The amendment filed 12/15/2025 has been entered.
Claims 24, 26-33 and 35-43 are pending.
Claims 1-23, 25 and 34 are canceled.
Claims 24, 26-33 and 35-43 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24, 28-29, 33, 37-39 and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220116144 A1) in view of Dai et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240032024 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Liu and Dai.
In regard to Claim 24, Liu teaches A method comprising: calculating, by an apparatus, a number of resource elements (The terminal apparatus 1 may first determine the number of the resource elements N′RE, Para. 328, FIG. 1. The terminal apparatus 1 may calculate N′RE based on N′RE = RNBSC*Nshsymb − NPRBDMRS – Nslots * NPRBoh, Para. 333, FIGS. 1, 22) allocated within a physical resource block (the number of the resource elements N′RE within one PRB, Para. 328, FIG. 1. NPRBDMRS is the number of DMRS resource elements per PRB, Para. 332, FIG. 22) based at least on an overhead value (NPRBoh is the overhead configured by a higher layer parameter xOverhead, Para. 333, FIGS. 1, 22) used for transport block size determination of a transport block (The terminal apparatus 1 may first determine the number of the resource elements N′RE within one PRB in order to determine the transport block size of the transport block, Para. 328, FIG. 1. The terminal apparatus 1 may calculate the resource elements based on the first number of symbols (the second number of symbols) and determine the transport block size for the first PUSCH, Para. 330, FIGS. 1, 22) that is transmitted across multiple slots (The number of symbols used to determine the transport block size may be the number of symbols corresponding to the total repetitive transmissions of the transport block in one or more slots, Para. 333, FIG. 22).
Liu teaches calculating a total number of resource elements (Next, the terminal apparatus 1 may determine the total number NRE of the resource elements, Para. 337, FIG. 1), allocated for a physical uplink shared channel (schedules the PUSCH, Para. 337, FIGS. 1, 22) or a physical downlink shared channel, covering the multiple slots (the transport block in one or more slots, Para. 333, FIG. 22) for the transport block size determination (determine the transport block size may be the number of symbols corresponding to the total repetitive transmissions of the transport block in one or more slots, Para. 333, FIG. 22) based at least on the calculated number of resource elements (determine the number of the resource elements N′RE, Para. 328, FIG. 1. The terminal apparatus 1 may calculate N′RE based on N′RE = RNBSC*Nshsymb − NPRBDMRS – Nslots * NPRBoh, Para. 333, FIGS. 1, 22. The terminal apparatus 1 may calculate NRE based on NRE=min(156, N′RE )*PRB, Para. 337, FIGS. 1, 22) allocated within the physical resource block (the number of the resource elements N′RE within one PRB, Para. 328, FIG. 1. NPRBDMRS is the number of DMRS resource elements per PRB, Para. 332, FIG. 22).
Liu teaches transmitting (repetitive transmissions of the transport block, Para. 333, FIGS. 1, 22) or receiving the transport block across the multiple slots (the transport block size may be the number of symbols corresponding to the total repetitive transmissions of the transport block in one or more slots, Para. 333, FIGS. 1, 22) based at least on the calculation of the total number of resource elements (the terminal apparatus 1 may determine the total number NRE of the resource elements, Para. 337, FIG. 1).
Although Liu teaches calculating a total number of resource elements, Liu fails to teach wherein the calculating a total number of resource elements is further based at least on a value that defines a maximum number of resource elements for a single slot, wherein the value is scaled by at least an actual number of slots across which the transport block is transmitted.
Dai teaches, wherein the calculating a total number of resource elements (the total number of REs (NRE) may be calculated using Equation 4. NRE=min(156, NRE′)*nPRB , Para. 72) is further based at least on a value that defines a maximum number of resource elements for a single slot (After the per-slot number of data REs (NRE′) is calculated, Para. 72), wherein the value is scaled by at least an actual number of slots across which the transport block is transmitted (TBS may be scaled up for a four-slot PUSCH (e.g., scaled by a factor of four), Para. 27. The number of slots may be radio resource control (RRC) configured (e.g., 2 slots, 4 slots, or 8 slots), Para. 63, FIG. 4. The example multiple-slot PUSCH 400 includes a 4-slot PUSCH 410. Multiple-slot PUSCH with TBS scaling-up or MCS scaling-up by an integer (e.g., 4), Para. 65, FIG. 4. Determine the TB size by PUSCH resource over multiple slots (sometimes referred to as “TBS scaling”), Para. 69. Ninfo=M*NRE*R*Qm*v , Para. 80. In Equation 7, the term “M” refers to the uplink scaling factor for TBS scaling for a PUSCH transmission, the term “NRE” refers to the total number of REs, Para. 81. Table 2 illustrates example TBS scaling field values that map to corresponding uplink scaling factor (M) values. Uplink Scaling Factor (M) 4, Para. 82, Table 2). [the examiner notes that NRE is calculated from an equation that includes NRE′, which is NRE=min(156, NRE′)*nPRB , and as a result, the scaling of M in Ninfo=M*NRE*R*Qm*v is equivalent to Ninfo=M*min(156, NRE′)*nPRB*R*Qm*v].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dai with the teachings of Liu since Dai provides a technique for scaling values related to a number of resource elements with respect to a number of slots for transport blocks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu to permit transport blocks that include multiple slots to utilize an appropriate numbers of resource elements.
