DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/10/ 2023, 5/6/2025, 8/7/2025, 9/5/2025, 10/1/2025, 10/15/2025, 1/5/2026, and 1/14/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
In the amendment dated 5/10/2023, claims 1-13 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims 11-12 recite the limitations:
“a control unit configured to control the conversion of the smoke condensate to smoke particles based on the steam temperature, Ts, and the cabinet temperature, Tc” and
“the control unit is further configured to control the condensate regulator to regulate the flow rate of the smoke condensate and/or the pressure regulator to regulate the pressure of the overheated water steam to control the conversion of the smoke condensate to smoke particles”
being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder “unit” that is coupled with functional language(s) “control the conversion of the smoke condensate …and the cabinet temperature, Tc” and “control the condensate regulator to regulate … the conversion of the smoke condensate to smoke particles” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function(s) and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
With regards to the corresponding structure of the claimed “control unit” , the specification does not discuss or explain what structure is capable of performing the function(s). For examination purposes, a/the control unit is construed as any type of controller that is capable of “control the conversion of the smoke condensate to smoke particles based on the steam temperature, Ts, and the cabinet temperature, Tc” and “control the condensate regulator to regulate the flow rate of the smoke condensate and/or the pressure regulator to regulate the pressure of the overheated water steam to control the conversion of the smoke condensate to smoke particles”.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, “the distance from the nozzle (14) to the smoke outlet (13)” should be “a distance from the nozzle (14) to the smoke outlet (13)”.
Claim 5, “the distance between the nozzle (14) and the wall or walls of the housing (15)” should be “a distance between the nozzle (14) and the wall or walls of the housing (15)”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 11 recites the limitation: “a control unit configured to control the conversion of the smoke condensate to smoke particles based on the steam temperature, Ts, and the cabinet temperature, Tc” in lines 3-5, which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not provide a disclosure of the computer and algorithm in sufficient detail (e.g., the necessary steps and/or flowcharts) to demonstrate to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor possessed the invention including how to program the disclosed computer to perform the claimed function. For more information regarding the written description requirement, see MPEP § 2161.01- § 2163.07(b). In re Donaldson Co., 16 F.3d 1189, 1195, 29 USPQ2d 1845, 1850 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (en banc). For examination purposes, a/the control unit is construed as any type of controller that is capable of ““control the conversion of the smoke condensate to smoke particles based on the steam temperature, Ts, and the cabinet temperature, Tc”.
Claim 12 is rejected by the virtue of the dependency upon claim 11.
Claims 4-5 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance:
Claim 4 recites the broad recitation “the distance from the nozzle to the smoke outlet is at least 100 mm”, and the claim also recites “preferably at least 200 mm, or even more preferred at least 400 mm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For examination purposes, the narrower statement “preferably at least 200 mm, or even more preferred at least 400 mm” is merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required.
Claim 5 recites the broad recitation “the distance between the nozzle and the wall or walls of the housing surrounding the nozzle and extending between the steam inlet to the smoke outlet is at least 20 mm” and the claim also recites “preferably at least 50 mm, or even more preferred at least 100 mm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For examination purposes, the narrower statement “preferably at least 50 mm, or even more preferred at least 100 mm” is merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required.
Claim 11 recites the limitation: “a control unit configured to control the conversion of the smoke condensate to smoke particles based on the steam temperature, Ts, and the cabinet temperature, Tc” in lines 3-5, as written, one skilled in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the metes and bounds of the claim. The specification does not provide any structure or disclosure of the computer and algorithm in sufficient detail to demonstrate to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor possessed the invention including how to program the disclosed computer to perform the claimed function. See Biomedino, LLC v. Waters Technology Corp., 490 F.3d 946, 952, 83 USPQ2d 1118, 1123 (Fed. Cir. 2007), In re Dossel, 115 F.3d 942, 946, 42 USPQ2d 1881, 1884 (Fed. Cir. 1997) and MPEP § 2181. For examination purposes, a/the control unit is construed as any type of controller that is capable of “control the conversion of the smoke condensate to smoke particles based on the steam temperature, Ts, and the cabinet temperature, Tc”.
