Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "50, 60 and 61" have both been used to designate pneumatic cylinder. Reference characters “60 and 61” have both been used to designate the pneumatic piston. Reference characters “50 and 51” have both been used to reference the hydraulic cylinder. Reference characters “50 and 51” have both been used to reference the hydraulic piston. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: recites "displacably instead of “displaceably” . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As currently stated, for claim 10 it is unclear if the actuator is adjusting the pneumatic valve on the basis of sensor values or if the control device is adjusting the pneumatic valve. To clarify claim meaning, a comma to the claim language to complete the recited clause.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 11,478,366 B2 (hereinafter, "Auberger").
In regards to claim 1, Auberger discloses a damper unit (Fig. 24, actuator-damper unit 100-k, col. 16, line 65-68), comprising:
a hydraulic cylinder (Fig. 24, first cylinder 12, col. 16, lines 9-15, see also col. 1 lines 29-31, for hydraulic/pneumatic interchangeability)
a hydraulic piston (Fig. 24, first piston 30, col. 16, lines 9-15) mounted displacably (Fig 1, col. 6, lines 20-35) within the hydraulic cylinder;
therein and which is coupled to (Fig. 24, col. 16, lines 9-15)
a piston rod (Fig. 24, piston rod 35, col. 16, lines 9-15) which divides the hydraulic cylinder into two hydraulic chambers (Fig. 24, fist fluid chamber 41 and second fluid chamber 42, col. 16, lines 15-18)
which are fluidically interconnected via at least one hydraulic channel (see below, annotated Fig. 24, HC1, fluid line 20, col. 16, lines 15-18),
wherein the hydraulic piston is coupled to the piston rod (Abstract);
a pneumatic cylinder (Fig. 24, second cylinder, 14, col. 16, lines 29-35, see also col. 1 lines 29-31, for hydraulic/pneumatic interchangeability);
a pneumatic piston (Fig. 24, piston, 32, col. 16, lines 29-35) mounted displacably (Fig 1, col. 6, lines 20-35) within the pneumatic cylinder,
wherein the pneumatic piston is coupled (Abstract) to the piston rod (Fig. 24, piston rod 35, col. 16, lines 20-35, see also Fig. 20, for configurations utilizing multiple piston rods),
wherein the pneumatic piston divides the cylinder into two pneumatic chambers (Fig. 24, fluid chambers 43 and 44, col. 16, lines 35-41)
which are fluidically interconnected via at least one pneumatic channel (see below, annotated Fig. 24, PC1, fluid line 20, col. 16, lines 5-10),
wherein a value of a volume change of the two hydraulic chambers during a movement of the hydraulic piston differs (col. 6 lines 41-46, and col 6. lines 59-64),
and wherein the two hydraulic chambers are fluidically coupled (Fig. 24, connection line 114, col. 16, lines 37-40) to a compensating volume (Fig. 24, compensating volume 60, see also col. 6, lines 55-60).
In regards to claim 2, Auberger further discloses that the value of the volume change (col. 6 lines 41-46) of the two pneumatic chambers (Fig. 24, fluid chambers 43 and 44, col. 16, lines 35-41) during a movement of the pneumatic piston (Fig. 24, piston 32, col. 16, lines 29-35) is identical (col. 6, lines 42-45).
In regards to claim 5, Auberger further discloses at least one switchable or adjustable hydraulic valve (Fig. 24, control valves 21 and22, col. 16, lines 62-65)
arranged in the at least one hydraulic channel (see below, annotated Fig. 24, HC1, , col. 16, lines 5-10).
In regards to claim 6, Auberger further discloses at least one switchable or adjustable pneumatic valve (Fig. 24, control valves 23 and 23’, col. 16, lines 40-45) arranged in the at least one pneumatic channel (see above, annotated Fig. 24, PC1, fluid line, 20, see also, col. 7, lines 5-10).
In regards to claim 9, Auberger further discloses an orthopedic device (col. 16, lines 12-14),
comprising: an upper part (Fig. 2, upper part 1, col. 7, lines 35-41);
a lower part (Fig. 2, lower part 3, col. 7, lines 35-41),
wherein the upper part and the lower part are mounted pivotably (Fig. 2, pivot axis 3, col. 7, lines 35-41) on each other via a joint (Fig. 2, joint 300, col. 7, lines 35-41);
and having a damper unit (Fig. 23, actuator-damper unit 100-k, col. 16, lines 9-15, all the 100-n damper units are seen as interchangeable within the large system of Fig. 2) as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the damper unit is arranged between the upper part and the lower part and provides resistance to pivoting (Fig. 2 attachment shows the attachment would resist pivoting) of the upper part relative to the lower part (Fig. 2, damper unit 100-k, in combination with housing, 10, col. 7, lines 35-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,478,366 B2 ("Auberger").
In regards to claim 3, a first embodiment of Auberger further discloses the damper unit (Fig. 24, actuator-damper unit 100-k, col. 16, lines 65-68) as claimed in claim 1,
including the pneumatic piston (Fig. 24, piston 32, col. 16, lines 29-35).
However, Figure 24 in Auberger does not explicitly disclose a configuration with a piston rod arranged on the pneumatic piston.
