Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 6 recites a range of less than 2.5 mol% VCH which includes 0 mol% VCH. Claim 1 from which Claim 6 depends requires 0.25 to 5 mol% of VCH in the copolymer. Therefore, Claim 6 does not require all the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Examiner recommends amending the range of Claim 6 to include 0.25 mol % - 2.5 mol% of VCH to overcome this rejection.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aitola (Copolymerization of Vinylcyclohexane with Ethene and Propene using Zirconocene Catalyst, provided on IDS).
In Table 1, Aitola teaches various ethylene-vinylcyclohexane (VCH) copolymerizations with 0.51,1.21, 2.92 and 3.46 % of VCH incorporation and 41.3-54.5 % crystallinity. While Aitola does not specifically teach the above % incorporation is molar, Aitola on page 6572 2nd column teaches VCH incorporation is known to be up to 38 mol% in the art. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested the 0.51, 1.21, 2.92 and 3.46% VCH amounts must in mol % in Aitola due to the above discussion of mol% of incorporated VCH in known copolymerizations in the art. The above anticipates the mol% range and crystallinity of Claim 4.
Aitola is silent on the phase angle and MSHI limitation of Claim 4. Applicant’s Figure 3 discloses the phase angle of various comparative and inventive examples of copolymer and Table 3 of the as-filed specification discloses various MSHI of comparative and inventive examples. None of Applicant’s comparative examples are ethylene-VCH copolymers nor does Applicant provide any indication the above properties are dependent on catalyst used to make ethylene-VCH copolymer or the amount of VCH in a copolymer or any other parameter related to ethylene-VCH copolymer. All of the ethylene-VCH copolymers have the phase angle limitation between 70o and 30o and all copolymer listed (even comparative without VCH) have the MSHI in the range of less than 1.7 claimed. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested when test appropriately the ethylene-VCH copolymers of Aitoka must have the recited phase angle and MSHI limitation of Claim 4 because the evidence of record reasonably suggests that ethylene-VCH copolymers which have single digit mol % of VCH with crystallinity as recited must have these properties. This anticipates these limitations of Claim 4. Further, for the same reasons above, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested, when test appropriately, the copolymers of Aitola must have the ranges of these properties in Claim 8-10. This anticipates Claim 8, Claim 9 and Claim 10.
With respect to Claim 5, as above, Aitola does not teach the density of the ethylene-VCH copolymers, however, every one of Applicant’s inventive ethylene-VCH copolymer has densities in the recited range with VCH amounts in mol % also in the range of VCH amounts of Aitola’s table 1 copolymer and the densities vary extremely weakly with changes in comonomer amount. Therefore, based on the above evidence, when tested appropriately, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested the densities of Aitola Table 1 copolymers must be in the recited range of Claim 5 anticipating the claim.
The 0.51 and 1.21 mol % VCH copolymer of Table 1 of Aitola anticipate Claim 6.
With respect to Claim 7 and 11-13, as above, Aitola does not teach the amount of branching nor the aDTI or Tg of these claims. However, every one of Applicant’s inventive ethylene-VCH copolymer has the properties recited by these claims with VCH amounts in mol % also in the range of VCH amounts of Aitola’s table 1 copolymer. Therefore, when tested appropriately, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested the amount of branching, aDTI and Tg of Aitola’s Table 1 copolymers must be in the recited range of Claim 7, Claim 11, Claim 12 and Claim 13 due to the above identified similarities of the copolymers anticipating the claim.
In other words, the evidence of record reasonably suggests the material properties recited by Claims 4-5 and 7-13 must be present in the ethylene-VCH copolymers of Aitola because every piece of evidence of record, i.e. Applicant’s inventive examples, reasonably suggests these properties must be present (or are characteristic) of ethylene-VCH copolymers with mol % VCH and crystallinity in the recited range.