Additionally, regarding the above limitation “a control unit configured to control the conversion of the smoke condensate to smoke particles based on the steam temperature, Ts, and the cabinet temperature, Tc”, Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential element(s), such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted element is: a temperature sensor or detector which is capable of detecting/ sensing/ obtaining the “cabinet temperature Tc”. The claim requires to obtain the cabinet temperature Tc in order to control the conversion of the smoke condensate to the smoke particles; however, the claimed system does not recite any temperature sensor or detector which is capable of detecting/ sensing/ obtaining the cabinet temperature Tc so that it is unclear how the claimed system can obtain “the cabinet temperature Tc” and how the “control unit configured to control the conversion of the smoke condensate to smoke particles based on the cabinet temperature, Tc”. Therefore, for examination purposes, the limitation “a control unit configured to control the conversion of the smoke condensate to smoke particles based on the steam temperature, Ts, and the cabinet temperature, Tc” is construed as “a control unit configured to control the conversion of the smoke condensate to smoke particles based on the steam temperature, Ts”.
Claim 12 are rejected as being dependent on, claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Fessmann (US5910330A, cited in the 5/10/23 IDS)
Regarding claim 1, Fessmann discloses
A smoke generator (22, see figs.1-2) comprising a housing (56, see fig.2) with a condensate inlet ( 60, see fig.2) for receiving a smoke condensate (see col.5, lines 12-13: “…liquid Smoke inlet duct 60 …provided”) and a steam inlet (58, see fig.2) for receiving overheated water steam (see col.5, lines 12: “Steam inlet duct 58” and abstract: “a superheated steam duct”), wherein the smoke condensate (liquid smoke from the duct 60, see fig.2) is converted to smoke particles (mixture at the nozzle opening 74, see fig.2 and see col.2, lines 51-52: “the mixture of Super heated Steam and liquid Smoke vapor”) when the smoke condensate (liquid smoke from the duct 60, see fig.2) interacts with the overheated water steam (superheated steam from the duct 58, see fig.2 and col.5, lines 28-31: “…the axes of Steam nozzle 68 and liquid Smoke nozzle 70 intersect there”) and the smoke particles (mixture at the nozzle opening 74, see fig.2 and col.2, lines 51-52: “the mixture of Super heated Steam and liquid Smoke vapour”) are accessible at a smoke outlet (74, see fig.2 and col.3, lines 55-57: “A mixture of Superheated Steam and liquid Smoke vapour is consequently Supplied from the mixing nozzles 22”).
Regarding claim 3, Fessmann further discloses a nozzle (64, see fig.2) attached to the condensate inlet (60, see fig.2) configured to distribute the smoke condensate (liquid smoke from the duct 60, see fig.2) within the housing (56, see fig.2 and col.5, lines 16-21).
Regarding claim 6, Fessmann further discloses the smoke generator (22, see figs.1-2) is provided with a smoke condensate regulator (48, see fig.1) regulating a flow rate of the smoke condensate (liquid smoke) through the condensate inlet (duct 60 of the nozzle 22, see figs.1-2) into the housing (56, see fig.2) of the smoke generator (22, see figs.1-2).
Regarding claim 8, Fessmann further discloses a pressure regulator (26, see fig.1) regulating a pressure of the overheated water steam (see col.3, lines 23-27: “The pressure of the Superheated Steam after the pressure reducer 26 is typically about 4 bars”) entering through the steam inlet (60, see fig.2) into the housing (56) of the smoke generator (22).
