DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 47, 48, 51, 52, and 55 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 47, lines 5 and 6-7, “the control function” should read “the control mode switching function”
Claim 48, line 4, “in the constant speed mode” should read “in the constant speed mode,”
Claim 48, line 17 and other similar recitation in claims 52 and 54, “the rate is based on a predicted particulate loading estimate” should read “the calculated rate is based on a predicted particulate loading estimate
Claim 51, line 1, “of any of claims 47,” should read “of claim 47”
Claim 52, line 1, “of any of claims 47,” should read “of claim 47”
Claim 55, line 1, “of any of claims 53” should read “of claim 53”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 50 recites the limitation "the previous loading rate" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The term “a previous loading rate” is not recited in claim 47 which claim 50 depends from. Claim 49 recites “a previous loading rate”; as such, claim 50 is treated as being dependent from claim 49. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 38-41, 47-48, 51, 53, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanaoka (US 20160271429) in view of Bennet (US 20030019494).
Regarding claim 38, Hanaoka discloses
a system for maintaining airflow (figs. 2-4; system using a hall element, which is a magnetometric sensor, with a breathing apparatus A to maintain airflow synchronously with the breath; abstract and [0007], [0010]) in a powered air-purifying respirator (PAPR) (figs. 2-4; system using a hall element, which is a magnetometric sensor, with a breathing apparatus A to maintain airflow synchronously with the breath; abstract and [0007], [0010]) comprising:
a magnetic field strength sensor that detects a magnetic field strength in an environment (figs. 2-4; hall element 7b detects magnetic flux density in an internal environment of the face piece 1; [0048]-[0049]); and
a PAPR (figs. 2-4; breathing apparatus A with motor and fan; [0048]-[0049]) comprising:
a magnetic field strength receiver (figs. 2-4; microcomputer 8a receives detection signal from the hall element 7b; [0039];
a motor (figs. 2-4; motor fan 4; [0034]); and
a controller that provides a motor speed algorithm to control a motor speed of the motor (figs. 2-4; controller 8 has microcomputer 8a that controls the rotation speed of the motor fan 4 based on the detection signal received from the hall element 7b; [0046]-[0054]) upon detection of an environmental magnetic field strength (figs. 2-4; magnetic flux density, detected by the hall element 7b, increases or decreases when magnet of member 6e moves closer/farther from the hall element 7b; [0048]-[0049]).
While Hanaoka does not explicitly disclose controlling a motor speed of the motor upon detection of an environmental magnetic field strength that exceeds a reference threshold magnetic field strength,
Bennett discloses an analogous PAPR for calibration with a blower motor speed where
controlling a motor speed of the motor (figs. 1-4; microprocessor instructs the controller to set the blower motor speed after a trigger is sensed; [0026]-[0029]) upon detection of an environmental magnetic field strength that exceeds a reference threshold magnetic field strength (detectors for magnetic fields could be used to transmitted signal to establish the microprocessor trigger; [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of Hanaoka with the microprocessor and calibration that controls blower motor speed using a trigger from a transmitted signal of detected magnetic field as taught in Bennett to automatically accelerate and decelerate the blower motor to a desired result based on if the base line speed is relatively low or high (Bennet: [0027]).
Regarding claim 39, Hanaoka further discloses
the system (Hanaoka: breathing apparatus A) of claim 38,
wherein the magnetic field strength sensor is a stationary environmental sensor (figs. 2-4; magnet 7a connected to member 6e moves (member 6e deforms moving a magnet 7a away/towards the hall element 7b) while hall element 7b is stationary; [0048]-[0049]) that communicates the magnetic field strength to the controller (figs. 2-4; hall element 7b detects magnetic flux density and sends detection signal to microcomputer 8a of controller 8; [0039] and [0048]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 40, the modified device of Hanaoka further discloses
the system (Hanaoka: breathing apparatus A; Bennett: control motor speed based on trigger of detected magnetic field) of claim 38,
wherein the motor speed algorithm increases the speed of the motor (Hanaoka: increases speed of motor fan 4 when magnet flux density increases; [0049]) from a standard mode speed to a high magnetic field strength speed (Bennett: figs. 1-4; “base line speed of the motor being a relatively low speed that is subsequently accelerated to achieve a desired result”; [0027]-[0029]) in response to the detected magnetic field strength (Hanaoka: figs. 2-4; detected magnetic flux density of magnet 7a; [0048-[0050]).
