DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding First Argument:
Applicant argues in substance that amended abstract has overcome examiner objection.
After review of Abstract submission dated 18 Nov 2025, the newly submitted abstract has overcome the objection as the submitted Abstract stands alone on a single page. The previous objection is hereby withdrawn.
Regarding Second Argument:
Applicant argues in substance that the previous 35 USC 101 rejection of claims 1-32 is improper and the claims are patentable.
Examiner has reviewed the amended claim language, and while the abstract idea rejection of the claims is indeed improper, the claim is still inoperative and the 101 rejection has been corrected to reflect.
Regarding Third Argument:
Applicant has cancelled claim 32 and argues that the rejection has overcome the previous rejections under 35 USC 112(f) and 112(b).
Examiner agrees, previous 112 (f) and 112(b) rejections of now cancelled claim 32 are hereby withdrawn.
Regarding Fourth Argument:
Applicant argues in substance that amended claim language has overcome previous 102(a)(1) rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-31 and 33 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-32 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims as currently written are purely mathematical in nature. Independent claims 1, 16, and 31 recite sensing of a channel, reception of a signal, and determination to refrain from communicating. Sensing of a channel and reception of a signal is the stimulation of an antenna which in turn is filtered and stimulates an analog to digital converter to produce a signal which is then transported to the processor as a digital signal for processing is a physical phenomenon and a mathematic calculation. The determination to refrain from communicating is also a mathematic calculation resulting in a non-action. The device does not perform any steps that use the received signal to perform a task such as a transmission. A channel being added to a non-occupancy list is also a purely mathematic operation.
Dependent claims do not cure the deficiencies noted above and are thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 11-12, 16-20, 22-23, 26-27, 31, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green (US 20170034707 A1) hereafter Green in view of Salem (US 20220124796 A1) hereafter Salem.
Regarding Claim 1:
Green discloses:
A first base ([¶0005] An AP) station for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory, ([¶0083] AP 105-d includes a processor 610, memory 620 (including software (SW) 625), transceiver(s) 630, and antenna(s) 640, which each may be in communication, directly or indirectly, with one another) the one or more processors configured to: sense a channel ([¶0005] perform various scans to determine which channels are available for use [¶0085] The AP communications manager 660 may include a controller or scheduler for controlling communications) receive, from a user equipment (UE)([¶0005] DFS can provide for the AP to perform a channel availability check (CAC) to search for radar pulses in the frequency channel where the AP is operating, or during an automatic channel scan. If the AP detects a radar signal in a current channel of operation, the AP discontinues operation on that channel and begins to operate on a different frequency after checking that the new frequency is free of radar signals. [¶0051] AP 105-a commences normal operations with any associated DFS operations. For example, AP 105-a may begin communicating with STAs 110 using an operating channel, or a group of operating channels. AP 105-a may also perform channel scanning procedures on other channels of the CCL during normal operations. For example, AP 105-a may perform CAC procedures in a random manner and/or in a predetermined order to ensure that no new radar signal is detected. AP 105-a may confirm, for example, that the radar signal 215 from radar 205-a is still present and therefore the respective channel should continue to be flagged on the non-occupancy list. As long as AP 105-a does not detect any radar signals, normal operations may continue.) and determine to refrain from communicating on one or more of a beam associated with the DFS-assisted signal or the channel on which the DFS-assisted signal is received for a defined duration of time, based at least in part on an indication of the one or more of the beam or the channel being added to a non-occupancy list. ([¶0005] the AP adds this channel to a non-occupancy list (NOL) and refrains from using these channels, e.g., for at least thirty (30) minutes.)