The reliance upon the specification by the Office to establish inherent properties has been supported by the Federal Circuit. In re Kao, 98 USPQ2d 1799, 1809 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claims 4-5 and 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iseki (U.S. 6,288,193) as evidenced by Aitola (Copolymerization of Vinylcyclohexane with Ethene and Propene using Zirconocene Catalyst, provided on IDS).
Iseki teaches films or sheets of ethylene-vinylcyclohexane (VCH) copolymers. See Column 28 lines 5-45. Example 1 teaches and ethylene-VCH copolymer with 2.6 mol % of VCH with a Tg of -9.6 oC and PDI of 1.8.
Iseki is silent on the crystallinity of the ethylene-VCH copolymers.
As evidenced by Aitola in Table 1, ethylene-VCH copolymers with molar amounts of VCH in the range of 0.51 to 3.46, such as Iseki’s are known to have crystallinities in the range of ~41 to ~ 54 %. Therefore, based on this evidence, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested the 2.6 mol% ethylene-VCH copolymer of Iseki must have a crystallinity in the recited range of Claim 4 and Claim 14’s film when tested appropriately. This anticipates the crystallinity and mol % ranges of Claim 4 and Claim 14.
Iseki is silent on the phase angle and MSHI limitation of Claim 4. Applicant’s Figure 3 discloses the phase angle of various comparative and inventive examples of copolymer and Table 3 of the as-filed specification discloses various MSHI of comparative and inventive examples. None of Applicant’s comparative examples are ethylene-VCH copolymers nor does Applicant provide any indication the above properties are dependent on catalyst used to make ethylene-VCH copolymer or the amount of VCH in a copolymer or any other parameter related to ethylene-VCH copolymer. All of the ethylene-VCH copolymers have the phase angle limitation between 70o and 30o and all copolymer listed (even comparative without VCH) have the MSHI in the range of less than 1.7 claimed. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested, when test appropriately, the ethylene-VCH copolymers of Iseki, in particular that of Example 1, must have the recited phase angle and MSHI limitation of Claim 4 and 14 because the evidence of record reasonably suggests that ethylene-VCH copolymers which have single digit mol % of VCH with crystallinity as recited must have these properties. This anticipates these limitations of Claim 4 and Claim 14. Further, for the same reasons above, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested, when test appropriately, the copolymers of Iseki must have the ranges of these properties in Claim 8-10. This anticipates Claim 8, Claim 9 and Claim 10.
With respect to Claim 5 and Claim 15, as above, Iseki does not teach the density of the ethylene-VCH copolymers, however, every one of Applicant’s inventive ethylene-VCH copolymer has densities in the recited range with VCH amounts in the recited mol % range and the densities vary extremely weakly with changes in comonomer amount. Therefore, based on the above evidence, when tested appropriately, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested the densities of Iseki’s ethylene-VCH copolymers, in particular that of Example 1, must be in the recited range of Claim 5 anticipating the claim.
With respect to Claim 7 and 11-12, 16-17, as above, Iseki does not teach the amount of branching nor the aDTI of these claims. However, every one of Applicant’s inventive ethylene-VCH copolymer has the properties recited by these claims with VCH amounts in mol % in the range of VCH amounts of Iseki’s copolymer, in particular that of Example 1. Therefore, when tested appropriately, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested the amount of branching and aDTI of Iskei’s ethylene-VCH copolymers, in particular that of Example 1, must be in the recited range of Claim 7, Claim 11, Claim 12, Claim 16 and Claim 17 due to the above identified similarities of the copolymers anticipating the claim.
The Tg of -9.6 anticipates Claim 13 and Claim 18.
In other words, the evidence of record reasonably suggests the material properties recited by Claims 4-5 and 7-13, 14-18 must be present in the ethylene-VCH copolymers of Iseki, in particular that of Example 1, because every piece of evidence of record, i.e. Applicant’s inventive examples, reasonably suggests these properties must be present (or are characteristic) of ethylene-VCH copolymers with mol % VCH and crystallinity in the recited range if they are not otherwise specifically taught.
