DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 35-54 are currently pending. Claims 32, 37, 47, 49-50, and 52 are currently amended. Claims 53-54 are newly added. No new subject matter is added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 35-45 and 47-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zollinger et al. (US 20200324029 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Zollinger”.
Regarding Claim 35, Zollinger teaches a medical waste collection system (100, see Abstract; Figure 2) for collecting medical waste material through a manifold (124) during a medical procedure (see Paragraph [0079]), the medical waste collection system comprising:
a waste container (106, 108);
a vacuum source (vacuum pump 110) configured to provide a vacuum on the waste container (providing vacuum into the waste containers 106/108, see Paragraph [0081]); and
a receiver coupled to the waste container (receiver 116, see Figure 2) and comprising:
a housing (lower housing 268 and upper housing 366, see Figure 23) comprising an opening into which the manifold is configured to be inserted (the proximal end of the manifold 124 towards the opening 118 as the manifold 124 is readied to be inserted into the receiver 116, see Paragraph [0134]; Figure 23), the housing further comprising a receiver outlet (receiver outlet 404, see Figure 42);
an inlet mechanism (inlet mechanism 324, see Figure 30) movably coupled to the housing (movably disposed within the cavity 378 of the lower housing 268, see Paragraph [0137]) and comprising a suction inlet (266), and a suction outlet (suction outlet 410) in fluid communication with the suction inlet (via passageway 408, see Figure 30);
a sled assembly (288) moveably coupled to the housing and operably coupled to the inlet mechanism (see Paragraph [0143]; Figures 24, 33, and 35), wherein the sled assembly is configured to be moved in a proximal direction during insertion of the manifold into the receiver to cause the inlet mechanism to move correspondingly in a distal direction (the insertion of the manifold 124 into the receiver 116 moves the sled assembly 288 in the proximal direction and the transfer gears 438 causes translation of the inlet mechanism 324 in the distal direction, see Paragraph [0143]) to establish fluid communication between the suction outlet and the receiver outlet (when the manifold 124 is in the fully inserted operative position, the suction outlet 410 and the receiver outlet 404 are aligned to provide fluid communication between the receiver volume 368 and the waste containers 106/108, see Paragraph [0142]; Figures 57 and 58);
a lock assembly (claws 292 each may include a guide 506, see Figure 33 and 36) coupled to the housing (guide 506 is movably positioned within a track 508 defined within the lower housing 268, see Paragraph [0151]) and configured to lock the manifold within the receiver in a fully inserted position (claws 292 have engagement surfaces 504 that remain engaged with the distally-directed surfaces 290 of the catches 254, when manifold 124 is inserted into receiver 115, see Paragraph [0151]; see Figures 44 and 45); and
an actuator coupled to the lock assembly (guide 506 is configured to slidably move within and between the distal and proximal portions 510, 512, of the track 508, see Figures 33, 36, and 55) and axially moveable on rails disposed within the housing (the guide 506 is configured to slidably move within and between the distal and proximal portions 510, 512 of the track 508 of the lower housing 268, see Paragraph [0051]), wherein the actuator is configured to receive an axial input from a user to cause the lock assembly to unlock the manifold (the proximal portions 512 of the tracks 508 oriented in the proximal-to-distal direction prevent the claws 292 from pivoting about the hinges 488, and thus the distal movement of the manifold 124 results in distal translation of the sled assembly 288 relative to the lower housing 268. Once the guides 506 encounter the distal portion 510 of the tracks 508, the claws 292 pivot laterally outward about the hinges 488, and the engagement surfaces 504 are removed from engagement with the distally-directed surfaces 290 of the catches 254, see Paragraph [0151]).
Regarding Claim 36, Zollinger teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in Claim 35 and Zollinger further teaches wherein the lock assembly comprises an arm rotatably coupled to the housing (the claws having a first segment 496 rotatably coupled to hinge 488; see Figure 36), and an arm biasing member configured to bias the arm to a locked configuration (the claws 292 pivot laterally inward about the hinges 488, and the third segment 502 of the claws 292, including the engagement surfaces 504, move through the windows 486 of the cradle 452 to engage the distally-directed surfaces 290 of the catches 254, see Paragraph [0161]; Figure 39) in which the arm is abutting the manifold in the fully inserted position to prevent distal movement of the manifold and the sled assembly (with further translation of the sled assembly 288 in the proximal direction, the guides 506 slidably move within the proximal portions 512 of the tracks 508 oriented in the proximal-to-distal direction. The engagement surfaces 504 remain engaged with the distally-directed surfaces 290 of the catches 254, see Paragraph [0161]; Figure 55).