In regard to Claim 28, as presented in the rejection of Claim 24, Liu teaches the calculating of the total number of resource elements.
Liu fails to teach the calculating of the total number of resource elements is further based at least on one or more values of a maximum number of resource elements that are allocated for transmitting the transport block over multiple slots, wherein the one or more values of the maximum number of resource elements are calculated by multiplying an actual number of symbols over which the transport block is transmitted and a number of the resource elements per the resource element set per symbol.
Dai teaches the calculating of the total number of resource elements is further based at least on one or more values of a maximum number of resource elements that are allocated for transmitting the transport block over multiple slots, wherein the one or more values of the maximum number of resource elements are calculated by multiplying an actual number of symbols over which the transport block is transmitted and a number of the resource elements per the resource element set per symbol (the UE may calculate the total number of REs (NRE). For example, the UE may use Equation 8 to calculate the number of REs (NRE) allocated to the PUSCH. NRE=min(156*M,NRE″)*nPRB, Para. 89. The parameter “M” refers to slots for PUSCH repetition Type A or nominal repetitions for PUSCH repetition Type B, the parameter “NRE″” refers to the per-PRB and per-M-single repetition (e.g., per-M-slot for PUSCH repetition Type A or per-M-nominal repetition for PUSCH repetition Type B) number of data REs, and the term “nPRB” refers to the total number of PRBs, Para. 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dai with the teachings of Liu since Dai provides a technique for determining a total number of available resource elements across a number of slots for a transport block involving repetition, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu to manage repetitive transmissions of transport blocks based on the total number of resource elements available across multiple slots.
In regard to Claim 29, as presented in the rejection of Claim 24, Liu teaches the overhead value.
Liu fails to teach the one or more calculated values of the maximum number of resource elements are reduced by a scalar value, wherein the actual number of symbols is reduced by the scalar value, and/or wherein the scalar value is equal to the overhead value.
Dai teaches the one or more calculated values of the maximum number of resource elements are reduced by a scalar value, wherein the actual number of symbols is reduced by the scalar value (the scaling factor (S) may be less than one (S<1) and may be used to adjust the TB size, Para. 77. The TB size may be adjusted by scaling-down the intermediate value (Ninfo) by the scaling factor (S), Para. 78), and/or wherein the scalar value is equal to the overhead value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dai with the teachings of Liu since Dai provides a technique for determining a total number of available resource elements across a number of slots for a transport block involving repetition, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu to manage repetitive transmissions of transport blocks based on the total number of resource elements available across multiple slots.
In regard to Claim 33, Liu teaches An apparatus (The terminal apparatus 1, Para. 333, FIGS. 1, 22) comprising: at least one processor (a program that controls a central processing unit (CPU) to operate a computer, Para. 427, FIG. 23); and at least one memory including computer program code (Programs or information processed by the programs are temporarily stored in a volatile memory, Para. 427, FIG. 23), the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to at least: calculate a number of resource elements (The terminal apparatus 1 may first determine the number of the resource elements N′RE, Para. 328, FIG. 1. The terminal apparatus 1 may calculate N′RE based on N′RE = RNBSC*Nshsymb − NPRBDMRS – Nslots * NPRBoh, Para. 333, FIGS. 1, 22) allocated within a physical resource block (the number of the resource elements N′RE within one PRB, Para. 328, FIG. 1. NPRBDMRS is the number of DMRS resource elements per PRB, Para. 332, FIG. 22) based at least on an overhead value (NPRBoh is the overhead configured by a higher layer parameter xOverhead, Para. 333, FIGS. 1, 22) used for transport block size determination of a transport block (The terminal apparatus 1 may first determine the number of the resource elements N′RE within one PRB in order to determine the transport block size of the transport block, Para. 328, FIG. 1. The terminal apparatus 1 may calculate the resource elements based on the first number of symbols (the second number of symbols) and determine the transport block size for the first PUSCH, Para. 330, FIGS. 1, 22) that is transmitted across multiple slots (The number of symbols used to determine the transport block size may be the number of symbols corresponding to the total repetitive transmissions of the transport block in one or more slots, Para. 333, FIG. 22).