Regarding claim 41, the modified device of Hanaoka further discloses
the system (Hanaoka: breathing apparatus A; Bennett: control motor speed based on trigger of detected magnetic field) of claim 40,
wherein the high magnetic field strength speed is elevated (Hanaoka: figs. 2-4; increasing motor fan 4 based on detected magnet flux density; [0049]) with respect to the standard mode speed (Bennett: figs. 1-4; “base line speed (standard mode speed) of the motor being a relatively low speed that is subsequently accelerated (high magnetic field strength speed) to achieve a desired result”; [0027]-[0029]).
Regarding claim 47, Hanaoka discloses
a blower/filtration unit for a powered air purifying respirator (PAPR) (figs. 2-4; fan motor 4 with a hall element, which is a magnetometric sensor, with a breathing apparatus A to maintain airflow synchronously with the breath; abstract and [0007], [0010])comprising:
a motor configured to operate in a high magnetic field (HMF) mode (Hanaoka: figs. 2-4; increasing motor fan 4 based on detected magnet flux density; [0049]);
a magnetic field sensor (figs. 2-4; hall element 7b detects magnetic flux density in an internal environment of the face piece 1; [0048]-[0049]); and
a controller comprising a control mode switching function (figs. 2-4; controller 8 has microcomputer 8a has a function of controlling the rotation speed of the motor fan 4 that switches speed of fan; [0046]-[0054]),
wherein the controller executes the control function (figs. 2-4; controller 8 has microcomputer 8a that controls the rotation speed of the motor fan 4 based on the detection signal received from the hall element 7b; [0046]-[0054]) upon detection of a magnetic field strength (figs. 2-4; magnetic flux density, detected by the hall element 7b, increases or decreases when magnet of member 6e moves closer/farther from the hall element 7b; [0048]-[0049]).
While Hanaoka does not explicitly disclose a motor configured to operate in a standard mode and controlling a motor speed of the motor upon detection of an environmental magnetic field strength that exceeds a reference threshold magnetic field strength, wherein the control function switches the motor operation from the standard mode to the HMF mode.
Bennett discloses an analogous PAPR for calibration with a blower motor speed where
a motor configured to operate in a standard mode and to operate in a high magnetic field (HMF) mode (figs. 1-4; “base line speed (standard mode) of the motor being a relatively low speed that is subsequently accelerated (high magnetic field strength mode) to achieve a desired result”; [0027]-[0029]) and
controlling a motor speed of the motor (figs. 1-4; microprocessor instructs the controller to set the blower motor speed after a trigger is sensed; [0026]-[0029]) upon detection of an environmental magnetic field strength that exceeds a reference threshold magnetic field strength (detectors for magnetic fields could be used to transmitted signal to establish the microprocessor trigger; [0029]) and
wherein the control function switches the motor operation from the standard mode to the HMF mode (figs. 1-4; microprocessor instructs the controller to set the blower motor speed after a trigger is sensed, where “base line speed (standard mode) of the motor being a relatively low speed that is subsequently accelerated (high magnetic field strength mode) to achieve a desired result”; [0026]-[0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify controller of Hanaoka with the microprocessor and calibration that controls blower motor speed using a trigger from a transmitted signal of detected magnetic field as taught in Bennett to automatically accelerate and decelerate the blower motor to a desired result based n if the base line speed is relatively low or high (Bennet: [0027]).