Regarding Claim 37, Zollinger teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in Claim 36 and Zollinger further teaches wherein the actuator (guide 506 in track 508) comprises a ramped surface (distal portion 510 of track 508 is ramped, see Figure 55), wherein the actuator is configured to receive an input from a user to cause the ramped surface to pivot the arm in opposition to the arm biasing member away from the manifold to permit movement of the manifold and the sled assembly in the distal direction (the distal movement of the manifold 124 results in distal translation of the sled assembly 288 relative to the lower housing 268. Once the guides 506 encounter the distal portion 510 of the tracks 508, the claws 292 pivot laterally outward about the hinges 488, and the engagement surfaces 504 are removed from engagement with the distally-directed surfaces 290 of the catches 254, see Paragraph [0151]).
Regarding Claim 38, Zollinger teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in Claim 37 and Zollinger further teaches wherein the sled assembly comprises a sled body (body of sled assembly 288, see Figure 24), and a sled biasing member coupled to the sled body (a biasing element 598, for example a coil spring, see Paragraph [0166]; Figure 51), wherein the sled biasing member is configured to bias the sled body distally against the arm while the arm is in the locked configuration (with the manifold 124 in the fully inserted operative position, the free end of the biasing element 598 may engage the rear barrier 602, and the biasing element 598 may assume a deformed or stressed state in which potential energy is stored, see Paragraph [0166]).
Regarding Claim 39, Zollinger teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in Claim 38 and Zollinger further teaches wherein the sled biasing member is further configured to cause distal movement of the sled body and the manifold in response to the arm being moved from the locked configuration to an unlocked configuration (the biasing element 598 are contemplated for providing movement of the manifold 124 and the sled assembly 288 in the distal direction in response to the locking assembly assuming the unlocked configuration, see Paragraph [0167]).
Regarding Claim 40, Zollinger teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in Claim 39 and Zollinger further teaches wherein the sled body comprises an arm retention surface (distally-directed surfaces 290, see Figure 55) configured to abut the arm of the lock assembly and retain the arm of the lock assembly in the unlocked configuration with the sled body is in a distal position (see Figure 49 and 55; Paragraph [0151]).
Regarding Claim 41, Zollinger teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in Claim 35 and Zollinger further teaches an inlet lock (sled lock assembly 304, see Figure 24, 26, and 28) assembly having a latch (522), and a biasing member (biasing element 532) configured to bias the latch to a locked position in which distal movement of the inlet mechanism is prevented (the biasing element 532 configured to urge the latch 522 to a locked configuration in which a front surface 534 of the key 524 is in engagement with a front surface 536 at least partially defining the aperture 516, see Paragraph [0154]), wherein the latch is configured to be moved from the locked position to an unlocked position by engagement of the manifold during insertion of the manifold in the receiver (the first operative position may be associated with or defined as the spine 300 engaging the lock assembly 304 and/or moving the sled lock assembly 304 from the locked configuration to the unlocked configuration, see Paragraph [0170]).
Regarding Claim 42, Zollinger teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in Claim 41 and Zollinger further teaches wherein the inlet mechanism comprises an inlet base (cradle 452), and wherein the latch is configured to abut the inlet base in the locked position (In the locked configuration, an abutment surface 538 of the latch 522 may engage an underside of the cradle 452 proximal to the aperture 516, see Paragraph [0154]; Figure 33)
Regarding Claim 43, Zollinger teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in Claim 42 and Zollinger further teaches wherein the inlet base defines a cavity for receiving the latch when the latch is in the unlocked position (an unlocked configuration in which the latch 522 is pivoted about the pin 530 to disengage the abutment surface 538 of the latch 522 from the front surface 536 of the aperture 516, see Paragraph [0134]; Figure 34).
Regarding Claim 44, Zollinger teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in Claim 35 and Zollinger further teaches wherein the receiver (116) further comprises a motion conversion assembly (see Figure 57) comprising a cam mechanism (a second barrier 464) operatively coupling the sled assembly and the inlet mechanism to facilitate the respective corresponding movements of the sled assembly and the inlet mechanism (the second barrier 464 is configured to move from the closed configuration to an open configuration in which the second barrier 464 is pivoted about the pin 474 against the biasing element 476. For example, during insertion of the manifold 124 into the receiver 116, the sled assembly 288 is moved in the proximal direction, and the transfer gears 438 cause translation of the inlet mechanism 324 in the distal direction, see Paragraph [0146]).
