Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5-6, 8, 13-14, 21-23, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Calcev et al. (Patent No: US 2023/0180293 A1), hereinafter, Calcev.
Regarding Claim 1, Calcev teaches,
A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a base station, a channel occupancy time (COT) duration indication that indicates a first COT duration associated with a first channel occupancy initiated by the base station; -Paragraph [0101, 0158] ([0101] recites, “a gNB can initiate a COT (i.e., the gNB is the one that first transmit in the COT), and the gNB may share the COT with UEs. A UE in a frame based equipment (FBE) operation mode cannot initiate a COT, and needs to use a COT that is shared by a gNB for transmissions. The gNB may schedule an uplink grant in the gNB initiated COT for uplink transmissions of the UE.” [0158] recites, “a gNB can allocate the time interval T_UE_COT (as shown in FIG. 12) for UE initiated COTs to either a single UE or a group of UEs. If the time interval T_UE_COT for the UE initiated COTs is allocated to a single UE, the UE can initiate a periodic COT immediately after a successful extended CCA (e.g., LBT Category 4) procedure during this time interval T_UE_COT. The period (FFP) of the periodic COT may be provided by the gNB. The LBT type of the LBT to be performed by the UE may be provided by the gNB, or, for instance, the UE may use the Type 1 of LBT by default or use a short time deterministic LBT for channel sensing. In a different embodiment, the LBT type and the period (FFP) may be obtained by the UE from higher layer configurations” )
and initiating, during a time duration that is non-overlapping with the first COT duration and based at least in part on performing a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure, a second channel occupancy having a second COT duration. -Fig. 21; Paragraph [0093, 0158]( [0093] recites,” FIG. 21 is a diagram of embodiment gNB initiated COTs and UE initiated COTs, highlighting non-overlapping COTs occupying a channel” [0158] recites, “ a gNB can allocate the time interval T_UE_COT (as shown in FIG. 12) for UE initiated COTs to either a single UE or a group of UEs. If the time interval T_UE_COT for the UE initiated COTs is allocated to a single UE, the UE can initiate a periodic COT immediately after a successful extended CCA (e.g., LBT Category 4) procedure during this time interval T_UE_COT. The period (FFP) of the periodic COT may be provided by the gNB. The LBT type of the LBT to be performed by the UE may be provided by the gNB, or, for instance, the UE may use the Type 1 of LBT by default or use a short time deterministic LBT for channel sensing. In a different embodiment, the LBT type and the period (FFP) may be obtained by the UE from higher layer configurations” LBT is done in the sensing slot.)
Regarding Claim 4, Calcev teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Calcev further teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first COT duration is associated with a COT of a base station fixed frame period (FFP), wherein the second COT duration is associated with a COT of a UE FFP, and wherein the COT of the UE FFP is outside of the COT of the base station FFP. -Fig. 20, 21; Paragraph [0224-0227] ([0224] recites, “FIG. 20 is a flowchart of embodiment operations 2000 of a UE and a gNB for channel access, highlighting validation of COT initiation of the UE. The gNB may configure parameters for a UE initiated COT and a gNB initiated COT (step 2002).” [0227] recites, “FIG. 21 is a diagram 2100 illustrating embodiment COTs of the gNB and the UE, highlighting non-overlapping COTs of the gNB and the UE occupying the channel… “Fig. 21 shows UL COT and gNB COT are non-overlapping, i.e., COT of UE is outside of the COT of gNB (base station))
Regarding Claim 5, Calcev teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Calcev further teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising refraining from performing the LBT procedure during the first COT duration. -Fig. 21 (Fig. 21 shows sensing (LBT procedure) is not performed during first COT duration (gNB COT) and is performed only after the completion of first COT in the sensing slot.)
Regarding Claim 6, Calcev teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Calcev further teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising refraining from performing the LBT procedure during an idle period of a base station fixed frame period (FFP). -Fig. 21 (Fig. 21 shows sensing (LBT procedure) is not performed during idle period of gNB (base station) FFP and performed only after the completion of first COT in the sensing slot.)
Claim 8 is similar to Claim 1 except for Claim 8 is looked from base station point of view (i.e., base station transmits) vs. Claim 1 is viewed from UE perspective (i.e., UE receives). Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 1 which is rejected above. Claim 8 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 1.
