DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 29 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 29, line 1: “16and” should read “16 and”. Presently, there is no space between “16” and “and”.
Claim 29, lines 1 and 2: Claim 29 refers to claim 16 twice.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 recites “the component A as defined in claim 16” and “the component B as defined in claim 16”. The scope of the claim is confusing given that claim 16 is not drawn to “component A” or “component B” but rather to a “two-component adhesive composition”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jialanella et al. (US 2020/0002587 A1, “Jialanella”) in view of Guichard et al. (WO 2018/219729 A1, “Guichard”).
With respect to claims 16 and 18-21, Jialanella discloses a two-component adhesive composition comprising an A-side and a B-side, where the A-side comprises a first acrylate-capped polyurethane, a second acrylate capped polyurethane, a core-shell graft copolymer, and a reducing agent, while the B-side comprises an oxidizing agent ([0008]). Given that Jialanella discloses a core-shell graft copolymer identical to that presently claimed, it would necessarily inherently function as an impact modifier.
However, Jialanella does not disclose that the A-side comprises an itaconate monomer as presently claimed.
Guichard discloses a curable adhesive composition (page 1, lines 6-7) comprising at least one reactive comonomer a) that is an itaconate (page 2, lines 10-12; page 3, lines 23-24, 29) and at least one (meth)acrylate-functionalized compound b) that is a urethane (meth)acrylate (page 2, lines 10-11, 20; page 10, lines 3-4, 10). The itaconates include dimethyl itaconate, diethyl itaconate, di-n-butyl itaconate, di-isobutyl itaconate, dicyclohexyl itaconate, bis(hexafluoroisopropyl) itaconate, diphenyl itaconate, dibenzyl itaconate, ethyl isobornyl itaconate, ethyl cyclohexyl itaconate, and combinations thereof (page 9, lines 12-15), which are identical to those of claim 20 and would inherently read on the R1 and R2 groups of claims 18-19. The itaconate monomer is present in an amount of 1-99% by weight (page 13, lines 16-17), which overlaps the presently claimed range. The reactive monomers produce a composition that exhibits faster curing and improved physical properties (page 1, line 32 - page 2, line 9).
Jialanella and Guichard are analogous inventions in the field of adhesive compositions made from urethane (meth)acrylates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adhesive composition of Jialanella to contain an itaconate as taught by Guichard in order to provide an adhesive composition that exhibits faster curing and improved physical properties (Guichard, page 1, lines 33-39).
With respect to claims 17 and 22, Jialanella discloses the molecular weight of the urethane acrylate is not particularly limited and can be determined by one of ordinary skill in the art for a particular application ([0017]). Jialanella further discloses the molecular weight should be high enough that the urethane block soft segments impart suitable elasticity to the adhesive, but low enough that the acrylate polymer is not so viscous that it is either difficult to process or too viscous to combine to obtain a mixture of suitable proportions and/or viscosity ([0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a urethane acrylate with a molecular weight, including the number average molecular weight as claimed, to produce a composition with viscosity, including a viscosity as claimed, in order to provide a composition having suitable elasticity, that is processable, and that is mixable.
With respect to claim 23, Jialanella discloses the acrylate-capped polyurethanes can be made from tri-isocyanates which are capped with an isocyanate capping group such as hydroxyalkyl acrylates ([0014-0015]). Therefore, the acrylate-capped polyurethanes would have three (meth)acrylate groups.
With respect to claim 24, Jialanella discloses that each arylate-capped polyurethane is present in an amount of 5-25 wt% ([0019]), which overlaps the presently claimed range.
With respect to claim 25, Jialanella discloses the acrylate-capped polyurethanes can be made from diisocyanates which are capped with an isocyanate capping group such as hydroxyalkyl acrylates ([0012], [0014-0015]). Therefore, the acrylate-capped polyurethane would have two (meth)acrylate groups. Further, Jialanella discloses the first acrylate-capped polyurethane has a glass transition temperature (Tg) greater than or equal to 20°C while the second acrylate-capped polyurethane has a Tg of less than or equal to -20°C ([0013)] (i.e., the first acrylate-capped polyurethane is different from the second acrylate-capped polyurethane).
With respect to claim 26, Jialanella discloses the core-shell graft copolymer has a core made from butadiene and isoprene monomers ([0021]).
With respect to claim 27, Jialanella discloses the core-shell graft copolymer has a shell made from (meth)acrylate monomers ([0022]).
With respect to claim 28, Jialanella discloses a ratio of the A-side to the B-side of, for instance, 4:1 ([0079]).
With respect to claim 29, Jialanella discloses that all the components of the A-side are combined in a single composition, and that all the components of the B-side are combined in a single composition, and then the compositions are combined ([0056], [0079]) (i.e., a ready-for-use kit where the components A and B are packaged in two separate compartments).
Conclusion
/STEVEN A RICE/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787