Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 5/10/2023. Claims 1-3, and 5-14 and 17-18 are pending and presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/27/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to arguments
Applicant amended claims 1-3, and 5-14 cancelled claims 4 and 15-16 and added claims 17-18 which changes the scope of the claims and as such a new grounds of rejection is issued. Examiner has updated the search and issued a new grounds of rejection. As such, this action is a second action non final. Claims 1-3, and 5-14 and 17-18 are pending and presented for examination.
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to due to the following informalities:
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.83(a) because the drawings do not show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Specifically, the following features are not identified in the drawings:
Claims 1 recites “wherein the detent pin has a detent hook that interacts with a hook recess of the detent spring” which structures are not identified in the drawing. Specifically, the drawings does not show a detent hook in the detent pin that interacts with a hook on the detent spring.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the detent pin is located in a detent receptacle when the locking unit is attached to the plug socket”.
Specifically, the drawings does not show the detent pin is located in a detent receptacle when the locking unit is attached to the plug socket”.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the detent pin is located in a detent receptacle when the locking unit is attached to the plug socket” which is unclear. It is unclear how the detent pin (Fig.1 7) is located in the detent receptacle (8) when the locking unit is attached to the plug socket.
Claims 6-8 are included in this rejection due to their dependence on claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,9-10,12, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basavarajappa (US 20130154402) in view of Shimizu (US 20160013587) in view of Cronin (US 6113413).
As to claim 1, Basavarajappa discloses an electric charging device for a motor vehicle ([0061] Fig. 1, actuator 1 and charging socket of a motor vehicle), the electric charging device comprising: a locking unit (Fig. 1-3 actuator 1), a latch element (locking bar 5), and a charge plug socket ([0061] The tabs 4 serve for attaching the actuator 1, ….such as to a charging socket of a motor vehicle), wherein the locking unit has a motor drive for adjusting the latch element ([0061] The actuator 1 comprises a locking bar 5 which can be linearly displaced by an electric motor located in the housing 3a, 3b), wherein the latch element releasably locks a charge plug in the charge plug socket (([0061] The actuator 1 comprises a locking bar 5 which can be linearly displaced by an electric motor located in the housing 3a, 3b. the stroke of the locking bar is at least ten mm in order to be able to lock a desired component, such as a fuel filler lid or a connection between a charging plug and a charging socket), and wherein the locking unit and the charge plug socket are releasably connected to one another via at least two connection aids (The tabs 4 serve for attaching the actuator 1, for example by means of screws, to another component, such as to a charging socket of a motor vehicle,)
Basavarajappa does not disclose/teach wherein the two connection aids comprise a detent element and a mating detent element respectively, wherein the detent element is a detent pin and the mating detent element is or has a detent spring interacting with the detent pin and wherein the detent pin has a detent hook that interacts with a hook recess of the detent spring.
Shimizu teaches wherein the two connection aids comprise a detent element (Fig. 3 fastening hole 29) and a mating detent element (hook portion 16F) respectively, wherein the detent element is a detent pin (fastening hole 29) and the mating detent element interacts with the detent pin ([0050] hook portion 16F is hooked into a temporary fastening hole 29 formed on the upper surface of the housing main body 20 from below and the actuator 16 is temporarily assembled with the housing main body 20.), and wherein the detent pin has a detent hook (fastening hole 29) that interacts with a hook recess (hook portion 16) of the detent element ([0050]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the two connection aids of Basavarajappa to comprise a detent element and a mating detent element respectively, wherein the detent element is a detent pin and the mating detent element interacts with the detent pin and wherein the detent pin has a detent hook that interacts with a hook recess of the detent element in order to easily connect Basavarajappa locking unit to its charging socket using a common well known snap connector .
Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu does not disclose/teach the mating detent element is or has a detent spring interacting with the detent pin
Cronin teaches the mating detent element is or has a detent spring interacting with the detent pin (Fig. 2 and Column 3 lines 3-16 Free end 22b of each spring latch member is movable in the direction of doubleheaded arrows "B" (FIG. 2) generally transversely of or perpendicular to mating direction "A". The free end includes a hook 22e for latchingly engaging an appropriate latch surface of the complementary connector).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the mating detent element of Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu to have a detent spring interacting with the detent pin in order to easily connect Basavarajappa locking unit to its charging socket without damaging the mating element (hook 16F).