Regarding Claim 45, Zollinger teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in Claim 44 and Zollinger further teaches wherein the cam mechanism comprises a cam body (body of second barrier 464, see Figure 57) rotatably coupled to the housing about a cam center axis (he second barrier 464 pivotably coupled to the mount(s) 472, for example, with a pin 474 extending laterally between two of the mounts 472, see Paragraph [0145]), the cam body having an eccentric surface with a plurality of points of the eccentric surface being spaced from the cam center axis at different radial distances (the surface of barrier 464 being irregular shaped, see Figure 57).
Regarding Claim 47, Zollinger teaches a medical waste collection system (100, see Abstract; Figure 2) for collecting medical waste material through a manifold (124) during a medical procedure (see Paragraph [0079]), the medical waste collection system comprising:
a waste container (106, 108);
a vacuum source (vacuum pump 110) configured to provide a vacuum on the waste container (providing vacuum into the waste containers 106/108, see Paragraph [0081]); and
a receiver coupled to the waste container (receiver 116, see Figure 2) and comprising:
a housing (lower housing 268 and upper housing 366, see Figure 23) comprising an opening into which the manifold is configured to be inserted (the proximal end of the manifold 124 towards the opening 118 as the manifold 124 is readied to be inserted into the receiver 116, see Paragraph [0134]; Figure 23), the housing further comprising a receiver outlet (receiver outlet 404, see Figure 42);
an inlet mechanism (inlet mechanism 324, see Figure 30) movably coupled to the housing (movably disposed within the cavity 378 of the lower housing 268, see Paragraph [0137]) and comprising a suction inlet (266), and a suction outlet (suction outlet 410) in fluid communication with the suction inlet (via passageway 408, see Figure 30);
a sled assembly (288) moveably coupled to the housing and operably coupled to the inlet mechanism (see Paragraph [0143]; Figures 24, 33, and 35), wherein the sled assembly is configured to be moved in a proximal direction during insertion of the manifold into the receiver to cause the inlet mechanism to move correspondingly in a distal direction (the insertion of the manifold 124 into the receiver 116 moves the sled assembly 288 in the proximal direction and the transfer gears 438 causes translation of the inlet mechanism 324 in the distal direction, see Paragraph [0143]) to establish fluid communication between the suction outlet and the receiver outlet (when the manifold 124 is in the fully inserted operative position, the suction outlet 410 and the receiver outlet 404 are aligned to provide fluid communication between the receiver volume 368 and the waste containers 106/108, see Paragraph [0142]; Figures 57 and 58);
a lock assembly (claws 292 each may include a guide 506, see Figure 33 and 36) coupled to the housing (guide 506 is movably positioned within a track 508 defined within the lower housing 268, see Paragraph [0151]) and configured to lock the manifold within the receiver in a fully inserted position (claws 292 have engagement surfaces 504 that remain engaged with the distally-directed surfaces 290 of the catches 254, when manifold 124 is inserted into receiver 115, see Paragraph [0151]; see Figures 44 and 45), wherein the lock assembly comprises opposing arms coupled to the housing (the claws having a first segment 496 rotatably coupled to hinge 488; see Figure 36) and configured to pivot inwardly and outwardly in a direction orthogonal to the proximal and distal directions (claws 292 are pivotably coupled to hinge 488 to pivot inwardly and outwardly, see Figures 49 and 55), and arm biasing members each configured to bias a respective one of the opposing arms inwardly to a locked configuration (the claws 292 pivot laterally inward about the hinges 488, and the third segment 502 of the claws 292, including the engagement surfaces 504, move through the windows 486 of the cradle 452 to engage the distally-directed surfaces 290 of the catches 254, see Paragraph [0161]; Figure 39) in which distal movement of the manifold and the sled assembly is prevented (with further translation of the sled assembly 288 in the proximal direction, the guides 506 slidably move within the proximal portions 512 of the tracks 508 oriented in the proximal-to-distal direction. The engagement surfaces 504 remain engaged with the distally-directed surfaces 290 of the catches 254, see Paragraph [0161]; Figure 55); and
an actuator coupled to the lock assembly (guide 506 is configured to slidably move within and between the distal and proximal portions 510, 512, of the track 508, see Figures 33, 36, and 55) and configured to receive an input from a user to cause the opposing arms pivot outwardly and to unlock the manifold (the proximal portions 512 of the tracks 508 oriented in the proximal-to-distal direction prevent the claws 292 from pivoting about the hinges 488, and thus the distal movement of the manifold 124 results in distal translation of the sled assembly 288 relative to the lower housing 268. Once the guides 506 encounter the distal portion 510 of the tracks 508, the claws 292 pivot laterally outward about the hinges 488, and the engagement surfaces 504 are removed from engagement with the distally-directed surfaces 290 of the catches 254, see Paragraph [0151]).
