the UE 102, via the PSA UPF 110. The DL PDU 520 may carry a DNS response message, which may include one or more of IP addresses of MEC servers that the UE may establish a connection with”), application identification information and service continuity needs included in the first information (Dao, [0126], the UPF performs a packet detection function (PDR) and detects a DNS query from the UE in a UL PDU. Fig. 5, [0147]-[0148], the DNS query includes the source IP address of the UE. [0251], the PDR performed by the UPF includes the UE IP address and the application ID UL PDU (DNS query). As shown in Figures 5 and 12A-B, based on the PDR performed by the UPF, the UE obtains the DNS response with the address of the new or closest MEC server. [0019], the DNS query also includes a first destination address of a first DNS server, which is used to obtain the address of the new data server (MEC server)).
Dao teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Dao does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 20, wherein the processor executes the program to further perform:
in case that the UE receives user plane function (UPF) handover information transmitted by a first edge application server before updating, making sure the pre-defined condition is met;
wherein the UPF handover information is transmitted after the first edge application server receives a notification message from a session management function (SMF), which indicates that accessing UPF of UE changes.
However, Yang teaches wherein the processor executes the program to further perform:
in case that the UE receives user plane function (UPF) handover information transmitted by a first edge application server before updating, making sure the pre-defined condition is met (Yang, Fig. 4A-4B, [0243]-[0246], the terminal device receives the NAS message indicating the re-selection of the anchor UPF entity to the UPF entity 2 (step S408) before updating the application server from 1 to 2 (steps S403-S406 and S411-S414). [0248]-[0249], the terminal device transmits its location information 2 in step S410, before updating to the application server 2 (step S411-S414));
wherein the UPF handover information is transmitted after the first edge application server receives a notification message from a session management function (SMF), which indicates that accessing UPF of UE changes (Yang, Fig. 4A-4B, [0243]-[0246], the NAS message S408 is transmitted after the AMF entity receives the NAS message from the SMF entity, which indicates the re-selection of the anchor UPF entity for the terminal device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dao to have the features, as taught by Yang in order to obtain an IP address of another suitable application server by re-performing the DNS resolution on the domain name, thereby the communication efficiency of the terminal device can be improved, and waste of transmission resources in a communications system is also avoided (Yang, [0259]).
Claims 3 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao (US 2020/0329008) in view of Yang et al. (US 2020/0252367) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Yang” and further in view of Koo et al. (US 2010/0284367), hereinafter “Koo”.
Dao and Yang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dao and Yang do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 3, wherein the method further includes:
obtaining, by the UE, a connection status parameter between the UE and a first edge application server;
when the connection status parameter reaches a preset threshold, determining that the pre-defined condition is met.
As to claim 3, Koo teaches wherein the method further includes:
obtaining, by the UE, a connection status parameter between the UE and a first edge application server (Koo, Fig. 5A, [0087], the UE determines that the transmissions from its serving BS have dropped below a first threshold. The UE determines that is has moved to an edge of a coverage area of its serving BS);
when the connection status parameter reaches a preset threshold, determining that the pre-defined condition is met (Koo, Fig. 5A, [0087], handover conditions are met when the UE determines that the transmissions from its serving BS have dropped below a first threshold. The UE determines that is has moved to an edge of a coverage area of its serving BS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dao and Yang to have the features, as taught by Koo in order to improve a likelihood that the handover will complete successfully, which helps to maintain a high connection rate, expedite completion of the handover, as well as good user satisfaction (Koo, [0011]).
Dao and Yang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dao and Yang do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 22, wherein the processor executes the program to perform:
obtaining a connection status parameter with a first edge application server;
when the connection status parameter reaches a preset threshold, determining that the pre-defined condition is met.