As to claim 2, Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view of Cronin teaches the electric charging device according to claim 1, wherein the detent element is arranged on the charge plug socket (Fig. 3 of Shimizu fastening hole 29 on housing main body 20 of charging socket) and the mating detent element is arranged on the locking unit (Fig. 3 hook portion 16F on locking unit ).
As to claim 3, Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view of Cronin teaches the electric charging device according to claim 1 further comprising a charge plug socket housing ([0061] of Basavarajappa a charging socket and a locking unit housing ([0061] Fig. 1 of Basavarajappa actuator 1).
Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view of Cronin does not disclose/teach wherein the detent element and the mating detent element each comprises an integral component of the charge plug socket housing and the locking unit housing, respectively
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the detent element and mating detent element to each be an integral component of the charge plug socket housing and the locking unit housing, respectively in order to make assembling easier for the device.
As to claim 9, Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view of Cronin the electric charging device according to claim 1, wherein the detent spring is equipped with a disassembly element (Column 4 lines 24-26 of Cronin. When the connectors are disconnected, spring latch members 22 will self bias back to their latch positions as shown in FIG. 2).
As to claim 10, Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view of Cronin in view Little teaches the electric charging device according to claim 9, wherein the disassembly element is a disassembly tab connected to the detent spring (Column 4 lines 24-26 of Cronin. When the connectors are disconnected, spring latch members 22 will self bias back to their latch positions as shown in FIG. 2).
As to claim 12, Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view of Cronin teaches the electric charging device according to claim 1.
Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view of Cronin does not disclose/teach wherein the detent element is arranged on the locking unit and the mating detent element is arranged on the charge plug socket.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the detent element is arranged on the locking unit and the mating detent element is arranged on the charge plug socket as it is merely a rearrangement of parts.
As to claim 17, Basavarajappa discloses an electric charging device for a motor vehicle ([0061] Fig. 1, actuator 1 and charging socket of a motor vehicle), the electric charging device comprising: a locking unit (Fig. 1-3 actuator 1), a latch element (locking bar 5), and a charge plug socket ([0061] The tabs 4 serve for attaching the actuator 1, ….such as to a charging socket of a motor vehicle), wherein the locking unit has a motor drive for adjusting the latch element ([0061] The actuator 1 comprises a locking bar 5 which can be linearly displaced by an electric motor located in the housing 3a, 3b), wherein the latch element releasably locks a charge plug in the charge plug socket (([0061] The actuator 1 comprises a locking bar 5 which can be linearly displaced by an electric motor located in the housing 3a, 3b. the stroke of the locking bar is at least ten mm in order to be able to lock a desired component, such as a fuel filler lid or a connection between a charging plug and a charging socket), and wherein the locking unit and the charge plug socket are releasably connected to one another via at least two connection aids (The tabs 4 serve for attaching the actuator 1, for example by means of screws, to another component, such as to a charging socket of a motor vehicle,)
Basavarajappa does not disclose/teach wherein the two connection aids comprise a detent element and a mating detent element respectively, wherein the detent element is a detent pin and the mating detent element is or has a detent spring interacting with the detent pin and wherein the detent pin has a detent hook that interacts with a hook recess of the detent spring.
Shimizu teaches wherein the two connection aids comprise a detent element (Fig. 3 fastening hole 29) and a mating detent element (hook portion 16F) respectively, wherein the detent element is a detent pin (fastening hole 29) and the mating detent element interacts with the detent pin ([0050] hook portion 16F is hooked into a temporary fastening hole 29 formed on the upper surface of the housing main body 20 from below and the actuator 16 is temporarily assembled with the housing main body 20.), and wherein the detent pin has a detent hook (fastening hole 29) that interacts with a hook recess (hook portion 16) of the detent pin ([0050]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the two connection aids of Basavarajappa to comprise a detent element and a mating detent element respectively, wherein the detent element is a detent pin and the mating detent element interacts with the detent pin and wherein the detent pin has a detent hook (fastening hole 29) that interacts with a hook recess of the detent pin in order to easily connect Basavarajappa locking unit to its charging socket using a common well known snap connector.
Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu does not disclose/teach the mating detent element is or has a detent spring interacting with the detent pin.