Regarding claim 48, the modified device of Hanaoka further discloses
the blower/filtration unit (Hanaoka: breathing apparatus A; Bennett: control motor speed based on trigger/threshold of detected magnetic field) of claim 47,
wherein the HMF mode comprise a control function that operates the motor in any of a constant speed mode, an elevated speed mode (Hanaoka: figs. 2-4; increasing motor fan 4 based on detected magnet flux density; [0049]), an increasing speed mode or a calculated speed mode, and
wherein:
in the constant speed mode the motor operates at a constant speed, wherein the constant speed is the same as a motor speed at which the motor operated in the standard mode before the control function switched the motor operation from the standard mode to the HMF mode;
in the elevated speed mode, the motor operates at an elevated speed (Hanaoka: figs. 2-4; increasing motor fan 4 based on detected magnet flux density; [0049]), wherein the elevated speed is a faster speed than the motor speed (Bennett: figs. 1-4; “base line speed of the motor being a relatively low speed that is subsequently accelerated to achieve a desired result”; [0027]-[0029]);
in the increasing speed mode, the motor operates at an increasing speed, wherein the increasing speed increases at a rate until a maximum motor speed is reached or the detected magnetic field strength no longer exceeds the reference threshold, wherein the rate is based on a worst-case particulate loading estimate; and
in the calculated speed mode, the motor operates at a calculated speed, wherein the calculated speed increases at a calculated rate until a maximum motor speed is reached or the detected magnetic field strength no longer exceeds the reference threshold, wherein the rate is based on a predicted particulate loading estimate.
Regarding claim 51, the modified device of Hanaoka further discloses
the blower/filtration unit (Hanaoka: breathing apparatus A; Bennett: control motor speed based on trigger/threshold of detected magnetic field) of any of claims 47, and
wherein the control mode switching function switches the motor back to standard mode when the detected magnetic field strength no longer exceeds (Hanaoka: figs 2-4; during exhaling, decreasing motor fan 4 based on detected magnetic flux density; [0046]-[0048]) the reference threshold magnetic field strength (Bennet: detectors for magnetic fields could be used to transmitted signal to establish the microprocessor trigger; [0026]-[0029], controller may decelerate blower motor to a desired result if speed is high).
Regarding claim 53, Hanaoka discloses
a method of maintaining airflow in a powered air-purifying respirator (PAPR) (figs. 2-4; method of system using a hall element, which is a magnetometric sensor, with a breathing apparatus A to maintain airflow synchronously with the breath; abstract and [0007], [0010]) comprising:
providing a PAPR (figs. 2-4; breathing apparatus A with motor and fan; [0048]-[0049]) comprising
a motor (figs. 2-4; motor fan 4; [0034]),
a magnetic field sensor (figs. 2-4; hall element 7b detects magnetic flux density in an internal environment of the face piece 1; [0048]-[0049]), and
a controller (figs. 2-4; controller 8 has microcomputer 8a; [0046]-[0054]), the controller comprising
a high magnetic field (HMF) flow function (figs. 2-4; during inhaling, increasing speed of motor fan 4 based on magnet flux density; [0046]-[0054]) and a calibrated flow function (figs 2-4; during exhaling, decreasing motor fan 4 based on detected magnetic flux density; [0046]-[0048]);
wherein the HMF flow function is executed in response to a magnetic field strength reading (figs. 2-4; during inhaling, increasing speed of motor fan 4 when magnet flux density increases; [0046]-[0054]) and
the calibrated flow function is executed in response to a magnetic field strength reading (figs 2-4; during exhaling, decreasing motor fan 4 when magnetic flux density decreases; [0046]-[0048])
Hanaoka does not explicitly disclose storing a reference threshold magnetic field strength in the controller; reading a motor speed necessary to generate a compliant air flow in an ambient magnetic field environment and storing the motor speed as a reference motor speed; periodically reading magnetic field strength and comparing the reading to the reference threshold magnetic field strength; wherein the HMF flow function is executed in response to a magnetic field strength reading that exceeds the reference threshold magnetic field strength and the calibrated flow function is executed in response to a magnetic field strength reading that falls below the reference threshold magnetic field strength.