The reliance upon the specification by the Office to establish inherent properties has been supported by the Federal Circuit. In re Kao, 98 USPQ2d 1799, 1809 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iseki (U.S. 6,288,193) as evidenced by Aitola (Copolymerization of Vinylcyclohexane with Ethene and Propene using Zirconocene Catalyst, provided on IDS).
Iseki is applied as above under §102.
Iseki exemplifies 2.6 mol% VCH but does not otherwise exemplify a ethylene-VCH copolymer with less than 2.5 mol% VCH.
Iseki teaches in Column 4 lines 45-55 the molar content of VCH is preferably in the range of 0.8 to 20 mol% for excellent impact strength and transparency.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Iseki, in particular that of Example 1, such that the VCH amount was in the range of 0.8 to 20 mol% in order to provide the copolymers with excellent impact strength and transparency as taught by Iseki in Column 4 lines 45-55. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to practice in the range of 0.8 to 2.6 mol% of VCH because Iseki already exemplifies this amount and this range would allow one of ordinary skill in the art to explore the lower end of Iseki’s 0.8 to 20 mol% range.
This overlaps the recited range Claim 6 rendering it obvious.
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iseki (U.S. 6,288,193) in view of Ajellal (U.S. 20200079887) as evidenced by Aitola (Copolymerization of Vinylcyclohexane with Ethene and Propene using Zirconocene Catalyst, provided on IDS).
Iseki teaches films or sheets of ethylene-vinylcyclohexane (VCH) copolymers. See Column 28 lines 5-45. Example 1 teaches and ethylene-VCH copolymer with 2.6 mol % of VCH with a Tg of 9.6 oC and PDI of 1.8.
The exemplified Example 1 catalyst is not the bridged hafnocene recited by Claim 1.
Ajella, working in the field of ethylene copolymerizations with α-olefins, teaches a bridged hafnocene catalyst which give high productivity combined with high solubility, molecular weight capability and comonomer incorporation ability. (¶[0001])
Iseki exemplifies gas phase polymerization but is not limited to it and may use any polymerization method including liquid phase polymerization and temperatures for liquid phase polymerization of up to 120 oC (Column 27 line 30-45, 50-60)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Iseki, in particular that of Example 1, by using the bridge hafnocene catalyst of Ajella for the advantage of using a catalyst which gives which give high productivity combined with high solubility, molecular weight capability and comonomer incorporation ability as taught by Ajella. (¶[0001])
A skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in the above catalyst change because Iseki is open to any polymerization technique including liquid phase (i.e. solution) polymerization and Ajella teaches α-olefins are the comonomers (¶[0123]) and vinylcyclohexane is an α-olefin.
The bridge hafnocene reads over the catalyst of Claim 1 as R1 and R2 of the Ajella catalyst reads over the hydrocarbyl groups of R4 and R5 as they include cyclic and aryl groups (see page 6 lines 5-15) and the rest of Ajella’s catalyst reads over the instantly claimed catalyst in an apparent manner.
Iseki is silent on the crystallinity of the ethylene-VCH copolymers.
As evidenced by Aitola in Table 1, ethylene-VCH copolymers with molar amounts of VCH in the range of 0.51 to 3.46, such as Iseki’s are known to have crystallinities in the range of ~41 to ~ 54 %. Therefore, based on this evidence, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested the 2.6 mol% ethylene-VCH copolymer of Iseki and Ajella must have a crystallinity in the recited range of Claim 4 and Claim 14’s film when tested appropriately especially in light of using the bridged hafnocene catalyst as used in the examples. This reads over the crystallinity and mol % ranges of Claim 4 and Claim 14.
