DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/10/2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
In particular, the claim limitation “a mounting means” that uses the word “means” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. In para "[0061]", the specification states: “mounting device comprises a suction pad.” Therefore, the “mounting means” is construed as a suction pad.
The claim limitation “an orientation means” that uses the word “means” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. In para "[0127]", the specification states: “orientation means comprises at least a rotatable mirror or a mirrors using a galvanometer based motor, a galvo head” Therefore, the “orientation means” is construed as mirrors and a motor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 8, 9, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation of “skirt surrounds substantially 100% of the perimeter the aperture,” is therefore indefinite. For purposes of examination, the limitation is understood to be “skirt surrounds
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the skirt comprises on a part of a border in front of the window a soften element.” The limitation is unclear as it is unclear where “a part of a border” refers, whether “a border” is a portion of “the skirt” or “the window.” For purposes of examination, the limitation is understood to have the skirt, that has a border which is in front of the window, where the border of the skirt has a part, that is a soften element.
Claim 9 recites the limitation " wherein the soften element is placed on a whole border in front of the window.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether “a whole border” is the same as “a border” as previously recited in claim 8. For purposes of examination, it is understood to be the same element.
The term “majority” in claim 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “majority” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation of “a majority of reflections of the laser beam,” is therefore indefinite. For purposes of examination, the limitation is understood be “
The term “majority” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “majority” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation of “a majority of reflections of the laser beam,” is therefore indefinite. For purposes of examination, the limitation is understood be “
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of copending Application No. 18253548 in view of Huonker (US20150190886A1).
Regarding claim 1, Claim 1 of Application No. 18253548 teaches a laser apparatus inscribed in a parallelepiped rectangle R defined by a longitudinal axis, X, a vertical axis, Y defining a plane P and a lateral axis, Z, comprising (Claim 1 lines 1-3 A laser apparatus, inscribed in a parallelepiped rectangle R defined by a longitudinal axis, X, a vertical axis, Y defining a plane P and a lateral axis, Z, comprising):
a mounting means to mount the laser apparatus on a window, mounted in situ (Claim 1 lines 4-5 a mounting means to mount the laser apparatus on a window, mounted in situ);
a laser device generating a laser beam to treat a surface of the window (Claim 1 lines 6-7 a laser device generating a laser beam to treat a surface of the window);
an orientation means able to orientate the laser beam defining a maximum decoatable surface (WSm) on the surface to be treated (Claim 1 lines 8-10 an orientation means able to orientate the laser beam defining a maximum decoatable surface on the surface to be treated);
Claim 1 of Application No. 18253548 does not teach a housing comprising an aperture to let the laser beam out of the housing; and a skirt at least partially surrounding the aperture wherein the skirt is opaque to the laser beam.
Huonker teaches a housing (4) comprising an aperture (Fig. 5) to let the laser beam (2) out of the housing (Fig. 5); and
a skirt ([0023] four individual shielding sheets 8) at least partially surrounding the aperture (Fig. 2) wherein the skirt (8) is opaque to the laser beam (2, [0013] prevents laser radiation from being discharged outwards from the inner side of the shielding housing, taken to be opaque to the laser beam).
It would have been obvious to have modified the laser apparatus as taught in Claim 1 of Application No. 18253548 to be applied to a window as taught in Huonker to have a housing and a skirt in order to be able to shield the operating region in a safe manner with respect to a laser during laser processing operations (Huonker [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, Claim 1 of Application No. 18253548 and Huonker teach the laser apparatus according to claim 1, and Claim 2 of Application No. 18253548 wherein the laser apparatus is a decoating apparatus and wherein the laser device is designed to decoat at least partially a portion of a coating system present on a surface of the window (Claim 2 wherein the laser apparatus is a decoating apparatus and wherein the laser device is designed to decoat at least partially a portion of a coating system present on a surface of the window).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huonker (US20150190886A1) in view of Estino (US8927069B1) and further in view of Safai (US20130037198).
Figs. 2 and 3 of Huonker
Figs. 4 and 5 of Huonker
Regarding claim 1, Huonker teaches a laser apparatus (1) inscribed in a parallelepiped rectangle R (9) defined by a longitudinal axis, X, a vertical axis, Y defining a plane P and a lateral axis, Z, (Fig. 4) comprising:
a laser device (3) generating a laser beam (2) to treat a surface of the surface (6);
a housing (4) comprising an aperture (Fig. 5) to let the laser beam (2) out of the housing (Fig. 5); and
a skirt ([0023] four individual shielding sheets 8) at least partially surrounding the aperture (Fig. 2) wherein the skirt (8) is opaque to the laser beam (2, [0013] prevents laser radiation from being discharged outwards from the inner side of the shielding housing, taken to be opaque to the laser beam).
