DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, Figures 3-8, claims 1, 2 and 4, in the reply filed on July 14, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 3 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 14, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (lines 15-16) recites “wherein the guide causes the second member to move at least in a direction parallel to the first main joint surface”.
Claim 1 fails to recite any limitations which allow one to properly determine what structural features define the guide such that “the guide causes the second member to move at least in a direction parallel to the first main joint surface”. It is unclear as to how such structural features defining the guide structurally engage each of the first and second members such to “causes the second member to move at least in a direction parallel to the first main joint surface”. Accordingly, one is unable to properly determine the metes and bounds of such claim. Claims 2 and 4 depend from claim 1 and are likewise rejected as being indefinite.
Examiner notes that claim 1 must include the limitations of claim 2 in order to overcome such 35 USC 112 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fanuc (JP 2016-198849) in view Haddadin et al. (US 10,625,414).
As to claim 1 as best understood, Fanuc discloses a joint structure comprising:
a first member 21 having a first main joint surface A (Figure 9 reprinted below with annotations), and a first sub joint surface B that three-dimensionally intersects with the first main joint surface;
a second member 27 having a second main joint surface C opposite to the first main joint surface, and a second sub joint surface D opposite to the first sub joint surface; and
a fastening member 30 configured to fasten the first main joint surface and the second main joint surface, which have been joined to each other, to each other (Figures 4-11).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: textbox (D)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow]
Fanuc fails to disclose a joint structure comprising a guide configured to gradually shorten a distance between the first sub joint surface and the second sub joint surface that are opposite to each other as a distance between the first main joint surface and the second main joint surface that are opposite to each other decreases, the guide enabling joining of the second sub joint surface to the first sub joint surface in a state of surface contact, upon joining of the second main joint surface to the first main joint surface in a state of surface contact, the guide being further configured to position the second member relative to the first member; wherein the guide causes the second member to move at least in a direction parallel to the first main joint surface.
Haddadin et al. teach a joint structure comprising a guide 22 configured to gradually shorten a distance between a first sub joint surface 14b of a first member 12a and a second sub joint surface 14b of a second member 12b that are opposite to each other as a distance between a first main joint surface 14a and a second main joint surface 14a that are opposite to each other decreases, the guide enabling joining of the second sub joint surface to the first sub joint surface in a state of surface contact, upon joining of the second main joint surface to the first main joint surface in a state of surface contact, the guide being further configured to position the second member relative to the first member; wherein the guide causes the second member to move at least in a direction parallel to the first main joint surface (guide projection 22 inherently moves second member 12b in parallel to first main joint surface 14a, as the guide projection is aligned with guide hole on first member 12a); the guide comprising a guide projection 22 provided on the first main joint surface and a guide hole (not shown; C6 L27-36) formed in the second main joint surface, and adapted to receive the guide projection fitted therein; the guide projection matingly received in the guide hole to ensure proper positioning and assembly between the first and second members (Figures 2-3). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint structure disclosed by Fanuc to comprise a guide projection on the first main joint surface matingly received in a guide hole in the second main joint surface, as taught by Haddadin et al., such that the guide causes the second member to move at least in a direction parallel to the first main joint surface, in order to ensure proper positioning and assembly between the first and second members.
As to claim 4, Fanuc discloses a joint structure wherein a sealing member 35 is interposed between the first main joint surface A and the second main joint surface C and between the first sub joint surface B and the second sub joint surface D (Figures 4-11).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fanuc in view Haddadin et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morris et al. (US 2015/0078805).
As to claim 2, Fanuc as modified by Haddadin et al. discloses a joint structure wherein the guide comprises: a guide projection (22 Haddadin Figure 3) provided on one among the first main joint surface A and the second main joint surface C; and a guide hole (not shown; Haddadin C6 L27-36) formed in the other among the first main joint surface and the second main joint surface, and adapted to receive the guide projection fitted therein.
Fanuc as modified by Haddadin et al. fail to explicitly disclose that the guide hole has an inclined guide surface that causes the second member to move toward the first sub joint surface as the guide projection is inserted deeper.
Morris et al. teach a joint structure wherein a guide comprises: a guide projection 102 provided on one among the first main joint surface A of a first member 40 and the second main joint surface 110 of a second member 42 (Figure 8 reprinted below with annotations); and a guide hole 204 formed in the other among the first main joint surface and the second main joint surface, and adapted to receive the guide projection fitted therein, and the guide hole has an inclined guide surface that causes the second member to move toward a first sub joint surface B as the guide projection is inserted deeper; the inclined guide surface of the guide hole ensuring proper positioning and assembly between the first and second members (Figures 7-8). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint structure disclosed by Fanuc as modified by Haddadin et al. wherein the guide hole comprises an inclined guide surface, as taught by Morris et al., in order to ensure proper positioning and assembly between the first and second members.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: textbox (A)]
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claim 1, Attorney argues that:
Haddadin et al. fail to teach or suggest modifying the joint structured disclosed by Fanuc to comprise a guide configured to gradually shorten a distance between the first sub joint surface and the second sub joint surface that are opposite to each other as a distance between the first main joint surface and the second main joint surface that are opposite to each other decreases; wherein the guide causes the second member to move at least in a direction parallel to the first main joint surface.
Examiner disagrees. As to claim 1 as best understood, Fanuc discloses a joint structure comprising: a first member 21 having a first main joint surface A (Figure 9 reprinted above with annotations), and a first sub joint surface B that three-dimensionally intersects with the first main joint surface; a second member 27 having a second main joint surface C opposite to the first main joint surface, and a second sub joint surface D opposite to the first sub joint surface (Figures 4-11).
Fanuc fails to disclose a join structure comprising a guide configured to gradually shorten a distance between the first sub joint surface and the second sub joint surface that are opposite to each other as a distance between the first main joint surface and the second main joint surface that are opposite to each other decreases, the guide enabling joining of the second sub joint surface to the first sub joint surface in a state of surface contact, upon joining of the second main joint surface to the first main joint surface in a state of surface contact, the guide being further configured to position the second member relative to the first member; wherein the guide causes the second member to move at least in a direction parallel to the first main joint surface.
Haddadin et al. teach a joint structure comprising a guide 22 configured to gradually shorten a distance between a first sub joint surface 14b of a first member 12a and a second sub joint surface 14b of a second member 12b that are opposite to each other as a distance between a first main joint surface 14a and a second main joint surface 14a that are opposite to each other decreases, the guide enabling joining of the second sub joint surface to the first sub joint surface in a state of surface contact, upon joining of the second main joint surface to the first main joint surface in a state of surface contact, the guide being further configured to position the second member relative to the first member; wherein the guide causes the second member to move at least in a direction parallel to the first main joint surface (guide projection 22 inherently moves second member 12b in parallel to first main joint surface 14a, as the guide projection is aligned with guide hole on first member 12a); the guide comprising a guide projection 22 provided on the first main joint surface and a guide hole (not shown; C6 L27-36) formed in the second main joint surface, and adapted to receive the guide projection fitted therein; the guide projection matingly received in the guide hole to ensure proper positioning and assembly between the first and second members (Figures 2-3). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the joint structure disclosed by Fanuc to comprise a guide projection on the first main joint surface matingly received in a guide hole in the second main joint surface, as taught by Haddadin et al., such that the guide causes the second member to move at least in a direction parallel to the first main joint surface, in order to ensure proper positioning and assembly between the first and second members.
Conclusion
02/12/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619