Liu teaches calculate a total number of resource elements (Next, the terminal apparatus 1 may determine the total number NRE of the resource elements, Para. 337, FIG. 1), allocated for a physical uplink shared channel (schedules the PUSCH, Para. 337, FIGS. 1, 22) or a physical downlink shared channel, covering the multiple slots (the transport block in one or more slots, Para. 333, FIG. 22) for the transport block size determination (determine the transport block size may be the number of symbols corresponding to the total repetitive transmissions of the transport block in one or more slots, Para. 333, FIG. 22) based at least on the calculated number of resource elements (determine the number of the resource elements N′RE, Para. 328, FIG. 1. The terminal apparatus 1 may calculate N′RE based on N′RE = RNBSC*Nshsymb − NPRBDMRS – Nslots * NPRBoh, Para. 333, FIGS. 1, 22. The terminal apparatus 1 may calculate NRE based on NRE=min(156, N′RE )*PRB, Para. 337, FIGS. 1, 22) allocated within the physical resource block (the number of the resource elements N′RE within one PRB, Para. 328, FIG. 1. NPRBDMRS is the number of DMRS resource elements per PRB, Para. 332, FIG. 22).
Liu teaches transmit (repetitive transmissions of the transport block, Para. 333, FIGS. 1, 22) or receive the transport block across the multiple slots (the transport block size may be the number of symbols corresponding to the total repetitive transmissions of the transport block in one or more slots, Para. 333, FIGS. 1, 22) based at least on the calculation of the total number of resource elements (the terminal apparatus 1 may determine the total number NRE of the resource elements, Para. 337, FIG. 1).
Although Liu teaches calculate a total number of resource elements, Liu fails to teach wherein the total number of resource elements calculation is further based at least on a value that defines a maximum number of resource elements for a single slot, wherein the value is scaled by at least an actual number of slots across which the transport block is transmitted.
Dai teaches, wherein the total number of resource elements calculation (the total number of REs (NRE) may be calculated using Equation 4. NRE=min(156, NRE′)*nPRB , Para. 72) is further based at least on a value that defines a maximum number of resource elements for a single slot (After the per-slot number of data REs (NRE′) is calculated, Para. 72), wherein the value is scaled by at least an actual number of slots across which the transport block is transmitted (TBS may be scaled up for a four-slot PUSCH (e.g., scaled by a factor of four), Para. 27. The number of slots may be radio resource control (RRC) configured (e.g., 2 slots, 4 slots, or 8 slots), Para. 63, FIG. 4. The example multiple-slot PUSCH 400 includes a 4-slot PUSCH 410. Multiple-slot PUSCH with TBS scaling-up or MCS scaling-up by an integer (e.g., 4), Para. 65, FIG. 4. Determine the TB size by PUSCH resource over multiple slots (sometimes referred to as “TBS scaling”), Para. 69. Ninfo=M*NRE*R*Qm*v , Para. 80. In Equation 7, the term “M” refers to the uplink scaling factor for TBS scaling for a PUSCH transmission, the term “NRE” refers to the total number of REs, Para. 81. Table 2 illustrates example TBS scaling field values that map to corresponding uplink scaling factor (M) values. Uplink Scaling Factor (M) 4, Para. 82, Table 2). [the examiner notes that NRE is calculated from an equation that includes NRE′, which is NRE=min(156, NRE′)*nPRB , and as a result, the scaling of M in Ninfo=M*NRE*R*Qm*v is equivalent to Ninfo=M*min(156, NRE′)*nPRB*R*Qm*v].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dai with the teachings of Liu since Dai provides a technique for scaling values related to a number of resource elements with respect to a number of slots for transport blocks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu to permit transport blocks that include multiple slots to utilize an appropriate numbers of resource elements.
In regard to Claim 37, as presented in the rejection of Claim 33, Liu teaches the total number of resource elements.
Liu fails to teach the total number of resource elements calculation is further based at least on one or more values of a maximum number of resource elements that are allocated for transmitting the transport block over multiple slots, wherein the one or more values of the maximum number of resource elements are calculated by multiplying an actual number of symbols over which the transport block is transmitted and a number of the resource elements per the resource element set per symbol.
