DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed April 07, 2026 have been entered. Currently, claims 66, 71, and 94 have been amended, and claims 66-75, 86-96 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 66-72, 74-75, and 86-96 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Utley (U.S. Application No. 20110270249 A1), and further in view of Rajagopalan (W.O. Application No. 2012099974 A2).
Regarding independent claim 66, Utley discloses an apparatus for delivering energy to a tissue (3) (pa. 0067 & Figs. 1-3, 19), the apparatus comprising:
an elongate applicator tool (100) comprising:
an elongate shaft (164) (pa. 0066);
a distal tip region (110) at a distal end of the elongate shaft (pa. 0066);
a plurality of electrodes (101) (pa. 0068) arranged along a surface (upper surface of housing 107, pa. 0072) of the distal tip region at a radial position relative to a longitudinal axis of the distal tip region;
one or more contact projections (deflection mechanism 105) configured to extend outward from the radial position and move away from the plurality of electrodes, while the plurality of electrodes remains at the radial position (by applying a substantially uniform apposition force, pa. 0114, which results in direct and sustainable contact between the plurality of electrodes and the tissue surface, pa. 0075), wherein the one or more contact projections comprises a mechanical structure (a thin, flexible, bladder made of a material such as polymer, pa. 0076) configured to expand tissue to prepare for treatment with the plurality of electrodes (pa. 0075); and
a suction port configured to apply suction to draw the tissue against the plurality of electrodes (pa. 0075).
Furthermore, while the first embodiment seen in Figures 1-3 includes the deflection mechanism (105), wherein the deflection mechanism comprises an inflation member such as a balloon (pa. 0084), an alternative/second embodiment utilizes a deflection mechanism comprising an expandable stent, frame or cage device (pa. 0085). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the inflation member of the first embodiment with the expandable stent of the second embodiment since both are known variants in the art and they would both yield the same predictable results of extending outward from the radial position and moving away from the plurality of electrodes. To further clarify, Examiner is still utilizing all the disclosed structure of the first embodiment, and is only substituting the inflation member component with the expandable stent, wherein the expandable stent will be attached to the housing 107 in order to allow the expandable stent to extend outward from the radial position and move away from the plurality of electrodes while the plurality of electrodes remains at the radial position.
However, Utley does not explicitly disclose to that the apposition forced applied by the one or more contact projections results in the removal or decrease in wrinkles from the tissue.
Rajagopalan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an elongate applicator tool (301) comprising a tissue manipulating device including an expandable element such as inflatable balloons, expandable cages, radially deployable arms (pa. 0207), wherein the tissue manipulating device is capable of applying tissue manipulation techniques such as axial straightening, radial tensioning, applying a radial force to tissue, expanding the tissue such as to reduce protrusions due to folding, or any combination of these (pa. 0045).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have deployed the functionality (i.e., tissue manipulation techniques which reduce or remove wrinkles, or protrusions, of the tissue) of the expandable element of Rajagopalan into the expandable stent of Utley for the purpose of preventing or reducing the change of under treating the targeted tissue (Rajagopalan, pa. 045).
Regarding claim 67, Utley/Rajagopalan combination discloses wherein the suction port comprises one or more openings adjacent to or underneath of the plurality of electrodes (Utley, pa. 0075).
Regarding claim 68, Utley/Rajagopalan combination discloses wherein the one or more contact projections comprises a pair of arms (Utley, pa. 0085).
Regarding claim 69, Utley/Rajagopalan combination discloses wherein the one or more contact projections are configured to move around circumference of the distal tip region closer or further apart from the plurality of electrodes and holding the tissue taught (Utley, pa. 0075).
Regarding claim 70, Utley/Rajagopalan combination discloses further comprising a control (152) for actuating the one or more contact projections (pa. 0125).
Regarding independent claim 71, Utley discloses a method comprising:
placing a distal end region (110) of an applicator tool (100) against a wall of a body lumen (pa. 0067 & Figs. 1-3, 19-21), wherein the applicator tool comprises an electrode assembly (101) (pa. 0068) at the distal end region having one or more electrodes at a radial position relative to a longitudinal axis of the distal end region;
moving one or more contact projections (deflection mechanism 105) outward from the radial position and away from the electrode assembly against the wall, while the one or more electrodes of the electrode assembly remain at the radial position (by applying a substantially uniform apposition force, pa. 0114, which results in direct and sustainable contact between the plurality of electrodes and the tissue surface, pa. 0075);
applying suction to secure the one or more electrodes to the wall of the body lumen (pa. 0075); and
applying energy from the one or more electrodes to treat the wall of the body lumen (pa. 0078).
