DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao et al. (US 2020/0270278).
Considering Claims 1-4 and 11: Gao et al. teaches a compound of the formula
(¶0006), where X1 and X2 are nitrogen, A1 and A2 are cyano substituted C6 to 30 aryl groups, which have the reactive nitrile group, D1 and D2 are C1-20 alkyl group, C6-40 aryl group, or a C3-20 heterocyclic group; and R1 and R2 are halogen, C1-30 alkyl, C3-20 heterocyclic, or C6-40 aryl group (¶0007-15).
Considering Claim 7: Kori et al. teaches examples with 4 or 6 nitrile groups (M7 and M10).
Considering Claim 12: Kori et al. teaches a composition comprising the compound (¶0029).
Claims 1 and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (Polymer 160, 2019, 138-147).
Considering Claims 1 and 8-11: Wang et al. teaches a compound of the formula
(Scheme 1), which reads on the instant claims, where R1-R9 are hydrogen, R5 and R10 are hydrogen, and X1 and X2 are phenyl groups substituted with a hydroxyl reactive group.
Considering Claims 12-14 and 16: Wang et al. teaches the compound as being in a composition with a crosslinking agent and initiator (Scheme 1) and a reaction product/cured product thereof.
Considering Claim 15: Wang et al. teaches the composition of claim 12. The phrase “for an electronic component” is a statement of intended use. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kori et al. (US 2019/0067021) in view of Hayashida et al. (US 2014/0008626).
Considering Claims 1-6, 11, and 17-20: Kori et al. teaches a compound of the formula
. Kori et al. further teaches that the central aromatic ring can be substituted (¶0028).
Kori et al. is silent towards the substituents on the central aromatic ring, i.e. X1 and X2. However, Hayashida et al. teaches a compound of the formula
, where R1 can be a C1-20 alkyl group, C6-30 aryl group, or C3-30 heteroaryl group (¶0020, 22). Kori et al. and Hayashida et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely indolocarbazole compounds. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the substituent of Hayashida et al. on the compound of Kori et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Hayashida et al. suggests, they are conventional substituents for the indolocarbazole compounds.
Considering Claims 12-14: Kori et al. teaches a composition comprising the compound, a ketone or aldehyde crosslinking agent and an acid catalyst/initiator (¶0116).
Considering Claim 15: Kori et al. teaches the composition of claim 12. The phrase “for an electronic component” is a statement of intended use. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Considering Claim 16: Kori et al. teaches the polymer product/cured product (¶0116).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1- of copending Application No. 18/577,499 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Considering Claims 1-11 and 16-20: Claim 1 of application ‘499 teaches a compound of the formula I. Claim 4 teaches the reactive groups as being a carbon-carbon triple bond or phenolic hydroxyl group.
Considering Claims 12-16: Claims 7-10 or application ‘499 correspond to instant claims 12-16.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767