Dai teaches the total number of resource elements calculation is further based at least on one or more values of a maximum number of resource elements that are allocated for transmitting the transport block over multiple slots, wherein the one or more values of the maximum number of resource elements are calculated by multiplying an actual number of symbols over which the transport block is transmitted and a number of the resource elements per the resource element set per symbol (the UE may calculate the total number of REs (NRE). For example, the UE may use Equation 8 to calculate the number of REs (NRE) allocated to the PUSCH. NRE=min(156*M,NRE″)*nPRB, Para. 89. The parameter “M” refers to slots for PUSCH repetition Type A or nominal repetitions for PUSCH repetition Type B, the parameter “NRE″” refers to the per-PRB and per-M-single repetition (e.g., per-M-slot for PUSCH repetition Type A or per-M-nominal repetition for PUSCH repetition Type B) number of data REs, and the term “nPRB” refers to the total number of PRBs, Para. 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dai with the teachings of Liu since Dai provides a technique for determining a total number of available resource elements across a number of slots for a transport block involving repetition, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu to manage repetitive transmissions of transport blocks based on the total number of resource elements available across multiple slots.
In regard to Claim 38, as presented in the rejection of Claim 33, Liu teaches the overhead value.
Liu fails to teach the one or more calculated values of the maximum number of resource elements are reduced by a scalar value, wherein the actual number of symbols is reduced by the scalar value, and/or wherein the scalar value is equal to the overhead value.
Dai teaches the one or more calculated values of the maximum number of resource elements are reduced by a scalar value, wherein the actual number of symbols is reduced by the scalar value (the scaling factor (S) may be less than one (S<1) and may be used to adjust the TB size, Para. 77. The TB size may be adjusted by scaling-down the intermediate value (Ninfo) by the scaling factor (S), Para. 78), and/or wherein the scalar value is equal to the overhead value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dai with the teachings of Liu since Dai provides a technique for determining a total number of available resource elements across a number of slots for a transport block involving repetition, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu to manage repetitive transmissions of transport blocks based on the total number of resource elements available across multiple slots.
In regard to Claim 39, Liu teaches the resource element set is a physical resource block (the number of the resource elements N′RE within one PRB, Para. 328, FIG. 1. NPRBDMRS is the number of DMRS resource elements per PRB, Para. 332, FIG. 22) or a number of subcarriers.
In regard to Claim 43, Liu teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including program code (Programs or information processed by the programs are temporarily stored in a volatile memory, Para. 427, FIG. 23) which when executed by at least one processor causes operations (a program that controls a central processing unit (CPU) to operate a computer, Para. 427, FIG. 23) comprising: calculating a number of resource elements (The terminal apparatus 1 may first determine the number of the resource elements N′RE, Para. 328, FIG. 1. The terminal apparatus 1 may calculate N′RE based on N′RE = RNBSC*Nshsymb − NPRBDMRS – Nslots * NPRBoh, Para. 333, FIGS. 1, 22) allocated within a physical resource block (the number of the resource elements N′RE within one PRB, Para. 328, FIG. 1. NPRBDMRS is the number of DMRS resource elements per PRB, Para. 332, FIG. 22) based at least on an overhead value (NPRBoh is the overhead configured by a higher layer parameter xOverhead, Para. 333, FIGS. 1, 22) used for transport block size determination of a transport block (The terminal apparatus 1 may first determine the number of the resource elements N′RE within one PRB in order to determine the transport block size of the transport block, Para. 328, FIG. 1. The terminal apparatus 1 may calculate the resource elements based on the first number of symbols (the second number of symbols) and determine the transport block size for the first PUSCH, Para. 330, FIGS. 1, 22) that is transmitted across multiple slots (The number of symbols used to determine the transport block size may be the number of symbols corresponding to the total repetitive transmissions of the transport block in one or more slots, Para. 333, FIG. 22).
Liu teaches calculating a total number of resource elements (Next, the terminal apparatus 1 may determine the total number NRE of the resource elements, Para. 337, FIG. 1), allocated for a physical uplink shared channel (schedules the PUSCH, Para. 337, FIGS. 1, 22) or a physical downlink shared channel, covering the multiple slots (the transport block in one or more slots, Para. 333, FIG. 22) for the transport block size determination (determine the transport block size may be the number of symbols corresponding to the total repetitive transmissions of the transport block in one or more slots, Para. 333, FIG. 22) based at least on the calculated number of resource elements (determine the number of the resource elements N′RE, Para. 328, FIG. 1. The terminal apparatus 1 may calculate N′RE based on N′RE = RNBSC*Nshsymb − NPRBDMRS – Nslots * NPRBoh, Para. 333, FIGS. 1, 22. The terminal apparatus 1 may calculate NRE based on NRE=min(156, N′RE )*PRB, Para. 337, FIGS. 1, 22) allocated within the physical resource block (the number of the resource elements N′RE within one PRB, Para. 328, FIG. 1. NPRBDMRS is the number of DMRS resource elements per PRB, Para. 332, FIG. 22).