As to claim 22, Koo teaches wherein the processor executes the program to perform:
obtaining a connection status parameter with a first edge application server (Koo, Fig. 5A, [0087], the UE determines that the transmissions from its serving BS have dropped below a first threshold. The UE determines that is has moved to an edge of a coverage area of its serving BS);
when the connection status parameter reaches a preset threshold, determining that the pre-defined condition is met (Koo, Fig. 5A, [0087], handover conditions are met when the UE determines that the transmissions from its serving BS have dropped below a first threshold. The UE determines that is has moved to an edge of a coverage area of its serving BS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dao and Yang to have the features, as taught by Koo in order to improve a likelihood that the handover will complete successfully, which helps to maintain a high connection rate, expedite completion of the handover, as well as good user satisfaction (Koo, [0011]).
Claims 4 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao (US 2020/0329008) in view of Yang et al. (US 2020/0252367) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Yang” and further in view of Utama (US 2019/0098118).
Dao and Yang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dao and Yang do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 4, wherein an extension field in the DNS resolution request carries the user identification information.
As to claim 4, Utama teaches wherein an extension field in the DNS resolution request carries the user identification information (Utama, [0003], the EDNS extension field in the DNS packet stores a MAC address of the device generating the DNS request).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dao and Yang to have the features, as taught by Utama in order to solve some networking challenges at the DNS level, such as identifying a device generating a DNS request if the device is located behind a firewall (Utama, [0003]).
Dao and Yang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dao and Yang do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 23, wherein an extension field in the DNS resolution request carries the user identification information.
As to claim 23, Utama teaches wherein an extension field in the DNS resolution request carries the user identification information (Utama, [0003], the EDNS extension field in the DNS packet stores a MAC address of the device generating the DNS request).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dao and Yang to have the features, as taught by Utama in order to solve some networking challenges at the DNS level, such as identifying a device generating a DNS request if the device is located behind a firewall (Utama, [0003]).
Claims 5, 24 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao (US 2020/0329008) in view of Chandramouli et al. (US 2019/0058767) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Chandramouli” and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2022/0264690), hereinafter “Zhu”.
As to claim 5, Dao teaches a handover processing method (Dao, Figs. 12A-12B a method performed in a network to discover a new MEC server), comprising:
receiving, by an edge dispatch node, a domain name system (DNS) resolution request from a user equipment (UE) (Dao, Fig. 1, Fig. 12A, [0481], the UE transmits a DNS query to UPF, SMF and DNS server. Fig. 12B, [0483], after the UE moves to the new location, the UE transmits a DNS query to discover a new MEC server 1264); wherein the DNS resolution request carries first information, and the first information includes user identification information (Dao, [0126], the UPF performs a packet detection function (PDR) and detects a DNS query from the UE in a UL PDU. Fig. 5, [0147]-[0148], the DNS query includes the source IP address of the UE. [0251], the PDR performed by the UPF includes the UE IP address in the UL PDU), application identification information (Dao, Fig. 5, [0131], the UL packet (i.e. DNS query from the UE) includes information about application identifiers. [0126], the UPF performs a packet detection function (PDR) and detects the DNS query from the UE in a UL PDU. [0251], the PDR performed by the UPF includes the application ID in the UL PDU) and service continuity needs (Dao, Fig. 12B, [0483], the UE has moved to the new location 1252 at which point is closer to a UPF 130 than to the original UPF 110. Similarly, the UE 102 may move so that it is closer to a MEC server 126 than to the original server 112. The UE transmits the DNS query to discover to new MEC server 1264. [0014], [0019], “The DNS query includes a first destination address of a first DNS server. The DNS query is for determining an address of a data server in proximity to the UE. According to the first destination address of the first DNS server, obtain, from a session management function (SMF), a second destination address of a second DNS server for providing the address of the data server”. See also [0060], [0080], [0286]-[0287]. The data server provides continuity to the content or application of the UE from the previous data server (MEC server));
