DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed June 4, 2026 have been entered. Claims 22, 26-28, and 40 have been amended. Amendments fix typographical errors and resolve 112b rejections. Claims 22-41 remain pending and have been examined on their merits in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed June 4, 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant argues a) Liu teachings consists of seven layers, whereas the claimed invention depicts six layers that are not a subset of the configuration of Liu’s seven layer configuration because Liu’s second adhesive layer 6 is not positioned along any surface of the metal layer recited in claim 22 of the instant application, let alone the second surface of the metal layer as recited in claim 22 and b) Bausano’s disclosure of relative melting points does not overcome the fundamental deficiency noted in argument A.
Regarding argument A, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitation “positioned along” does not require direct contact the elements and, instead, only requires the two elements being aligned or facing each other in a certain direction. Therefore, the direct contact between the second bonding layer and the metal layer as argued by Applicant is not commensurate in scope as it is not recited in claim 22. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive because Liu teaches the inner surface of second bonding layer 6 is aligned and facing the metal layer 4 and is interposed between the metal layer 4 and bottom layer 7, thereby meeting the claim limitations of “the inner surface of the second bonding layer is positioned along the second surface of the metal layer” and “at least a portion of the second bonding layer is interposed between the metal layer and the second protective layer.”
Regarding argument B, Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive as described above in the paragraph regarding argument A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendments to claims 26-28 have overcome the previous 112(b) rejections. The previous 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-25, 31, and 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (CN 103507331 A).
Regarding claim 22, Liu teaches a lithium battery encapsulation (“a battery packaging film”) (see e.g., paragraph [0002]). Liu teaches the encapsulation includes a middle layer 4 of aluminum foil (“a metal layer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0051]), a functional treatment layer 3 comprising a first base coating (“a first bonding enhancement layer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0050]), a first adhesive layer 2 (“a first bonding layer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0052]), a second bonding layer 6 comprising an adhesive (“a second bonding layer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0053]), an outer layer 1 (“a first protective layer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0048]), and a bottom layer 7 that is a heat-sealing material, a heat-resistant temperature, moisture-proof structure of organic solvent gas and corrosion resistance (“a second protective layer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0054]). Liu teaches the order of the layers of the encapsulation are the outer layer 1, the first adhesive layer 2, the functional treatment layer 3, the middle layer 4, a function treatment layer 5 comprising a second base coating having a moisture-resistant barrier structure (see e.g., paragraph [0052]), the second bonding layer 6, and the bottom layer 7 (see e.g., Annotated Figure 4); therefore, Liu meets the claim limitations of “the metal layer having a first surface and a second surface, each of the respective other layers of the packaging film having inner and outer surfaces relative to their general position with respect to the metal layer, the layers being arranged as follows: the inner surface of the first bonding enhancement layer is positioned along the first surface of the metal layer; the inner surface of the first bonding enhancement layer is positioned along the outer surface of the first bonding layer, at least a portion of the first bonding enhancement layer being interposed between the metal layer and the first bonding layer; the inner surface of the first protective layer is positioned along the outer surface of the first bonding layer; the inner surface of the second bonding layer is positioned along the second surface of the metal layer, at least a portion of the second surface of the metal layer being generally opposed from the first surface of the metal layer; the inner surface of the second protective layer is positioned along the outer surface of the second bonding layer; and at least a portion of the second bonding layer being interposed between the metal layer and the second protective layer.”
Annotated Liu Figure 4 as compared to Applicant’s Figure 4
Regarding claim 23, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 22, as previously described.
Liu teaches the encapsulation includes a function treatment layer 5 comprising a second base coating having a moisture-resistant barrier structure (“a second bonding enhancement layer having an inner and an outer surface”) (see e.g., paragraph [0052]) disposed between the metal layer 4 and the second bonding layer 6 (“he inner surface of the second bonding enhancement layer being positioned along at least a portion of the second surface of the metal layer and between the metal layer and the second protective layer; the inner surface of the second bonding layer is positioned along the outer surface of the second bonding enhancement layer”) (see e.g., Annotated Figure 4).
Regarding claim 24, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 22, as previously described.
Liu teaches the functional treatment layer 3 comprises a first base coating in which the first base coating includes nano-silicon oxide (“wherein the first bonding enhancement layer comprises nano ceramic”) (see e.g., paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claim 25, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 22, as previously described.
Liu teaches the functional treatment layer 5 comprises a second base coating in which the second base coating includes nano-silicon oxide (“wherein the second bonding enhancement layer comprises nano ceramic”) (see e.g., paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 31, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 22, as previously described.
