DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 45-64 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Yasui et al. (US20120021260).
As to claim 45, Yasui et al. discloses a battery pack assembly (figure 2) comprising: a housing (Figure 2 numbers 21, 28, 80, 24); and one or more plurality of battery cell assemblies (400) received in the housing, each of the one or more plurality of battery cell assemblies including: a frame (32) at least partially defining an internal cavity therewithin, a plurality of battery cells (400) positioned in the internal cavity, and a heat sink (50) including a body having a first side and a second side opposite the first side, a plurality of fins (figure 5 number 72) extending from the first side, and a plurality of projections (60) extending from the second side, the fins being external to the internal cavity, and the plurality of projections (60) positioned within the internal cavity (32), wherein the projections (60) are positioned between the battery cells (400) such that the battery cells and the projections are sequentially arranged within the internal cavity (32) in at least one direction (figure 8 and figure 9).
As to claim 46, Yasui et al. discloses where one or more of the projections includes a channel extending partially therethrough, and wherein each of the one or more plurality of battery cell assemblies further includes a heating rod received in each of the channels (figure 11 number 66).
As to claim 47, Yasui et al. discloses wherein the body of the heat sink includes a plurality of openings, wherein each opening is connected to one of the channels, and wherein the heating rod is inserted through the respective opening into the channel (figure 11 number 60a,66).
As to claim 48, Yasui et al. discloses wherein each of the openings are positioned between some of the plurality of fins on the first side of the body of the heat sink (figure 11 number 60a, 70).
As to claim 49, Yasui et al. discloses wherein an end of each heating rod is positioned external to the respective aligned channel and opening (figure 11 number 66).
As to claim 50, Yasui et al. discloses wherein each of the one or more plurality of battery cell assemblies includes adhesive material positioned in the internal cavity, wherein the adhesive material contacts the projections and the battery cells, and wherein the adhesive material is thermally conductive to facilitate heat transfer between the battery cells and the projections (paragraph 0083).
As to claim 51, Yasui et al. discloses, wherein each of the plurality of projections extends from the second side of the body to an end, wherein each of the plurality of projections extends parallel to each of the battery cells, and wherein the end of each of the projections is positioned adjacent an end of one of the battery cells (figure 8 number 64).
As to claim 52, Yasui et al. discloses wherein the frame includes a plurality of support members, each support member positioned between a battery cell and an adjacent one of the plurality of projections, wherein each of the support members is configured to locate one of the battery cells and one of the projections in the internal cavity (figure 3 number 156).
As to claim 53, Yasui et al. discloses further comprising a fan assembly positioned within the housing and proximate one of the one or more battery cell assemblies, wherein the fan assembly is operable to direct airflow past the fins of the one or more plurality of battery cell assemblies (figure 2 number 29, paragraph 0077).
As to claim 54, Yasui et al. discloses further comprising a cover coupled to the frame, wherein the frame, the cover, and the second side of the body of the heat sink cooperatively define the internal cavity (figure 2 number 80).
As to claim 55, Yasui et al. discloses further comprising a plurality of connectors supported by the frame, each of the connectors connected to two or more of the battery cells (figure 2 number 30).
As to claim 56, Yasui et al. discloses a battery pack assembly (figure 2) comprising: a housing (Figure 2 numbers 21, 28, 24 and 80); and one or more plurality of battery cell assemblies (400) received in the housing, each of the one or more plurality of battery cell assemblies (200) including: a frame (32) at least partially defining an internal cavity therewithin, a plurality of battery cells positioned in the internal cavity, a heat sink (figure 5 number 50) including a body having a first side and a second side opposite the first side, and a plurality of projections (60) extending from the second side, the first side being external to the internal cavity, the plurality of projections (60) positioned within the internal cavity (32), and one or more of the projections including a channel extending (figure 11 number 66) partially therethrough, and a plurality of heating rods (66), each heating rod received in one of the channels, wherein the projections are positioned between the battery cells such that the battery cells and the projections are sequentially arranged within the internal cavity (32).
As to claim 57, Yasui et al. discloses wherein one or more of the projections includes a channel extending partially therethrough, and wherein each of the one or more plurality of battery cell assemblies further includes a heating rod received in each of the channels (figure 11 number 66).
As to claim 58, Yasui et al. discloses, wherein the body of the heat sink includes a plurality of openings, wherein each opening is connected to one of the channels, and wherein the heating rod is inserted through the respective opening into the channel (figure 11 number 60a, 66).
As to claim 59, Yasui et al. discloses, wherein each of the one or more plurality of battery cell assemblies includes adhesive material positioned in the internal cavity, wherein the adhesive material contacts the projections and the battery cells, and wherein the adhesive material is thermally conductive to facilitate heat transfer between the battery cells and the projections (paragraph 0083).
As to claim 60, Yasui et al. discloses wherein each of the plurality of projections extends from the second side of the body to an end, wherein each of the plurality of projections extends parallel to each of the battery cells, and wherein the end of each of the projections is positioned adjacent an end of one of the battery cells (Figure 8 number 64 paragraph 0091).
As to claim 61, Yasui et al. discloses further comprising a cover coupled to the frame, wherein the frame, the cover, and the second side of the body of the heat sink cooperatively define the internal cavity (figure 2 number 80).
As to claim 62, Yasui et al. discloses battery cell assembly (figure 2) for a battery pack, the battery cell assembly comprising: a frame (32) at least partially defining an internal cavity therewithin; a plurality of battery cells (400) positioned in the internal cavity; and a heat sink (50) including a body having a first side and a second side opposite the first side, a plurality of fins (figure 5 number 72) extending from the first side, and a plurality of projections (60) extending from the second side, the fins being external to the internal cavity (32), and the plurality of projections positioned within the internal cavity, one or more of the projections (60) including a channel extending partially therethrough (figure 11 number 66), wherein the projections are positioned between the battery cells (400) such that the battery cells and the projections are sequentially arranged within the internal cavity (32).
As to claim 63, Yasui et al. discloses further comprising one or more heating rods, each of the one or more heating rods received in one of the channels (figure 11 number 66).
As to claim 64, Yasui et al. discloses further comprising adhesive material positioned in the internal cavity, wherein the adhesive material contacts the projections and the battery cells, and wherein the adhesive material is thermally conductive to facilitate heat transfer between the battery cells and the projections (paragraph 0083).
Conclusion
/JANE J RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724