Cronin teaches the mating detent element is or has a detent spring interacting with the detent pin (Fig. 2 and Column 3 lines 3-16 Free end 22b of each spring latch member is movable in the direction of doubleheaded arrows "B" (FIG. 2) generally transversely of or perpendicular to mating direction "A". The free end includes a hook 22e for latchingly engaging an appropriate latch surface of the complementary connector).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the mating detent element of Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu to have a detent spring interacting with the detent pin in order to easily connect Basavarajappa locking unit to its charging socket without damaging the mating element (hook 16F).
As to claim 18, Basavarajappa discloses an electric charging device for a motor vehicle ([0061] Fig. 1, actuator 1 and charging socket of a motor vehicle), the electric charging device comprising: a locking unit (Fig. 1-3 actuator 1), a latch element (locking bar 5), and a charge plug socket ([0061] The tabs 4 serve for attaching the actuator 1, ….such as to a charging socket of a motor vehicle), wherein the locking unit has a motor drive for adjusting the latch element ([0061] The actuator 1 comprises a locking bar 5 which can be linearly displaced by an electric motor located in the housing 3a, 3b), wherein the latch element releasably locks a charge plug in the charge plug socket (([0061] The actuator 1 comprises a locking bar 5 which can be linearly displaced by an electric motor located in the housing 3a, 3b. the stroke of the locking bar is at least ten mm in order to be able to lock a desired component, such as a fuel filler lid or a connection between a charging plug and a charging socket), and wherein the locking unit and the charge plug socket are releasably connected to one another via at least two connection aids (The tabs 4 serve for attaching the actuator 1, for example by means of screws, to another component, such as to a charging socket of a motor vehicle,)
Basavarajappa does not disclose/teach wherein the two connection aids comprise a detent element and a mating detent element respectively, wherein the detent element is a detent pin and the mating detent element is or has a detent spring interacting with the detent pin and wherein the detent spring is equipped with a disassembly element, and the disassembly element is a disassembly tab connected to the detent spring.
Shimizu teaches wherein the two connection aids comprise a detent element (Fig. 3 fastening hole 29) and a mating detent element (hook portion 16F) respectively, wherein the detent element is a detent pin (fastening hole 29) and the mating detent element interacts with the detent pin ([0050] hook portion 16F is hooked into a temporary fastening hole 29 formed on the upper surface of the housing main body 20 from below and the actuator 16 is temporarily assembled with the housing main body 20.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the two connection aids of Basavarajappa to comprise a detent element and a mating detent element respectively, wherein the detent element is a detent pin and the mating detent element interacts with the detent pin and wherein the detent pin has a detent hook that interacts with a hook recess of the detent element in order to easily connect Basavarajappa locking unit to its charging socket using a common well known snap connector .
Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu does not disclose/teach the mating detent element is or has a detent spring interacting with the detent pin and wherein the detent spring is equipped with a disassembly element, and the disassembly element is a disassembly tab connected to the detent spring.
Cronin teaches the mating detent element is or has a detent spring interacting with the detent pin (Fig. 2 and Column 3 lines 3-16 Free end 22b of each spring latch member is movable in the direction of doubleheaded arrows "B" (FIG. 2) generally transversely of or perpendicular to mating direction "A". The free end includes a hook 22e for latchingly engaging an appropriate latch surface of the complementary connector) and wherein the detent spring is equipped with a disassembly element, and the disassembly element is a disassembly tab (22e) connected to the detent spring (Column 4 lines 24-26. When the connectors are disconnected, spring latch members 22 will self bias back to their latch positions as shown in FIG. 2)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the mating detent element of Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu to have a detent spring interacting with the detent pin and wherein the detent spring is equipped with a disassembly element, and the disassembly element is a disassembly tab connected to the detent spring in order to easily connect Basavarajappa locking unit to its charging socket without damaging the mating element (hook 16F).
Claims 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basavarajappa (US 20130154402) in view of Shimizu (US 20160013587) in view of Cronin (US 6113413) In view of Little (US 20210028572).
As to claim 5, Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view of Cronin teaches the electric charging device according to claim 1 wherein the detent spring is a component of the detent receptacle (Fig. 2 and Column 3 lines 3-16 spring latch member 22).
Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view of Cronin does not disclose/teach wherein the detent pin is located in a detent receptacle when the locking unit is attached to the plug socket.