Green does not disclose:
in a millimeter wave (mmWave) system
Salem discloses:
in a millimeter wave (mmWave) system ([Abstract] Some embodiments of the present disclosure provide for configuring channel access mechanisms in a mmWave shared spectrum mobile communication network. The channel access mechanisms are to be used by a user equipment (UE) and a serving node in the UE's serving cell. The configuring may use a single, cell-specific higher layer parameter or a combination of two cell-specific higher layer parameters. The parameters may configure the UE and the node to perform channel sensing before transmitting to initiate a channel occupancy. Alternatively, the UE and the node may be configured to transmit directly without channel sensing. The parameters may configure a receiver (the UE or the node) to perform channel sensing before transmitting a channel idle indication to the transmitter as part of a channel access procedure to initiate a channel occupancy. [¶0209] The UE 110 may expect to be provided with some higher layer parameters, in a single IE or in several distinct IEs. The received higher layer parameters may indicate and/or be related to one or more of the following types of channel access mechanisms without channel sensing: a dynamic power control/adaptive transmit power control (ATPC) channel access mechanism; an adaptive duty cycle channel access mechanism; and a dynamic channel selection/dynamic frequency selection (DFS) channel access mechanism.)
Green and Salem are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Green to apply the use of channel sensing and DFS to millimeter wave as taught by Salem in order to in order to reduce overhead and improve signal quality (Instant Application [¶0069]).
Regarding Claim 2:
Green in view of Salem discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Green discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, when sensing the channel, are configured to sense the channel for DFS-assisted signals for the sensing time period based at least in part on a predefined channel sensing pattern. ([¶0051] For example, AP 105-a may perform CAC procedures in a random manner and/or in a predetermined order)
Regarding Claim 3:
Green in view of Salem discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Green discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive an indication of the predefined channel sensing pattern from a second base station that is neighboring the first base station. ([¶0046] At block 210, the AP 105-a initializes and creates or builds the CCL of AP 105-a. For example, the AP 105-a may be initially powered on, restarted, etc., and therefore initially start with an empty CCL. The AP 105-a may begin to build the CCL by accessing country/region registration codes stored in the AP 105-d, e.g., known a priori and programmed by a manufacturer, distributor, etc. For example, the country/region registration codes may be stored in a regdomain setting and/or downloaded from a network during initialization. The country/region registration codes provide a listing of all channels that the AP 105-a is permitted to communicate using. The listing may also provide an indication of which channels are susceptible to radar interference (e.g., within a particular frequency range) and which channels are not susceptible to radar interference. Generally, the AP 105-a may start by adding all or some of the permitted channels to the CCL of AP 105-a.)
Regarding Claim 4:
Green in view of Salem discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Green discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine to not sense the channel outside the sensing time period based at least in part on the predefined channel sensing pattern. ([¶0066] The AP 105-c may scan for radar signals on certain channels periodically according to a known schedule)
Regarding Claim 5:
Green in view of Salem discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Green discloses:
wherein the predefined channel sensing pattern defines a pattern and a periodicity for channel sensing of DFS-assisted signals. ([¶0066] The AP 105-c may scan for radar signals on certain channels periodically according to a known schedule)
Regarding Claim 7:
Green in view of Salem discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Green discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, when sensing the channel, are configured to sense the channel for DFS-assisted signals for the sensing time period based at least in part on traffic that is received at the first base station. ([¶0051] AP 105-a commences normal operations with any associated DFS operations. For example, AP 105-a may begin communicating with STAs 110 using an operating channel, or a group of operating channels. AP 105-a may also perform channel scanning procedures on other channels of the CCL during normal operations. For example, AP 105-a may perform CAC procedures in a random manner and/or in a predetermined order to ensure that no new radar signal is detected. AP 105-a may confirm, for example, that the radar signal 215 from radar 205-a is still present and therefore the respective channel should continue to be flagged on the non-occupancy list. As long as AP 105-a does not detect any radar signals, normal operations may continue.)
Regarding Claim 8:
Green in view of Salem discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Green discloses:
wherein the DFS-assisted signal is associated with a sequence. ([¶0046] The country/region registration codes provide a listing of all channels that the AP 105-a is permitted to communicate using. The listing may also provide an indication of which channels are susceptible to radar interference (e.g., within a particular frequency range) and which channels are not susceptible to radar interference. Generally, the AP 105-a may start by adding all or some of the permitted channels to the CCL of AP 105-a.)