Regarding Claims 13, Calcev teaches,
A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: initiating, based at least in part on performing a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure, a first channel occupancy having a first channel occupancy time (COT) duration, wherein the first COT duration corresponds to a first portion of a UE fixed frame period (FFP); -Fig. 10, 12; Paragraph [0148, 0158] ([0158] recites, “a gNB can allocate the time interval T_UE_COT (as shown in FIG. 12) for UE initiated COTs to either a single UE or a group of UEs. If the time interval T_UE_COT for the UE initiated COTs is allocated to a single UE, the UE can initiate a periodic COT immediately after a successful extended CCA (e.g., LBT Category 4) procedure during this time interval T_UE_COT. The period (FFP) of the periodic COT may be provided by the gNB. The LBT type of the LBT to be performed by the UE may be provided by the gNB, or, for instance, the UE may use the Type 1 of LBT by default or use a short time deterministic LBT for channel sensing. In a different embodiment, the LBT type and the period (FFP) may be obtained by the UE from higher layer configurations” [0148] recites, “As shown in FIG. 10, each FFP includes a COT 1010 starting at the beginning of the FFP and followed by an idle period…”)
and communicating with a base station based at least in part on a second COT duration associated with a second channel occupancy initiated by the base station, wherein the second COT duration is associated with a COT of a base station FFP, and wherein the COT of the base station FFP is non-overlapping with the COT of a UE FFP. -Fig. 21-23; Paragraph [0227, 0237] ( Fig. 21 shows UE communicating with a base station (gNB) based on the gNB COT duration, also gNB and UE COTs are not overlapping. [0227] recites, “…FIG. 21 is a diagram 2100 illustrating embodiment COTs of the gNB and the UE, highlighting non-overlapping COTs of the gNB and the UE occupying the channel….” [0237] recites, “FIG. 22 is a flowchart of an embodiment method 2200 for UE COT initiation. The method 2200 may be indicative of operations by a UE operating in a FBE mode. As shown, the UE may determine that a communication channel in an unlicensed spectrum is available (step 2210). The UE may transmit, in the communication channel, a first transmission to a gNB in a fixed frame period (FFP) associated with the UE to initiate a channel occupancy time (COT) by the UE in the FFP. The first transmission starts at the beginning of the FFP and ends before an idle period within the FFP (step 2220).”)
Regarding Claim 14, Calcev teaches the limitations of Claim 13.
Calcev further teaches,
The method of claim 13, further comprising receiving, from the base station, a COT duration indication that indicates the first COT duration. -Paragraph [0158] ([0158] recites, “a gNB can allocate the time interval T_UE_COT (as shown in FIG. 12) for UE initiated COTs to either a single UE or a group of UEs.”)
Regarding Claim 21, Calcev teaches the limitations of Claim 13.
Calcev further teaches,
The method of claim 13, wherein the second COT duration terminates at a boundary of a base station FFP -Fig. 21; Paragraph [0227] (Fig. 21 shows both base station and UE COTs are non-overlapping and terminates at the base station FFP. [0227] recites, “There is a possibility that a gNB and a UE may alternate their COTs as shown in FIG. 21, where the gNB and the UE may occupy the entire channel for a larger duty cycle than allowed by the regulators (>95%). In other words, while gNB and UE respect their own idle periods, overall they occupy the channel for more than 95%. FIG. 21 is a diagram 2100 illustrating embodiment COTs of the gNB and the UE, highlighting non-overlapping COTs of the gNB and the UE occupying the channel. In one embodiment, the situation may be avoided when the UE and the gNB share the same COT for FFP. Therefore, the gNB and UE will respect the idle time for the corresponding FFP and avoid
capturing the channel.”)
Claim 22 is similar to Claim 13 except for Claim 22 is looked from base station point of view vs. Claim 13 is viewed from UE point of view in the wireless communication. Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 13 which is rejected above. Claim 22 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 13.
Claim 23 is similar to Claim 14 except for Claim 23 is looked from base station point of view (i.e., base station transmits) vs. Claim 14 is viewed from UE perspective (i.e., UE receives). Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 14 which is rejected above. Claim 23 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 14.