Liu teaches transmitting (repetitive transmissions of the transport block, Para. 333, FIGS. 1, 22) or receiving the transport block across the multiple slots (the transport block size may be the number of symbols corresponding to the total repetitive transmissions of the transport block in one or more slots, Para. 333, FIGS. 1, 22) based at least on the calculation of the total number of resource elements (the terminal apparatus 1 may determine the total number NRE of the resource elements, Para. 337, FIG. 1).
Although Liu teaches calculating a total number of resource elements, Liu fails to teach wherein the calculating a total number of resource elements is further based at least on a value that defines a maximum number of resource elements for a single slot, wherein the value is scaled by at least an actual number of slots across which the transport block is transmitted.
Dai teaches, wherein the calculating a total number of resource elements (the total number of REs (NRE) may be calculated using Equation 4. NRE=min(156, NRE′)*nPRB , Para. 72) is further based at least on a value that defines a maximum number of resource elements for a single slot (After the per-slot number of data REs (NRE′) is calculated, Para. 72), wherein the value is scaled by at least an actual number of slots across which the transport block is transmitted (TBS may be scaled up for a four-slot PUSCH (e.g., scaled by a factor of four), Para. 27. The number of slots may be radio resource control (RRC) configured (e.g., 2 slots, 4 slots, or 8 slots), Para. 63, FIG. 4. The example multiple-slot PUSCH 400 includes a 4-slot PUSCH 410. Multiple-slot PUSCH with TBS scaling-up or MCS scaling-up by an integer (e.g., 4), Para. 65, FIG. 4. Determine the TB size by PUSCH resource over multiple slots (sometimes referred to as “TBS scaling”), Para. 69. Ninfo=M*NRE*R*Qm*v , Para. 80. In Equation 7, the term “M” refers to the uplink scaling factor for TBS scaling for a PUSCH transmission, the term “NRE” refers to the total number of REs, Para. 81. Table 2 illustrates example TBS scaling field values that map to corresponding uplink scaling factor (M) values. Uplink Scaling Factor (M) 4, Para. 82, Table 2). [the examiner notes that NRE is calculated from an equation that includes NRE′, which is NRE=min(156, NRE′)*nPRB , and as a result, the scaling of M in Ninfo=M*NRE*R*Qm*v is equivalent to Ninfo=M*min(156, NRE′)*nPRB*R*Qm*v].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dai with the teachings of Liu since Dai provides a technique for scaling values related to a number of resource elements with respect to a number of slots for transport blocks, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu to permit transport blocks that include multiple slots to utilize an appropriate numbers of resource elements.
Claim(s) 26-27 and 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Dai, and further in view of Li et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220183053 A1), hereafter referred to as Li.
In regard to Claim 26, as presented in the rejection of Claim 24, Liu in view of Dai teaches the multiple slots.
Liu in view of Dai fails to teach the actual number of slots is defined by a ceil function of the actual number of symbols across the multiple slots over which the transport block is transmitted divided by a maximum number of symbols within a slot, or wherein the actual number of slots over which the transport block is transmitted is defined by the actual number of symbols across the multiple slots over which the transport block is transmitted divided by the maximum number of symbols within the slot.
Li teaches the actual number of slots is defined by a ceil function of the actual number of symbols across the multiple slots over which the transport block is transmitted divided by a maximum number of symbols within a slot, or wherein the actual number of slots over which the transport block is transmitted is defined by the actual number of symbols across the multiple slots over which the transport block is transmitted divided by the maximum number of symbols within the slot (a TB can be first divided into M CBGs which applies to DCI 0_1B, then each of the M CBGs can be divided into ceil(S/M) or floor(S/M) subgroups, Para. 93. The total number of available resource elements (REs) for CG PUSCH in the set of repeated slots, Para. 121. For the multiple slot repetitions of a TB, the UE does rate matching of the TB assuming the total number of REs of N slots. The N slots can be contiguous in time or can be separated, Para. 126).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with the teachings of Liu in view of Dai since Li provides a technique for determining a total number of available resource elements across a number of slots for a transport block involving repetition, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu in view of Dai to manage repetitive transmissions of transport blocks based on the total number of resource elements available across multiple slots.
In regard to Claim 27, as presented in the rejection of Claim 24, Liu in view of Dai teaches the calculating of the total number of resource elements.
Liu in view of Dai fails to teach the calculating of the total number of resource elements is further based at least on one or more values of a maximum number of resource elements that are allocated for transmitting the transport block over multiple slots, wherein the maximum number of resource elements corresponds to at least one of the actual number of slots over which the transport block is transmitted or corresponds to at least one of an actual number of symbols over which the transport block is transmitted, wherein the one or more values are configured via higher layer signaling.