Regarding Claim 11:
Green in view of Salem discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Green discloses:
wherein the DFS-assisted signal is received from the UE during the sensing time period based at least in part on a configured time duration received at the UE from a second base station. ([¶0042] a wireless station 110 can be covered by more than one AP 105 and can therefore associate with APs 105 at different times. A single AP 105 and an associated set of stations may be referred to as a basic service set (BSS). An extended service set (ESS) is a set of connected BSSs. A distribution system (DS) (not shown) is used to connect APs 105 in an extended service set. [¶0074] Certain channels that are associated with radar signals may not have been cleared for use using a CAC procedure (e.g., non-CAC′d). For example, channels that are associated with radar signals may be added to the CCL, but a CAC procedure (e.g., a full sixty (60) second scan) may not have been performed on the channel. Other aspects of the channel may have been determined, e.g., various channel capability metrics, such that a channel weighting factor can be assigned to the channel. Channels that are associated with radar signals (e.g., are within the frequency range of radar systems) that have not been CAC′d or have not been CAC′d within a certain time frame may be assigned to the non-CAC′d channel list)
Regarding Claim 12:
Green in view of Salem discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Green discloses:
wherein the configured time duration is on a per-beam basis or a per-beam-group basis. ([¶0042] a wireless station 110 can be covered by more than one AP 105 and can therefore associate with APs 105 at different times. A single AP 105 and an associated set of stations may be referred to as a basic service set (BSS). An extended service set (ESS) is a set of connected BSSs. A distribution system (DS) (not shown) is used to connect APs 105 in an extended service set. [¶0074] Certain channels that are associated with radar signals may not have been cleared for use using a CAC procedure (e.g., non-CAC′d). For example, channels that are associated with radar signals may be added to the CCL, but a CAC procedure (e.g., a full sixty (60) second scan) may not have been performed on the channel. Other aspects of the channel may have been determined, e.g., various channel capability metrics, such that a channel weighting factor can be assigned to the channel. Channels that are associated with radar signals (e.g., are within the frequency range of radar systems) that have not been CAC′d or have not been CAC′d within a certain time frame may be assigned to the non-CAC′d channel list)
Regarding Claim 16:
Green in view of Salem discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Green discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a first base station, comprising: sensing a channel ([¶0005] perform various scans to determine which channels are available for use [¶0085] The AP receiving, from a user equipment (UE) ([¶0005] DFS can provide for the AP to perform a channel availability check (CAC) to search for radar pulses in the frequency channel where the AP is operating, or during an automatic channel scan. If the AP detects a radar signal in a current channel of operation, the AP discontinues operation on that channel and begins to operate on a different frequency after checking that the new frequency is free of radar signals. [¶0051] AP 105-a commences normal operations with any associated DFS operations. For example, AP 105-a may begin communicating with STAs 110 using an operating channel, or a group of operating channels. AP 105-a may also perform channel scanning procedures on other channels of the CCL during normal operations. For example, AP 105-a may perform CAC procedures in a random manner and/or in a predetermined order to ensure that no new radar signal is detected. AP 105-a may confirm, for example, that the radar signal 215 from radar 205-a is still present and therefore the respective channel should continue to be flagged on the non-occupancy list. As long as AP 105-a does not detect any radar signals, normal operations may continue.) and determining to refrain from communicating on one or more of a beam associated with the DFS-assisted signal or the channel on which the DFS-assisted signal is received for a defined duration of time, based at least in part on an indication of the one or more of the beam or the channel being added to a non-occupancy list. ([¶0005] the AP adds this channel to a non-occupancy list (NOL) and refrains from using these channels, e.g., for at least thirty (30) minutes.)
