Detailed Action
Filing Receipt and Priority
The filing receipt states that the instant application is a 371 of PCT/US2021/058038, filed 11/04/2021.
The filing receipt also states that the above PCT application claims benefit of provisional applications dated back to 11/16/2020.
Of the applications listed in the filing receipt, the PCT application is the only application that supports the instant application. All other applications are drawn to compositions that do not require any of the vitamins D, A, E, K, B, C and caffeine and/or packaging for said compositions.
Therefore the instant effective filing date is 11/04/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement received 05/11/2023 has been considered.
Moreover., Applicant has an obligation to call the most pertinent prior art to the attention of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office in a proper fashion. Burying one reference in one hundred other IDS references is like citing nothing. PENN YAN BOATS, INC. v. SEA LARK BOATS, INC. 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972). Golden Valley Microwave Foods, Inc. v. Weaver Popcorn Co. Inc., 24 USPQ2d 1801 (U.S. Dist. N. Dist. IN 1992).
Restriction/Species Election
Applicant’s election of Group I with traverse in the remarks filed 11/20/2025 is acknowledged. Applicant’s additional election with traverse of the following species is also acknowledged. The elected species are: i) vitamin D3, ii) mannitol.
Response to Traverse
Applicant argues that “The claims as drafted are directed to a single general inventive concept of a rapidly infusing composition and are therefore examinable together. The compositions of claims 1-50 share common features of a pharmaceutically acceptable binder and/or excipient system comprising mammalian gelatin and a sugar alcohol. And at least one supplement…”. Instant claim 1 shows listing of supplements.
This is not persuasive as, as indicated in the restriction requirement of 10/09/2025, the technical feature does not make a contribution over the art in view of Makino (US 5,720,974).
Regarding the species elections, applicant argues that “a search for any one of the elected species in each of the species groups would yield references applicable to all of the species in each of the respective species groups.”
This is not persuasive as each of the species claimed (Vitamins D, A, E, K, B, C, and caffeine) have sufficiently different chemical structures and properties that they are not considered alternatives of each other within the art. For example, the chemical structures of Vitamin D (elected) and caffeine are shown below.
Vitamin D and Caffeine
These differences are significant and art applicable to one species would not be applicable to another. Applicant indicated how these species are alternatives of each other.
The restriction is made final.
At examiner’s discretion, search and examination has been expanded to include Vitamins D3 and D2.
Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
KSR Rationales
The MPEP in section 2143, subsection I gives examples of Rationales for supporting a conclusion of obvious. These rationales are non-exhaustive and include (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-11 and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ridall (US 10,064,849, published 2018, priority date 05/02/2012) in view of Wilson (Proceedings of the Nutrition Society, 2017, 76, 392-399), Mayo Clinic (Mayo Clinic, Vitamin D, url=https://www.mayoclinic,org/drugs-supplements-vitamin-d/art-20363792, accessed 08/06/2026, dated Oct. 18, 2017) and Millar (Br. J. Clin. Pharmacol. 2019;85:1888-1900).
Independent claim 1 is drawn to a rapidly infusing composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable binder and/or excipient system comprising mammalian gelatin and a sugar alcohol and vitamin D, wherein vitamin D is in a concentration of 0.0001 to 1 wt.% by total dry weight of the rapidly infusing composition.
Dependent claim 2 specifies that the composition is lyophilized.
Dependent claims 3 and 4 specify a property of the composition wherein the composition has a disintegration time approximately 1 to 30 seconds (claim 3) or 1 to 5 seconds (claim 4) in deionized water maintained at 37oC ± 2oC.
Dependent claims 6, 8, 11, 24, and 25 are drawn to embodiments wherein mammalian gelatin is bovine gelatin (claim 6), the sugar alcohol comprises mannitol (claim 8), the composition comprises a vitamin D compound (claim 9) which is either vitamin D3 and/or vitamin D2 (claim 11), wherein the composition further comprises at least a sweetener, a flavorant, and a colorant (claim 24), and further comprising cannabidiol (CBD) (claim 26).
Dependent claims 5, 7, 10, and 26 are drawn to specific concentrations of the ingredients above.
