DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to the amendment filed on 11/27/2025.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is too long. Applicant is reminded that the abstract should be between 50 to 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: BATTERY CONNECTOR WITH IMPROVED INSULATION.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 40, 51, 52, 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 40, line 2, recites “of the inward movement of the adjustment arm changes the amount…”. The term “adjustment arm” lacks antecedent basis because it was not recited as a structure in claim 40 and claim 39. The Examiner notes that an “adjustment arm” was recited in claim 39 in the claim set filed on 5/10/2023, but since the claim was amended, the “adjustment arm” now has a lack of antecedent basis. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret the “adjustment arm” as the “adjustment flange” recited in claim 39.
Claim 51, lines 1 – 2, recite “wherein the access closure is pivoting…”. The term “access closure” lacks antecedent basis because it was not introduced in either claim 51 and claim 37 as a structure. The Examiner notes that “an access closure” was introduced in claim 49, but claim 51 depends on claim 37. The Examiner suggests Applicant to amend the claim to positively recite the “access closure” as a structure. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret “the access closure” as a positively recited structure (i.e. an access closure).
Claim 52, line 11, recites “wherein the access closure is pivoting…”. The term “access closure” lacks antecedent basis because it was not introduced in either claim 52 and claim 37 as a structure. The Examiner notes that “an access closure” was introduced in claim 49, but claim 52 depends on claim 37. The Examiner suggests Applicant to amend the claim to positively recite the “access closure” as a structure. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret “the access closure” as a positively recited structure (i.e. an access closure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 37, 43 – 46, 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gisoldi (US 9559444).
Regarding claim 37, Gisoldi teaches (figures 1 – 6) a battery quick connector (see figure 1) to connect directly to a battery terminal post (18), the battery quick connector (10) including a main body (body of 10) with a terminal clamp end (16) and a lead end (12), the battery connector (10) further comprising:
a clamp body (14, 16) including:
a conductive body (body of 16 in figure 4) for conducting charge from the lead end to the terminal clamp end (i.e. body of 16 is capable of conducting charge from lead end to the clamp end);
a lead mount (12) disposed at the lead end for mounting a lead (i.e. 12 is capable of mounting leads);
an arcuate wall (16) which provides a battery terminal post aperture (22) for receiving the terminal post (18);
a pivoting insulating clamp actuator (30) mounted on the clamp body (14, 16) at one end so it can pivot between a clamped position over the terminal post (i.e. see clamped position in figure 3) and clamp body (14, 16) and a standby position (i.e. see standby position in figure 1) above the terminal post (18) and clamp body (14, 16); and
an adjuster (28) including first and second cooperating ramps (24, 40), the first ramp (24) mounted on the arcuate wall (16) of the clamp body (14, 16) and the second ramp (40) mounted on the pivoting insulating clamp actuator (30), the first and second cooperating ramps (24, 40) being movable between a wide position (see wide position in figure 6) and a narrow position (see narrow position in figure 3),
wherein the pivoting insulating clamp actuator (30) is configured to cooperate with the clamp body (14, 16) to close the arcuate wall (16) around the terminal post (18) by a relative pivoting movement (i.e. see movement of lever 30 in figures 1 – 3) between the pivoting insulating clamp actuator (30) and the clamp body (14, 16).
Regarding claim 43, Gisoldi teaches (figures 1 – 6) the battery connector in accordance with claim 37 wherein there is provided a port or shoulder (38) on or in the insulating clamp actuator (30) for facilitating lifting of the insulating clamp actuator (30) or clamp cover from the clamp body (14, 16) with a screwdriver or tool (i.e. 38 is capable of being lifted with a tool).
Regarding claim 44, Gisoldi teaches (figures 1 – 6) the battery connector in accordance with claim 37 wherein the insulating clamp actuator (30) is detachable from the clamp body (14, 16) to provide a quick release (i.e. 30 is capable of providing a quick release; see figure 4).
