DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The use tradenames or trademarks used in commerce, has been noted in this application.
See Kolliphor and Polaxamer in the examples.
The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 37-41, 44-53 and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The rejected claims cover bioactive agents.
To satisfy the written-description requirement, the specification must describe every element of the claimed invention in sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inventor possessed the claimed invention at the time of filing. Vas-Cath, 935 F.3d at 1563; see also Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that “the inventor invented the claimed invention”); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“the description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed”).
With regard to the recited genus of bioactive agents, the following applies:
Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed. Cir. 2010) states that “...a generic claim may define the boundaries of a vast genus of chemical compounds...the question may still remain whether the specification, including the original claim language, demonstrates that the applicant invented species sufficient to support a claim to a genus”. See page 1171.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
See also Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 F.3d 1559, 1571, 39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (a “laundry list” disclosure of every possible moiety does not constitute a written description of every species in a genus because it would not “reasonably lead” those skilled in the art to any particular species.
Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd., 927 F.2d 1200, 1206, 18 USPQ2d 1016, 1021 (Fed. Cir. 1991) states that “it is well established in our law that conception of a chemical compound requires that the inventor be able to define it so as to distinguish it from other materials, and to describe how to obtain it”.
A description of a genus may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus, so that one of skill in the art can “visualize or recognize” the members of the genus (Emphasis added). Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F3d 1559, 1569, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure “indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].” See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004)(“[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.”). “A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when ... the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.” In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
In Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly (43 USPQ2d 1398-1412), the court held that a generic statement which defines a genus of nucleic acids by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. The court indicated that, while applicants are not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of the genus is achieved by the recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the claimed genus. At section B(i), the court states, "An adequate written description of a DNA ... requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties, not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention."
Courts have stated that “[i]n claims involving [non-genetic] chemical materials, generic formulae usually indicate with specificity what the generic claims encompass. One skilled in the art can distinguish such a formula from others and can identify many of the species that the claims encompass. Accordingly, such a formula is normally an adequate description of the claimed genus.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1089 (1998). (emphasis added).
There is no such specificity here, nor could one skilled in the art identify bioactive agents encompassed by the claims. The specification does not provide adequate written description of the claimed genus of bioactive agents. Specifically, Applicant fails to disclose any other agents, besides those covered in the specification, and in relation to the above, these disclosed species or subgenre do not represent the substantial variety covered by the genus of bioactive agents.
With regard to the functional definition of bioactive agents, the specification does not clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed (see Vas-Cath at page 1116) because the specification contains almost no information by which a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the inventors possessed the all of the recited compounds. At best, it simply indicates that one should test an inordinate number of compounds to see if the compounds can perform the required function. In this connection, the specification contains no structural or specific functional characteristics of those compounds which are bioactive agents, besides those agents instantly disclosed, see In re ’318 Patent Infringement Litigation, 583 F.3d 1317, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (“[A]t the end of the day, the specification, even read in light of the knowledge of those skilled in the art, does no more than state a hypothesis and propose testing to determine the accuracy of that hypothesis. That is not sufficient.”).
The Examiner acknowledges that a working example or exemplified embodiment is not necessarily a requirement for description. However, where a generic claim term is present in a claim, as in the present application, and defined only by functional characteristics, the specification must convey enough information, e.g., via sufficient representative examples, to indicate invention of species sufficient to constitute the genus. Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 967 2 (Fed. Cir. 2002). The written description requirement “requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997); see also Novozymes A/S v. DuPont Nutrition Biosciences APS, 723 F.3d 1336, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2013) (“A patent...‘is not a reward for the search, but compensation for its successful conclusion.’ ... For that reason, the written description requirement prohibits a patentee from ‘leaving it to the ... industry to complete an unfinished invention.’” (citations omitted)).
Accordingly, the specification lacks adequate written description for the recited bioactive agents.