Regarding claim 10, A system (combo 22, 30, 50, 26 and 48, see figs.1-2 ) for feeding smoke particles to a smoke cabinet (10, see fig.1), the system comprising a smoke generator (22, see figs.1-2) according to claim 1, a steam supply (superheated steam duct 30, see fig.1) and a smoke condensate supply (liquid smoke duct 50, see fig.1), wherein the steam supply (30, see fig.1) provides overheated water steam to the steam inlet (steam inlet duct 58, see fig.2) of the smoke generator (22) via a pressure regulator (pressure reducer 26, see fig.1), the smoke condensate supply (50, see fig.1) provides smoke condensate to the condensate inlet (60, see fig.2) of the smoke generator (22) via a condensate regulator (48, see fig.1), and smoke particles from the smoke outlet (mixture from the nozzle opening 74, see fig.2) of the smoke generator (22) are configured to be provided to an inlet of the smoke cabinet (inlet of 10, see fig.1 and abstract: “A process for combined smoking and cooking of foodstuffs involves feeding a mixture of superheated steam and liquid smoke vapor into a treating medium which is circulated in a treatment chamber”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fessmann in view of Ueda (US 20190024904 A1)
Regarding claim 2, Fessmann discloses the claimed limitations as set forth in claim 1, except the overheated water steam has a temperature of 120 degrees Celsius.
Ueda discloses a heating cooker, comprising:
the overheated water steam has a temperature of 120 degrees Celsius (See para.131: “In the steam generator 23, superheated steam with a temperature of 120° C. to 130° C. is generated”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the overheated water steam of Fessmann to have the temperature of 120 degrees Celsius as taught by Ueda. Doing so allows “the food can be cooked quickly” (See para.0071 of Ueda).
Claims 4-5, 7, 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fessmann
Regarding claim 4, Fessmann further discloses wherein the nozzle( 64, see fig.2), is located between the steam inlet (58) and the smoke outlet (74, see fig.2), except wherein the distance from the nozzle to the smoke outlet is at least 100 mm, preferably at least 200 mm, or even more preferred at least 400 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the distance from the nozzle to the smoke outlet to be “at least 100 mm, preferably at least 200 mm, or even more preferred at least 400 mm” since it has been held where the general working conditions of a claim are known it is not inventive to determine optimum or workable ranges through routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05). In this case, Fessmann teaches a certain distance from the nozzle to the smoke outlet and varying “the distance from the nozzle to the smoke outlet is at least 100 mm, preferably at least 200 mm, or even more preferred at least 400 mm” is recognized as a result-effective variable which is result of a routine experimentation. Doing so optimizes the smoke's quality and ensures efficient mixing.
Regarding claim 5, Fessmann further discloses the distance between the nozzle (64, see fig.2) and the wall or walls of the housing (see wall of the housing in annotated fig.2 below) surrounding the nozzle (64, see fig.2) and extending between the steam inlet (58, see fig.2) to the smoke outlet (74, see fig.2), except is at least 20 mm, preferably at least 50 mm, or even more preferred at least 100 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the distance between the nozzle and the wall of the housing to be “at least 20 mm, preferably at least 50 mm, or even more preferred at least 100 mm” since it has been held where the general working conditions of a claim are known it is not inventive to determine optimum or workable ranges through routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05). In this case, Fessmann teaches a certain distance between the nozzle and the wall of the housing and varying the distance between the nozzle and the wall of the housing to be “at least 20 mm, preferably at least 50 mm, or even more preferred at least 100 mm” is recognized as a result-effective variable which is result of a routine experimentation. Doing so optimizes the smoke's quality and ensures efficient mixing.
Regarding claim 7, Fessmann teaches the claimed limitations as set forth, except the flow rate is in the range of 0.1 to 20 liters/hour.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the flow rate to be “in the range of 0.1 to 20 liters/hour” since it has been held where the general working conditions of a claim are known it is not inventive to determine optimum or workable ranges through routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05). In this case, Fessmann teaches a certain flow rate and varying the flow rate to be “in the range of 0.1 to 20 liters/hour” is recognized as a result-effective variable which is result of a routine experimentation. Doing so optimizes the smoke's quality and ensures efficient mixing.