Iseki is silent on the phase angle and MSHI limitation of Claim 4. Applicant’s Figure 3 discloses the phase angle of various comparative and inventive examples of copolymer and Table 3 of the as-filed specification discloses various MSHI of comparative and inventive examples. None of Applicant’s comparative examples are ethylene-VCH copolymers nor does Applicant provide any indication the above properties are dependent on catalyst used to make ethylene-VCH copolymer or the amount of VCH in a copolymer or any other parameter related to ethylene-VCH copolymer. All of the ethylene-VCH copolymers have the phase angle limitation between 70o and 30o and all copolymer listed (even comparative without VCH) have the MSHI in the range of less than 1.7 claimed. Additionally, all of the ethylene-VCH copolymers made with the recited bridged hafnocene catalyst have the recited MSHI and phase angle.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested, when test appropriately, the ethylene-VCH copolymers of Iseki and Ajella, in particular that of Example 1, must have the recited phase angle and MSHI limitation of Claim 4 and 14 because the evidence of record reasonably suggests that ethylene-VCH copolymers which have single digit mol % of VCH with crystallinity as recited made with the recited bridged hafnocene catalyst must have these properties. This reads over these limitations of Claim 4 and Claim 14. Further, for the same reasons above, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested, when test appropriately, the copolymers of Iseki must have the ranges of these properties in Claim 8-10. This reads over Claim 8, Claim 9 and Claim 10.
With respect to Claim 5 and Claim 15, as above, Iseki does not teach the density of the ethylene-VCH copolymers, however, every one of Applicant’s inventive ethylene-VCH copolymer has densities in the recited range with VCH amounts in the recited mol % range and the recited bridged hafnocene catalyst and the densities vary extremely weakly with changes in comonomer amount. Therefore, based on the above evidence, when tested appropriately, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested the densities of Iseki’s ethylene-VCH copolymers, in particular that of Example 1, must be in the recited range of Claim 5 reading over these claims.
With respect to Claim 6, Iseki exemplifies 2.6 mol% VCH but does not otherwise exemplify an ethylene-VCH copolymer with less than 2.5 mol% VCH.
Iseki teaches in Column 4 lines 45-55 the molar content of VCH is preferably in the range of 0.8 to 20 mol% for excellent impact strength and transparency.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Iseki, in particular that of Example 1, such that the VCH amount was in the range of 0.8 to 20 mol% in order to provide the copolymers with excellent impact strength and transparency as taught by Iseki in Column 4 lines 45-55. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to practice in the range of 0.8 to 2.6 mol% of VCH because Iseki already exemplifies this amount and this range would allow one of ordinary skill in the art to explore the lower end of Iseki’s 0.8 to 20 mol% range.
With respect to Claim 7 and 11-12, 16-17, as above, Iseki does not teach the amount of branching nor the aDTI of these claims. However, every one of Applicant’s inventive ethylene-VCH copolymer made with the recited bridge catalyst has the properties recited by these claims with VCH amounts in mol % in the range of VCH amounts of Iseki’s copolymer, in particular that of Example 1. Therefore, when tested appropriately, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested the amount of branching and aDTI of Iskei’s ethylene-VCH copolymers, in particular that of Example 1, must be in the recited range of Claim 7, Claim 11, Claim 12, Claim 16 and Claim 17 due to the above identified similarities of the copolymers reading over these claims.
The Tg of -9.6 anticipates Claim 13 and Claim 18.
In other words, the evidence of record reasonably suggests the material properties recited by Claims 4-5 and 7-13, 14-18 must be present in the ethylene-VCH copolymers of Iseki in Ajella, in particular that of Example 1, because every piece of evidence of record, i.e. Applicant’s inventive examples, reasonably suggests these properties must be present (or are characteristic) of ethylene-VCH copolymers with mol % VCH and crystallinity in the recited range and made with a bridge hafnocene catalysts which is within the scope of the catalyst of Claim 1 if they are not otherwise specifically taught.
The reliance upon the specification by the Office to establish inherent properties has been supported by the Federal Circuit. In re Kao, 98 USPQ2d 1799, 1809 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Conclusion
/Christopher M Rodd/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766