Bennet discloses an analogous PAPR for calibration with a blower motor speed where the controller
storing a reference threshold magnetic field strength in the controller (detectors for magnetic fields could be used to transmitted signal to establish the microprocessor trigger; [0029], it would have been readily understood that the trigger (magnetic field) is stored in the controller in order to active the loop in fig. 4)
reading a motor speed necessary to generate a compliant air flow in an ambient magnetic field environment and storing the motor speed as a reference motor speed (fig .4; values of the operating parameters retained in the memory of the microprocessor when the second trigger is initiated become the control set point 58 for feed-back control; [0030], when trigger is active (detected magnetic field), operating parameter such as motor speed is captured in memory);
periodically reading magnetic field strength and comparing the reading to the reference threshold magnetic field strength (fig. 4; microprocessor continues to monitor trigger activity, detectors of magnetic field, and creates a loop until microprocessor senses trigger is activated; [0029], loop comparing values);
wherein the HMF flow function is executed (figs. 1-4; microprocessor instructs the controller to accelerate the blower motor speed after a trigger is sensed; [0026]-[0029]) in response to a magnetic field strength reading that exceeds the reference threshold magnetic field strength (detectors for magnetic fields could be used to transmitted signal to establish the microprocessor trigger; [0029]) and the calibrated flow function is executed (the opposite calibration method is disclosed where, figs. 1-4; microprocessor instructs the controller to decelerate the blower motor speed after a trigger is sensed; [0026]-[0029]) in response to a magnetic field strength reading that falls below the reference threshold magnetic field strength (detectors for magnetic fields could be used to transmitted signal to establish the microprocessor trigger; [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of Hanaoka with the microprocessor and calibration that controls blower motor speed using a trigger from a transmitted signal of detected magnetic field as taught in Bennett to automatically accelerate and decelerate the blower motor to a desired result based on if the base line speed is relatively low or high (Bennet: [0027]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to repeat the calibration method in the opposite direction for decelerating the motor to a desired speed, when trigger is activated to establish a control set point.
Regarding claim 54, the modified method of Hanaoka further discloses
the method (Hanaoka: using breathing apparatus A; Bennett: control motor speed based on trigger/threshold of detected magnetic field) of claim 53,
wherein the HMF flow function operates the motor (Hanaoka: controller increases motor fan 4 based on detected magnet flux density; [0049]):
at a constant speed, wherein the constant speed is the same as a motor speed at which the motor operated under the calibrated flow function;
or at an elevated speed (Hanaoka: figs. 2-4; increasing motor fan 4 based on detected magnet flux density; [0049]), wherein the elevated speed is a faster speed than the motor speed (Bennett: figs. 1-4; “base line speed of the motor being a relatively low speed that is subsequently accelerated to achieve a desired result”; [0027]-[0029]);
or at an increasing speed, wherein the increasing speed increases at a rate until a maximum motor speed is reached or the detected magnetic field strength no longer exceeds the reference threshold, wherein the rate is based on a worst-case particulate loading estimate;
or at a calculated speed, wherein the calculated speed increases at a calculated rate until a maximum motor speed is reached or the detected magnetic field strength no longer exceeds the reference threshold, wherein the rate is based on a predicted particulate loading estimate.
Claims 43-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanaoka (US 20160271429) in view of Bennet (US 20030019494) and further in view of Hansmann (US 8931482) as evidenced by Becker (US 20080127979).
Regarding claim 43, the modified device of Hanaoka discloses
the system (Hanaoka: breathing apparatus A; Bennett: control motor speed based on trigger of detected magnetic field) of claim 40,
wherein the motor speed algorithm increases the high magnetic field strength speed (Hanaoka: figs. 2-4; increasing motor fan 4 based on detected magnet flux density; [0049]) over time (Bennett: figs. 1-4; speed of the motor is accelerated, in other words increases over time; [0028])
The modified device of Hanaoka does not explicitly disclose increasing the speed based on a predicted particulate loading rate.
Hansmann discloses a breathing apparatus with a filter where
the speed based on a predicted particulate loading rate (the blower speed driven by the motor is operated with previously measured characteristic lines/calibrations with which the filter resistance can be estimated and a predetermined output for the volume flow can be set; col. 1, lines 20-25 and col. 2, lines 10-18 and 58-65; filter resistance is directly correlated with the load of particulates on a filter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller and microcomputer of Hanaoka to further operate the blower based on an estimated filter resistance as disclosed in Hansmann to be able to change the motor speed to keep the volumetric flow constant as filter resistance increases or decreases (Becker: [0022]).
Regarding claim 44, the modified device of Hanaoka further discloses
the system (Hanaoka: breathing apparatus A; Bennett: control motor speed based on trigger of detected magnetic field: Hansmann: further operating blower based of filter resistance) of claim 43,
wherein the predicted particulate loading rate is based on a previously detected particulate loading rate (Hansmann: previously measured characteristic lines/calibrations with which the filter resistance can be estimated; col. 1, lines 20-25 and col. 2, lines 10-18 and 58-65).
