DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed 02/17/2025, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Priority
The instant application claims foreign priority GB2019524.4 filed 12/10/2020. The instant application is a 371 of PCT/EP2021/084819 filed 12/08/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole et al. (US Application Publication 20200024226A1).
Cole teaches the use of Methyl 4-fluoro-2-hydroxybenzoate (XLIIa) (Cole at [1247-1248])
.
Cole teaches that to a solution of 100 g (0.64 mol, 1.0 eq.) of 1,4-fluoro-2-hydroxybenzoic acid (XLIa) in 1 L of MeOH at 0° C. was slowly added 100 mL of concentrated sulfuric acid at 0° C. The mixture was allowed to warm to room temperature and then heated at 70° C. for 16 h. The mixture was then allowed to cool to room temperature and concentrated under reduced pressure. The residue was redissolved in 1 L of ethyl acetate and washed with 500 mL of sat. NaHCO3 followed by 500 mL of brine. The organic phase was dried (Na2SO4), filtered and the solvent was removed in vacuo to provide 95 g (0.56 mol, 87%) of methyl 4-fluoro-2-hydroxybenzoate (XLIIa) (Cole at [1247-1248]). Cole further teaches that the composition is a tablets, capsules, caplets, pills, gel caps, troches, emulsions, dispersions, suspensions, solutions, syrups, granules, beads, transdermal patches, gels, powders, pellets, magmas, lozenges, creams, pastes, plasters, lotions, discs, suppositories, liquid sprays for nasal or oral administration, dry powder or aerosolized formulations for inhalation (Cole at [0698]). Cole further teaches formulations suitable for oral administration include, but are not limited to, a powdered or granular formulation, an aqueous or oily suspension, an aqueous or oily solution, a paste, a gel, toothpaste, a mouthwash, a coating, an oral rinse, or an emulsion (Cole at [0699]). Cole teaches liquid suspensions may be prepared using conventional methods to achieve suspension of the active ingredient in an aqueous or oily vehicle. Aqueous vehicles include, for example, water, and isotonic saline. Oily vehicles include, for example, almond oil, oily esters, ethyl alcohol, vegetable oils such as arachis, olive, sesame, or coconut oil, fractionated vegetable oils, and mineral oils such as liquid paraffin. Liquid suspensions may further comprise one or more additional ingredients including, but not limited to, suspending agents, dispersing or wetting agents, emulsifying agents, demulcents, preservatives, buffers, salts, flavorings, coloring agents, and sweetening agents (Cole at [0681]). Cole does not require or teach the use of methyl salicylate.
Cole differs from the instant claims in this rejection insofar as it does not teach the combination of the instantly recited components with sufficient specificity for anticipation. Cole teaches the components of the instant recited composition and uses each component of their established function in the art but does not explicitly combine the components together into a single embodiment or a preferred composition. However, given the disclosure of each component individually, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the filing of the present patent application and following the teachings of Cole to have selected and combined known components for their established functions with predictable results. MPEP §2143 and §2144.06(I).
Regarding instant claim 1, Cole teaches the use of Methyl 4-fluoro-2-hydroxybenzoate (XLIIa) (Cole at [1247-1248]). Cole further teaches that the composition is a tablets, capsules, caplets, pills, gel caps, troches, emulsions, dispersions, suspensions, solutions, syrups, granules, beads, transdermal patches, gels, powders, pellets, magmas, lozenges, creams, pastes, plasters, lotions, discs, suppositories, liquid sprays for nasal or oral administration, dry powder or aerosolized formulations for inhalation (Cole at [0698]). Liquid suspensions may further comprise one or more additional ingredients including, but not limited to, suspending agents, dispersing or wetting agents, emulsifying agents, demulcents, preservatives, buffers, salts, flavorings, coloring agents, and sweetening agents (Cole at [0681]). Cole further teaches formulations suitable for oral administration include, but are not limited to, a powdered or granular formulation, an aqueous or oily suspension, an aqueous or oily solution, a paste, a gel, toothpaste, a mouthwash, a coating, an oral rinse, or an emulsion (Cole at [0699]).
Regarding instant claim 2, Cole does not require or teach the use of methyl salicylate.
Regarding instant claim 3, Cole further teaches that the composition is a tablets, capsules, caplets, pills, gel caps emulsions, dispersions, suspensions, solutions, syrups, lozenges, (Cole at [0698]) which would be consumable.
Regarding instant claim 4, Cole teaches the use of Methyl 4-fluoro-2-hydroxybenzoate (XLIIa) (Cole at [1247-1248]).
Regarding instant claim 5, Cole teaches the use of Methyl 4-fluoro-2-hydroxybenzoate (XLIIa) (Cole at [1247-1248]). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01(I).
Regarding instant claim 6, Cole does not require or teach the use of methyl salicylate. Cole further teaches that the composition is a tablets, capsules, caplets, pills, gel caps emulsions, dispersions, suspensions, solutions, syrups, lozenges, (Cole at [0698]) which would be consumable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-10, 14,15,17,18 and 20 of copending Application No. 18/275,080 in view of Cole et al. (US Application Publication 20200024226A1). The instant invention recites a consumer product comprising a methyl-fluoro- hydroxybenzoate selected from methyl 4-fluoro-2-hydroxybenzoate and methyl 2-fluoro- 6-hydroxybenzoate and a further ingredient (instant application at claim 1).
The reference application 080 recites a method of reducing an off-taste of a composition to be received orally, comprising adding to said composition 2'-HOPP and methyl-fluoro- hydroxybenzoate (080 at claim 1). There is not a statutory case of double patenting because the reference application 080 requires the use of 2’-HOPP which is not required by the instant invention.
The reference application 080 recites wherein the composition additionally comprises methyl-fluoro-hydroxybenzoate (080 at claims 7, 12, and 13).
The reference claims differ from the instant invention insofar as they do not specifically recite in the claims the use of the specific structures of methyl 4-fluoro-2-hydroxybenzoate and methyl 2-fluoro-6-hydroxybenzoate. The teachings of Cole cure this deficit.
The teachings of Cole are discussed in the obviousness rejections above.
It would be prima facie obvious to have combined the methyl-fluoro-hydroxybenzoate of 080 with the methyl 2-fluoro- 6-hydroxybenzoate of Cole for the predictable results of a methyl-fluoro-hydroxybenzoate in a product. See MPEP 2144.06(I). There would be a reasonable expectation of success because 080 teaches the use of 4-fluoro-2-hydroxybenzoate, and methyl 2-fluoro-6-hydroxybenzoate on page 3 of their specification as methyl-fluoro-hydroxybenzoates.
Reference claims and prior art combine to produce a prima facie case of obviousness type non-statutory double patenting.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the double patenting rejection is premature and instant application is earlier filed, and therefore the double patenting rejection should be withdrawn.
The Examiner does not agree. Because the instant claims are not in condition for allowance, other rejections remain, the double patenting rejection stands as the provisions of MPEP 804(I)(B)(1)(b)(i-iii) apply. Since terminal disclaimers have not yet been filed, the non-statutory double patenting rejections are maintained.
Applicant argues that Shirely is improper and should not be used due to the amended claims.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 8, filed 02/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 under Shirely have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Cole.
Conclusion
No claims are presently allowable.
Correspondence
/AMANDA MICHELLE PETRITSCH/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612