Regarding claim 9, Fessmann teaches the claimed limitations as set forth, except the pressure is in the range of 0.2 to 1.2 bar.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the pressure to be “in the range of 0.2 to 1.2 bar” since it has been held where the general working conditions of a claim are known it is not inventive to determine optimum or workable ranges through routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05). In this case, Fessmann teaches a certain pressure and varying the pressure to be “in the range of 0.2 to 1.2 bar” is recognized as a result-effective variable which is result of a routine experimentation. Doing so optimizes the smoke's quality and ensures efficient mixing.
Regarding claim 13, Fessmann teaches the claimed limitations as set forth, except the system is configured to generate a mixed steam and liquid flow rate through the housing in the range of 25-300 kg/hour.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system to be “configured to generate a mixed steam and liquid flow rate through the housing in the range of 25-300 kg/hour” since it has been held where the general working conditions of a claim are known it is not inventive to determine optimum or workable ranges through routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05). In this case, Fessmann teaches the system is configured to generate a mixed steam and liquid flow rate through the housing (see fig.2) and varying the mixture “in the range of 25-300 kg/hour” is recognized as a result-effective variable which is result of a routine experimentation. Doing so optimizes the smoke's quality and ensures efficient mixing.
Claims 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fessmann in view of Lemke (US5609095A)
Regarding claim 11, Fessmann further teaches the smoke cabinet (10, see fig.1) is configured to be operating at a cabinet temperature, Tc (temperature of the treatment chamber 10, see fig.1).
Fessmann also teaches valves 24,26 and/or 28 regulates the pressure of the over heated water steam to control the conversion of the smoke condensate to smoke particles (see figs.1-2), except the system has a sensor to measure a steam temperature, Ts, wherein the system further comprises a control unit configured to control the conversion of the smoke condensate to smoke particles based on the steam temperature, Ts, and the cabinet temperature, Tc.
Lemke discloses High Performance Cooking Oven With Steam Chamber, comprising:
the system has a sensor to measure a steam temperature, Ts (see col.10, lines 62-64: “said sensing means is a temperature sensor used to monitor the temperature of saturated steam escaping through at least one of said inlet and outlet openings”), wherein the system further comprises a control unit (temperature controller, see col.10, line 66) configured to control the conversion of the smoke condensate to smoke particles based on the steam temperature, Ts,( see col.10, lines 62-67 and col.11, lines 1-2: “said sensing means is a temperature sensor used to monitor the temperature of saturated steam escaping through at least one of said inlet and outlet openings, said temperature sensor generating said signal which is supplied to said temperature controller which in turn controls said steam flow control valve to regulate the flow of steam into said housing in a predetermined manner. “Thus, by regulating the flow of steam into said housing, the controller in the combination of Fessmann with Lemke is capable of controlling the conversion of the smoke condensate to smoke particles. See 112(a)-(b) rejections above).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the sensor to measure a steam temperature and the control unit of Lemke so as the control units controls the valves 24,26 and/or 28 of Fessmann to control the conversion of the smoke condensate to smoke particles based on the steam temperature, Ts. Doing so allows to maintain the desired steam atmosphere within the smoke generator and/or smoke cabinet which is desirable for certain applications (See abstract of Lemke).
Regarding claim 12, Fessmann in view of Lemke further discloses the control unit (temperature controller, see col.10, line 66) is further configured to the pressure regulator (valves 24,26 and/or 28 of Fessmann) to regulate the pressure of the overheated water steam (see fig.1 and col.3, lines 20-24) to control the conversion of the smoke condensate to smoke particles (see figs.1-2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
EP0241965A1 (cited in 1/5/26 IDS) discloses a Method for smoking foodstuffs in a smoking room by supplying smoke to the foodstuff, said smoke being developed from a liquid smoke concentrate to which air is supplied and which is sprayed while being heated, whereby a heated liquid smoke concentrate is supplied to the sprayer (10, 6) on the one hand and heated air on the other hand, after which the sprayed mixture is led through a heated room (15) in which the generation of smoke takes place, said smoke being dispersed over the smoking room.
/TIFFANY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761