Regarding claim 45, the modified device of Hanaoka discloses
the system (Hanaoka: breathing apparatus A; Bennett: control motor speed based on trigger of detected magnetic field: Hansmann: further operating blower based of filter resistance) of claim 44,
wherein the motor speed algorithm increases the high magnetic field strength speed (Hanaoka: figs. 2-4; increasing motor fan 4 based on detected magnet flux density; [0049]) over time (Bennett: figs. 1-4; speed of the motor is accelerated, in other words increases over time; [0028]) based on a known particulate loading rate (Hansmann: fig. 2; characteristic line fields are provided as a reference to determine motor speed for a desired volume flow rate in view of a given/known resistance (arrow R, line 18); col. 3, lines 58-67 and col. 4, lines 1-3).
Claim 46 is ejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanaoka (US 20160271429) in view of Bennet (US 20030019494) and further in view of Hansmann (US 8931482) and Becker (US 20080127979).
Regarding claim 46, the modified device of Hanaoka discloses
the system (Hanaoka: breathing apparatus A; Bennett: control motor speed based on trigger of detected magnetic field: Hansmann: further operating blower based of filter resistance) of claim 44,
wherein the motor speed algorithm calculates the high magnetic field strength speed (Hanaoka: figs. 2-4; increasing motor fan 4 based on detected magnet flux density; [0049])
The modified device of Hansmann does not explicitly disclose the speed based on a received particulate loading indicia.
However, Becker further discloses a blow filter device where
the speed based on a received particulate loading indicia (fig. 1; calibration curve is created based on different filter resistance where motor speed n is increased or decreased based on whether the input resistance changes due to contamination; [0022]-[0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of the modified device of Hanaoka with the control system and memory of Becker to be able to create a calibration curve based on filter resistance and then compare the input resistance to the calibration curve in order to increase or decrease the motor speed based on changes on the input resistance, thereby, keeping the volumetric flow constant as filter resistance increases or decreases (Becker: [0022]-[0026]).
Claims 48-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanaoka (US 20160271429) in view of Bennet (US 20030019494) and further in view of Curran (US 20120138051) and Hansmann (US 8931482).
Regarding claim 48, the modified device of Hanaoka discloses
the blower/filtration unit (Hanaoka: breathing apparatus A; Bennett: control motor speed based on trigger/threshold of detected magnetic field) of claim 47,
wherein the HMF mode comprise a control function that operates the motor in any of a constant speed mode, an elevated speed mode (Hanaoka: figs. 2-4; increasing motor fan 4 based on detected magnet flux density; [0049]), an increasing speed mode or a calculated speed mode, and
wherein:
in the constant speed mode the motor operates at a constant speed, wherein the constant speed is the same as a motor speed at which the motor operated in the standard mode before the control function switched the motor operation from the standard mode to the HMF mode;
in the elevated speed mode, the motor operates at an elevated speed (Hanaoka: figs. 2-4; increasing motor fan 4 based on detected magnet flux density; [0049]), wherein the elevated speed is a faster speed than the motor speed (Bennett: figs. 1-4; “base line speed of the motor being a relatively low speed that is subsequently accelerated to achieve a desired result”; [0027]-[0029]);
in the increasing speed mode, the motor operates at an increasing speed, wherein the increasing speed increases at a rate until a maximum motor speed is reached or the detected magnetic field strength no longer exceeds the reference threshold, wherein the rate is based on a worst-case particulate loading estimate; and
in the calculated speed mode, the motor operates at a calculated speed, wherein the calculated speed (Hanaoka: figs. 2-4; increasing motor fan 4 based on detected magnet flux density; [0049] and Bennett: figs. 1-4; “base line speed of the motor being a relatively low speed that is subsequently accelerated to achieve a desired result”; [0027]-[0029]) increases at a calculated rate until a maximum motor speed is reached or the detected magnetic field strength no longer exceeds the reference threshold, wherein the rate is based on a predicted particulate loading estimate.
However, the modified device of Hanaoka does not disclose the calculated speed increases at a calculated rate until a maximum motor speed is reached or the detected magnetic field strength no longer exceeds the reference threshold, wherein the rate is based on a predicted particulate loading estimate.