Furthermore, while the first embodiment seen in Figures 1-3 includes the deflection mechanism (105), wherein the deflection mechanism comprises an inflation member such as a balloon (pa. 0084), an alternative/second embodiment utilizes a deflection mechanism comprising an expandable stent, frame or cage device (pa. 0085). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the inflation member of the first embodiment with the expandable stent of the second embodiment since both are known variants in the art and they would both yield the same predictable results of extending outward from the radial position and moving away from the plurality of electrodes. To further clarify, Examiner is still utilizing all the disclosed structure of the first embodiment, and is only substituting the inflation member component with the expandable stent, wherein the expandable stent will be attached to the housing 107 in order to allow the expandable stent to extend outward from the radial position and move away from the plurality of electrodes while the plurality of electrodes remains at the radial position.
However, Utley does not explicitly disclose to that the apposition forced applied by the one or more contact projections results in the removal or decrease in wrinkles from the tissue.
Rajagopalan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an elongate applicator tool (301) comprising a tissue manipulating device including an expandable element such as inflatable balloons, expandable cages, radially deployable arms (pa. 0207), wherein the tissue manipulating device is capable of applying tissue manipulation techniques such as axial straightening, radial tensioning, applying a radial force to tissue, expanding the tissue such as to reduce protrusions due to folding, or any combination of these (pa. 0045).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have deployed the functionality (i.e., tissue manipulation techniques which reduce or remove wrinkles, or protrusions, of the tissue) of the expandable element of Rajagopalan into the expandable stent of Utley for the purpose of preventing or reducing the change of under treating the targeted tissue (Rajagopalan, pa. 045).
Regarding claim 72, Utley/Rajagopalan combination discloses wherein applying energy comprises applying RF energy, microsecond pulsed energy, or sub-microsecond pulsed energy (Utley, pa. 0070).
Regarding claim 74, Utley/Rajagopalan combination discloses wherein moving the one or more contact projections outward from the radial position comprises moving a pair of contact projections closer or further apart while holding a target tissue of the wall taught (Utley, pa. 0075).
Regarding claim 75, Utley/Rajagopalan combination discloses wherein applying energy comprises applying energy to an ear, nasal cavity, mouth, tongue, turbinate, tonsils, soft palate, submucosal glands, parotid glands, esophagus, stomach, small intestine, large intestine, duodenum, pancreas and pancreatic duct, colon or fallopian tubes, uterus, urethra, cervix, trachea, pharynx, larynx, bronchi, or a mucosal epithelium of anatomical structures (Utley, pa. 0068).
Regarding claim 86, Utley the invention substantially as claimed in claim 71 discussed above.
However, Utley does not explicitly disclose flattening, stretching out or holding in tension a target tissue of the wall of the body lumen.
Rajagopalan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches moving the expansion element outward comprises flattening, stretching out or holding in tension a target tissue of the wall of the body lumen (pa. 045).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have deployed the functionality (i.e., tissue manipulation techniques which reduce or remove wrinkles, or protrusions, of the tissue) of the expandable element of Rajagopalan into the expandable stent of Utley for the purpose of preventing or reducing the change of under treating the targeted tissue (Rajagopalan, pa. 045).
Regarding claim 87 Utley/Rajagopalan combination discloses the method comprising moving the one or more projections outward prior to applying the suction (Utley, pa. 0075).
Examiner notes that although Utley does not explicitly recite that the suction occurs prior to the expansion of the one or more projections, it does not teach away from doing so, and therefore, the suction is functionally capable of operating at any desired time of the procedure, including before the expansion of the projections.
Regarding claim 88, Utley/Rajagopalan combination discloses the method further comprising viewing, through the applicator tool (via endoscope 111), a target region of the wall of the body lumen (Utley, pa. 0066).
Regarding claim 89, Utley/Rajagopalan combination discloses the method further comprising connecting the applicator tool to a pulse generator (159) via a high voltage connector (165) (Utley, pa. 0112 & Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 90, Utley/Rajagopalan combination discloses wherein the mechanical structure comprises one or more of:
a ballon, a plate, a post, an arm, a frame, or other mechanical structure or mechanism configured to project from the distal tip region of the apparatus (Utley, pa. 0085).
In view of the combination of the embodiments described above, the expandable stent of the second embodiment of Utley includes a frame or cage device, which is interpreted as the mechanical structure.
Regarding claim 91, Utley/Rajagopalan combination discloses wherein the one or more contact projections are on opposite side of the distal tip region from the plurality of electrodes (Utley, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 92, Utley/Rajagopalan combination discloses the apparatus further comprising at least one of or both:
a camera and illumination source (Utley, pa. 0066).
