Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 5/10/2023. Claims 1-16 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/15/2025, 5/17/2023, and 5/10/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim objections
Claims 2-16 recites “the device according to” which lacks antecedent basis. Examiner will interpret as “ the electric charging device according to”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the detent pin is located in a detent receptacle, and the detent spring is a component of the detent receptacle”. However, in Fig. 1 the detent pin is not located in a detent receptacle but when the locking unit is attached to the charge plug socket.
Examiner will interpret as “wherein the detent pin is located in a detent receptacle when the locking unit is attached to the charge plug socket, and the detent spring is a component of the detent receptacle”.
Claim 8 recites “The device according to claim 47”. Examiner will interpret as. “The electric charging device according to claim 7”.
Claims 6-8 are included in this rejection based on its dependence on claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimizu (US 20160013587).
As to claim 1, Shimizu discloses an electric charging device for a motor vehicle (Fig. 1, vehicle-side connector 10), the electric charging device comprising: a locking unit (Fig. 1-3 and [0049], actuator 16,), a latch element (insertion portion 16B (Fig. 3) including shaft portion 16A ([0049]), and a charge plug socket ([0041] FIG. 3, housing main body 20 includes a connector fitting portion 21 into which the connector main body 51 of the charging connector 50 is to be fitted), wherein the locking unit has a motor drive for adjusting the latch element ([0085] Although the shaft portion 16A is driven by the actuator 16 in the above embodiment, it may be driven, for example, by … a linear motor), wherein the latch element releasably locks a charge plug in the charge plug socket ([0049] and Fig. 11 The actuator 16 is a lock release preventing device for preventing a tip part of the lock arm 54 from pivoting in a direction to be unlocked…. [0012], [0053] and Fig. 11. The lock release preventing device may include a shaft portion (16A) configured to move between a locking position for preventing the lock arm from pivoting by being locked to the tip part of the lock plate and a releasing position for allowing the lock arm to pivot by being separated from the tip part of the lock arm,), and wherein the locking unit and the charge plug socket are releasably connected to one another via at least two connection aids (Fig. 3 [0049]-[0050] a pair of hollow cylindrical portions 15D and mounting seats 16D used to bolt the case 16C to the housing main body 20), and wherein the two connection aids comprise a detent element (cylindrical portions 15D) and a mating detent element, respectively (mounting seats 16D).
As to claim 2, Shimizu teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the detent element is arranged on the charge plug socket (Fig. 5 cylindrical portions 15D) and the mating detent element is arranged on the locking unit (Fig. 13 mounting seats 16D).
As to claim 13, Shimizu teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the two connection aids comprise a pair of detent elements (Fig. 5 cylindrical portions 15D) and a pair of mating detent elements respectively (Fig. 13 mounting seats 16D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu (US 20160013587).
As to claim 3, Shimizu teaches the device according to claim 1, further comprising a charge plug socket housing (main body 20) and a locking unit housing (Fig. 13 actuator 16), wherein the mating detent element (Fig. 13 mounting seats 16D) comprises an integral component of the locking unit housing (Fig. 13 mounting seats 16D).
Shimizu does not disclose/teach wherein the detent element comprises an integral component of the charge plug socket housing.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the detent element to be an integral component of the charge plug socket housing in order to make assembling easier for the device.
Claims 1 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lazzaro (EP 2471146) in view of Shimizu (US 20160013587).