reselecting a second edge application server, which is updated in accordance with user identification information (Dao, [0148] “Step 7b: The MEC DNS server 114 receives the DNS query. The MEC DNS server 114 uses the source IP address or IP prefix of the received UL PDU to identify suitable MEC servers, such as MEC server 112, which may be represented by IP address(es)…The MEC DNS server 114 sends a DL PDU 520 to the UE 102, via the PSA UPF 110. The DL PDU 520 may carry a DNS response message, which may include one or more of IP addresses of MEC servers that the UE may establish a connection with”), application identification information and service continuity needs included in the first information (Dao, [0126], the UPF performs a packet detection function (PDR) and detects a DNS query from the UE in a UL PDU. Fig. 5, [0147]-[0148], the DNS query includes the source IP address of the UE. [0251], the PDR performed by the UPF includes the UE IP address and the application ID UL PDU (DNS query). As shown in Figures 5 and 12A-B, based on the PDR performed by the UPF, the UE obtains the DNS response with the address of the new or closest MEC server. [0019], the DNS query also includes a first destination address of a first DNS server, which is used to obtain the address of the new data server (MEC server)), for the UE based on the service continuity needs and the user identification information, and transmitting a DNS resolution response to the UE (Dao, Fig. 4, [0111], [0113]-[0115], Fig. 5, [0133]-[0134], the UE receives a DNS response message from the MNO DNS 116 via the corresponding UPF. Fig. 12A, [0481], Fig. 12B, [0483], the DNS response is to obtain the address of the new MEC server closest to the UE), wherein the DNS resolution response carries address information of the second edge application server (Dao, Fig. 4, [0111], [0113]-[0115], Fig. 5, [0148], Fig. 12A, [0481], the DNS response message includes the IP address of the MEC server closest to the location of the UE. [0063], the UE moves to a new location and sends a DNS query to obtain the IP address of the MEC server that could serve the UE better. For example, MEC server 2 in Fig. 1, or MEC server 126 in Figs. 4 and 6).
Dao teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Dao does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 5, wherein the method further includes:
transmitting, by the edge dispatch node, a synchronization instruction to a first edge application server and the second edge application server, respectively; wherein the first edge application server is an edge application server before updating, and the synchronization instruction includes: user identification information, application identification information and service continuity needs; which instructs the first edge application server (EAS) to synchronize service data corresponding to the user identification information to the second EAS,
wherein the method further includes:
transmitting, by the edge dispatch node, a notification message to a session management function (SMF) through a network exposure function (NEF) or a policy control function (PCF); wherein the notification message includes the user identification information and information of the second edge application server, the notification message is used to enable the SMF to configure a corresponding traffic offloading rule for a service corresponding to the user identification information.
However, Chandramouli teaches wherein the method further includes:
transmitting, by the edge dispatch node, a synchronization instruction to a first edge application server and the second edge application server, respectively (Chandramouli, Fig. 2, [0044], Fig. 3, [0048], the MSM transmits a notification to the AS-1 and a context message to the AS-2, [0049], “UE context in new GW and second AS can be used to map uplink or downlink packets to the proper tunnel between the new GW and second AS”); wherein the first edge application server is an edge application server before updating (Chandramouli, Fig. 2, [0034], [0043], the UE is connected to AS-1 (step 201) before updating the to the AS-2), and the synchronization instruction includes: user identification information, application identification information and service continuity needs (Chandramouli, Fig. 2, [0044], Fig. 3, [0048], the notification includes UE identity, application ID, UE IP address and information about the second AS (AS-2) and the new gateway (uGW-2) in the second edge cloud to continue the current service after handover); which instructs the first edge application server (EAS) to synchronize service data corresponding to the user identification information to the second EAS (Chandramouli, Fig. 2, [0044], Fig. 6, [0059], the notification is used by the AS-1 to share user context information with the AS-2. The user context information corresponding to the UE with identify, IP address, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dao to have the features, as taught by Chandramouli in order to allow the network to avoid a communication disruption caused by a change in the IP address from the first AS to the second AS (Chandramouli, [0046]).
Dao and Chandramouli teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dao and Chandramouli do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 5, wherein the method further includes:
transmitting, by the edge dispatch node, a notification message to a session management function (SMF) through a network exposure function (NEF) or a policy control function (PCF); wherein the notification message includes the user identification information and information of the second edge application server, the notification message is used to enable the SMF to configure a corresponding traffic offloading rule for a service corresponding to the user identification information.