Salem discloses:
in a millimeter wave (mmWave) system ([Abstract] Some embodiments of the present disclosure provide for configuring channel access mechanisms in a mmWave shared spectrum mobile communication network. The channel access mechanisms are to be used by a user equipment (UE) and a serving node in the UE's serving cell. The configuring may use a single, cell-specific higher layer parameter or a combination of two cell-specific higher layer parameters. The parameters may configure the UE and the node to perform channel sensing before transmitting to initiate a channel occupancy. Alternatively, the UE and the node may be configured to transmit directly without channel sensing. The parameters may configure a receiver (the UE or the node) to perform channel sensing before transmitting a channel idle indication to the transmitter as part of a channel access procedure to initiate a channel occupancy. [¶0209] The UE 110 may expect to be provided with some higher layer parameters, in a single IE or in several distinct IEs. The received higher layer parameters may indicate and/or be related to one or more of the following types of channel access mechanisms without channel sensing: a dynamic power control/adaptive transmit power control (ATPC) channel access mechanism; an adaptive duty cycle channel access mechanism; and a dynamic channel selection/dynamic frequency selection (DFS) channel access mechanism.)
Green and Salem are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Green to apply the use of channel sensing and DFS to millimeter wave as taught by Salem in order to in order to reduce overhead and improve signal quality (Instant Application [¶0069]).
Regarding Claim 31:
Green in view of Salem discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Green discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first base station, cause the first base station to: sense a channel sensing time period; ([¶0005] perform various scans to determine which channels are available for use [¶0085] The AP communications manager 660 may include a controller or scheduler for controlling communications) receive, from a user equipment (UE) ([¶0005] DFS can provide for the AP to perform a channel availability check (CAC) to search for radar pulses in the frequency channel where the AP is operating, or during an automatic channel scan. If the AP detects a radar signal in a current channel of operation, the AP discontinues operation on that channel and begins to operate on a different frequency after checking that the new frequency is free of radar signals. [¶0051] AP 105-a commences normal operations with any associated DFS operations. For example, AP 105-a may begin communicating with STAs 110 using an operating channel, or a group of operating channels. AP 105-a may also perform channel scanning procedures on other channels of the CCL during normal operations. For example, AP 105-a may perform CAC procedures in a random manner and/or in a predetermined order to ensure that no new radar signal is detected. AP 105-a may confirm, for example, that the radar signal 215 from radar 205-a is still present and therefore the respective channel should continue to be flagged on the non-occupancy list. As long as AP 105-a does not detect any radar signals, normal operations may continue.) and determine to refrain from communicating on one or more of a beam associated with the DFS-assisted signal or the channel on which the DFS-assisted signal is received for a defined duration of time, based at least in part on an indication of the one or more of the beam or the channel being added to a non-occupancy list. ([¶0005] the AP adds this channel to a non-occupancy list (NOL) and refrains from using these channels, e.g., for at least thirty (30) minutes.)
Salem discloses:
in a millimeter wave (mmWave) system ([Abstract] Some embodiments of the present disclosure provide for configuring channel access mechanisms in a mmWave shared spectrum mobile communication network. The channel access mechanisms are to be used by a user equipment (UE) and a serving node in the UE's serving cell. The configuring may use a single, cell-specific higher layer parameter or a combination of two cell-specific higher layer parameters. The parameters may configure the UE and the node to perform channel sensing before transmitting to initiate a channel occupancy. Alternatively, the UE and the node may be configured to transmit directly without channel sensing. The parameters may configure a receiver (the UE or the node) to perform channel sensing before transmitting a channel idle indication to the transmitter as part of a channel access procedure to initiate a channel occupancy. [¶0209] The UE 110 may expect to be provided with some higher layer parameters, in a single IE or in several distinct IEs. The received higher layer parameters may indicate and/or be related to one or more of the following types of channel access mechanisms without channel sensing: a dynamic power control/adaptive transmit power control (ATPC) channel access mechanism; an adaptive duty cycle channel access mechanism; and a dynamic channel selection/dynamic frequency selection (DFS) channel access mechanism.)