Claim 51 is drawn to a similar composition to that of claim 1 wherein the concentration ranges from 0.0001 to 0.5 wt.%.
Claim 52 is drawn to a property of the composition of claim 1 wherein the disintegration time is 1 to 5 seconds in deionized water maintained at 37oC ± 2oC.
Ridall in col. 13, table 2 teaches a composition below.
Ridall composition
Ridall in col. 9, l. 51-57 discusses lyophilizing the composition of its invention.
Ridall in col. 14, Table 6 lists disintegration times.
Ridall Table 6
Ridall in col. 12, Table 1 teaches a listing of ingredients and their role within the composition.
Ridall Table 1
With the above teaching, one of ordinary skill would recognize that omeprazole is the only active pharmaceutical ingredient within this composition and that the other ingredients act together to deliver the active pharmaceutical ingredient. One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore be able to modify the composition by replacing the omeprazole with any other ingredient intended for delivery.
Additionally, Ridall in col. 3, l. 26-44 discusses advantages of its composition which are “administering a DSI (direct systemic introduction) pharmaceutical composition of the invention provides for faster onset of the therapy, diminished occurrences of the side-effects due to nonuniformity of bioavailability of the active pharmaceutical ingredient, and/or more accurate dosing.”
Ridall does not discuss vitamin D3, vitamin D2, or CBD. This is addressed by the combination of Wilson and Millar.
Wilson is drawn to fortification strategies involving vitamins D2 and D3 (title). Wilson in its abstract states “The role of vitamin D in supporting the growth and maintenance of the skeleton is robust; with recent research also suggesting a beneficial link between vitamin D and other non-skeletal health outcomes, including immune function, cardiovascular health and cancer. Despite this, vitamin D deficiency remains a global public health issue…”.
Wilson on p. 393, sec. Sources of vitamin D states “Vitamin D is the generic term used for both Vitamin D2 and vitamin D3, also known as ergocalciferol and cholecalciferol, respectively.” Wilson continues “Other sources [of vitamin D] include supplements or fortified foods…”.
Millar on p. 1989, left. col. 3 states “Hemp-derived CBD is commercially available and is currently used as a health and food supplement commonly for anxiety and pain relief.”
Additionally, Mayo Clinic on p. 1 teaches that “the recommended daily amount of vitamin D is 400 international units (IU) for children up to age 12 months, 600 IU for ages 1 to 70 years, and 800 IU for people over 70 years.” Mayo Clinic on p. 2 also teaches that at doses exceeding 4,000 IU a day may lead to side-effects. 4,000 IU of vitamin D is 100 mcg (0.1 mg). Replacing omeprazole in the composition taught by Ridall with 0.1 mg of vitamin D gives a composition comprising vitamin D at a wt.% of 0.150 wt.%. A 600 IU dose of vitamin D in the composition of Ridall gives a composition comprising vitamin D at 0.022 wt.%. This range falls within the claimed range.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to modify the composition by replacing the omeprazole with vitamin D3 and/or D2 (herein after Vitamin D) at a typical daily dose off 600 IU. One of ordinary skill would further be able to include CBD into the composition. As both vitamin D and CBD are considered supplements, one of ordinary skill would find it obvious to combine both supplements into a composition. The MPEP section 2144.05 states:
“It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted)
Ridall teaches that benefits of its invention are “faster onset of the therapy, diminished occurrences of the side-effects due to nonuniformity of bioavailability of the active pharmaceutical ingredient, and/or more accurate dosing.” These benefits are properties of the composition, sans omeprazole. Additionally, one of ordinary skill would be able to modify the composition to have concentrations of Vitamin D and CBD within the ranges claimed.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time of the effective filing date for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the composition of Ridall via the teachings of Wilson and Millar to arrive at the instant claims with a reasonable assumption of success. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make the modification in order to take advantage of the faster onset time, diminished side-effects, and/or more accurate dosing provided by the carrier composition of Ridall.
The addition of Mayo Clinic has been necessitated by amendments made to the claims.
