DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to Applicant’s submission dated 06/25/2026. Claim(s) 28–48 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 29–38 & 43–48 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim at this time. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/25/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 28 & 39–41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2020-517884 to Ludwig et al.
With regard to claim 28, Ludwig discloses a freeze dryer (¶ 0001), comprising: a freeze-drying chamber (12) having an inlet for allowing material to be dried to be introduced into the freeze-drying chamber (12) and configured for being evacuated at least partially (Fig. 1; ¶¶ 0051–0069); and a vacuum source (18) in fluid communication with the drying chamber (12) and configured for evacuating the freeze-drying chamber at least partially (Fig. 1; ¶¶ 0051–0069), wherein a vacuum fluid path (16, 30) is defined between the freeze-drying chamber (12) and the vacuum source (18) (Fig. 1; ¶¶ 0051–0069), wherein the freeze dryer further comprises a material collector (34) configured for collecting dried material from the freeze-drying chamber (12) (Fig. 1; ¶¶ 0051–0069), which material collector (34) is arranged outside the freeze-drying chamber (12) and within the vacuum fluid path (16, 30) between the freeze-drying chamber (12) and the vacuum source (18) (Fig. 1; ¶¶ 0051–0069).
With regard to claim 39, Ludwig further discloses the material collector (34) is arranged at a first height (Fig. 1; ¶¶ 0051–0069), and the freeze-drying chamber (12) is arranged at a second height (Fig. 1; ¶¶ 0051–0069) (the claim does not require that the first height be different than the second height).
With regard to claim 40, Ludwig further discloses a valve (36) arranged within the vacuum fluid path (16, 30) and between the freeze-drying chamber (12) and the material collector (34) (Fig. 1; ¶¶ 0051–0069), wherein the valve (36) is configured to be moved between an open position for allowing fluid flow from the freeze-drying chamber (12) to the material collector (34) (Fig. 1; ¶¶ 0051–0069), a closed position for preventing fluid flow from the freeze-drying chamber (12) to the material collector (34) (Fig. 1; ¶¶ 0051–0069), and/or an intermediate position for restricting fluid flow from the freeze-drying chamber (12) to the material collector (34) (Fig. 1; ¶¶ 0051–0069).
With regard to claim 41, Ludwig further discloses the valve (36) is further configured for temporarily holding material collected by the material collector (34), when in the closed position (Fig. 1; ¶¶ 0051–0069).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ludwig in view of WO 0040910 to Bronshtein.
With regard to claim 42, Ludwig fails to disclose a fluid bypass conduit provided between the freeze-drying chamber and the material collector, and providing a bypassing fluid path between the freeze-drying chamber and the material collector which bypasses the valve. Bronshtein teaches a fluid bypass conduit (8) provided between the drying chamber (1) and the [vacuum pump] (5) (Fig. 1; Pg. 4, lines 21–31), and providing a bypassing fluid path (8) between the drying chamber (1) and the [vacuum pump] which bypasses the valve (6) (Fig. 1; Pg. 4, lines 21–31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the freeze dryer of Ludwig with the bypass conduit of Bronshtein because such a combination would have had the added benefit of allowing the valve to be bypassed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see attached PTO-892. Applicant is encouraged to review the cited references prior to submitting a response to this office action.
/DAVID J LAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
July 10, 2026