DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kori et al. (US 2019/0067021) in view of Hayashida et al. (US 2014/0008626).
Considering Claims 1, 4, and 11: Kori et al. teaches a compound of the formula
. Kori et al. further teaches that the central aromatic ring can be substituted (¶0028).
Kori et al. is silent towards the substituents on the central aromatic ring, i.e. X1 and X2. However, Hayashida et al. teaches a compound of the formula
, where R1 can be a C1-20 alkyl group, C6-30 aryl group, or C3-30 heteroaryl group (¶0020, 22). Kori et al. and Hayashida et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely indolocarbazole compounds. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the substituent of Hayashida et al. on the compound of Kori et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Hayashida et al. suggests, they are conventional substituents for the indolocarbazole compounds.
Considering Claims 12-14: Kori et al. teaches a composition comprising the compound, a ketone or aldehyde crosslinking agent and an acid catalyst/initiator (¶0116).
Considering Claim 15: Kori et al. teaches the composition of claim 12. The phrase “for an electronic component” is a statement of intended use. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Considering Claim 16: Kori et al. teaches the polymer product/cured product (¶0116).
Claims 21, 22, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kori et al. (US 2019/0067021) in view of Hayashida et al. (US 2014/0008626).
Considering Claims 21, 22, and 24: Kori et al. teaches a compound of the formula
. Kori et al. further teaches that the central aromatic ring can be substituted (¶0028). Kori et al. teaches a crosslinking agent that can be an amine compound, epoxy compound or urea compound (¶0144).
Kori et al. is silent towards the substituents on the central aromatic ring, i.e. X1 and X2. However, Hayashida et al. teaches a compound of the formula
, where R1 can be a C1-20 alkyl group, C6-30 aryl group, or C3-30 heteroaryl group (¶0020, 22). Kori et al. and Hayashida et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely indolocarbazole compounds. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the substituent of Hayashida et al. on the compound of Kori et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Hayashida et al. suggests, they are conventional substituents for the indolocarbazole compounds.
Considering Claim 25: Kori et al. teaches the composition of claim 12. The phrase “for an electronic component” is a statement of intended use. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Considering Claim 26: Kori et al. teaches the polymer product/cured product (¶0116).
Claims 27, 28, and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kori et al. (US 2019/0067021) in view of Hayashida et al. (US 2014/0008626).
Considering Claims 27, 28, and 30: Kori et al. teaches a compound of the formula
. Kori et al. further teaches that the central aromatic ring can be substituted (¶0028). Kori et al. teaches a photo acid or thermal acid generator (¶0141-42).
Kori et al. is silent towards the substituents on the central aromatic ring, i.e. X1 and X2. However, Hayashida et al. teaches a compound of the formula
, where R1 can be a C1-20 alkyl group, C6-30 aryl group, or C3-30 heteroaryl group (¶0020, 22). Kori et al. and Hayashida et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely indolocarbazole compounds. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the substituent of Hayashida et al. on the compound of Kori et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Hayashida et al. suggests, they are conventional substituents for the indolocarbazole compounds.
Considering Claim 31: Kori et al. teaches the composition of claim 12. The phrase “for an electronic component” is a statement of intended use. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Considering Claim 32: Kori et al. teaches the polymer product/cured product (¶0116).
Claims 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kori et al. (US 2019/0067021) in view of Hayashida et al. (US 2014/0008626).
Considering Claims 33 and 34: Kori et al. teaches a compound of the formula
. Kori et al. further teaches that the central aromatic ring can be substituted (¶0028). Kori et al. teaches a photo acid or thermal acid generator (¶0141-42).
Kori et al. is silent towards the substituents on the central aromatic ring, i.e. X1 and X2. However, Hayashida et al. teaches a compound of the formula
, where R1 can be a C1-20 alkyl group, C6-30 aryl group, or C3-30 heteroaryl group (¶0020, 22). Kori et al. and Hayashida et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely indolocarbazole compounds. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the substituent of Hayashida et al. on the compound of Kori et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Hayashida et al. suggests, they are conventional substituents for the indolocarbazole compounds.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7-10 of copending Application No. 18/577,499 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Considering Claims 1, 4, and 11: Claim 1 of application ‘499 teaches a compound of the formula I. Claim 4 teaches the reactive groups as being a carbon-carbon triple bond or phenolic hydroxyl group.
Considering Claims 12-16: Claims 7-10 or application ‘499 correspond to instant claims 12-16.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 33 and 34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/577,499 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Considering Claims 33 and 34: Claim 1 of application ‘499 teaches a compound of the formula I. Claim 4 teaches the reactive groups as being a carbon-carbon triple bond or phenolic hydroxyl group.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Considering Claim 23: The prior art of record does not teach or suggest the claimed structure, where the compound contains three or more reactive groups in the molecule. The closest prior art of record is Kori et al., discussed above. There is not suggestion in the art to add a third reactive group to the compound of Kori et al., which contains two reactive groups, absent impermissible hindsight. As such, the claim is non-obvious over the closest prior art of record.
Considering Claim 29: The prior art of record does not teach or suggest the claimed structure, where the compound contains three or more reactive groups in the molecule. The closest prior art of record is Kori et al., discussed above. There is not suggestion in the art to add a third reactive group to the compound of Kori et al., which contains two reactive groups, absent impermissible hindsight. As such, the claim is non-obvious over the closest prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because:
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767