Regarding Claim 48, Zollinger teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in Claim 47 and Zollinger further teaches wherein the sled assembly comprises a sled body (body of sled assembly 288, see Figure 24), and a sled biasing member coupled to the sled body (a biasing element 598, for example a coil spring, see Paragraph [0166]; Figure 51), wherein the sled biasing member is configured to bias the sled body distally against the opposing arms while the opposing arms is in the locked configuration (with the manifold 124 in the fully inserted operative position, the free end of the biasing element 598 may engage the rear barrier 602, and the biasing element 598 may assume a deformed or stressed state in which potential energy is stored, see Paragraph [0166]).
Regarding Claim 49, Zollinger teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in Claim 48 and Zollinger further teaches wherein the sled body comprises arm retention surfaces (distally-directed surfaces 290, see Figure 55) each configured to retain the respective one of the arms of in the unlocked configuration with the sled body is in a distal position (see Figure 49 and 55; Paragraph [0151]).
Regarding Claim 50, Zollinger teaches medical waste collection system (100, see Abstract; Figure 2) for collecting medical waste material through a manifold (124) during a medical procedure (see Paragraph [0079]), the medical waste collection system comprising:
a waste container (106, 108);
a vacuum source (vacuum pump 110) configured to provide a vacuum on the waste container (providing vacuum into the waste containers 106/108, see Paragraph [0081]); and
a receiver coupled to the waste container (receiver 116, see Figure 2) and comprising:
a housing (lower housing 268 and upper housing 366, see Figure 23) comprising an opening into which the manifold is configured to be inserted (the proximal end of the manifold 124 towards the opening 118 as the manifold 124 is readied to be inserted into the receiver 116, see Paragraph [0134]; Figure 23), the housing further comprising a receiver outlet (receiver outlet 404, see Figure 42);
an inlet mechanism (inlet mechanism 324, see Figure 30) movably coupled to the housing (movably disposed within the cavity 378 of the lower housing 268, see Paragraph [0137]) and comprising a suction inlet (266), and a suction outlet (suction outlet 410) in fluid communication with the suction inlet (via passageway 408, see Figure 30);
a sled assembly (288) moveably coupled to the housing and operably coupled to the inlet mechanism (see Paragraph [0143]; Figures 24, 33, and 35), wherein the sled assembly is configured to be moved in a proximal direction during insertion of the manifold into the receiver to cause the inlet mechanism to move correspondingly in a distal direction (the insertion of the manifold 124 into the receiver 116 moves the sled assembly 288 in the proximal direction and the transfer gears 438 causes translation of the inlet mechanism 324 in the distal direction, see Paragraph [0143]) to establish fluid communication between the suction outlet and the receiver outlet (when the manifold 124 is in the fully inserted operative position, the suction outlet 410 and the receiver outlet 404 are aligned to provide fluid communication between the receiver volume 368 and the waste containers 106/108, see Paragraph [0142]; Figures 57 and 58);
a lock assembly (claws 292 each may include a guide 506, see Figure 33 and 36) coupled to the housing guide 506 is movably positioned within a track 508 defined within the lower housing 268, see Paragraph [0151]) and configured to lock the manifold within the receiver in a fully inserted position (claws 292 have engagement surfaces 504 that remain engaged with the distally-directed surfaces 290 of the catches 254, when manifold 124 is inserted into receiver 115, see Paragraph [0151]; see Figures 44 and 45), wherein the lock assembly comprises an arm (the claws having a first segment 496 rotatably coupled to hinge 488; see Figure 36), and an arm biasing member (hinges 488 see Figure 39); and
an actuator coupled to the lock assembly (guide 506 is configured to slidably move within and between the distal and proximal portions 510, 512, of the track 508, see Figures 33, 36, and 55) and comprising a ramped surface (distal portion 510 of track 508 is ramped, see Figure 55), wherein the actuator is configured to receive an input from a user to move the ramped surface into engagement with the arm and pivot the arm in opposition to the arm biasing member and away from the manifold to unlock the manifold (the proximal portions 512 of the tracks 508 oriented in the proximal-to-distal direction prevent the claws 292 from pivoting about the hinges 488, and thus the distal movement of the manifold 124 results in distal translation of the sled assembly 288 relative to the lower housing 268. Once the guides 506 encounter the distal portion 510 of the tracks 508, the claws 292 pivot laterally outward about the hinges 488, and the engagement surfaces 504 are removed from engagement with the distally-directed surfaces 290 of the catches 254, see Paragraph [0151]).