Regarding claim 45, Gisoldi teaches (figures 1 – 6) the battery connector in accordance with claim 37 wherein the insulating clamp actuator (30) is an insulating cover (i.e. 30 is an insulating cover) to inhibit user contact with the terminal (i.e. 30 is capable of inhibiting user contact with 16, 18).
Regarding claim 46, Gisoldi teaches (figures 1 – 6) the battery connector in accordance with claim 45 wherein the insulating cover (30 is an insulating cover) is fastened to a lead end (12) of the clamp body (14, 16) to allow the insulating cover (30 is an insulating cover) to pivot between an open position and a closed position (see open position in figure 1, closed position in figure 3).
Regarding claim 48, Gisoldi teaches (figures 1 – 6) the battery connector in accordance with claim 37 wherein the insulating cover (30 is an insulating cover) further comprises a lip (38) on an exterior side, the lip (38) configured to be gripped by a user to move the insulating cover between the open and closed position (i.e. 38 is capable of being gripped by a user to move the lever to different positions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 39, 40, 47, 49, 51, 52, 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gisoldi (US 9559444) in view of Cret (US 20040161980).
Regarding claim 39, Gisoldi teaches (figures 1 – 6) the battery connector in accordance with claim 37.
But Gisoldi does not explicitly disclose wherein the first and second cooperating ramps defined by the adjuster are disposed on adjustment flanges, wherein a first adjustment flange is configured to interact with the second adjustment flange through an adjustment screw biasing against the first and second adjustment flanges to adjust the diameter of the battery terminal aperture and tighten or loosen the insulating clamp actuator against the terminal post.
Cret teaches (figures 1 – 9) a connector wherein the first and second cooperating ramps (20, 38) defined by the adjuster (50) are disposed on adjustment flanges (18, 20), wherein a first adjustment flange (18) is configured to interact with the second adjustment flange (20) through an adjustment screw (50) biasing against the first and second adjustment flanges (18, 20) to adjust the diameter of the battery terminal aperture (i.e. see aperture near 22 in figure 1) and tighten or loosen the insulating clamp actuator (38) against the terminal post (12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gisoldi with the connector as disclosed by Cret to provide the first and second cooperating ramps defined by the adjuster being disposed on adjustment flanges, wherein a first adjustment flange is configured to interact with the second adjustment flange through an adjustment screw biasing against the first and second adjustment flanges to adjust the diameter of the battery terminal aperture and tighten or loosen the insulating clamp actuator against the terminal post, to improve the mechanical stability of the connection between the terminal post and the battery terminal.
Regarding claim 40, Gisoldi teaches (figures 1 – 6) the battery connector in accordance with claim 39.
But Gisoldi does not explicitly disclose wherein the variation of the inward movement of the adjustment arm changes the amount of force against the adjustment leg to allow the connector to attach to terminal posts of varying diameters.
Cret teaches (figures 1 – 9) a connector wherein the variation of the inward movement of the adjustment arm (38) changes the amount of force against the adjustment leg (18, 20) to allow the connector (see figure 2) to attach to terminal posts (12) of varying diameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gisoldi with the connector as disclosed by Cret to provide a connector wherein the variation of the inward movement of the adjustment arm changes the amount of force against the adjustment leg to allow the connector to attach to terminal posts of varying diameters, to improve the mechanical stability of the connection between the terminal post and the battery terminal.
Regarding claim 47, Gisoldi teaches (figures 1 – 6) the battery connector in accordance with claim 37.
But Gisoldi does not explicitly disclose wherein the adjuster includes an adjustment screw for moving one adjustment ramp inward or outward so that the adjustment ramp pushes on a cooperating adjustment ramp to adjust the terminal aperture formed by the conductive arcuate wall of the clamp body.