Little teaches wherein the detent pin is located in a detent receptacle when the locking unit is attached to the plug socket (Fig.1-5 [0028] The receptacle shell 140 further includes a locking hole 141 in a top plate 148, in which a locking protrusion 235 of the resilient latch 234 is engaged).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric charging device of Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu to wherein the detent pin is located in a detent receptacle when the locking unit is attached to the plug socket in order to securely mate the locking unit to the charging socket.
As to claim 6, Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view of Cronin in view Little teaches the electric charging device according to claim 5.
Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view of Cronin detent pin are substantially rectangular in cross- section.
Little teaches detent pin are substantially rectangular in cross- section (The top of receptacle shell 140).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the detent receptacle and the detent pin of Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu to be substantially rectangular in cross-section as it is merely a change in shape.
As to claim 7, Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view of Cronin in view Little teaches the electric charging device according to claim 5. wherein the detent receptacle is a cuboid detent receptacle and the detent pin is a cuboid detent pin.
Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view Little wherein the detent receptacle is a cuboid detent receptacle and the detent pin is a cuboid detent pin.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the detent receptacle and the detent pin of Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view Little to wherein the detent receptacle is a cuboid detent receptacle and the detent pin is a cuboid detent pin as it is merely a change in shape.
As to claim 8, Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view of Cronin in view Little teaches the electric charging device according to claim 7, wherein the detent spring is an outwardly facing wall component of the cuboid detent receptacle (The combined teachings of Shimizu, Cronin, and Little where Cronin teaches Shimizu’s detent element (hook 16F) can be a spring loaded device (Fig. 2 and Column 3 lines 3-16 of Cronin) teaches the detent spring can be an outwardly facing wall component of the cuboid detent receptacle).
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basavarajappa (US 20130154402) in view of Shimizu (US 20160013587) in view of Cronin (US 6113413) in view of Miwa (US 20180269627).
As to claim 11, Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view of Cronin teaches the electric charging device according to claim 1.
Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view of Cronin does not disclose/teach a seal interposed between the locking unit and the charge plug socket.
Miwa teaches applying a seal interposed between components prevents foreign matter from entering into the housing space from outside ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the device of Shimizu to include a seal interposed between the locking unit and the charge plug socket in order to prevent foreign matter from entering between the locking unit and the charge plug socket.
Claims 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basavarajappa (US 20130154402) in view of Shimizu (US 20160013587) in view of Cronin (US 6113413) In view of Degner (US 20190394907).
As to claim 13, Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view of Cronin teaches the electric charging device according to claim 1.
Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view of Cronin does not disclose/teach wherein the two connection aids comprise a pair of detent elements and a pair of mating detent elements, respectively.
Degner teaches wherein the two connection aids comprise a pair of detent elements and a pair of mating detent elements, respectively. (Fig. 3a-3b 172 and 162)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the two connection aids of Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view Little to comprise a pair of detent elements and a pair of mating detent elements, respectively in order to ensure a secure connection between the locking unit and the charging socket.
Claims 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basavarajappa (US 20130154402) in view of Shimizu (US 20160013587) in view of Cronin (US 6113413) In view of Schwan(20200198485).
As to claim 14, Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view of Cronin teaches the electric charging device according to claim 3.
Basavarajappa in view of Shimizu in view of Cronin does not disclose/teach wherein the detent element and the charge plug socket housing comprise a first integrated injection molded plastic component, and the mating detent element and the locking unit housing comprise a second integrated injection molded plastic component.
Schwan teaches a locking element is injection molded ([0027] The slotted guide 40, the slot 42, the roller 46, the locking element 20 and/or the slider 44 can each be manufactured from plastics material as an injection-molded part or by an additional production method).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the detent element and the charge plug socket housing comprise a first integrated injection molded plastic component, and the mating detent element and the locking unit housing comprise a second integrated injection molded plastic component in order to create a more unitary component for the locking unit and the charge plug socket, thereby lowering the cost and reducing assembly steps.
Conclusion and related art
Leong et al US 5713752 is cited for having electrical connectors having snapping type latches.
Pradeepkuma (US 20190394907) is cited for having detent pins and hooks that mate with detent pins.
Rhodes (US20220332198) is cited for having a rear cover 280 includes cover latching features 285 configured to be coupled to the AC insert 200. The cover latching features 285 may include protrusions having a catch surface configured to be latchably coupled to the AC insert 200 (Fig. 17). However Rhodes is filed after the effective filing date.
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859