As to claim 1, Lazzaro discloses an electric charging device for a motor vehicle (Fig. 1, plug-in system 100), the electric charging device comprising: a locking unit (Fig. 1, flexible coupling element (30) and actuator (20), a latch element (axially displaceable pin 11), and a charge plug socket (Device socket), wherein the latch element releasably locks a charge plug in the charge plug socket ( [0030] the pin 11 is in a locking position, in which it protrudes into the interior of the plug-in device element 10. If there is a plug plugged in as a complementary plug-in device element (not shown), the pin 11 can engage in a groove or behind a nose of this plug and lock it against inadvertent extract. A withdrawal of the pin 11 from the interior of the plug-in device element 10 in an open position, however, releases the movement of the inserted plug again), and wherein the locking unit and the charge plug socket are releasably connected to one another via at least two connection aids (Fig. 1 screws [0014] Regardless of its specific design, the coupling element is preferably (reversibly) detachably connected to the actuator and/or to the plug-in device element, …), and wherein the two connection aids comprise a detent element and a mating detent element, respectively ([0014] bayonet connection).
Lazzaro does not disclose/teach wherein the locking unit has a motor drive for adjusting the latch element.
Shimizu teaches wherein the locking unit has a motor drive for adjusting the latch element ([0085] Although the shaft portion 16A is driven by the actuator 16 in the above embodiment, it may be driven, for example, by … a linear motor).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the locking unit of Shimizu to include a motor drive for adjusting the latch element in order to provide automated, secure, and reliable operation.
As to claim 12, Lazzaro in view of Shimizu teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the detent element is arranged on the locking unit (screws) and the mating detent element is arranged on the charge plug socket (screw holes on the charge plug).
Claims 4-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over In Shimizu (US 20160013587) view of Lazarro (EP 2471146) evident Pomerantz (US 20100191879).
As to claim 4, Shimizu teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein a detent element (Fig. 5 cylindrical portions 15D) and mating detent element (Fig. 13 mounting seats 16D).
Shimizu does not specifically disclose/teach wherein the detent element is a detent pin and the mating detent element is or has a detent spring interacting with the detent pin.
Lazarro teaches wherein the detent element is a detent pin and the mating detent element is or has a detent spring interacting with the detent pin ([0014] bayonet connection it is well know that a bayonet connection is a male-female fastening mechanism that relies on mated surfaces: the male side has one or more pins or slots, and the female receptor has matching slots and a spring that maintains a clamping force evident by Pomerantz [0040]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the device of Shimizu to wherein the detent element is a detent pin and the mating detent element is has a detent spring interacting with the detent pin in order to provide quick, secure, and reliable connection often found in bayonet connections, without the need for tools.
As to claim 5, Shimizu in view of Lazarro evident by Pomerantz teaches the device according to claim 4, wherein the detent pin is located in a detent receptacle (Fig. 5 cylindrical portions 15D and Fig. 13 mounting seats 16D), and the detent spring is a component of the detent receptacle ([0040] of Pomerantz).
As to claim 6, Shimizu in view of Lazarro evident by Pomerantz teaches the device according to claim 5.
Shimizu in view of Lazarro evident by Pomerantz does not disclose/teach wherein the detent receptacle and the detent pin are substantially rectangular in cross-section.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the detent receptacle and the detent pin of Shimizu in view of Lazarro to be substantially rectangular in cross-section as it is merely a change in shape.
As to claim 7, Shimizu in view of Lazarro evident by Pomerantz teaches the device according to claim 5.
Shimizu in view of Lazarro evident by Pomerantz evident by Pomerantz does not disclose/teach wherein the detent receptacle is a cuboid detent receptacle and the detent pin is a cuboid detent pin.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the detent receptacle and the detent pin of Shimizu in view of Lazarro to wherein the detent receptacle is a cuboid detent receptacle and the detent pin is a cuboid detent pin as it is merely a change in shape.
As to claim 9, Shimizu in view of Lazarro evident by Pomerantz teaches the device according to claim 4.
Shimizu does not disclose/teach wherein the detent spring is equipped with a disassembly element
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the device of Shimizu to wherein the detent spring is equipped with a disassembly element in order to repair and replace any worn components in the locking device.
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu (US 20160013587) in view of in view of Miwa (US 20180269627).
As to claim 11, Shimizu teaches the device according to claim 1.