A second embodiment disclosed in Auberger teaches a damper unit ( Fig. 20, actuator-damper unit, 100-f, col. 14, lines 5-25)
wherein the pneumatic piston (Fig. 20, piston, 32, col. 14, lines 15-20)
is arranged on the piston rod (Fig. 20, piston rod, 35, col. 6, lines 20-35)
and the piston rod projects through the pneumatic cylinder (Fig. 20, piston rod, 35 in combination with cylinder, 14, col. 14 lines 20-30).
Therefore, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a piston rod for use on the pneumatic piston as since doing so merely involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143).
In regards to claim 7, a first embodiment of Auberger further discloses that in the at least one pneumatic channel (see below, annotated Fig. 24, PC1, col. 16, lines 5-10)
there are arranged two pneumatic valves (Fig. 24, control valves 23 and 23’, col. 16, lines 40-45).
However, Figure 24 in Auberger does not explicitly disclose two pneumatic valves arranged with respect to which two mutually oppositely switched check valves, are arranged in a parallel channel, wherein the parallel channel is connected to the at least one pneumatic channel, via a connecting channel between the two pneumatic valves and the two mutually oppositely switched check valves.
A third embodiment disclosed in Auberger teaches a damper unit ( Fig. 19, actuator-damper unit 100-e, col. 13, lines 47-50) with at least one pneumatic channel (see below, annotated Fig. 19, PC1)
with respect to which two mutually oppositely switched check valves (Fig. 19, 3-way valve 25, col. 13 lines 58-62),
are arranged in a parallel channel (see below, annotated Fig. 19, PP1)
wherein the parallel channel is connected to the at least one pneumatic channel via a connecting channel (see below, annotated Fig. 19, C1) between the two pneumatic valves and the two mutually oppositely switched check valves.
Therefore, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the damper of the first embodiment of Auberger to include switched check valves of the third embodiment of Auberger in order to allow the pressure to be selectively controlled throughout the system (col. 13, line 55-60).
In regards to claim 8, the first embodiment of Auberger further discloses that the connecting channel (Fig. 24, connection line, 114, col. 16, lines 50-55)
provides a fluidic connection to a surrounding atmosphere and is closed via a filling valve (Fig. 24, non-return valve 24, col. 16, lines 65-col. 17 lines 1-5).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,478,366 B2 ("Auberger") in view of WO 2013/004690 A1 ("Keck").
In regards to claim 4, Auberger further discloses
the pneumatic piston (Fig. 24, piston 32, col. 16, lines 29-35),
the hydraulic cylinder (Fig. 24, first cylinder 12, col. 16, lines 9-15, see also col. 1 lines 29-31, for hydraulic/pneumatic interchangeability), and
the pneumatic cylinder (Fig. 4, cylinder 14, col. 16, lines 29-35, see also col. 1 lines 29-31, for hydraulic/pneumatic interchangeability). However Auberger, does not explicitly disclose a configuration wherein the pneumatic piston is fastened to the hydraulic cylinder and the hydraulic cylinder is arranged movably in the pneumatic cylinder.
Keck teaches the damper unit (Fig. 2, pneumatic actuator with hydraulic dampening, 1, para 0054 ) of claim 1,
wherein the pneumatic piston (Fig. 2, pneumatic piston, 14, para 0079)
is fastened (Fig. 2, para 0079, hydraulic cylinder described as inserted and firmly connected, with corresponding seals, 32, to prevent fluid leak, para 0083)
to the hydraulic cylinder (Fig. 2, hydraulic dampening cylinder, 22, para 0061)
and the hydraulic cylinder is arranged movably (Fig. 2, adjusting element, 11, para 0087)
in the pneumatic cylinder (Fig. 2, pneumatic cylinder, 13, para 0058).
Therefore, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the damper unit of Auberger to create hydraulic cylinder arranged movably in the pneumatic cylinder as taught by Keck in order to create a more compact design of the unit (Keck, para 0078).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,478,366 B2 ("Auberger") in view of US 2020/0237531 A1 (“Prince”).
In regards to claim 10, Auberger further discloses an orthopedic device (col. 16, lines 12-14), in claim 9,
wherein at least one pneumatic valve (Fig. 24, control valves 23 and 23’, col. 16, lines 40-45)
and a control device (Fig. 2, control device 80, col. 7, lines 49-53),
wherein the control device (Fig. 2, control device 80, col. 7, lines 49-53)
is coupled to sensors (Fig. 2, sensor 85, col. 7, lines 49-53) or to an operator control device
and adjusts the at least one pneumatic valve on a basis of sensor values and/or commands via the operator control device (Fig. 2, control valves, 23 and 23’, in combination with control device, 80, col. 7, lines 62-65).
However, Auberger does not explicitly disclose where the pneumatic valve is assigned an actuator. Prince teaches a hydraulic assembly (Fig. 5, hydraulic assembly, 500, para 0063) that can be used in orthopedic device applications (para 0062).
where the valve (Fig. 5A, first valve, 540, para 0066)
is assigned to an actuator (Fig. 5A, actuator, 538, para 0066)
which is coupled to a control device (Fig. 4, controller, 420, para 0069).
Therefore, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the above orthopedic device of Auberger in view of the actuator of Prince, to control the resistance of fluid flow and control prosthesis rotation during the gait cycle (para 0069).
Conclusion
/J.M.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774