DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/10/2023 was filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 15-26, 30 and 32 in the reply filed on 2/4/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 50-55 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 15-18, 21, 24 and 32 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The above noted claims do not claim additional repeat units, but appears to replace units from claim 15 that is improper. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 15-26, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (WO 2016/138528 A1) to Cao et al. (hereinafter Cao).
Cao is directed toward biocompatible zwitterionic gels for implant. Cao discloses [00214] that the major component of the gel is water. Cao discloses [0047] that the zwitterionic polymer is in the form of a liquid. Cao discloses [0016] of Formula (III) below:
That reads on Applicants Formula (IV) and Formula (I).
Cao discloses [0020] of Formula (IV) below:
That reads on Applicants Formula (II) and Formula (I).
Cao discloses at paragraph [0028] of Formula (V) and (VI) below:
That reads on Applicants Formula (XI).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing of the disclosure of Cao to select an anti-adhesive compound that forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 15-26, 30 and 32.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766