Li teaches the calculating of the total number of resource elements is further based at least on one or more values of a maximum number of resource elements that are allocated for transmitting the transport block over multiple slots, wherein the maximum number of resource elements corresponds to at least one of the actual number of slots over which the transport block is transmitted or corresponds to at least one of an actual number of symbols over which the transport block is transmitted, wherein the one or more values are configured via higher layer signaling (assuming a high layer configures the slots for CG PUSCH, for example, there can be an N-bit bitmap. A slot mapped to a ‘1’ in the bitmap can be used for CG PUSCH transmission, Para. 114. The total number of available resource elements (REs) for CG PUSCH in the set of repeated slots, Para. 121. For the multiple slot repetitions of a TB, the UE does rate matching of the TB assuming the total number of REs of N slots. The N slots can be contiguous in time or can be separated, Para. 126).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with the teachings of Liu in view of Dai since Li provides a technique for determining a total number of available resource elements across a number of slots for a transport block involving repetition, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu in view of Dai to manage repetitive transmissions of transport blocks based on the total number of resource elements available across multiple slots.
In regard to Claim 35, as presented in the rejection of Claim 33, Liu in view of Dai teaches the multiple slots.
Liu in view of Dai fails to teach the actual number of slots is defined by a ceil function of the actual number of symbols across the multiple slots over which the transport block is transmitted divided by a maximum number of symbols within a slot, or wherein the actual number of slots over which the transport block is transmitted is defined by the actual number of symbols across the multiple slots over which the transport block is transmitted divided by the maximum number of symbols within the slot.
Li teaches the actual number of slots is defined by a ceil function of the actual number of symbols across the multiple slots over which the transport block is transmitted divided by a maximum number of symbols within a slot, or wherein the actual number of slots over which the transport block is transmitted is defined by the actual number of symbols across the multiple slots over which the transport block is transmitted divided by the maximum number of symbols within the slot (a TB can be first divided into M CBGs which applies to DCI 0_1B, then each of the M CBGs can be divided into ceil(S/M) or floor(S/M) subgroups, Para. 93. The total number of available resource elements (REs) for CG PUSCH in the set of repeated slots, Para. 121. For the multiple slot repetitions of a TB, the UE does rate matching of the TB assuming the total number of REs of N slots. The N slots can be contiguous in time or can be separated, Para. 126).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with the teachings of Liu in view of Dai since Li provides a technique for determining a total number of available resource elements across a number of slots for a transport block involving repetition, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu in view of Dai to manage repetitive transmissions of transport blocks based on the total number of resource elements available across multiple slots.
In regard to Claim 36, as presented in the rejection of Claim 33, Liu in view of Dai teaches the total number of resource elements.
Liu in view of Dai fails to teach the total number of resource elements calculation is further based at least on one or more values of a maximum number of resource elements that are allocated for transmitting the transport block over multiple slots, wherein the maximum number of resource elements correspond to at least one of the actual number of slots over which the transport block is transmitted or corresponds to at least one of an actual number of symbols over which the transport block is transmitted, wherein the one or more values are configured via higher layer signaling.
Li teaches the total number of resource elements calculation is further based at least on one or more values of a maximum number of resource elements that are allocated for transmitting the transport block over multiple slots, wherein the maximum number of resource elements correspond to at least one of the actual number of slots over which the transport block is transmitted or corresponds to at least one of an actual number of symbols over which the transport block is transmitted, wherein the one or more values are configured via higher layer signaling (assuming a high layer configures the slots for CG PUSCH, for example, there can be an N-bit bitmap. A slot mapped to a ‘1’ in the bitmap can be used for CG PUSCH transmission, Para. 114. The total number of available resource elements (REs) for CG PUSCH in the set of repeated slots, Para. 121. For the multiple slot repetitions of a TB, the UE does rate matching of the TB assuming the total number of REs of N slots. The N slots can be contiguous in time or can be separated, Para. 126).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with the teachings of Liu in view of Dai since Li provides a technique for determining a total number of available resource elements across a number of slots for a transport block involving repetition, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu in view of Dai to manage repetitive transmissions of transport blocks based on the total number of resource elements available across multiple slots.
Claim(s) 30-31 and 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Dai, and further in view of Juneja et al. (Pub. No.: US 20150365739 A1), hereafter referred to as Juneja.
In regard to Claim 30, as presented in the rejection of Claim 24, Liu in view of Dai teaches the overhead value.
Liu in view of Dai fails to teach the overhead value is determined based at least on the actual number of slots over which the transport block is transmitted or on the actual number of symbols over which the transport block is transmitted.
Juneja teaches the overhead value is determined based at least on the actual number of slots over which the transport block is transmitted (read the resizability information in the overhead and adjust its values based on local information related to a number of available tributary slots, Para. 7) or on the actual number of symbols over which the transport block is transmitted.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Juneja with the teachings of Liu in view of Dai since Juneja provides a technique for determining values of overhead based on a number of slots, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu in view of Dai to permit a overhead value to be determined based on a number of slots related to a repetition of a transport block.