Cret teaches (figures 1 – 9) a connector wherein the adjuster (50, 20, 38) includes an adjustment screw (50) for moving one adjustment ramp (38) inward or outward so that the adjustment ramp (38) pushes on a cooperating adjustment ramp (18) to adjust the terminal aperture (aperture that contacts battery terminal post 12 in figure 1) formed by the conductive arcuate wall (16) of the clamp body (see figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gisoldi with the connector as disclosed by Cret to provide an adjustment screw for moving one adjustment ramp inward or outward so that the adjustment ramp pushes on a cooperating adjustment ramp to adjust the terminal aperture formed by the conductive arcuate wall of the clamp body, to improve the mechanical stability of the connection between the terminal post and the battery terminal.
Regarding claim 49, Gisoldi teaches (figures 1 – 6) the battery connector in accordance with claim 37.
But Gisoldi does not explicitly disclose wherein the insulating cover has an access closure constructed of an insulating material at the lead end to allow access to a lead mounting zone for mounting one or more of a main lead and one or more auxiliary leads, to allow lead connections to be made without disconnecting the clamp from the terminal post.
Cret teaches (figures 1 – 9) a connector wherein the insulating cover (96) has an access closure (102) constructed of an insulating material (¶0045) at the lead end (end of 36) to allow access to a lead mounting zone (32, 34 is a mounting zone) for mounting one or more of a main lead and one or more auxiliary leads (32,34 is capable of mounting multiple leads), to allow lead connections to be made without disconnecting the clamp (see figure 2) from the terminal post (12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gisoldi with the connector as disclosed by Cret to provide the insulating cover has an access closure constructed of an insulating material at the lead end to allow access to a lead mounting zone for mounting one or more of a main lead and one or more auxiliary leads, to improve the electrical safety and reduce the risk of accidental shorts.
Regarding claim 51, Gisoldi teaches (figures 1 – 6) the battery connector in accordance with claim 37.
But Gisoldi does not explicitly disclose wherein the access closure is pivoting or detachable to allow access to the auxiliary lead mounting zone.
Cret teaches (figures 1 – 9) a connector wherein the access closure (96) is pivoting (78 which is part of 96 pivots, as seen in figures 6 and 7) or detachable to allow access to the auxiliary lead mounting zone (32, 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gisoldi with the connector as disclosed by Cret to provide the access closure is pivoting or detachable to allow access to the auxiliary lead mounting zone, to improve the electrical safety and reduce the risk of accidental shorts.
Regarding claim 52, Gisoldi teaches (figures 1 – 6) the battery connector in accordance with Claim 37.
But Gisoldi does not explicitly disclose the battery connector further including: a pivoting lead end closure formed of an insulating material for controlling access to the auxiliary lead end for connecting and disconnecting the one or more auxiliary leads without disconnecting the connector from the terminal post, wherein the access closure is pivoting or detachable for providing access to the auxiliary lead mounting zone.
Cret teaches (figures 1 – 12) a connector further including: a pivoting lead end closure (96) formed of an insulating material (¶0045) for controlling access to the auxiliary lead end (end of 36) for connecting and disconnecting the one or more auxiliary leads (36) without disconnecting the connector (14) from the terminal post (12), wherein the access closure (76) is pivoting (76, which is part of 96, pivots as seen in figures 6 and 7) or detachable for providing access to the auxiliary lead mounting zone (32, 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gisoldi with the connector as disclosed by Cret to provide a pivoting lead end closure formed of an insulating material for controlling access to the auxiliary lead end for connecting and disconnecting the one or more auxiliary leads without disconnecting the connector from the terminal post, wherein the access closure is pivoting or detachable for providing access to the auxiliary lead mounting zone, to improve the electrical safety and reduce the risk of accidental shorts.
Regarding claim 55, Gisoldi teaches (figures 1 – 6) the battery connector in accordance with claim 52.