Liu teaches the middle layer 4 is aluminum foil (“wherein the metal layer is a metal”) (see e.g., paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 40, Liu teaches a lithium-ion battery (“a battery”) (see e.g., paragraph [0002]). Liu teaches the lithium battery cell comprising a positive electrode material, negative electrode material, and liquid organic electrolyte which are then encapsulated in an aluminum-plastic film (“a bare cell”) (see e.g., paragraph [0005]). Liu teaches the encapsulation includes a middle layer 4 of aluminum foil (“a metal layer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0051]), a functional treatment layer 3 comprising a first base coating (“a first bonding enhancement layer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0050]), a first adhesive layer 2 (“a first bonding layer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0052]), a second bonding layer 6 comprising an adhesive (“a second bonding layer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0053]), an outer layer 1 (“a first protective layer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0048]), and a bottom layer 7 that is a heat-sealing material, a heat-resistant temperature, moisture-proof structure of organic solvent gas and corrosion resistance (“a second protective layer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0054]). Liu teaches the order of the layers of the encapsulation are the outer layer 1, the first adhesive layer 2, the functional treatment layer 3, the middle layer 4, a function treatment layer 5 comprising a second base coating having a moisture-resistant barrier structure (see e.g., paragraph [0052]), the second bonding layer 6, and the bottom layer 7 (see e.g., Annotated Figure 4); therefore, Liu meets the claim limitations of “the metal layer having a first surface and a second surface, each of the respective other layers of the packaging film having inner and outer surfaces relative to their general position with respect to the metal layer, the layers being arranged as follows: the inner surface of the first bonding enhancement layer is positioned along the first surface of the metal layer; the inner surface of the first bonding enhancement layer is positioned along the outer surface of the first bonding layer, at least a portion of the first bonding enhancement layer being interposed between the metal layer and the first bonding layer; the inner surface of the first protective layer is positioned along the outer surface of the first bonding layer; the inner surface of the second bonding layer is positioned along the second surface of the metal layer, at least a portion of the second surface of the metal layer being generally opposed from the first surface of the metal layer; the inner surface of the second protective layer is positioned along the outer surface of the second bonding layer; and at least a portion of the second bonding layer being interposed between the metal layer and the second protective layer.”
Liu teaches the main components of the lithium battery are encapsulated in the aluminum-plastic film (“the battery packaging film at least partially wrapping around the bare cell”) (see e.g., paragraph [0005]). Liu teaches the outer layer is located on the outside (“the battery packaging film at least partially wrapping around the bare cell, the first protective layer being positioned along a side away from the bare cell”) (see e.g., paragraph [0075]) and the bottom layer is located below the inner surface of the intermediate layer (next to the cell) (“the second protective layer being positioned along a side facing the bare cell”) (see e.g., paragraph [0076]).
Regarding claim 41, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 40, as previously described.
Liu teaches a lithium-ion battery (LIB) (“wherein the battery is a lithium-ion battery”) (see e.g., paragraph [0004]).
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (CN 103507331 A) and as evidenced by Bausano (“Melting Temperature of Plastic”).
Regarding claim 36, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 22, as previously described.
Liu teaches the outer layer 1 (“the first protective layer”) comprises a nylon film and the bottom layer 7 (“the second protective layer”) comprises PP or PE. Bausano teaches the melting temperature of nylon ranges 220 to 260 °C, the melting temperature of PP ranges from 160 to 170 °C, and the melting temperature of PE ranges from 105 to 135 °C; therefore, Liu teaches the claim limitation of “wherein a melting point of the first protective layer is higher than a melting point of the second protective layer.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 103507331 A).
Regarding claim 37, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 22, as previously described.
Liu teaches the thickness of the outer layer is approximately 15 µm to 25 µm (“wherein a thickness of the first protective layer is from about 10 µm to about 30 µm”) (see e.g., paragraph [0075]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the thickness of 15 µm to 25 µm overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 38, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 22, as previously described.
Liu teaches the thickness of the bottom layer is about 40 µm to 80 µm (“wherein a thickness of the second protective layer is from about 20 µm to about 80 µm”) (see e.g., paragraph [0076]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the thickness of 40 µm to 80 µm overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 39, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 22, as previously described.
Liu teaches the thickness of the metal layer is 25 µm to 40 µm (“wherein a thickness of the metal layer is from about 25 µm to about 60 µm”) (see e.g., paragraph [0076]).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 103507331 A) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 108336254 A), hereinafter referred to as Zhang.
Regarding claim 26, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 24, as previously described.
Liu teaches the functional treatment layer 3 comprises a first base coating in which the first base coating includes nano-silicon oxide (“wherein the first bonding enhancement layer comprises nano ceramic”) (see e.g., paragraph [0065]).
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein ceramic in the nano ceramic accounts for a percentage of from about 1% to about 60%.
