DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed 03/30/2026.
Claims 1-8, 10-18 are pending and being examined. Claim 9 is canceled. Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10 are amended and claims 11-18 are newly added with no new subject matter being introduced.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 and 12-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 103952153 A) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 110922966 A).
Considering claims 1-3 and 11, Liu teaches a green fluorescent ceramic powder suitable for LEDs (Liu, abstract). Liu teaches the composition has a general formula Y3-x-y-mLuySbmAl5O12:Ce3+x, wherein x is 0.01-0.2 and y is 0.5-4.5 and m is 0-.0006; it should be noted that when m=0, the composition of Liu relative to the values of x and y overlap the claimed general formula of the composition (Liu, abstract).
Liu does not explicitly teach the composition comprises graphene. However, Zhang teaches chemical/structural modification of a fluorescent powder suitable for LEDs with the addition of graphene for a more thermally and chemically stable fluorescent material and improved luminous efficiency (Zhang, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include graphene in the composition of Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to do so in order to obtain a more thermally and chemically stable fluorescent material and improved luminous efficiency with a reasonable expectation of success.
Liu teaches the composition has a general formula Y3-x-y-mLuySbmAl5O12:Ce3+x, wherein x is 0.01-0.2 and y is 0.5-4.5 and m is 0-.0006; it should be noted that when m=0, the composition of Liu relative to the values of x and y overlap the claimed general formula of the composition (Liu, abstract). Zhang teaches chemical/structural modification of a fluorescent powder suitable for LEDs with the addition of graphene for a more thermally and chemically stable fluorescent material and improved luminous efficiency (Zhang, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use an amount of graphene (i.e., 0.01/0.03/0.05 wt.%) that would result in desired amount of modification. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve desired stability and luminous efficiency with a reasonable expectation of success.
Considering claim 4, Liu teaches the green fluorescent ceramic material is a transparent ceramic material (i.e., light-emitting) (Liu, abstract).
Considering claim 10, Liu teaches an LED device (Liu, 1st page of English translation). It should be noted that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In the instant case, the product made by the method of claim 5 is the green fluorescent ceramic material of claim 1 which is taught and/or made obvious by Liu/Zhang.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed regarding Zhang introduces graphene to improve thermal stability and chemical stability in contrast to the claimed invention the graphene is introduced to rapidly dissipate heat have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Zhang clearly teaches several improvements/advantages through the introduction of graphene one of which is to solve the problem of slow heat dissipation in addition to improving thermal stability and chemical stability (Zhang, middle to end of page 2 of English translation).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANITA NASSIRI-MOTLAGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734