Curran discloses an analogous PAPR with a controllable fan motor where
The calculate speed increases at a calculated rate (see figs. 2-3; control unit 23 includes microprocessor 24 and memory 25 with algorithms to carry out calculation and procedures; control unit 23 refers to calibration chart 30 which shows the fan speed increasing as filter progressively clogs; [0030] and [0037]) until
a maximum motor speed is reached (see fig. 3; control unit tracks along the calibration line 33, 34 to change performance of blower where high end 31, 35 shows a maximum fan speed; [0030] and [0037) or the detected magnetic field strength no longer exceeds the reference threshold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of Hanaoka with the control unit, memory, and calibration chart of Curran to change the performance of the blower based on filter clogging to control the volumetric airflow delivered to the user more accurately; therefore, providing better functionality of the PAPR (Curran: [0006], [0008], and [0037]).
The modified device does not explicitly disclose wherein the rate is based on a predicted particulate loading estimate.
However, Hansmann discloses a breathing apparatus with a filter with a similar calibration where
wherein the rate is based on a predicted particulate loading estimate (the blower speed driven by the motor is operated with previously measured characteristic lines/calibrations with which the filter resistance can be estimated and a predetermined output for the volume flow can be set; col. 1, lines 20-25 and col. 2, lines 10-18 and 58-65; filter resistance is directly correlated with the load of particulates on a filter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller and microcomputer of Hanaoka to further operate the blower based on a characteristic lines as disclosed in Hansmann to estimate a filter resistance that can be used to change the performance of the blower based on the filter clogging/resistance; therefore, controlling the volumetric airflow delivered to the user more accurately (Hansmann: col. 1, lines 20-25 and col. 2, lines 10-18 and 58-65; Curran: [0006], [0008], and [0037]).
Regarding claim 49, the modified device of Hanaoka further discloses
the blower/filtration unit (Hanaoka: breathing apparatus A; Bennett: control motor speed based on trigger/threshold of detected magnetic field; Curran: maximum motor speed with filter clogging; Hansmann: further operating blower based of filter resistance) of claim 48,
wherein the predicted particulate loading estimate is based on a previous loading rate experienced by the blower / filtration unit (Hansmann: previously measured characteristic lines/calibrations with which the filter resistance can be estimated; col. 1, lines 20-25 and col. 2, lines 10-18 and 58-65).
Regarding claim 50, the modified device of Hanaoka further discloses
the blower/filtration unit (Hanaoka: breathing apparatus A; Bennett: control motor speed based on trigger/threshold of detected magnetic field; Curran: maximum motor speed with filter clogging; Hansmann: further operating blower based of filter resistance) of claim 47,
wherein the previous loading rate (Hansmann: previously measured characteristic lines/calibrations with which the filter resistance can be estimated; col. 1, lines 20-25 and col. 2, lines 10-18 and 58-65) is communicated to the blower/filtration unit through a communication component (Curran: fig. 2-3; control unit 23 has memory 25 with temporary and fixed memory for storing algorithms, sensor data, fan operating parameters etc. that enables microprocessor 24, to carry out calculations and procedures, with control output 27 that powers motor 22; [0030]).
Claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanaoka (US 20160271429) in view of Bennet (US 20030019494) and further in view of Fleming (US 20150136136) as evidenced by Curran (US 20120138051).
Regarding claim 52, the modified device of Hanaoka further discloses
the blower/filtration unit (Hanaoka: breathing apparatus A; Bennett: control motor speed based on trigger/threshold of detected magnetic field) of any of claims 47,
The modified device of Hanaoka is silent as to applying a voltage to regulate speed.
However, Fleming discloses a PAP device for controlling blower speed where the processor 120 controls an applied voltage to regulate speed (fig. 1; processor 120 has a feedback control loop that compared a measured blower speed with a desired speed and then controlling the speed by adjusting the motor voltage; [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan motor and controller of Hanaoka with the processor and feedback control loop of Fleming to adjust the voltage to the motor to maintain the desired speed (Fleming: [0029]), in other words increasing or decreasing voltage based on a desired motor speed. Additionally, it would have been readily understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that the relationship between voltage and motor speed is directly proportional as evidenced by Curran (see fig. 3: the electronic control unit 23 refers to the calibration chart 30, which indicates a directly proportional relationship between fan speed and applied motor voltage; [0037]).