Claim 30 is essentially same as Claim 21. Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 21 which is rejected above. Claim 30 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 7, 9-10, 12, 15-17, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calcev in view of WANG et al. (Patent No: US20210360421A1) hereinafter, WANG.
Regarding Claim 2, Calcev teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, Calcev does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the COT duration indication comprises receiving downlink control information (DCI) that includes the first COT duration indication.
However, in an analogous invention WANG teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the COT duration indication comprises receiving downlink control information (DCI) that includes the first COT duration indication -Paragraph [0264] ([0264] recites, “..the gNB may indicate the CO duration in the DCI format 2_0 for sharing the remaining COT with other UEs. The DCI format 2_0 may be a group-common DCI format. For the other UEs, to determine the remaining COT, the indication of the CO duration in the DCI format 2_0 may take precedence over the information of the FFP indicated in the SIB1. For UEs not initiating an FFP, if the DCI format 2_0 provides the CO duration indication, the UE may determine the remaining COT based on the CO duration indication…”
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Method And Apparatus For UE Initiated COT For FBE”
proposed by Calcev to include the concept of “receiving the COT duration indication comprises receiving downlink control information (DCI) that includes the first COT duration indication “ of WANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to make BS acts as an initiating device for the FBE operation [0100].
Regarding Claim 3, Calcev and WANG teach the limitations of Claim 2.
Although implicit, Calcev does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 2, wherein the DCI comprises a DCI format 2_0 transmission.
However, in an analogous invention WANG teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the DCI comprises a DCI format 2_0 transmission -Paragraph [0264] ([0264] recites, “..the gNB may indicate the CO duration in the DCI format 2_0 for sharing the remaining COT with other UEs…”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Method And Apparatus For UE Initiated COT For FBE”
proposed by Calcev to include the concept of “wherein the DCI comprises a DCI format 2_0 transmission “ of WANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to make BS acts as an initiating device for the FBE operation [0100].
Regarding Claim 7, Calcev teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, Calcev does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving a COT configuration that indicates at least one parameter, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of: an indication that the UE is allowed to initiate the second channel occupancy during a base station fixed frame period (FFP) based at least in part on the base station initiating the first channel occupancy during the base station FFP. an indication that the UE is not allowed to initiate the second channel occupancy during a base station FFP based at least in part on the base station initiating the first channel occupancy during the base station FFP, or an indication that the UE is allowed to initiate the second channel occupancy during a base station FFP based at least in part on the first COT duration, wherein the first channel occupancy was initiated during the base station FFP.
However, in an analogous invention, WANG teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving a COT configuration that indicates at least one parameter, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of: an indication that the UE is allowed to initiate the second channel occupancy during a base station fixed frame period (FFP) based at least in part on the base station initiating the first channel occupancy during the base station FFP -Paragraph [0300] ([0300] recites,”.. In action 302, the UE receives, from a BS, a first parameter indicating a first periodicity of FFP used when the BS acts as an initiating device for the FBE operation. In action 304, the UE receives, from the BS, a second parameter indicating a second periodicity of FFP used when the UE acts as the initiating device for the FBE operation. The first periodicity of FFP may be independent from the second periodicity of FFP. By separately providing the first periodicity of FFP for BS-initiated COT and the second periodicity of FFP for UE-initiated COT, the BS (e.g., a gNB) has flexibility in setting different FFP periods for BS-initiated COT and UE-initiated COT. ”)
an indication that the UE is not allowed to initiate the second channel occupancy during a base station FFP based at least in part on the base station initiating the first channel occupancy during the base station FFP,
or an indication that the UE is allowed to initiate the second channel occupancy during a base station FFP based at least in part on the first COT duration, wherein the first channel occupancy was initiated during the base station FFP. -Paragraph [0222] ([0222] recites, “the DCI format 2_0 includes an indicator to indicate a bitmap selected from a set of bitmaps, where the bitmap indicates whether each FFP is initiated by the gNB or the UE, and the UE has detected a bitmap indicating the FFP to be initiated by the UE.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Method And Apparatus For UE Initiated COT For FBE”
proposed by Calcev to include the concept of “receiving a COT configuration that indicates at least one parameter, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of: an indication that the UE is allowed to initiate the second channel occupancy during a base station fixed frame period (FFP) based at least in part on the base station initiating the first channel occupancy during the base station FFP , or an indication that the UE is allowed to initiate the second channel occupancy during a base station FFP based at least in part on the first COT duration, wherein the first channel occupancy was initiated during the base station FFP “ of WANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to make BS acts as an initiating device for the FBE operation [0100].