In regard to Claim 31, as presented in the rejection of Claim 24, Liu in view of Dai teaches the overhead value.
Liu in view of Dai fails to teach the overhead value is determined based at least on a number of the multiple slots.
Juneja teaches the overhead value is determined based at least on a number of the multiple slots (read the resizability information in the overhead and adjust its values based on local information related to a number of available tributary slots, Para. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Juneja with the teachings of Liu in view of Dai since Juneja provides a technique for determining values of overhead based on a number of slots, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu in view of Dai to permit an overhead value to be determined based on a number of slots related to a repetition of a transport block.
In regard to Claim 40, as presented in the rejection of Claim 33, Liu in view of Dai teaches the overhead value.
Liu in view of Dai fails to teach the overhead value is determined based at least on the actual number of slots over which the transport block is transmitted or on the actual number of symbols over which the transport block is transmitted.
Juneja teaches the overhead value is determined based at least on the actual number of slots over which the transport block is transmitted (read the resizability information in the overhead and adjust its values based on local information related to a number of available tributary slots, Para. 7) or on the actual number of symbols over which the transport block is transmitted.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Juneja with the teachings of Liu in view of Dai since Juneja provides a technique for determining values of overhead based on a number of slots, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu in view of Dai to permit a overhead value to be determined based on a number of slots related to a repetition of a transport block.
In regard to Claim 41, as presented in the rejection of Claim 33, Liu in view of Dai teaches the overhead value.
Liu in view of Dai fails to teach the overhead value is determined based at least on a number of the multiple slots.
Juneja teaches the overhead value is determined based at least on a number of the multiple slots (read the resizability information in the overhead and adjust its values based on local information related to a number of available tributary slots, Para. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Juneja with the teachings of Liu in view of Dai since Juneja provides a technique for determining values of overhead based on a number of slots, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu in view of Dai to permit an overhead value to be determined based on a number of slots related to a repetition of a transport block.
Claim(s) 32 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Dai, and further in view of Sarkis et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210211219 A1), hereafter referred to as Sarkis.
In regard to Claim 32, as presented in the rejection of Claim 24, Liu in view of Dai teaches the overhead value.
Liu in view of Dai fails to teach the overhead value is determined based at least on a scaling of a first value of xOverhead, wherein the scaling modifies the first value by an actual number of slots over which the transport block is transmitted, or by an actual number of symbols over which the transport block is transmitted, or by a scaling factor.
Sarkis teaches the overhead value is determined based at least on a scaling of a first value of xOverhead, wherein the scaling modifies the first value by an actual number of slots over which the transport block is transmitted, or by an actual number of symbols over which the transport block is transmitted, or by a scaling factor (configuring one or more of the UE 115-a and the UE 115-b to determine a TBS 215 for sidelink communications depending on a second stage control (SCI-2) (e.g., based on a scaling factor), Para. 192. The UE 115-a may scale the overhead of the PSFCH based on the period of the PSFCH. As such, an overhead of the PSFCH may be scaled by a value dependent on the PSFCH period, Para. 201).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sarkis with the teachings of Liu in view of Dai since Sarkis provides a technique for scaling a value of overhead in relation to a channel period involving a transport block size determined with a scale factor, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu in view of Dai to permit an overhead value to be managed by a scale factor through calculations that consider transmission periods involving transport block sizes.
In regard to Claim 42, as presented in the rejection of Claim 33, Liu in view of Dai teaches the overhead value.
Liu in view of Dai fails to teach the overhead value is determined based at least on a scaling of a first value of xOverhead, wherein the scaling modifies the first value by an actual number of slots over which the transport block is transmitted, by the actual number of symbols over which the transport block is transmitted, or by a scaling factor.
Sarkis teaches the overhead value is determined based at least on a scaling of a first value of xOverhead, wherein the scaling modifies the first value by an actual number of slots over which the transport block is transmitted, by the actual number of symbols over which the transport block is transmitted, or by a scaling factor (configuring one or more of the UE 115-a and the UE 115-b to determine a TBS 215 for sidelink communications depending on a second stage control (SCI-2) (e.g., based on a scaling factor), Para. 192. The UE 115-a may scale the overhead of the PSFCH based on the period of the PSFCH. As such, an overhead of the PSFCH may be scaled by a value dependent on the PSFCH period, Para. 201).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sarkis with the teachings of Liu in view of Dai since Sarkis provides a technique for scaling a value of overhead in relation to a channel period involving a transport block size determined with a scale factor, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu in view of Dai to permit an overhead value to be managed by a scale factor through calculations that consider transmission periods involving transport block sizes.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 102
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that Therefore, when paragraph [0328] of Liu refers to 'determine the transport block size of the transport block', it is referring to a transport block transmission within one slot and not to a transport block transmission across multiple slots, as in claim 24 (and claims 33 and 43). This argument is not persuasive. Liu teaches in cited Para. 333 and FIG. 22: “The number of symbols used to determine the transport block size may be the number of symbols corresponding to the total repetitive transmissions of the transport block in one or more slots” (emphasis added). This shows that a single transport block can have transmissions in plural slots of Liu. The language in Claim 24 does not clearly exclude repetitive transmissions of a single transport block in plural slots from teaching a transport block that is transmitted across multiple slots of Claim 24. If there are clarifying features in the Specification of the Application that exclude repetitive transmissions of a single transport block in plural slots, such clarifying features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 24.
Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that This is also clear from Equation 6, disclosed in paragraph [0333] of Liu, where the overhead parameter (NPRBoh) is multiplied with Nslots, and not the total number of resource elements (N'RE) from which the transport block size is to be determined, which appears to be the assertion being made by the Examiner. This argument is not persuasive. Liu teaches in cited Para. 328: “the number of the resource elements N′RE within one PRB in order to determine the transport block size of the transport block” (emphasis added). This shows that resource elements N′RE within one PRB of Liu are utilized to determine the single transport block size of the single transport block.
Liu teaches in cited Para. 333: “NPRBoh is the overhead configured by a higher layer parameter xOverhead … the terminal apparatus 1 may calculate N′RE based on N′RE = RNBSC*Nshsymb − NPRBDMRS – Nslots * NPRBoh” (emphasis added). This shows that overhead NPRBoh of Liu is utilized to determine resource elements N′RE, where N′RE is utilized to determine the single transport block size of the single transport block. As a result, resource elements N′RE within one PRB determined from an overhead NPRBoh for determining a single transport block size of a single transport block of Liu, is substantively the same as a number of resource elements allocated within a physical resource block based at least on an overhead value used for transport block size determination of a transport block of Claim 24.
Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that Furthermore, it is clear from Fig. 9 and Figs. 18-22 that Liu relates to repeated transmissions of the same transport block in one or more slots, not to a transport block that is transmitted across multiple slots. This argument is not persuasive. Liu teaches in cited Para. 333 and FIG. 22: “The number of symbols used to determine the transport block size may be the number of symbols corresponding to the total repetitive transmissions of the transport block in one or more slots” (emphasis added). This shows that a single transport block can have transmissions in plural slots of Liu. The language in Claim 24 does not clearly exclude repetitive transmissions of a single transport block in plural slots from teaching a transport block that is transmitted across multiple slots of Claim 24. If there are clarifying features in the Specification of the Application that exclude repetitive transmissions of a single transport block in plural slots, such clarifying features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 24.
Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that With reference to amended claims 24 and 33 (and claim 43), it is noted that the features of claims 25 and 34 have been incorporated therein. This argument is not persuasive. The limitations added into Claims 24, 33 and 43, which are not taught by Liu, are taught by Dai et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240032024 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WU et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220346118 A1) teaches calculating a total number of resource elements is further based at least on a value that defines a maximum number of resource elements for a single slot (For the first resource occupation mode, in each aggregation slot, the number of Resource Element (RE) occupied by the PSSCH transmission is the same, and the TX UE determines the TBS according to the total number of REs occupied within any slot of multiple aggregated slots, Para. 256).
DAI et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230328723 A1) teaches calculating a total number of resource elements is further based at least on a value that defines a maximum number of resource elements for a single slot (Pre-fixing the starting bit location of each slot within the M-slot-unit for TBS determination by the number of data REs within each slot, Para. 69, FIG. 8).
Ye et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210385804 A1) teaches calculating a total number of resource elements is further based at least on a value that defines a maximum number of resource elements for a single slot (the wireless device may perform determination of the number of resource elements allocated for the V2X PSSCH on a per-slot basis, Para. 77. In 504, the wireless device may determine a transport block size (TBS) for the V2X PSSCH. The TBS for the V2X PSSCH may be determined based at least in part on the number of resource elements allocated for the V2X PSSCH, Para. 78, FIG. 5).
Sarkis et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210211219 A1) teaches calculating a total number of resource elements is further based at least on a value that defines a maximum number of resource elements for a single slot, wherein the value is scaled by at least an actual number of slots across which the transport block is transmitted (The scale component 730 may determine that the PSSCH occupies the number of REs associated with the allocated PRBs. In some examples, the scale component 730 may adjust an overhead of the PSCCH based at least in part on a value of the number of REs occupied by the PSSCH, where the overhead of the PSCCH is per slot, Para. 234).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
3-5-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477