Regarding claim 93, Utley/Rajagopalan combination discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to be operably coupled to an endoscope (Utley, pa. 0066).
Regarding independent claim 94, Rajagopalan discloses an apparatus for delivering energy to a tissue (3) (pa. 0067 & Figs. 1-3, 19), the apparatus comprising:
an elongate applicator tool (100) comprising:
an elongate shaft (164) (pa. 0066);
a distal tip region (110) at a distal end of the elongate shaft (pa. 0066);
a plurality of electrodes (101) (pa. 0068) arranged along a surface (upper surface of housing 107, pa. 0072) of a portion of a circumference of the distal tip region at a radial position relative to a longitudinal axis of the distal tip region (see Fig. 1);
one or more contact projections (deflection mechanism 105) extending along at least a portion of a remaining circumference (i.e., lower surface of the housing 107) of the distal tip region on at least one of either side of the plurality of electrodes (see Fig. 1), the one or more contact projections comprising a mechanical structure (a thin, flexible, bladder made of a material such as polymer, pa. 0076) configured to extend outward from the radial position and be moved away from the plurality of electrodes while the plurality of electrodes remains at the radial position (pa. 0075) (by applying a substantially uniform apposition force, pa. 0114, which results in direct and sustainable contact between the plurality of electrodes and the tissue surface, pa. 0075), wherein the mechanical structure comprises one or more of: a ballon, a plate, a post, an arm or a frame (see Fig. 1); and
a suction port configured to apply suction to draw the tissue against the plurality of electrodes (pa. 0075).
However, Utley does not explicitly disclose to that the apposition forced applied by the one or more contact projections results in the removal or decrease in wrinkles from the tissue.
Rajagopalan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an elongate applicator tool (301) comprising a tissue manipulating device including an expandable element such as inflatable balloons, expandable cages, radially deployable arms (pa. 0207), wherein the tissue manipulating device is capable of applying tissue manipulation techniques such as axial straightening, radial tensioning, applying a radial force to tissue, expanding the tissue such as to reduce protrusions due to folding, or any combination of these (pa. 0045).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have deployed the functionality (i.e., tissue manipulation techniques which reduce or remove wrinkles, or protrusions, of the tissue) of the expandable element of Rajagopalan into the expandable stent of Utley for the purpose of preventing or reducing the change of under treating the targeted tissue (Rajagopalan, pa. 045).
Regarding claim 95, Utley/Rajagopalan combination discloses wherein the apparatus is configured for delivering RF energy, microsecond pulsed energy, or sub-microsecond pulsed energy (Utley, pa. 0068).
Regarding claim 96, Utley/Rajagopalan combination discloses wherein the plurality of electrodes comprises one or more of:
spring electrodes, plate electrodes, tubular electrodes, bar electrodes, coil electrodes or wire electrodes (Utley, pa. 0071).
Claim 73 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Utley and Rajagopalan as applied to claim 71 above, and further in view of Vrba (W.O. Application No. 2016090175 A1).
Regarding claim 73, Utley/Rajagopalan combination discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 71 discussed above.
However, they do not explicitly disclose each pulse of the plurality of electrical pulses having an amplitude of at least 0.1 kV and a duration of less than 1000 nanoseconds.
Vrba, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an electrosurgical ablation device comprising a plurality of electrodes being able to deliver a plurality of radio frequency pulses (pa. 0461) with an amplitude between about 1 volt (0.001 kV) and 1000 volts (1 kV) (pa. 0462) with a pulse duration of less the 10 microseconds (10000 nanoseconds) (pa. 0466.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the pulse amplitude and pulse duration of the radio frequency energy disclosed in Utley to be in ranges taught by Vrba, in order to reduce treatment time as well as protecting the tissue from unwanted heat damage (Vrba, pa. 0466); moreover, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8, filed 04/07/2026, with respect to the 102
rejection of claims 66, 71, and 94 under Rajagopalan have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, Applicant’s amendments to further require moving the one or more contact projections outward from the radial position and away from the plurality of electrodes, while the plurality of electrodes to remain at the radial position is defined over Rajagopalan given that it does not contemplate this claimed structure. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, the following new grounds of rejection have been set forth in the action above:
Claims 66-72, 74-75, and 86-96 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Utley (U.S. Application No. 20110270249 A1), and further in view of Rajagopalan (W.O. Application No. 2012099974 A2).
It is the Examiner’s position that the newly filed rejections based on the combination of references are tenable for at least the reasoning set forth in the action above.
Conclusion
/A.V.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/Ronald Hupczey, Jr./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794