Regarding Claim 51, Zollinger teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in Claim 50 and Zollinger further teaches wherein the sled assembly comprises a sled body (body of sled assembly 288, see Figure 24), and a sled biasing member coupled to the sled body (a biasing element 598, for example a coil spring, see Paragraph [0166]; Figure 51), wherein the sled biasing member is configured to bias the sled body distally against the arms while the arm is in the locked configuration (with the manifold 124 in the fully inserted operative position, the free end of the biasing element 598 may engage the rear barrier 602, and the biasing element 598 may assume a deformed or stressed state in which potential energy is stored, see Paragraph [0166]).
Regarding Claim 52, Zollinger teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in Claim 51 and Zollinger further teaches wherein the sled body comprises arm retention surfaces (distally-directed surfaces 308, see Figure 59) each configured to retain the respective one of the arms of in the unlocked configuration with the sled body is in a distal position (see Figure 59; Paragraph [0164]).
Regarding Claim 53, Zollinger further teaches wherein each of the arms comprises a shoulder (shoulder 492), and a finger (third segment 502) positioned opposite to the shoulder relative to a pivot at which the arm is coupled to the housing (see Figure 36).
Regarding Claim 54, Zollinger further teaches wherein the arm comprises a shoulder (shoulder 492), and a finger (third segment 502), wherein the ramped surface is configured to urge the finger generally upwardly and cause the shoulders to pivot outwardly (see Figure 50 and 55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zollinger (US 20200324029 A1) and Reasoner et al. (US 20150105740 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Reasoner”.
Regarding Claim 46, Zollinger teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in Claim 35. However, Zollinger does not explicitly disclose wherein the inlet mechanism moveable along an inlet axis at a decline angle, wherein the receiver further comprises a conduit coupled to and extending between the receiver outlet and an inlet of the waste container, and wherein the conduit comprises a receiver coupling portion extending from the receiver outlet along a conduit axis that is oblique to the inlet axis.
Reasoner teaches a surgical waste collection unit (see Abstract) with a receiver (44) for removably holding a manifold (46) to which suction lines are connected (50), wherein an inlet mechanism (receiver housing 62) moveable along an inlet axis at a decline angle (by extension, when the manifold 46 is seated in the receiver housing 62, the manifold is similarly offset from the horizontal, see Paragraph [0116] Figure 5), wherein the receiver (155) further comprises a conduit (adapter conduit 56) coupled to and extending between the receiver outlet and an inlet of the waste container (see below), and wherein the conduit comprises a receiver coupling portion extending from the receiver outlet along a conduit axis that is oblique to the inlet axis (see below).
Zollinger and Reasoner are analogous art because both disclose a surgical waste collection unit.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the inlet mechanism to Zollinger and further include it moveable along an inlet axis at a decline angle, wherein the conduit comprises a receiver coupling portion extending from the receiver outlet along a conduit axis that is oblique to the inlet axis, as taught by Reasoner. Reasoner teaches this feature ensures that substantially all waste material drawn into the manifold flows out through the valve disk bore and adapter conduit into the canister (see Paragraph [0116]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 1, filed 10/17/2025, with respect to claim objections of claims 49 and 52 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of claims 49 and 52 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, Applicant argues in independent claims 35, 47, and 50 that Zollinger fails to teach the newly amended claims disclosing “an actuator axially moveable on rails” and “the ramped surface of the actuator causes opposing arms configured to pivot inwardly and outwardly orthogonal to the direction that the manifold is inserted/removed”. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant that Zollinger fails to teach said features. As described above, the actuator can be claws (292) that has a guide (508) with a ramped surface that forces the claws to pivot inwardly/outwardly (as shown below). Therefore, Zollinger would still read
on the limitations of independent claims 35, 47, and 50.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC RASSAVONG/ (2/13/2025)Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/SARAH AL HASHIMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781