Double Patenting
Patents
U.S. Patent 10,918,631
Claims 1-11 and 24-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,918,631 in view of Wilson (Proceedings of the Nutrition Society, 2017, 76, 392-399) and Millar (Br. J. Clin. Pharmacol. 2019;85:1888-1900).
The reference claims are drawn to a method of making a pharmaceutical composition comprising bovine gelatin, mannitol, a surfactant, a flavorant and an active pharmaceutical ingredient in ranges of dry mass concentrations that read on the instant claims.
Via the teachings of Wilson and Millar, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to modify the reference method in order to create a composition comprising bovine gelatin, mannitol, surfactant, a flavorant, vitamin D, and CBD.
U.S. Patent 10,064,849
Claims 1-11 and 24-26 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,064,849 in view of Wilson (Proceedings of the Nutrition Society, 2017, 76, 392-399) and Millar (Br. J. Clin. Pharmacol. 2019;85:1888-1900).
The reference claims are drawn to a composition comprising bovine gelatin, mannitol, a surfactant, a flavorant, and a proton pump inhibitor in concentrations of dry mass %.
For similar reasoning as discussed in the 103 rejection above, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to modify the reference method in order to create a composition comprising bovine gelatin, mannitol, surfactant, a flavorant, vitamin D, and CBD.
U.S. Patent 12,005,053
Claims 1-11 and 24-26 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,005,053 in view of Wilson (Proceedings of the Nutrition Society, 2017, 76, 392-399) and Millar (Br. J. Clin. Pharmacol. 2019;85:1888-1900).
Reference claims 1-9 are drawn to a veterinary composition comprising bovine gelatin, mannitol, surfactant, and a proton pump inhibitor in concentrations of dry mass % that read on the instant claims. Reference dependent claims 5 and 6 claim disintegration times of 7 seconds or less and 4 seconds or less.
Reference claims 10-19 are drawn to a method of manufacturing the composition of claims 1-9.
The arguments made in the 103 rejection above regarding the modification of the composition to include vitamin D and CBD are incorporated here. Similarly, the method claims can be modified to create a composition that would read on the instant claims, as discussed in the double patenting rejection under U.S. Patent 10,918,631.
U.S. Patent 12,496,295
Claims 1-11 and 24-26 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,496,295 (formerly application 18/654,308) in view of Wilson (Proceedings of the Nutrition Society, 2017, 76, 392-399) and Millar (Br. J. Clin. Pharmacol. 2019;85:1888-1900).
The reference claims are drawn to a pre-formulation comprising bovine gelatin in about 1 to 10% mass%, mannitol in about 1 to 10% mass%, a flavorant in about 0. To 0.2 mass% and a proton pump inhibitor in about 10 to 30 mass%.
Via the teachings of Wilson and Millar and for similar reasoning used the 103 rejection above, one of ordinary skill in the art could modify the pre-formulation to arrive at the instant claims with a reasonable assumption of success.
Co-pending applications
18/307,228
Claims 1-11 and 24-26 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21-24 and 31-32 of copending Application No. 18/307,228 in view of Wilson (Proceedings of the Nutrition Society, 2017, 76, 392-399) and Millar (Br. J. Clin. Pharmacol. 2019;85:1888-1900).
The reference claims are drawn to a buccal composition comprising gelatin, a sugar alcohol, and CBD. Reference claim 22 further claims a flavorant.
Considering the teachings of Wilson and Millar, which teach Vitamin D and CBD as supplements, respectively, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the composition of the reference claims to include vitamin D.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
18/252,688
Claims 1-11 and 24-26 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18,252,688 in view of Wilson (Proceedings of the Nutrition Society, 2017, 76, 392-399) and Millar (Br. J. Clin. Pharmacol. 2019;85:1888-1900).
The reference claims 1-18 are drawn to a rapidly infused composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable binder and/or excipient system comprising gelatin and mannitol, and further comprising nicotine.
Reference claim 19 are drawn to a process for manufacturing the composition of claims 1-18 via dissolving the gelatin and mannitol in water to form a solution, adding the nicotine, and then lyophilizing the solution.
