DETAILED ACTION
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in view of amendments to the specification adding trademarks and generic terminology.
The rejection under section 112(a) is withdrawn in view amendments limiting the bioactive agents to antibodies and antigen-binding fragments thereof.
The rejection under section 112(b) is withdrawn in view of amendments clarifying bioactive agents and claimed ranges.
The rejections under sections 102 and 103 over WO 657 are withdrawn since the reference does not teach formulations with the required antibodies or antigen-binding fragments of antigens.
The following rejections under sections 102 and 103 are maintained below. Inclusion of new claims was necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 37 and 38 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2020/097141 (WO 141).
WO 141 teaches a formulation of an anti-PD-1 antibody comprising:
(a) 75, 100 or 200 mg/ml to 250 mg/ml of an anti-human PD-I antibody
(b) 10 mM histidine buffer;
(c) 10 mM L-methionine;
(d) 7.0% w/v sucrose; and
(e) 0.005 % w/v to 0.60% w/v non-ionic surfactant, which is selected from the group consisting of: polysorbate 20, a poloxamer, vitamin E TPGS, polyethylene glycol tert-octylphenyl ether (TRITON™ X-100), OM, DOM, and DDAO, see pages 41 and 42.
In one embodiment, the non-ionic surfactant is vitamin E TPGS.
Regarding claims 40 and 41, Example 2 teaches pembrolizumab, a humanized monoclonal anti-PD-1 antibody, 10 mM histidine buffer (pH 5.5) and TPGS as surfactant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 47-50, 60 and 68-71 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/097141 (WO 141)
WO 141 teaches a formulation of an anti-PD-1 antibody comprising:
(a) 75, 100 or 200 mg/ml to 250 mg/ml of an anti-human PD-I antibody
(b) 10 mM histidine buffer;
(c) 10 mM L-methionine;
(d) 7.0% w/v sucrose; and
(e) 0.005 % w/v to 0.60% w/v non-ionic surfactant, which is selected from the group consisting of: polysorbate 20, a poloxamer, vitamin E TPGS, polyethylene glycol tert-octylphenyl ether (TRITON™ X-100), OM, DOM, and DDAO, see pages 41 and 42.
In one embodiment, the non-ionic surfactant is vitamin E TPGS.
Example 2 teaches pembrolizumab, a humanized monoclonal anti-PD-1 antibody, 10 mM histidine buffer (pH 5.5) and TPGS as surfactant.
The applied references may not specifically teach the recited particle size or that the recited particle sizes were formed (claim 60).
The applied references may not teach the recited stability over the recited time frames.
However, WO 141 and WO 657 teach the recited formulations with the required components. In this manner, those of ordinary skill would understand that any observed physical or chemical characteristics, including the recited particle sizes and stability, would also be necessary characteristics of the formulations described by WO 141 and WO 657, see MPEP 2112.01 (“Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id.”).
Therefore, difference between the physical attributes of the claimed formulations and those described by the applied references is that the applied references do not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, since the applied references teach the same formulations as those covered by the claims, the applied references also teach the physical characteristics of particle size and stability of the claimed invention with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the these elements of the claimed invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Applicant argues that WO 141 does not teach the recited amounts of TPGS. However, the reference teaches that “[i]n specific embodiments, the surfactant is about 0.01% to about 0.03% w/v vitamin E D-α-tocopherol polyethylene glycol succinate (TPGS) [emphasis applied].”), see page 3. As outlined above, any observed effect on particle size would have been an invariable result of this amount of TPGS. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/KARL J PUTTLITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646