Shimizu does not disclose/teach a seal interposed between the locking unit and the charge plug socket
Miwa teaches applying a seal interposed between components prevents foreign matter from entering into the housing space from outside ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the device of Shimizu to include a seal interposed between the locking unit and the charge plug socket in order to prevent foreign matter from entering between the locking unit and the charge plug socket.
Claim 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu (US 20160013587) in view of Schwan (US 20200198485).
As to claim 14, Shimizu teaches the device according to claim 3.
Shimizu does not disclose/teach wherein the detent element and the charge plug socket housing comprise a first integrated injection molded plastic component, and the mating detent element and the locking unit housing comprise a second integrated injection molded plastic component.
Schwan teaches a locking element is injection molded ([0027] The slotted guide 40, the slot 42, the roller 46, the locking element 20 and/or the slider 44 can each be manufactured from plastics material as an injection-molded part or by an additional production method).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the detent element and the charge plug socket housing comprise a first integrated injection molded plastic component, and the mating detent element and the locking unit housing comprise a second integrated injection molded plastic component in order to create a more unitary component for the locking unit and the charge plug socket, thereby lowering the cost and reducing assembly steps .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8,10, and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and rewritten to overcome the claim objection and 112 rejection above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 8, Although the prior art discloses an electric charging device for a motor vehicle, the electric charging device comprising: a locking unit, a latch element, and a charge plug socket, wherein the locking unit has a motor drive for adjusting the latch element, wherein the latch element releasably locks a charge plug in the charge plug socket, and wherein the locking unit and the charge plug socket are releasably connected to one another via at least two connection aids, and wherein the two connection aids comprise a detent element and a mating detent element, respectively, wherein the detent element is a detent pin and the mating detent element is or has a detent spring interacting with the detent pin, wherein the detent receptacle is a cuboid detent receptacle and the detent pin is a cuboid detent pin, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“wherein the detent spring is an outwardly facing wall component of the cuboid detent receptacle.”
Regarding dependent claim 10, Although the prior art discloses an electric charging device for a motor vehicle, the electric charging device comprising: a locking unit, a latch element, and a charge plug socket, wherein the locking unit has a motor drive for adjusting the latch element, wherein the latch element releasably locks a charge plug in the charge plug socket, and wherein the locking unit and the charge plug socket are releasably connected to one another via at least two connection aids, and wherein the two connection aids comprise a detent element and a mating detent element, respectively, wherein the detent element is a detent pin and the mating detent element is or has a detent spring interacting with the detent pin, wherein the detent spring is equipped with a disassembly element, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“wherein the disassembly element is a disassembly tab connected to the detent spring.”
Regarding dependent claim 15, Although the prior art discloses an electric charging device for a motor vehicle, the electric charging device comprising: a locking unit, a latch element, and a charge plug socket, wherein the locking unit has a motor drive for adjusting the latch element, wherein the latch element releasably locks a charge plug in the charge plug socket, and wherein the locking unit and the charge plug socket are releasably connected to one another via at least two connection aids, and wherein the two connection aids comprise a detent element and a mating detent element, respectively, wherein the detent element is a detent pin and the mating detent element is or has a detent spring interacting with the detent pin, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“wherein the detent pin has a detent hook that interacts with a hook recess of the detent spring.”
Regarding dependent claim 16, Although the prior art discloses an electric charging device for a motor vehicle, the electric charging device comprising: a locking unit, a latch element, and a charge plug socket, wherein the locking unit has a motor drive for adjusting the latch element, wherein the latch element releasably locks a charge plug in the charge plug socket, and wherein the locking unit and the charge plug socket are releasably connected to one another via at least two connection aids, and wherein the two connection aids comprise a detent element and a mating detent element, respectively, wherein the detent element is a detent pin and the mating detent element is or has a detent spring interacting with the detent pin, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“wherein the detent spring has a detent hook that interacts with a hook recess of the detent pin.”
Conclusion
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859