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the composition of reference claims 1-18 via the teachings of Wilson and Millar to arrive at the instant claims. One of ordinary skill would also find it obvious to modify the method of reference claim 19 to create a lyophilized composition (instant claim 2) of the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
18/252,735
Claims 1-11 and 24-26 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/252,735 in view of Wilson (Proceedings of the Nutrition Society, 2017, 76, 392-399) and Millar (Br. J. Clin. Pharmacol. 2019;85:1888-1900).
Reference claims 1-14 are drawn to a composition comprising gelatin, a sugar alcohol, and methotrexate. Reference claims 3-4 specify disintegration time. Reference claim 7 specifies bovine gelatin. Reference claim 9 specifies mannitol. Reference claim 15 is drawn to a process for manufacturing the composition of reference claims 1-14.
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the composition of reference claims 1-15 via the teachings of Wilson and Millar to arrive at the instant claims. One of ordinary skill would also find it obvious to modify the method of reference claim 15 to create a lyophilized composition (instant claim 2) of the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
18/252,676
Claims 1-11 and 24-26 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 18/252,676 in view of Wilson (Proceedings of the Nutrition Society, 2017, 76, 392-399) and Millar (Br. J. Clin. Pharmacol. 2019;85:1888-1900).
Reference claims 1-25 are drawn to compositions comprising gelatin, mannitol, and a PDE.sub.5 inhibitor. Claim 26 is drawn to a process of manufacturing comprising lyophilizing a solution to achieve the composition of claims 1-25.
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the composition of reference claims 1-25 via the teachings of Wilson and Millar to arrive at the instant claims. One of ordinary skill would also find it obvious to modify the method of reference claim 26 to create a lyophilized composition (instant claim 2) of the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
18/252,707
Claims 1-11 and 24-26 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 18/252,676 in view of Wilson (Proceedings of the Nutrition Society, 2017, 76, 392-399) and Millar (Br. J. Clin. Pharmacol. 2019;85:1888-1900).
The reference claims are drawn to a composition comprising a gelatin, a sugar alcohol, and tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), and further comprising a flavorant. The reference claims also claim a process of manufacturing comprising lyophilizing a mixture of the above ingredients.
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the composition of reference claims 1-20 via the teachings of Wilson and Millar to arrive at the instant claims. One of ordinary skill would also find it obvious to modify the method of reference claim 21 to create a lyophilized composition (instant claim 2) of the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the 103 rejection, applicant states that “Ridall expressly teaches minimizing inactive excipients and maximizing active ingredient content. Ridall does not disclose ‘the vitamin D compound is present in an amount of 0.0001 to 1 wt.% based on a total dry weight of the rapidly infusing composition,’ as recited in amended claim 1.”
This limitation is addressed by Mayo Clinic. One of ordinary skill in the art would have known and/or would have access to the information provided via Mayo Clinic. While Ridall is silent on concentrations of Vitamin D, one of ordinary skill would know how best to formulate a composition comprising vitamin D to include a dose of 600 IU of vitamin D.
Regarding the nonstatutory double patenting rejections, applicant argues that the patents are “not commonly owned with the present application and are not subject to an obligation of assignment.”
The MPEP section 804 states:
Some commonality of inventorship or (deemed) ownership must exist between two or more patents or applications before consideration can be given to the issue of double patenting. For example, the patents or applications may have the same inventive entity. The patents or applications may also have at least one common (joint) inventor, which covers the situations where at least one patent or application names a sole inventor and the other patent(s) or application(s) names joint inventors and where all the patents or applications name joint inventors. For example, if one application names inventor A and the second application names joint inventors A and B, then the applications have one common (joint) inventor. As another example, if one application names joint inventors A and B and a second application names joint inventors A, B, and C, then the applications have two common joint inventors, and thus, have at least one common joint inventor. See 35 U.S.C. 100(f) for definition of “inventor” and 35 U.S.C. 100(g) for definition of “joint inventor”. Alternatively, the patents or applications may have a common applicant, and/or be commonly assigned/owned or non-commonly assigned/owned but subject to a joint research agreement as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 102(c) or in pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(c)(2) and (3).
The reference patents and applications share at least an inventor with the instant claims.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/JEFFREY H MURRAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1624