Huonker is silent on a window, a mounting means to mount the laser apparatus on a window, mounted in situ; an orientation means able to orientate the laser beam defining a maximum decoatable surface on the surface to be treated.
Estino teaches a window (110, 105), a mounting means (Col. 3 lines 1-30 mounts 507 a-507 d; Col. 5 lines 55-65 mounts 507a-507d may be suction cups) to mount the laser apparatus (410) on a window (110, 105), mounted in situ;
Huonker and Estino are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of laser apparatuses. It would have been obvious to have modified the laser apparatus as taught in Huonker to be applied to a window as taught in Estino as it is desirable to process windows using lasers in such that certain coatings can be removed to improve the performance of commercial windows with regards to improving RF transmission through coated windows (Estino Col. 3 lines 1-30). It would have been obvious to have modified Huonker to incorporate the teachings of Estino to have a mounting means and an orientation means so that a laser device may be applied to a window that is already in place (Estino Col. 5 lines 50-60) and to be able to isolate and direct the laser beam at only necessary locations on the windows (Estino Col. 7 lines 60-67).
Huonker and Estino are silent on an orientation means able to orientate the laser beam defining a maximum decoatable surface on the surface to be treated.
Safai teaches an orientation means ([0103-0105] Mirror 812, mirror 814, and scanning lens 816 are part of beam steering system 817; motor) able to orientate the laser beam (118) defining a maximum decoatable surface on the surface to be treated ([0105] scanning lens 816 is a lens that may be controlled by a motor or actuator to direct laser beam 118 to move within volume 82).
Huonker, Estino, and Safai are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of laser apparatuses. It would have been obvious to have modified the laser apparatus as taught in Huonker and Estino to have an orientation means as taught in Safai in order to be able to move a laser beam over a desired area to be cured so that a desired level of heating may be uniformly affected (Safai [0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Huonker, Estino, and Safai teach the laser apparatus according to claim 1, but Huonker and Safai are silent on wherein the laser apparatus is a decoating apparatus and wherein the laser device is designed to decoat at least partially a portion of a coating system present on a surface of the window.
Estino teaches wherein the laser apparatus is a decoating apparatus (Col. 3 lines 1-30 a pulsed laser to remove (i.e., ablate) the low-E coating) and wherein the laser device is designed to decoat at least partially a portion of a coating system (120) present on a surface of the window (110).
It would have been obvious to have modified the laser apparatus as taught in Huonker and Safai to be applied to a window as taught in Estino as it is desirable to process windows using lasers in such that certain coatings can be removed to improve the performance of commercial windows with regards to improving RF transmission through coated windows (Estino Col. 3 lines 1-30).
Regarding claim 3, Huonker and Estino teach the laser apparatus according to claim 1, and Huonker teaches wherein the skirt (8) surrounds at least 80% of a perimeter of the aperture (Fig. 3 sheets 8 covering the entirety of the aperture).
Regarding claim 4, Huonker, Estino, and Safai teach the laser apparatus according to claim 3, and Huonker wherein the skirt (8) surrounds substantially 100% of the perimeter the aperture (Fig. 3 sheets 8 covering the entirety of the aperture).
Regarding claim 5, Huonker, Estino, and Safai teach the laser apparatus according to claim 1, and Huonker teaches wherein the skirt (8) is separated from an external surface of the surface (6) by a distance Dg (Fig. 2 sheets 8 are separated from surface 6).
Huonker is silent on the window.
Estino teaches window (110, 105).
It would have been obvious to have modified the laser apparatus as taught in Huonker and Safai to be applied to a window as taught in Estino as it is desirable to process windows using lasers in such that certain coatings can be removed to improve the performance of commercial windows with regards to improving RF transmission through coated windows (Estino Col. 3 lines 1-30).
Regarding claim 6, Huonker, Estino, and Safai teach the laser apparatus according to claim 5, and Huonker teaches wherein the distance Dg is higher than or equal to 0 mm (Fig. 2 sheets 8 and surface 6 shown to be flush, so Dg is taken to be 0mm).
Regarding claim 7, Huonker, Estino, and Safai teach the laser apparatus according to claim 5, and Huonker teaches wherein the distance Dg is equal to or smaller than 3 mm (Fig. 2 sheets 8 and surface 6 shown to be flush, so Dg is taken to be 0mm).
