DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed 01/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-8 and 35-36 are pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-8 on 10/28/2025. Claims 9-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. New claims 35-36 are entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Juma (US 4760643 A) in view of HWANG et al. (KR 20140019988 A) and further in view of MASSLER et al. (US 2779361 A).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 35-36, Juma discloses a hole saw (1) comprising: a cylindrical body (14) formed from a sheet (metal sheet blank, fig. 1) including a first end (side edges of the blank), a second opposite the first end (opposing side edge of the blank), a cutting end (2/4), and a bottom end (end with narrow strip portions 10); an end cap (conical areas 6/strips 10 form end plate portion 16 and tubular portion 18 fig. 2 or carrier element 36/collar 34/36, figs. 4-5) adjacent the bottom end of the cylindrical body; wherein the cap (end plate portion 16 and tubular portion 18) and the cylindrical body (cylinder 14) are integrally formed as a single piece (figs. 1-3 and Juma also discloses cap (carrier element 36/collar 34/36) is welded to the cylindrical saw blade 38/inverted cup member 40 forming a single piece, figs. 4-6);
a plurality of cutting teeth (4) formed along the cutting end (2, col. 2, line 18-col. 3, line 45, figs. 1-6).
Juma fails to disclose an interlock extending between the cutting end and the bottom end including a first geometric pattern on the first end of the sheet and a second geometric pattern on the second end of the sheet that corresponds to the first geometric pattern wherein when the cylindrical body is viewed from a side with the axis of rotation extending vertically, part of the first geometric pattern overlaps part of the second geometric pattern in a direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation and the first geometric pattern includes a plurality of tabs and the second geometric pattern includes a plurality of indents, wherein the first geometric pattern extends an entire length of the first end of the sheet, and wherein the second geometric pattern extends an entire length of the second end of the sheet and the first geometric pattern includes a profile having a radius, and wherein the second geometric pattern includes a profile having a radius that corresponds to the radius of the first geometric pattern, wherein the interlock is press fit.
HWANG et al. teaches a similar tubular saw member having a sheet member with first end (10) and second end (20) with an interlock (12/22) including a first geometric pattern (12) on the first end of the sheet and a second geometric pattern (22) on the second end of the sheet that corresponds to the first geometric pattern with a press fit between the cylindrical sidewall and the inner surface of the cylindrical body ([0025], figs. 1-2) and the first geometric pattern includes a plurality of tabs and the second geometric pattern includes a plurality of indents, wherein the first geometric pattern extends an entire length of the first end of the sheet, and wherein the second geometric pattern extends an entire length of the second end of the sheet ([0025], figs. 1-2).
MASSLER et al. teaches a similar hammer drill (1) having a guide tube (18) produced from a bent sheet-metal strip (31) with an interlock (intermeshing closure toothing 33) extending between a top end and a bottom end (figs. 2-5) including a first geometric pattern (toothing 33) on the first end of the sheet and a second geometric pattern (recesses aligned to mate with toothing 33) on the second end of the sheet that corresponds to the first geometric pattern wherein when the cylindrical body is viewed from a side with the axis of rotation extending vertically, part of the first geometric pattern overlaps part of the second geometric pattern in a direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation (toothing 33 overlaps the recess) the first geometric pattern includes a plurality of tabs and the second geometric pattern includes a plurality of indents (33 fits in recesses figs. 1-5), wherein the first geometric pattern extends an entire length of the first end of the sheet, and wherein the second geometric pattern extends an entire length of the second end of the sheet and the first geometric pattern includes a profile having a radius, and wherein the second geometric pattern includes a profile having a radius that corresponds to the radius of the first geometric pattern, wherein the interlock is press fit. [0021-0030], figs. 1-5).