Green and Salem are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Green to apply the use of channel sensing and DFS to millimeter wave as taught by Salem in order to in order to reduce overhead and improve signal quality (Instant Application [¶0069]).
Regarding Claim 33:
Green in view of Salem discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Green does not disclose:
wherein: the first base station is associated with a first cell, the second base station is associated with a second cell, and the first cell is within a threshold distance of the second cell.
Salem discloses:
wherein: the first base station is associated with a first cell, the second base station is associated with a second cell, and the first cell is within a threshold distance of the second cell. ([¶0025] FIG. 1 illustrates, in a schematic diagram, an example communication system 100. In general, the communication system 100 enables multiple wireless or wired elements to communicate data and other content. The purpose of the communication system 100 may be to provide content (voice, data, video, text) via broadcast, narrowcast, user device to user device, etc. The communication system 100 may operate efficiently by sharing resources, such as bandwidth. [¶0026] In this example, the communication system 100 includes a first user equipment (UE) 110A, a second UE 1106 and a third UE 110C (individually or collectively 110), a terrestrial radio access network (RAN) 120A and a non-terrestrial RAN 120B (individually or collectively 120), a core network 130, a public switched telephone network (PSTN) 140, the Internet 150 and other networks 160. Although certain numbers of these components or elements are shown in FIG. 1, any reasonable number of these components or elements may be included in the communication system 100.[¶0028] In FIG. 1, the terrestrial RAN 120A includes a terrestrial base station (BS) 170A and the non-terrestrial RAN includes a non-terrestrial base station 170B (individually or collectively 170). The base station 170 may also be called an anchor or a transmit point (TP). Each base station 170 is configured to wirelessly interface with one or more of the UEs 110 to enable access to any other base station 170, the core network 130, the PSTN 140, the internet 150 and/or the other networks 160. For example, the base stations 170 may include (or be) one or more of several well-known devices, such as a base transceiver station (BTS), a Node-B (NodeB), an evolved NodeB (eNodeB), a Home eNodeB (“eNB”), a gNodeB (“gNB”), a transmission and receive point (TRP), a site controller, an access point (AP) or a wireless router. Any UE 110 may alternatively or additionally be configured to interface, access or communicate with any other base station 170, the internet 150, the core network 130, the PSTN 140, the other networks 160 or any combination of the preceding. The communication system 100 may include RANs, such as the RAN 120B, wherein the corresponding base station 170B accesses the core network 130 via the internet 150, as shown. [¶0033] The UEs 110 may communicate with one another over one or more sidelink (SL) air interfaces 180 using wireless communication links)
Green and Salem are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Green to apply the use of channel sensing and DFS to millimeter wave within the same network topography as taught by Salem in order to in order to reduce overhead and improve signal quality (Instant Application [¶0069]).
Claims 17-20 are functionally equivalent to claims 2-5 and are therefore rejected under a similar rationale as claims 2-5
Claims 22-23 are functionally equivalent to claims 7-8 and are therefore rejected under a similar rationale as claims 7-8
Claims 26-27 are functionally equivalent to claims 11-12 and are therefore rejected under a similar rationale as claims 11-12
Claim(s) 6, 9-10, 13-15, 21, 24-25, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green in view Salem as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Krishnamoorthy (US 20160345323 A1)
Regarding Claim 6:
Green in view of Salem discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Green in view of Salem does not disclose:
wherein the one or more processors, when sensing the channel, are configured to sense the channel for DFS-assisted signals for the sensing time period based at least in part on an asynchronous DFS channel sensing mechanism that is specific to the first base station, wherein increasing a frequency of channel sensing and a frequency of DFS-assisted signal transmissions increases a sensing accuracy and increases a signaling overhead.