Regarding claim 8, Huonker, Estino, and Safai teach the laser apparatus according to claim 1, and Huonker teaches wherein the skirt (8) comprises on a part of a border (Fig. 3) in front of the surface (6) a soften element (14, [0025] sealing elements 14, for example, in the form of resilient protective brushes or protective cloths of laser-resistant and laser-absorbent material)
Huonker is silent on the window.
Estino teaches window (110, 105).
It would have been obvious to have modified the laser apparatus as taught in Huonker and Safai to be applied to a window as taught in Estino as it is desirable to process windows using lasers in such that certain coatings can be removed to improve the performance of commercial windows with regards to improving RF transmission through coated windows (Estino Col. 3 lines 1-30).
Regarding claim 9, Huonker, Estino, and Safai teach the laser apparatus according to claim 8, and Huonker teaches wherein the soften element (14) is placed on a whole border (Fig. 3) in front of the surface (6).
Huonker is silent on the window.
Estino teaches window (110, 105).
It would have been obvious to have modified the laser apparatus as taught in Huonker and Safai to be applied to a window as taught in Estino as it is desirable to process windows using lasers in such that certain coatings can be removed to improve the performance of commercial windows with regards to improving RF transmission through coated windows (Estino Col. 3 lines 1-30).
Regarding claim 10, Huonker, Estino, and Safai teach the laser apparatus according to claim 1, and Huonker teaches wherein the skirt (8) comprises at least two longitudinal panels (Fig. 3 four individual shielding sheets 8).
Regarding claim 11, Huonker, Estino, and Safai teach the laser apparatus according to claim 1, and Huonker teaches wherein the skirt (8) comprises at least two lateral panels (Fig. 3 four individual shielding sheets 8).
Regarding claim 12, Huonker, Estino, and Safai teach the laser apparatus according to claim 1, and Huonker teaches wherein the skirt (8) is fixed on the housing (4) with fixing means ([0024] rivets).
Regarding claim 13, Huonker, Estino, and Safai teach the laser apparatus according to claim 1, and Huonker teaches wherein the material of the skirt (8) comprises a metal-based material ([0024] metal sheets).
Regarding claim 14, Huonker, Estino, and Safai teach the laser apparatus according to claim 1, and Huonker teaches a method of treating a surface with a laser apparatus according to claim 1 mounted on the surface mounted in situ;
the method comprising treating a working area of a surface (6) with the laser beam (2),
wherein a majority of reflections of the laser beam (2)are blocked by the skirt (8, [0013] prevents laser radiation from being discharged outwards from the inner side of the shielding housing, taken to be include reflected laser beams).
Huonker is silent on surface of a window mounted in situ.
Estino teaches surface of a window (110, 105), mounted in situ.
It would have been obvious to have modified the laser apparatus as taught in Huonker and Safai to be applied to a window as taught in Estino as it is desirable to process windows using lasers in such that certain coatings can be removed to improve the performance of commercial windows with regards to improving RF transmission through coated windows (Estino Col. 3 lines 1-30).
Regarding claim 15, Huonker teaches a method of treating a surface (6) mounted in situ with a laser apparatus (1), the laser apparatus and having a skirt (8) around an aperture of the laser apparatus (1),
the method comprising:
generating the laser beam (2) with a laser device (3) to treat the surface (6).
Huonker is silent on the laser apparatus comprising a mounting means mount the laser apparatus on a window mounted in situ to block a majority of reflections of a laser beam and orienting the laser beam with an orientation means able to orientate the laser beam defining a maximum decoatable surface on the surface to be treated.
Estino teaches the laser apparatus comprising a mounting means (Col. 3 lines 1-30 mounts 507 a-507 d) to mount the laser apparatus (410) on a window (110, 105) mounted in situ to block a majority of reflections of a laser beam
It would have been obvious to have modified the laser apparatus as taught in Huonker to be applied to a window as taught in Estino as it is desirable to process windows using lasers in such that certain coatings can be removed to improve the performance of commercial windows with regards to improving RF transmission through coated windows (Estino Col. 3 lines 1-30). It would have been obvious to have modified Huonker to incorporate the teachings of Estino to have a mounting means and an orientation means so that a laser device may be applied to a window that is already in place (Estino Col. 5 lines 50-60) and to be able to isolate and direct the laser beam at only necessary locations on the windows (Estino Col. 7 lines 60-67).
Huonker and Estino are silent on orienting the laser beam with an orientation means able to orientate the laser beam defining a maximum decoatable surface on the surface to be treated.