It directly follows that the resultant controller and fan motor of the modified device f Hanaoka combined with the processor and feedback loop of Fleming and evidence of Curran would meet the claimed structural limitations since:
The modified device combined discloses
wherein the HMF mode controls an applied voltage to regulate speed (Fleming: fig. 1; processor 120 has a feedback control loop that controls the motor speed by adjusting the motor voltage; [0029]), and wherein the HMF mode comprise a control function that operates the motor in any of a constant voltage mode, an elevated voltage mode (Hanaoka: figs. 2-4; increasing motor fan 4 based on detected magnet flux density; [0049]), an increasing voltage mode or a calculated voltage mode, and
wherein: in the constant voltage mode the motor operates at a constant voltage, wherein the constant voltage is the same as a motor voltage at which the motor operated in the standard mode before the control function switched the motor operation from the standard mode to the HMF mode;
in the elevated voltage mode, the motor operates at an elevated voltage (Hanaoka: figs. 2-4; increasing motor fan 4 based on detected magnet flux density; [0049]; Fleming: fig. 1; processor 120 has a feedback control loop that compared a measured blower speed with a desired speed and then controlling the speed by adjusting the motor voltage; [0029], increase voltage), wherein the elevated voltage is a higher voltage than the current voltage (Fleming: fig. 1; processor 120 has a feedback control loop that compared a measured blower speed with a desired speed ; Bennett: figs. 1-4; “base line speed of the motor being a relatively low speed that is subsequently accelerated to achieve a desired result”; [0027]-[0029], increases voltage to adjust motor to accelerated/increase in speed as evidenced by Curran: see fig. 3; [0037]);
in the increasing voltage mode, the motor operates at an increasing voltage, wherein the increasing voltage increases at a rate until a maximum motor voltage is reached or the detected magnetic field strength no longer exceeds the reference threshold, wherein the rate is based on a worst-case particulate loading estimate; and
in the calculated voltage mode, the motor operates at a calculated voltage, wherein the calculated voltage increases at a calculated rate until a maximum motor voltage is reached or the detected magnetic field strength no longer exceeds the reference threshold, wherein the rate is based on a predicted particulate loading estimate.
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanaoka (US 20160271429) in view of Bennet (US 20030019494) and further in view of Curran (US 20120138051).
Regarding claim 55, the modified method of Hanaoka discloses
the method (Hanaoka: using breathing apparatus A; Bennett: control motor speed based on trigger/threshold of detected magnetic field) of any of claims 53,
wherein a magnetic field strength reading at or below the threshold reference magnetic field strength signals (Hanaoka: figs 2-4; during exhaling, magnetic flux density decreases; [0046]-[0048]; Bennet: detectors for magnetic fields could be used to transmitted signal to establish the microprocessor trigger; [0029])
Curran discloses an analogous PAPR with a controllable fan motor where a calibration is stored in the unit memory and based on a changes
the controller to obtain a new motor speed reading (figs. 2-3; compensation procedure where modified calibration values/points of fan speed and motor voltage are calculated/determined; [0043]) and to replace the reference motor speed with the new motor speed reading such that the new motor speed reading becomes the reference motor speed (the modified calibration values/points are save is the temporary memory as corrected calibration points, where the new corrected points are now used for the volumetric maintenance procedure as the filter progressively clogs; [0043]-[0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller, memory, and calibration of the method of Hanaoka with the correcting/compensation calibration method of Curran to provided corrected calibrations that is able maintain uniform volumetric procedure at regular intervals to adjust airflow accordingly, if necessary (Curran: [0043]-[0044]), based on different changes in the air or filter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shelton (US 20190201594) – A smoke evacuation system which adjusts the blower based on detected amount of particulates
Shen (US 20190275359) – A respirator face mask with a filter where the blower/motor speed is adjusted based on data input such as magnetic field strength detector measuring breathing rates and particle detector that measures the amount of particulates on the filter
/S.R.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/VICTORIA MURPHY/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785