Krishnamoorthy discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, when sensing the channel, are configured to sense the channel for DFS-assisted signals for the sensing time period based at least in part on an asynchronous DFS channel sensing mechanism that is specific to the first base station, wherein increasing a frequency of channel sensing and a frequency of DFS-assisted signal transmissions increases a sensing accuracy and increases a signaling overhead. ([¶0026] The wireless communications system 100 may support synchronous or asynchronous operation. For synchronous operation, the base stations 105 may have similar frame timing, and transmissions from different base stations 105 may be approximately aligned in time. For asynchronous operation, the base stations 105 may have different frame timing, and transmissions from different base stations 105 may not be aligned in time. The techniques described herein may be used for either synchronous or asynchronous operations. [¶0029] Each modulated signal may be sent on a different sub-carrier and may carry control information (e.g., reference signals, control channels, etc.), overhead information, user data, etc. The communication links 125 may transmit bidirectional communications using frequency division duplex (FDD) (e.g., using paired spectrum resources) or time division duplex (TDD) operation (e.g., using unpaired spectrum resources). Frame structures may be defined for FDD (e.g., frame structure type 1) and TDD (e.g., frame structure type 2).)
Green, Salem, and Krishnamoorthy are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Green in view of Salem to use asynchronous DFS as taught by Krishnamoorthy in order to reduce overhead and improve signal quality (Instant Application [¶0069]).
Regarding Claim 9:
Green in view of Salem discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Green in view of Salem does not disclose:
wherein the sequence is based at least in part on a cell identifier.
Krishnamoorthy discloses:
wherein the sequence is based at least in part on a cell identifier. ([¶0040] In some examples, the DFS channel identification component 315 may determine whether the UE is operating in a DFS channel based on the at least on the retrieved information by the information retrieval component 310. For example, the DFS channel identification component 315 may identify a list of DFS channels in a table (e.g., DFS table 350) associated with the PLMN 345 and determine that the current operating frequency 335 of the UE 115 corresponds with at least one channel on the list of DFS channels.)
Green, Salem, and Krishnamoorthy are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Green in view of Salem to use cell ID as taught by Krishnamoorthy in order to reduce overhead and improve signal quality (Instant Application [¶0069]).
Regarding Claim 10:
Green in view of Salem discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Green in view of Salem does not disclose:
wherein the DFS-assisted signal is associated with a waveform to assist with energy detection.
Krishnamoorthy discloses:
wherein the DFS-assisted signal is associated with a waveform to assist with energy detection. ([¶0005] Dynamic Frequency Selection (DFS) procedure that avoids unnecessary scanning of the unlicensed or shared spectrum, and hence offers efficient power utilization for the user equipments (UEs). In one aspect, one or more UEs may periodically identify at least one of a current operating frequency, a mode of operation, and the public land mobile network (PLMN) associated with the UE to determine whether the UE is operating in the DFS channel.)
Green, Salem, and Krishnamoorthy are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications, additionally use of a waveform to assist with energy detection is a common practice in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Green in view of Salem to use a waveform for energy detection as taught by Krishnamoorthy in order to reduce overhead and improve signal quality (Instant Application [¶0069]).
Regarding Claim 13:
Green in view of Salem discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Green in view of Salem does not disclose:
wherein receiving the DFS-assisted signal comprises receiving the DFS-assisted signal from the UE based at least in part on a radio resource control (RRC) configuration received at the UE from a second base station, wherein the RRC configuration indicates an offset associated with a transmission of the DFS-assisted signal and a resource associated with the DFS-assisted signal.
Krishnamoorthy discloses:
wherein receiving the DFS-assisted signal comprises receiving the DFS-assisted signal from the UE based at least in part on a radio resource control (RRC) configuration received at the UE from a second base station, wherein the RRC configuration indicates an offset associated with a transmission of the DFS-assisted signal and a resource associated with the DFS-assisted signal. ([¶0023] mobile devices 115 may communicate with each other through the base station 105 and AP 120 using communication links [¶0027] The communication networks that may accommodate some of the various disclosed examples may be packet-based networks that operate according to a layered protocol stack. In the user plane, communications at the bearer or packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer may be IP-based. A radio link control (RLC) layer may perform packet segmentation and reassembly to communicate over logical channels. A medium access control (MAC) layer may perform priority handling and multiplexing of logical channels into transport channels. The MAC layer may also use hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) to provide retransmission at the MAC layer to improve link efficiency. In the control plane, the radio resource control (RRC) protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a mobile device 115 and the base stations 105. The RRC protocol layer may also be used for core network 130 support of radio bearers for the user plane data. At the physical (PHY) layer, the transport channels may be mapped to physical channels.)