However, Zhu teaches wherein the method further includes:
transmitting, by the edge dispatch node, a notification message to a session management function (SMF) through a network exposure function (NEF) or a policy control function (PCF) (Zhu, Fig. 6, [0090], the AF transmits application relocation information to the SMF via the NEF); wherein the notification message includes the user identification information (Zhu, [0062], when the AF interacts with the PCF and NEF, the UE is identified) and information of the second edge application server (Zhu, Fig. 6, [0090], the relocation information includes the target DNAI identifying the PSA/UPF 338c and the corresponding N6 data traffic routing between the PSA/UPF 338c and the application server 348. The relocation information also includes the network address of the application server 348), the notification message is used to enable the SMF to configure a corresponding traffic offloading rule for a service corresponding to the user identification information (Zhu, Fig. 3, [0083]-[0084], Fig. 6, [0093]-[0095], based on the relocation information, the SMF starts a session establishment request for data traffic offloading using the path towards the new application server 348 via PSA/UPF 338c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dao and Chandramouli to have the features, as taught by Zhu in order to relocate the application service to the application server that is geographically closer to the UE, thereby a shorter data traffic routing path can be accomplished between the UE and the application service, which improves the service efficiency with respect to the UE (Zhu, [0089]).
As to claim 24, Dao teaches a communication device, comprising: a memory, a processor and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor; wherein the processor executes the program to perform the steps of the method according to claim 5 (Dao, Fig. 13, [0484]-[0485], [0530], a computing system, includes a memory which stores a program readable and executed by a processor to perform the functions of the computing system, as described above for claim 5).
As to claim 29, Dao teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising a computer program stored thereon; wherein the program is executed by a processor to perform the steps of the method according to claim 5 (Dao, Fig. 13, [0484]-[0485], [0530], a computing system includes a memory which stores a program readable and executed by a processor to perform the functions of the computing system, as described above for claim 5).
Claims 7-8 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao (US 2020/0329008) in view of Chandramouli et al. (US 2019/0058767) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Chandramouli” and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2022/0264690), hereinafter “Zhu” and further in view of Rune (US 2010/0054222).
Dao, Chandramouli and Zhu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dao, Chandramouli and Zhu do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 7, wherein the method further includes:
storing, by the edge dispatch node, a domain name resolution record; wherein the domain name resolution record includes at least mapping relationship between multiple sets of user identification information and address information of the first EAS and the second EAS.
As to claim 7, Rune teaches wherein the method further includes:
storing, by the edge dispatch node, a domain name resolution record (Rune, Fig. 2, [0081], the HPLM stores data during preceding network access procedures. [0082], the HPLMN has cached data for the concerned FQDN from a previous response or from configured PDGv/TTGv addresses. Fig. 3, [0085], the HPLMN stores the addresses for the PDGh/TTGh and the PDGv/TTGv); wherein the domain name resolution record includes at least mapping relationship between multiple sets of user identification information and address information of the first EAS and the second EAS (Rune, [0071], the user ID is included in the request with the FQDN in order for the HPLMN to return the addresses in the HPLMN related to home tunneling or the addresses related to the local breakout. [0073], Fig. 2, [0081]-[0082], Fig. 3, the HPLMN stores/caches the addresses for the request with user ID information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dao, Chandramouli and Zhu to have the features, as taught by Rune in order for the HPLMN to be able to apply the correct policy by knowing the identity of the user that originates the DNS request (Rune, [0042]-[0043], [0071]).
Dao, Chandramouli and Zhu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dao, Chandramouli and Zhu do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 8, wherein before transmitting, by the edge dispatch node, the synchronization instruction to the first edge application server and the second edge application server, respectively, the method further includes:
querying, by the edge dispatch node, the domain name resolution record, based on the user identification information, and determining address information of the first edge application server and the address information of the second edge application server.