However, Zhang teaches a packaging film (see e.g., paragraph [0002]). Zhang teaches the packaging film comprises a copper-aluminum foil composite attached to a nano Al2O3 layer attached to a polypropylene layer (see e.g., paragraph [0007]). Zhang teaches the mass ratio of the nano Al2O3 to polypropylene is 0.1:1 to 0.5:1 (see e.g., paragraph [0012]) in order to produce a heat-insulating film with excellent insulation, cold impact resistance, corrosion resistance, high barrier properties, and high strength (see e.g., paragraph [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the mass percentage of the nano material of the base coating of Liu to have a mass ratio of 0.1:1 to 0.5:1 as compared to the other material in the layer, as taught by Zhang, in order to produce a heat-insulating film with excellent insulation, cold impact resistance, corrosion resistance, high barrier properties, and high strength (see e.g., paragraph [0006]).
Claims 27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 103507331 A) in view of Chen et al. (CN 115461912 A, citations from corresponding US 20230080891 A1), hereinafter referred to as Chen.
Regarding claim 27, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 24, as previously described.
Liu teaches the functional treatment layer 3 comprises a first base coating in which the first base coating includes nano-silicon oxide (“wherein the first bonding enhancement layer comprises nano ceramic”) (see e.g., paragraph [0065]).
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein non-ceramic in the nano thermally conductive non-ceramic accounts for a percentage of from about 10% to about 60%.
However, Chen teaches a packaging film including a protective layer, a first bonding layer, a metal layer. a second bonding layer and a sealing layer (see e.g., Abstract). Chen teaches the protective layer 20 includes a polymer resin layer 21 and a carbon material 22 (see e.g., paragraph [0054]). Chen teaches the carbon material 22 includes at least one of carbon nanotubes and carbon fibers (“a nano thermally conductive non-ceramic”) (see e.g., paragraph [0060]). Chen teaches a mass percentage of the carbon material 22 is 5 to 50% in order to allow for enhancing the kinetic performance of the packaging film and the inhibiting of volume swelling (see e.g., paragraph [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the mass percentage of the base coating of Liu to be carbon nanotubes and carbon fibers in a mass percentage of 5 to 50%, as taught by Chen, in order to allow for enhancing the kinetic performance of the packaging film and the inhibiting of volume swelling (see e.g., paragraph [0061]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the thickness of 5 nm or more and 200 nm or less overlap with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 29, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 24, as previously described.
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the nano thermally conductive non-ceramic is graphene or carbon nanotubes.
However, Chen teaches a packaging film including a protective layer, a first bonding layer, a metal layer. a second bonding layer and a sealing layer (see e.g., Abstract). Chen teaches the protective layer 20 includes a polymer resin layer 21 and a carbon material 22 (see e.g., paragraph [0054]). Chen teaches the carbon material 22 includes at least one of carbon nanotubes and carbon fibers (“wherein the nano thermally conductive non-ceramic is graphene or carbon nanotubes”) in order to enhance the kinetic performance of the packaging film with their relatively high tensile strength, elastic modulus, oxidation resistance, and wear resistance and low thermal expansion coefficient (see e.g., paragraph [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the base coating of Liu to be carbon nanotubes as taught by Chen, in order to enhance the kinetic performance of the packaging film with their relatively high tensile strength, elastic modulus, oxidation resistance, and wear resistance and low thermal expansion coefficient (see e.g., paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 30, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 22, as previously described.
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein a thickness of the first bonding enhancement layer or the second bonding enhancement layer is from about 1 µm to about 20 µm.
However, Chen teaches a packaging film including a protective layer, a first bonding layer, a metal layer. a second bonding layer and a sealing layer (see e.g., Abstract). Chen teaches the protective layer 20 includes a polymer resin layer 21 and a carbon material 22 (see e.g., paragraph [0054]). Chen teaches the carbon material 22 includes at least one of carbon nanotubes and carbon fibers (“the nano thermally conductive non-ceramic”) (see e.g., paragraph [0060]). Chen teaches the thickness of the carbon layer is 2 µm to 5 µm (see e.g., paragraph [0065]) in order to prevent the piercing by sharp objects more effectively and to further increase the puncturing resistance of the packaging film (see e.g., paragraph [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the base coating of Liu to be carbon nanotubes with a layer thickness of 2 µm to 5 µm, as taught by Chen, in order to prevent the piercing by sharp objects more effectively and to further increase the puncturing resistance of the packaging film (see e.g., paragraph [0064]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the thickness of 2 µm to 5 µm overlap with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 103507331 A) in view of Fujiwara et al. (US 2021/0308988 A1), hereinafter referred to as Fujiwara.
Regarding claim 28, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 24, as previously described.
Liu teaches the first and second base coating includes nano-silicon oxide (“wherein the nano ceramic is a mixture of one or more of the following inorganic substances of silicon oxide”) (see e.g., paragraphs [0065]-[0066]).
Liu does not explicitly teach the nano ceramic is about 0.1 nm to about 100 nm thickness.