Given the teachings of Juma to have a tubular saw made with metal sheet blank with a cap integrally formed or weldedly attached, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the blank edges with having interlock extending between the cutting end and the bottom end including a first geometric pattern on the first end of the sheet and a second geometric pattern on the second end of the sheet that corresponds to the first geometric pattern wherein when the cylindrical body is viewed from a side with the axis of rotation extending vertically, part of the first geometric pattern overlaps part of the second geometric pattern in a direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation and the first geometric pattern includes a plurality of tabs and the second geometric pattern includes a plurality of indents, wherein the first geometric pattern extends an entire length of the first end of the sheet, and wherein the second geometric pattern extends an entire length of the second end of the sheet and the first geometric pattern includes a profile having a radius, and wherein the second geometric pattern includes a profile having a radius that corresponds to the radius of the first geometric pattern, wherein the interlock is press fit. for stronger/better connection, easier press fit assembly/disassembly, cost reduction, and easier manufacturing (avoid having to weld) as taught by HWANG et al. and MASSLER et al. and/or also for stamping/cutting different sized saws from a single sheet blank purposes and/or plurality of caps.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, and 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over (KR 19990022147 U) in view of HWANG et al. (KR 20140019988 A) and further in view of MASSLER et al. (US 2779361 A).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 7-8, and 35-36, KR 19990022147 U discloses an a hole saw (1) for a drill (2) comprising: a cylindrical body (figs. 1-2) formed from a sheet including a first end, a second opposite the first end, a cutting end (1a), and a bottom end (opposite the cutting end (figs. 1-4); an end cap (10) adjacent the bottom end of the cylindrical body; the cap includes a cylindrical sidewall (10a) having an outer surface abutting an inner surface of the cylindrical body (figs. 1-2), a plurality of cutting teeth (1a) formed along the cutting end; and an interlock (weld 1b) extending between the cutting end and the bottom end and a weld bond (weld 1b) between the cylindrical sidewall and the inner surface of the cylindrical body (pages 1-2, figs. 1-4).
KR 19990022147 U fails to disclose an interlock extending between the cutting end and the bottom end including a first geometric pattern on the first end of the sheet and a second geometric pattern on the second end of the sheet that corresponds to the first geometric pattern wherein when the cylindrical body is viewed from a side with the axis of rotation extending vertically, part of the first geometric pattern overlaps part of the second geometric pattern in a direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation, wherein the end cap includes a cylindrical sidewall having an outer surface abutting an inner surface of the cylindrical body and the first geometric pattern includes a profile having a radius, and wherein the second geometric pattern includes a profile having a radius that corresponds to the radius of the first geometric pattern, wherein the interlock is press fit.
HWANG et al. teaches a similar tubular saw member having a sheet member with first end (10) and second end (20) with an interlock (12/22) including a first geometric pattern (12) on the first end of the sheet and a second geometric pattern (22) on the second end of the sheet that corresponds to the first geometric pattern with and a press fit between the cylindrical sidewall and the inner surface of the cylindrical body ([0025], figs. 1-2).
MASSLER et al. teaches a similar hammer drill (1) having a guide tube (18) produced from a bent sheet-metal strip (31) with an interlock (intermeshing closure toothing 33) extending between a top end and a bottom end (figs. 2-5) including a first geometric pattern (toothing 33) on the first end of the sheet and a second geometric pattern (recesses aligned to mate with toothing 33) on the second end of the sheet that corresponds to the first geometric pattern wherein when the cylindrical body is viewed from a side with the axis of rotation extending vertically, part of the first geometric pattern overlaps part of the second geometric pattern in a direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation (toothing 33 overlaps the recess) the first geometric pattern includes a plurality of tabs and the second geometric pattern includes a plurality of indents (33 fits in recesses figs. 1-5), wherein the first geometric pattern extends an entire length of the first end of the sheet, and wherein the second geometric pattern extends an entire length of the second end of the sheet and the first geometric pattern includes a profile having a radius, and wherein the second geometric pattern includes a profile having a radius that corresponds to the radius of the first geometric pattern, wherein the interlock is press fit. [0021-0030], figs. 1-5).
Given the teachings of KR 19990022147 U to have a tubular saw with a welding interlock, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the blank edges with having interlock extending between the cutting end and the bottom end including a first geometric pattern on the first end of the sheet and a second geometric pattern on the second end of the sheet that corresponds to the first geometric pattern wherein when the cylindrical body is viewed from a side with the axis of rotation extending vertically, part of the first geometric pattern overlaps part of the second geometric pattern in a direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation and the first geometric pattern includes a plurality of tabs and the second geometric pattern includes a plurality of indents, wherein the first geometric pattern extends an entire length of the first end of the sheet, and wherein the second geometric pattern extends an entire length of the second end of the sheet and the first geometric pattern includes a profile having a radius, and wherein the second geometric pattern includes a profile having a radius that corresponds to the radius of the first geometric pattern, wherein the interlock is press fit. for stronger/better connection, easier press fit assembly/disassembly, cost reduction, and easier manufacturing (avoid having to weld) as taught by HWANG et al. and MASSLER et al. and/or also for stamping/cutting different sized saws from a single sheet blank purposes and/or plurality of caps.