Claims 1, 37-53, 55 and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “bioactive agents” is not defined. While the specification may provide examples of bioactive agents, the specification and claims do not provide a general definition. Therefore, those of ordinary skill cannot discern between compounds and agents included by the instant formulations and those that are not.
Claims 1, 44 and 60 recite a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) and are considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
Claim 1 recites the broad recitation pH from about 3 to about 9, and the claim also recites from about 4 to about 8 and from about 5.5 to about 7.5, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claims 44 and 60 recite the broad recitation about 10,000 diameter/mL, and the claim also recites about 5,000, about 1,000, about 750, about 500, about 250, about 150, about 100, or about 50 particles greater than about 2 µm, about 5 µm, about 10 µm, about 15 µm, about 20 µm or about 25 µm diameter/mL, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 37-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2020/097141 (WO 141).
Regarding claims 1, 37, 38, 42 and 43, WO 141 teaches a formulation of an anti-PD-1 antibody comprising:
(a) 75, 100 or 200 mg/ml to 250 mg/ml of an anti-human PD-I antibody
(b) 10 mM histidine buffer;
(c) 10 mM L-methionine;
(d) 7.0% w/v sucrose; and
(e) 0.005 % w/v to 0.60% w/v non-ionic surfactant, which is selected from the group consisting of: polysorbate 20, a poloxamer, vitamin E TPGS, polyethylene glycol tert-octylphenyl ether (TRITON™ X-100), OM, DOM, and DDAO, see pages 41 and 42.
In one embodiment, the non-ionic surfactant is vitamin E TPGS.
Regarding claims 40 and 41, Example 2 teaches pembrolizumab, a humanized monoclonal anti-PD-1 antibody, 10 mM histidine buffer (pH 5.5) and TPGS as surfactant.
Claims 1 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2020/136657 (WO 657).
Regarding claims 1 and 37, WO 657 teaches in claim 2 a polymeric nanoparticle comprising
(i) at least one disease-associated antigen which is capable of producing a T-cell response, wherein the disease-associated antigen is encapsulated in the nanoparticle;
(ii) at least one adjuvant,
(iii) a dendritic cell targeting moiety which is attached to the outer surface of the nanoparticle; and
(iv) d-α-tocopheryl polyethylene glycol 1000 succinate (TPGS).
Different surface-active agents (e.g. PVA, PL, TPGS) were used to optimize the nano-vaccine formulations, in order to achieve a stability suitable for the co-entrapment of polyarginine-siRNA polyplexes with combinations of (i) TAA (colorectal cancer (CRC)-associated peptide (CEA, Adpgk MC38 short (MHCI) and long (MHCII) neoantigen peptides) and (ii) immune regulators (ligands of TLR, including CpG, poly(I:C) and/or MPLA). The nano-vaccine polyplexes have a mean diameter of 200 nm (see example 4).
No significant deviations in terms of size, polydispersity index and surface charge occurred for the Man-PLGA/PLA NP-TPGS-PL suspension in PBS pH 7.4 over the 5 weeks of storage at 4°C or 37°C (example 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 44-53, 55 and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/097141 (WO 141) or WO 2020/136657 (WO 657).
Regarding claims 44 and 60, the applied references may not specifically teach the recited particle size or that the recited particle sizes were formed (claim 60).
Regarding claims 45-53 and 55, the applied references may not teach the recited stability over the recited time frames.
However, WO 141 and WO 657 teach the recited formulations with the required components. In this manner, those of ordinary skill would understand that any observed physical or chemical characteristics, including the recited particle sizes and stability, would also be necessary characteristics of the formulations described by WO 141 and WO 657, see MPEP 2112.01 (“Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id.”).
Therefore, difference between the physical attributes of the claimed formulations and those described by the applied references is that the applied references do not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, since the applied references teach the same formulations as those covered by the claims, the applied references also teach the physical characteristics of particle size and stability of the claimed invention with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the these elements of the claimed invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Conclusion
/KARL J PUTTLITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646