However, Fujiwara teaches a power storage device packaging material with good flexibility and electrolytic solution resistance (see e.g., Abstract). Fujiwara teaches the packaging material comprises a heat-sealable resin layer, gas barrier film layers, and adhesive layers. Fujiwara teaches the gas barrier film layers is formed of an inorganic material such as inorganic oxides such as silicon oxide, aluminum oxide, and titanium oxide (see e.g., paragraph [0088]). Fujiwara teaches the thickness of the gas barrier film is 5 nm or more and 200 nm or less (see e.g., paragraph [0092]) in order to maintain the strength and avoid the development of a defect when subject to a mechanical stress (see e.g., paragraph [0093]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the thickness of the nano-silicon oxide of Liu to have thickness of 5 nm or more and 200 nm or less, as taught by Fujiwara, in order to maintain the strength and avoid the development of a defect when subject to a mechanical stress (see e.g., paragraph [0093]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the thickness of 5 nm or more and 200 nm or less overlap with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 103507331 A) in view of Xie (CN 107154468) and as evidenced by Loftis (“How To Choose The Right Aluminum”).
Regarding claim 32, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 22, as previously described.
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the metal layer is formed from metal or from an alloy, each having a strength higher than that of aluminum.
However, Xie teaches packaging materials for batteries and pouch batteries (see e.g., paragraph [0002]). Xie teaches the packaging material includes an aluminum foil layer formed of a corrosion-resistant aluminum alloy (see e.g., paragraph [0014]) in order to have a packaging material that can maintain normal function for a long time without failure in an environment where they are in direct contact with coolant (see e.g., paragraph [0031]). Xie teaches the foil material is selected from aluminum, zinc, copper, and manganese alloy (“wherein the metal layer is formed from metal or from an alloy”) (see e.g., Table 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the metal layer of Liu to alloy aluminum with zinc, copper, and manganese, as taught by Xie, in order to have a packaging material that can maintain normal function for a long time without failure in an environment where they are in direct contact with coolant (see e.g., paragraph [0031]).
Loftis teaches alloying aluminum with copper gives the alloy excellent strength, alloying aluminum with manganese enhances its corrosion resistance and strength slightly compared to pure aluminum, and alloying aluminum with zinc give superior strength and durability. Therefore, the metal alloys taught by Liu, as modified by Xie, each have a strength higher than that of aluminum.
Claims 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 103507331 A) in view of Xie (CN 107154468).
Regarding claim 33, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 31, as previously described.
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the metal layer is a metal layer comprising one of copper foil, zinc, platinum, iron, nickel, titanium, cobalt, manganese, or vanadium; or the metal layer is an alloy layer comprising one or more of the following metals: copper foil, zinc, platinum, iron, nickel, titanium, cobalt, manganese, or vanadium.
However, Xie teaches packaging materials for batteries and pouch batteries (see e.g., paragraph [0002]). Xie teaches the packaging material includes an aluminum foil layer formed of a corrosion-resistant aluminum alloy (see e.g., paragraph [0014]) in order to have a packaging material that can maintain normal function for a long time without failure in an environment where they are in direct contact with coolant (see e.g., paragraph [0031]). Xie teaches the foil material is selected from aluminum, zinc, copper, and manganese alloy (“wherein the metal layer is an alloy layer comprising one or more of the following metals: copper foil, zinc, or manganese”) (see e.g., Table 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the metal layer of Liu to alloy aluminum with zinc, copper, and manganese, as taught by Xie, in order to have a packaging material that can maintain normal function for a long time without failure in an environment where they are in direct contact with coolant (see e.g., paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 34, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 33, as previously described.
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the alloy layer is an aluminum-copper alloy.
However, Xie teaches the foil material is an aluminum-copper alloy (“wherein the alloy layer is an aluminum-copper alloy”) (see e.g., paragraph [0037]) in order to have a packaging material that can maintain normal function for a long time without failure in an environment where they are in direct contact with coolant (see e.g., paragraph [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the metal layer of Liu to alloy aluminum with copper as taught by Xie, in order to have a packaging material that can maintain normal function for a long time without failure in an environment where they are in direct contact with coolant (see e.g., paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 35, Liu teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 33, as previously described.
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the alloy layer is a zinc-manganese alloy.
However, Xie teaches the foil material is an alloy with zinc and manganese (“wherein the alloy layer is a zinc-manganese alloy”) (see e.g., Table 4) in order to have a packaging material that can maintain normal function for a long time without failure in an environment where they are in direct contact with coolant (see e.g., paragraph [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the metal layer of Liu to alloy zinc and manganese, as taught by Xie, in order to have a packaging material that can maintain normal function for a long time without failure in an environment where they are in direct contact with coolant (see e.g., paragraph [0031]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728