Regarding claims 4, KR 19990022147 U teaches the end cap and the cylindrical body are integrally formed as a single piece (welded with together with weld 1b, pages 1-2, figs. 1-4).
Regarding claims 2-3, KR 19990022147 U fails to disclose the first geometric pattern includes a plurality of tabs and the second geometric pattern includes a plurality of indents, wherein the first geometric pattern extends an entire length of the first end of the sheet, and wherein the second geometric pattern extends an entire length of the second end of the sheet.
HWANG et al. teaches the first geometric pattern includes a plurality of tabs and the second geometric pattern includes a plurality of indents, wherein the first geometric pattern extends an entire length of the first end of the sheet, and wherein the second geometric pattern extends an entire length of the second end of the sheet ([0025], figs. 1-2).
Given the teachings of KR 19990022147 U to have a tubular saw with a welding interlock, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the interlock with including a first geometric pattern on the first end of the sheet and a second geometric pattern on the second end of the sheet that corresponds to the first geometric pattern for easier press fit assembly/disassembly, cost reduction, and easier manufacturing (avoid having to weld) as taught by HWANG et al. and/or for stamping/cutting different sized saws from the sheet purposes.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over (KR 19990022147 U) in view of HWANG et al. (KR 20140019988 A) in view of MASSLER et al. (US 2779361 A) and further in view of MCKIFF (US 2779361 A).
Regarding claim 6, KR 19990022147 U fails to discloses a mechanical fastener between the cylindrical sidewall and the inner surface of the cylindrical body.
HWANG et al. teaches a mechanical fastener (50 and/or 12/22) between the cylindrical sidewall and the inner surface of the cylindrical body ([0020-0027], figs. 1-2).
MCKIFF also teaches having a saw formed from deep drawing/bended a sheet into a tubular form (23) with an end cap (12/24) includes a cylindrical sidewall having an outer surface abutting an inner surface of the cylindrical body and a mechanical fastener (fingers 21/25) between the cylindrical sidewall and the inner surface of the cylindrical body (col. 2, lines 5-72, col. 3, lines 1-70, figs. 1-11).
Given the teachings of KR 19990022147 U to have a tubular saw with a welding interlock with an end cap, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the end cap to include a cylindrical sidewall having an outer surface abutting an inner surface of the cylindrical body and a mechanical fastener between the cylindrical sidewall and the inner surface of the cylindrical body for more secure coupling assembly, easier disassembly, cost reduction, and easier manufacturing (avoid having to have more interlocking features) as taught by HWANG et al. and MCKIFF.
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Juma (US 4760643 A) in view of HWANG et al. (KR 20140019988 A) in view of MASSLER et al. (US 2779361 A) and further in view of MCKIFF (US 2779361 A).
Regarding claims 5-8, Juma teaches having a weld bond for the cap (carrier element 36/collar 34/36) welded to the cylindrical saw blade 38/inverted cup member 40 forming a single piece, (2, col. 2, line 18-col. 3, line 45, figs. 4-6).
Juma fails to discloses the cap includes a cylindrical sidewall having an outer surface abutting an inner surface of the cylindrical body and a mechanical fastener and/or a weld bond between the cylindrical sidewall and the inner surface of the cylindrical body and/or a press fit between the cylindrical sidewall and the inner surface of the cylindrical body.
HWANG et al. teaches a mechanical fastener (50 and/or 12/22) between the cylindrical sidewall and the inner surface of the cylindrical body ([0020-0027], figs. 1-2) and a press fit between the cylindrical sidewall and the inner surface of the cylindrical body ([0025], figs. 1-2).
MCKIFF also teaches having a saw formed from a sheet into a tube (23) with end cap (12/24) having a cylindrical sidewall outer surface abutting an inner surface of the cylindrical body and a mechanical fastener (fingers 21/25) between the cylindrical sidewall and the inner surface of the cylindrical body (col. 2, lines 5-72, col. 3, lines 1-70, figs. 1-11).
Given the teachings of Juma to have a tubular saw formed from a blank with a welding connection to an end cap, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the cap includes a cylindrical sidewall having an outer surface abutting an inner surface of the cylindrical body and a mechanical fastener and/or a weld bond between the cylindrical sidewall and the inner surface of the cylindrical body and/or a press fit between the cylindrical sidewall and the inner surface of the cylindrical body for more secure connection, easier disassembly, cost reduction, and easier manufacturing (avoid having to have more interlocking features) as taught by HWANG et al. and MCKIFF.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. New claims 35-36 have been examined.
Conclusion
Additional prior art considered pertinent: see form 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731