Claim 9 is similar to Claim 2 except for Claim 9 is looked from base station point of view (i.e., base station transmits) vs. Claim 2 is viewed from UE perspective (i.e., UE receives). Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 2 which is rejected above. Claim 9 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 2.
Claim 10 is similar to Claim 3. Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 3 which is rejected above. Claim 10 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 3.
Claim 12 is similar to Claim 7 except for Claim 12 is looked from base station point of view (i.e., base station transmits) vs. Claim 7 is viewed from UE perspective (i.e., UE receives). Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 7 which is rejected above. Claim 12 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 15, Calcev teaches the limitations of Claim 14.
Although implicit and easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art, Calcev does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 14, wherein receiving the COT duration indication comprises receiving a radio resource control message including a configuration that includes the first COT duration indication.
However, WANG teaches
The method of claim 14, wherein receiving the COT duration indication comprises receiving a radio resource control message including a configuration that includes the first COT duration indication. -Paragraph [0153][0191][0264] ([0153] recites, “A gNB may configure a UE to act as an initiating device, and the periodicity of FFP of the UE when acting as the initiating device may be different from the periodicity of FFP of the gNB indicated in SIB1. Therefore, the duration of the COT may be indicated to the gNB and other UEs sharing the COT initiated by the initiating UE.” [0191] recites, “A gNB may transmit DL signaling to set the UE as an initiating device for one or more FFPs. The DL signaling may be at least one of an RRC configuration, a DCI indication, and a MAC CE indication. In one implementation, a period in which the UE acts as an initiating device may be controlled by a timer.” [0264] recites, “..the gNB may indicate the CO duration in the DCI format 2_0 for sharing the remaining COT with other UEs. The DCI format 2_0 may be a group-common DCI format. For the other UEs, to determine the remaining COT, the indication of the CO duration in the DCI format 2_0 may take precedence over the information of the FFP indicated in the SIB1. For UEs not initiating an FFP, if the DCI format 2_0 provides the CO duration indication, the UE may determine the remaining COT based on the CO duration indication…”From the above description, it is clear that RRC message from gNB contains all parameters related to FFP including first COT duration indication etc.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Method And Apparatus For UE Initiated COT For FBE”
proposed by Calcev to include the concept of ” receiving the COT duration indication comprises receiving a radio resource control message including a configuration that includes the first COT duration indication “of WANG . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility[0098]
Regarding Claim 16, Calcev and WANG teach the limitations of Claim 14.
Although implicit and easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art, Calcev does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 14, wherein receiving the COT duration indication comprises receiving a downlink control information (DCI) transmission that includes the COT duration indication.
However, WANG teaches
The method of claim 14, wherein receiving the COT duration indication comprises receiving a downlink control information (DCI) transmission that includes the COT duration indication. -Paragraph [0264] recites, “..the gNB may indicate the CO duration in the DCI format 2_0 for sharing the remaining COT with other UEs. The DCI format 2_0 may be a group-common DCI format. For the other UEs, to determine the remaining COT, the indication of the CO duration in the DCI format 2_0 may take precedence over the information of the FFP indicated in the SIB1. For UEs not initiating an FFP, if the DCI format 2_0 provides the CO duration indication, the UE may determine the remaining COT based on the CO duration indication…”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Method And Apparatus For UE Initiated COT For FBE”
proposed by Calcev to include the concept of ”receiving the COT duration indication comprises receiving a downlink control information (DCI) transmission that includes the COT duration indication“ of WANG . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility[0098]
Regarding Claim 17, Calcev and WANG teach the limitations of Claim 16.
Although implicit and easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art, Calcev does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 16, wherein the DCI comprises an uplink resource grant.