But Gisoldi does not explicitly disclose wherein the adjuster includes an adjustment leg extending from a portion of the arcuate wall, the adjustment leg movable between a narrow position in which the terminal post aperture is smaller to clamp the arcuate wall snugly against small diameter terminal posts, to a wide position in which the terminal post aperture is larger such that the arcuate wall clamps snugly against larger diameter terminal posts.
Cret teaches (figures 1 – 9) a connector wherein the adjuster (20, 38) includes an adjustment leg (18, 20) extending from a portion of the arcuate wall (wall of 16), the adjustment leg (18, 20) movable between a narrow position (terminal post is capable of having a narrow position when it is adjusted by adjuster 20, 38) in which the terminal post aperture (aperture that contacts battery terminal post 12 in figure 1) is smaller to clamp the arcuate wall (wall of 16) snugly against small diameter terminal posts (12), to a wide position (terminal post is capable of having a wide position when it is not adjusted by adjuster 20, 38) in which the terminal post aperture (aperture that contacts battery terminal post 12 in figure 1) is larger such that the arcuate wall (wall of 16) clamps snugly against larger diameter terminal posts (12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gisoldi with the connector as disclosed by Cret to provide the adjuster including an adjustment leg extending from a portion of the arcuate wall, the adjustment leg movable between a narrow position in which the terminal post aperture is smaller to clamp the arcuate wall snugly against small diameter terminal posts, to a wide position in which the terminal post aperture is larger such that the arcuate wall clamps snugly against larger diameter terminal posts, to improve the mechanical stability and adaptability of the connection between the terminal post and the battery terminal.
Claim(s) 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gisoldi (US 9559444) in view of Cret (US 20040161980) and further in view of Casey (US 2493389).
Regarding claim 42, Gisoldi teaches (figures 1 – 6) the battery connector in accordance with claim 39.
But Gisoldi and Cret do not explicitly disclose wherein the adjustment screw includes a thumb actuator to allow for toolless inward or outward adjustment of the adjustment arm.
Casey teaches (figures 1 – 3) a connector wherein the adjustment screw (15) includes a thumb actuator (25) to allow for toolless inward or outward adjustment of the adjustment arm (column 2, lines 26 – 55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gisoldi and Cret with the connector as disclosed by Casey to provide the adjuster screw including a thumb actuator to allow for toolless inward or outward adjustment of the adjustment arm, to improve usability and convenience.
Claim(s) 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gisoldi (US 9559444) in view of Bellete (US 9929478).
Regarding claim 50, Gisoldi teaches (figures 1 – 6) the battery connector in accordance with claim 37.
But Gisoldi does not explicitly disclose wherein there is provided an auxiliary lead mounting zone at the lead end, and there is provided an auxiliary lead fastener for fastening the auxiliary lead to auxiliary lead mounting zone, which includes an auxiliary lead screw.
Bellete teaches (figures 1 – 10) a connector wherein there is provided an auxiliary lead mounting zone (111, 112) at the lead end (end of 112), and there is provided an auxiliary lead fastener (see fastener in screw 115 in figure 2) for fastening the auxiliary lead (150, 250) to auxiliary lead mounting zone (111, 112), which includes an auxiliary lead screw (115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gisoldi with the connector as disclosed by Bellete to provide wherein there is provided an auxiliary lead mounting zone at the lead end, and there is provided an auxiliary lead fastener for fastening the auxiliary lead to auxiliary lead mounting zone, which includes an auxiliary lead screw, to improve the mechanical stability of the connection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11 – 12, filed on 11/27/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 37 – 51, 53, 55, and 56 have been withdrawn. However, the Examiner notes that there was an objection to the title of the invention and to the abstract in the previous Office Action mailed on 7/29/2025, but Applicant did not address those objections in the amendment filed on 11/27/2025. Accordingly, these objections are maintained and remain outstanding. Further, the Examiner notes that since the claims were amended in the submission filed on 11/27/2025, there are new grounds for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), which can be found above in this current Office Action.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claim(s) 37 – 56 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLOS E LOPEZ-PAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834