As to claim 8, Rune teaches wherein before transmitting, by the edge dispatch node, the synchronization instruction to the first edge application server and the second edge application server, respectively (Rune, [0071], Figs. 2-3 and 8a, [0081]-[0082], [0078], the HPLMN performs the address resolution based on the user ID before transmitting a synchronization with the gateways. A synchronization signal is shown in Chandramouli, as a notification and context information, where Rune performs the address resolution before any signal for synchronization with the gateways), the method further includes:
querying, by the edge dispatch node, the domain name resolution record, based on the user identification information, and determining address information of the first edge application server and the address information of the second edge application server (Rune, [0071], the user ID is included in the request with the FQDN in order for the HPLMN to return the addresses in the HPLMN related to home tunneling or the addresses related to the local breakout. [0073], Fig. 2, [0081]-[0082], Fig. 3, the HPLMN stores/caches the addresses for the request with user ID information. Fig. 8a, [0078], the addresses belonging to the gateway in the home PLMN and the gateway in the visited PLMN are returned to the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dao, Chandramouli and Zhu to have the features, as taught by Rune in order for the HPLMN to be able to apply the correct policy by knowing the identity of the user that originates the DNS request (Rune, [0042]-[0043], [0071]).
Dao, Chandramouli and Zhu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dao, Chandramouli and Zhu do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 26, wherein the processor executes the program to perform:
storing a domain name resolution record; wherein the domain name resolution record includes at least mapping relationship between multiple sets of user identification information and address information of the first EAS and the second EAS.
As to claim 26, Rune teaches wherein the processor executes the program to perform:
storing a domain name resolution record (Rune, Fig. 2, [0081], the HPLM stores data during preceding network access procedures. [0082], the HPLMN has cached data for the concerned FQDN from a previous response or from configured PDGv/TTGv addresses. Fig. 3, [0085], the HPLMN stores the addresses for the PDGh/TTGh and the PDGv/TTGv); wherein the domain name resolution record includes at least mapping relationship between multiple sets of user identification information and address information of the first EAS and the second EAS (Rune, [0071], the user ID is included in the request with the FQDN in order for the HPLMN to return the addresses in the HPLMN related to home tunneling or the addresses related to the local breakout. [0073], Fig. 2, [0081]-[0082], Fig. 3, the HPLMN stores/caches the addresses for the request with user ID information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dao, Chandramouli and Zhu to have the features, as taught by Rune in order for the HPLMN to be able to apply the correct policy by knowing the identity of the user that originates the DNS request (Rune, [0042]-[0043], [0071]).
Dao, Chandramouli and Zhu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dao, Chandramouli and Zhu do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 27, wherein before transmitting the synchronization instruction to the first edge application server and the second edge application server, respectively, the processor executes the program to perform:
querying the domain name resolution record, based on the user identification information, and determining address information of the first edge application server and the address information of the second edge application server.
As to claim 27, Rune teaches wherein before transmitting the synchronization instruction to the first edge application server and the second edge application server, respectively (Rune, [0071], Figs. 2-3 and 8a, [0081]-[0082], [0078], the HPLMN performs the address resolution based on the user ID before transmitting a synchronization with the gateways. A synchronization signal is shown in Chandramouli, as a notification and context information, where Rune performs the address resolution before any signal for synchronization with the gateways), the processor executes the program to perform:
querying the domain name resolution record, based on the user identification information, and determining address information of the first edge application server and the address information of the second edge application server (Rune, [0071], the user ID is included in the request with the FQDN in order for the HPLMN to return the addresses in the HPLMN related to home tunneling or the addresses related to the local breakout. [0073], Fig. 2, [0081]-[0082], Fig. 3, the HPLMN stores/caches the addresses for the request with user ID information. Fig. 8a, [0078], the addresses belonging to the gateway in the home PLMN and the gateway in the visited PLMN are returned to the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dao, Chandramouli and Zhu to have the features, as taught by Rune in order for the HPLMN to be able to apply the correct policy by knowing the identity of the user that originates the DNS request (Rune, [0042]-[0043], [0071]).
Conclusion
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473