However, in an analogous invention WANG teaches,
The method of claim 16, wherein the DCI comprises an uplink resource grant -Paragraph [0306] )([0306] recites, “the UE may receive the indication in action 606 via a DCI format. In one implementation, the DCI format may be the UL grant including a specific field for carrying the indication. In one implementation, the specific field may be one of a TDRA field and a ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC field. In one implementation, the DCI format may be DCI format 2_0 for a group of UEs. The DCI format 2_0 may include a slot format indicator indicating UL symbols at the beginning of the FFP.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Method And Apparatus For UE Initiated COT For FBE”
proposed by Calcev to include the concept of ”wherein the DCI comprises an uplink resource grant “ of WANG . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility[0098]
Claim 24 is similar to Claim 15 except for Claim 24 is looked from base station point of view (i.e., base station transmits) vs. Claim 15 is viewed from UE perspective (i.e., UE receives). Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 15 which is rejected above. Claim 24 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 15.
Claim 25 is similar to Claim 16 except for Claim 25 is looked from base station point of view (i.e., base station transmits) vs. Claim 16 is viewed from UE perspective (i.e., UE receives). Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 16 which is rejected above. Claim 25 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 16.
Claim 26 is essentially same as Claim 17. Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 17 which is rejected above. Claim 26 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 17.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calcev in view of Kumagai et al. (Patent No: US20240057175A1), hereinafter, Kumagai.
Regarding Claim 11, Calcev teaches the limitations of Claim 8.
Although implicit, Calcev does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 8, wherein the first COT duration corresponds to a first portion of a base station fixed frame period (FFP), wherein the second COT duration is associated with a COT of a UE FFP, and wherein the COT of the UE FFP is outside of the COT of the base station FFP.
However, in an analogous invention Kumagai teaches,
The method of claim 8, wherein the first COT duration corresponds to a first portion of a base station fixed frame period (FFP), wherein the second COT duration is associated with a COT of a UE FFP, and wherein the COT of the UE FFP is outside of the COT of the base station FFP. -Paragraph [0111-0112]([0111-0112] recites, “ FIG. 3 is a diagram to show an example of the PRACH transmission period in the COT according to the first embodiment. FIG. 3 shows an example of embodiment 1-1 described above. In the example shown in FIG. 3, each of the FFP (the first FFP, FFPs #1-1 to #1-3) for the gNB-initiated COT and the FFP (the second FFP, FFPs #2-1 to #2-5) for the UE-initiated COT is configured. In the example shown in FIG. 3, the period of the first FFP is 10 ms, and the period of the second FFP is 5 ms. The start (FFP #2-1) of the second FFP is started after a specific offset from the start (FFP #1-1) of the first FFP. In the gNB-initiated COT, the RO is configured. The UE may assume that the start of the RO in the configuration of the gNB-initiated COT and the start of the RO in the configuration of the UE-initiated COT are aligned. In the example shown in FIG. 3, the UE receives, from the gNB, the configuration information related to the FFP for the UE-initiated COT. Next, the UE obtains the COT in FFP #2-3, and transmits the PRACH in the RO in the COT.”As shown in Fig. 3, first COT duration corresponds to a first portion of a base station FFP and UE FFP is outside of the COT of the base station FFP )
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Method And Apparatus For UE Initiated COT For FBE”
proposed by Calcev to include the concept of “the first COT duration corresponds to a first portion of a base station fixed frame period (FFP), wherein the second COT duration is associated with a COT of a UE FFP, and wherein the COT of the UE FFP is outside of the COT of the base station FFP” of Kumagai . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve high-reliable and low-latency communication [0083]
Claims 18-20 and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calcev in view of Tooher et al. (Patent No: US20230309142A1), hereinafter, Tooher.
Regarding Claim 18, Calcev teaches the limitations of Claim 13
Although implicit, Calcev does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 13, further comprising transmitting, to the base station, a COT duration indication that indicates the first COT duration.