Green, Salem and Krishnamoorthy are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Green in view of Salem to use RRC messaging as taught by Krishnamoorthy in order to reduce overhead and improve signal quality (Instant Application [¶0069]).
Regarding Claim 14:
Green in view of Salem discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Green in view of Salem does not disclose:
wherein receiving the DFS-assisted signal comprises receiving the DFS-assisted signal from the UE based at least in part on downlink control information (DCI) received at the UE from a second base station, wherein the DCI indicates a resource associated with the DFS-assisted signal.
Krishnamoorthy discloses:
wherein receiving the DFS-assisted signal comprises receiving the DFS-assisted signal from the UE based at least in part on downlink control information (DCI) received at the UE from a second base station, wherein the DCI indicates a resource associated with the DFS-assisted signal. ([¶0003] A base station may communicate with the communication devices on downlink channels (e.g., for transmissions from a base station to a UE) [¶0023] mobile devices 115 may communicate with each other through the base station 105 and AP 120 using communication links [¶0369] if the UE 115 determines that the UE 115 is engaged in receiving downlink traffic on the DFS channel, the UE 115 may disable the DFS procedure to conserve power. )
Green, Salem, and Krishnamoorthy are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Green in view of Salem to use DCI messaging as taught by Krishnamoorthy in order to reduce overhead and improve signal quality (Instant Application [¶0069]).
Regarding Claim 15:
Green in view of Salem discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Green in view of Salem does not disclose:
wherein the one or more processors, when receiving the DFS-assisted signal, are configured to receive the DFS-assisted signal from the UE based at least in part on one or more of scheduling information or interference information associated with the UE, and wherein transmissions of DFS-assisted signals are configured to be skipped at the UE to control a signaling overhead associated with the UE and a transmit power of the UE.
Krishnamoorthy discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, when receiving the DFS-assisted signal, are configured to receive the DFS-assisted signal from the UE based at least in part on one or more of scheduling information or interference information associated with the UE, and wherein transmissions of DFS-assisted signals are configured to be skipped at the UE to control a signaling overhead associated with the UE and a transmit power of the UE. ([¶0036] However, even if, the UE 115 is operating in the DFS channel, that fact alone may not be dispositive for ceasing to communicate in the DFS channel. Instead, the UE 115 may further determine whether the UE 115 is actively transmitting or receiving traffic in the potential DFS channel based on a comparison to a table stored in the memory of the UE 115. If the UE 115 is actively engaged in an uplink traffic transmission, the UE 115 may enable the DFS procedure to scan the unlicensed or shared spectrum and scheduling the uplink traffic away from the DFS channel. Scheduling the uplink traffic away from the DFS channel may comprise either ceasing to transmit the uplink traffic on the DFS channel or schedule the uplink traffic on a non-DFS channel (e.g., another portion of the unlicensed band or a licensed band). Conversely, if the UE 115 determines that the UE 115 is engaged in receiving downlink traffic on the DFS channel, the UE 115 may disable the DFS procedure to conserve power.)
Green, Salem and Krishnamoorthy are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Green in view of Salem to use scheduling and interference information as taught by Krishnamoorthy in order to reduce overhead and improve signal quality (Instant Application [¶0069]).
Claims 21 is functionally equivalent to claims 6 and are therefore rejected under a similar rationale as claims 6
Claims 24-25 are functionally equivalent to claims 9-10 and are therefore rejected under a similar rationale as claims 7-8
Claims 28-30 are functionally equivalent to claims 13-15 and are therefore rejected under a similar rationale as claims 13-15
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463