Safai teaches orienting the laser beam with an orientation means ([0103-0105] Mirror 812, mirror 814, and scanning lens 816 are part of beam steering system 817; motor) able to orientate the laser beam (1180 defining a maximum decoatable surface (82) on the surface to be treated (106, [0105] scanning lens 816 is a lens that may be controlled by a motor or actuator to direct laser beam 118 to move within volume 82).
It would have been obvious to have modified the laser apparatus as taught in Huonker and Estino to have an orientation means as taught in Safai in order to be able to move a laser beam over a desired area to be cured so that a desired level of heating may be uniformly affected (Safai [0046]).
Regarding claim 16, Huonker, Estino, and Safai teach the laser apparatus according to claim 1, but Huonker and Safai are silent on wherein the window is a multi-glazed window.
Estino teaches wherein the window is a multi-glazed window (Col. 7 lines 25-45 double pane window 110, 120, 405).
It would have been obvious to have modified the laser apparatus as taught in Huonker and Safai to be applied to a multi-glazed window as taught in Estino as it is desirable to process windows using lasers in such that certain coatings can be removed to improve the performance of commercial windows with regards to improving RF transmission through coated windows (Estino Col. 3 lines 1-30).
Regarding claim 17, Huonker, Estino, and Safai teach the laser apparatus according to claim 3, and Huonker teaches wherein the skirt (8) surrounds at least 90% of the perimeter of the aperture (Fig. 3 sheets 8 covering the entirety of the aperture).
Regarding claim 19, Huonker, Estino, and Safai teach the laser apparatus according to claim 5, and Huonker teaches wherein the distance Dg is equal to or smaller than 2 mm (Fig. 2 sheets 8 and surface 6 shown to be flush, so Dg is taken to be 0mm).
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huonker (US20150190886A1) in view of Estino (US8927069B1) and Safai (US20130037198) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lefebvfre (US20170189993A1).
Regarding claim 18, Huonker, Estino, and Safai teach the laser apparatus according to claim 5, but are silent on wherein the distance Dg is higher than or equal to 0.1 mm.
Lefebvfre teaches wherein the distance Dg is higher than or equal to 0.1 mm ([0094] the distance between the nose cone and the plate to a constant or quasi-constant value, typically between 0.1 and 5 mm, preferably between 0.5 and 2 mm).
Huonker, Estino, Safai and Lefebvfre are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of laser processing devices. It would have been obvious to have modified the distance of between the skirt and the window as taught by the combination of Huonker, Estino, and Safai to incorporate the teachings of Lefebvfre to have the distance between the skirt and the window to be greater than or equal to 0.1mm as creating the distance between the skirt and the processed surface corrects defects in terms of the flatness of the processed surface (Lefebvfre [0094]).
Regarding claim 20, Huonker, Estino, and Safai teach the laser apparatus according to claim 3, and Huonker teaches wherein the skirt (8) surrounds at least 95% of the perimeter of the aperture (Fig. 3 sheets 8 covering the entirety of the aperture),
wherein the skirt (8) is separated from an external surface by a distance Dg (Fig. 2 sheets 8 are separated from surface 6).
but is silent on wherein the skirt is separated from an external surface of the window by a distance Dg higher than or equal to 0.5 mm and equal to or smaller than 1.5 mm.
Lefebvfre teaches wherein the skirt ([0094] nose cone) is separated from an external surface (30) by a distance Dg higher than or equal to 0.5 mm and equal to or smaller than 1.5 mm ([0094] the distance between the nose cone and the plate to a constant or quasi-constant value, typically between 0.1 and 5 mm, preferably between 0.5 and 2 mm).
It would have been obvious to have modified the distance of between the skirt and surface as taught by the combination of Huonker and Safai to incorporate the teachings of Lefebvfre to have the distance between the skirt and the window to be between 0.5mm and 1.5mm as creating the distance between the skirt and the processed surface corrects defects in terms of the flatness of the processed surface (Lefebvfre [0094]).
Huonker, Safai, and Lefebvfre do not teach a surface of the window.
Estino teaches a surface of the window (110, 105).
It would have been obvious to have modified the laser apparatus as taught in Huonker, Safai, and Lefebvfre to be applied to a window as taught in Estino as it is desirable to process windows using lasers in such that certain coatings can be removed to improve the performance of commercial windows with regards to improving RF transmission through coated windows (Estino Col. 3 lines 1-30).
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 2/11/2026
/VY T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761