However, Tooher teaches,
The method of claim 13, further comprising transmitting, to the base station, a COT duration indication that indicates the first COT duration. -Paragraph [0103] ([0103] recites, “In embodiments, a WTRU may be configured to send a UCI to indicate to the gNB the fixed frame period related parameters (FFP-UCI). Such UCI may be sent using one of the uplink channels as mentioned in previous sections or, alternatively, using a preamble signal after acquiring the channel, such as after a successful LBT procedure. The transmitted channel/signal/preamble may be detected by other WTRUs and used to determine some of the channel related information. A WTRU may be configured to send one or more of the following as part of FFP-UCI: an indication of the desired UL/DL pattern for the beginning of a COT duration and before the WTRU’s uplink transmission, an indication of the desired UL/DL pattern for the remaining available COT duration, an indication of the intended uplink transmission type or resource, one or more acquired LBT sub-bands, energy detection threshold used by a WTRU to acquire the channel, spatial parameters used to perform clear channel assessment, and vacating an FFP.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Method And Apparatus For UE Initiated COT For FBE”
proposed by Calcev to include the concept of ” transmitting, to the base station, a COT duration indication that indicates the first COT duration.” of Tooher . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ensure efficient use of all the resources of an FFP [0079]
Regarding Claim 19, Calcev and Tooher teach the limitations of Claim 18.
Although implicit, Calcev does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 18, wherein transmitting the COT duration indication comprises transmitting a configured grant (CG)-uplink control information (CG-UCI) transmission that includes the COT duration indication.
However, Tooher teaches.
The method of claim 18, wherein transmitting the COT duration indication comprises transmitting a configured grant (CG)-uplink control information (CG-UCI) transmission that includes the COT duration indication. -Paragraph [0081][0103] ([0081] recites, “For a PUSCH transmission, for example, a WTRU may initiate a COT to transmit on a configured grant resource within the FFP. The WTRU may include the FFP-UCI in the CG transmission, which may, in embodiments, be multiplexed with or in addition to the CG-UCI. ..” [0103] recites, “..A WTRU may be configured to send one or more of the following as part of FFP-UCI: an indication of the desired UL/DL pattern for the beginning of a COT duration and before the WTRU’s uplink transmission, an indication of the desired UL/DL pattern for the remaining available COT duration, an indication of the intended uplink transmission type or resource, one or more acquired LBT sub-bands, energy detection threshold used by a WTRU to acquire the channel, spatial parameters used to perform clear channel assessment, and vacating an FFP.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Method And Apparatus For UE Initiated COT For FBE”
proposed by Calcev to include the concept of ” transmitting the COT duration indication comprises transmitting a configured grant (CG)-uplink control information (CG-UCI) transmission that includes the COT duration indication.” of Tooher . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ensure efficient use of all the resources of an FFP [0079]
Regarding Claim 20, Calcev and Tooher teach the limitations of Claim 19.
Although implicit, Calcev does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 19, wherein the COT duration indication comprises: a COT sharing information field of the CG-UCI transmission, or a dedicated COT duration indication field of the CG-UCI transmission.
However, Tooher teaches,
The method of claim 19, wherein the COT duration indication comprises: a COT sharing information field of the CG-UCI transmission, or a dedicated COT duration indication field of the CG-UCI transmission. -Paragraph [0140] ([0140] recites, “As per embodiments described herein, a WTRU may initiate a COT in an FFP even if there is an ongoing COT. Furthermore, the WTRU may be configured with multiple possibly overlapping FFP configurations. Therefore, there may be transmissions for which there may be ambiguity at the gNB as to whether the WTRU initiated a new COT on a new FFP and for which FFP configuration. In cases where there may be ambiguity, the WTRU may indicate whether a new COT has been initiated or the FFP configuration on which the COT has been initiated. Such an indication may use FFP-UCI or CG-UCI.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Method And Apparatus For UE Initiated COT For FBE”
proposed by Calcev to include the concept of ” dedicated COT duration indication field of the CG-UCI transmission.” of Tooher . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ensure efficient use of all the resources of an FFP [0079]
Claim 27 is similar to Claim 18 except for Claim 27 is looked from base station point of view vs. Claim 18 is viewed from UE point of view. Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 18 which is rejected above. Claim 27 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 18.
Claim 28 is similar to Claim 19 except for Claim 28 is looked from base station point of view vs. Claim 19 is viewed from UE point of view. Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 19 which is rejected above. Claim 28 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 19.
Claim 29 is essentially same as Claim 20. Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 20 which is rejected above. Claim 29 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 20.
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475