DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the receiving a list of one or more second networks, in order of decreasing priority, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard, the “or” language, the condition would also not occur and the step or function claimed would never be realized, hence the claim does not require to perform the step or function. See Ex parte Katz, 2011 WL 514314, at 4-5 (BPAI Jan. 27, 2011, 2011 WL 1211248 at 2 (BPAI Mar. 25, 2011); see also In re Johnston, 435 f.3d 1381, 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2006)( "optional elements do not narrow the claim because they can always be omitted”). “Or” conditions are not limitations against which prior art must be found. Under the broadest scenario, the steps or functions dependent on the “or” condition would not be invoked, and such, the Examiner is not required to find these limitations in the prior art in order to render the claim anticipated. In re Am. Acad. Of Sci. Tech Ctr., 367 f.3d 1359, 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5-18, 22-28, 31-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification does not originally support and inadequately describes the network selection procedure includes receiving a list of one or more second networks, in order of decreasing priority, to be used in the disaster condition, refrain from removing the second network from a list of networks forbidden to the UE when the second network is on the list of networks forbidden to the UE, and perform a priority network search when the UE is roaming according to a periodicity associated with performing the priority network search when the UE is roaming. According to the specification, like paragraphs 125 and 128, the UE receives the list of one or more second networks, in order of decreasing priority, before receiving an indication that a disaster condition is associated with a first network to which the UE is registered and also before the network selection procedure begins. A simple statement such as “Applicant has not pointed out where the new (or amended) claim is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim limitation ‘____’ in the application as filed.” is sufficient where the claim is a new or amended claim, the support for the limitation is not apparent, and applicant has not pointed out where the limitation is supported. See Hyatt v. Dudas, 492 F.3d 1365, 1370, 83 USPQ2d 1373, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (holding that “[MPEP] § 2163.04 [subsection] (I)(B) as written is a lawful formulation of the prima facie standard for a lack of written description rejection.”)
Claims 9 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 33 are confusing since claims 1, 33 state that list of one or more second networks are in order of decreasing priority, how then be in an order in which the UE attempts to register on the at least one network is based at least in part on roaming information associated with the set of networks?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 8, 17, 18, 22, 24, 26, 27, 28, 31-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2023/0254677 (Park, et al) in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0182854 (Kim, et al).
Park, et al discloses a method of wireless communication performed by an apparatus of a user equipment (UE, figure 1, #100a-f), comprising receiving an indication that a disaster condition is associated with a first network (#300) to which the UE (#100a-f) is registered (figures 7, 8, #S700, S820, ¶237-243) and performing a network selection procedure based at least in part on receiving the indication (#S710,S720). Receiving a list of one or more second networks, in order of decreasing priority, to be used in the disaster condition (¶237-243). Park, et al does not disclose the network selection procedure includes receiving a list of one or more second networks to be used in the disaster condition and the list is received via the one or more second networks. Kim, et al teach a network selection procedure includes receiving a list of one second networks to be used in the disaster condition and the list is received via the one or more second networks for the purpose of that a communication service is impossible due to a communication disaster in the first PLMN, and the base station of the second PLMN temporarily transmits information of the first PLMN on behalf of the first PLMN according to a pre-configured policy and operator command, note figures 13 a,b, ¶203, 205-208, 210-214, 220, 233, 234, 243, 244. Hence, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the use of a network selection procedure includes receiving a list of one second networks to be used in the disaster condition and the list is received via the one or more second networks for the purpose of that a communication service is impossible due to a communication disaster in the first PLMN, and the base station of the second PLMN temporarily transmits information of the first PLMN on behalf of the first PLMN according to a pre-configured policy and operator command, as taught by Kim, et al, in the method of wireless communication performed by an apparatus of a user equipment (UE) of Park, et al in order to accept the access for providing the disaster roaming service of the UE requesting access and the range of the disaster roaming service that can be provided (e.g., a basic voice call and a specific service, etc.).
Regarding claims 5, 24, 27, note ¶7, 147-165, 169-173, figures 5 and 6 in Park, et al and figures 5, 6, ¶123, 124, 128, 168-220, in Kim, et al.
Regarding claims 7, 26, 33, note ¶74, 150, 154, etc., figure 6, in Park, et al.
Regarding claims 8, 32, note ¶167, 185, 192, etc. in Park, et al.
Regarding claims 17, 28 , note ¶52-53, 76, 181, etc. in Park, et al and ¶26, 31, 312, etc. in Kim, et al.
Regarding claim 18, note ¶7, 147-165, 169-173, figures 5 and 6 in Park, et al and figures 5, 6, ¶123, 124, 128, 168-220, in Kim, et al.
Regarding claim 22, this claim is an apparatus version of the method claims since both are claiming the same functions, hence, this claim is rejected for the same reason. Also note figure 4 in Park, et al and figure 15 in Kim, et al.
Regarding claim 34, note ¶176-176, 181-183, 187-188 in Park, et al.
Regarding claim 35, note ¶213-214 in Kim, et al.
Regarding claim 36, note ¶167, 197-201 in Kim, et al.
Regarding claim 31, note ¶243-246 in Kim, et al
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claim(s) 2, 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2023/0254677 (Park, et al) in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0182854 (Kim, et al) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO 2020/102831 (Xiang, et al).
Park, et al in view of Kim, et al discloses all subject matter, note the above paragraphs, except for performing a legacy network selection procedure of claims 2 and 23. Xiang, et al teaches performing a legacy network selection procedure for the purpose of if a network cannot provide communications service to its users due to certain events (e.g., disasters (such as fire, earthquake, inclement weather, etc.), oversubscribed services due to too many users (such as concerts, special events, and so on), and so forth), the amount of time that users are out of communications services and the additional impact on other networks would minimize, note figure 8, #808, pages 10, lines 21-24. Hence, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the use of performing a legacy network selection procedure for the purpose of if a network cannot provide communications service to its users due to certain events (e.g., disasters (such as fire, earthquake, inclement weather, etc.), oversubscribed services due to too many users (such as concerts, special events, and so on), and so forth), the amount of time that users are out of communications services and the additional impact on other networks would minimize, as taught by Xiang, et al, in the method of wireless communication performed by an apparatus of a user equipment (UE) of Park, et al in view of Kim, et al in order to have network selection priority comprising at least one of a service for the UE, a subscription level of the UE, a current time of day, an expected service time and period, a trigger event restriction, or services offered by the one or more networks.
Regarding claims 6, 25, page 1, lines 18-23, page 8, line 27 to page 9, line 27 in Xiang, et al.
Regarding claim 9, note page 11, lines 22-29, page 13, lines 3-28. Page 17, lines 9-16, etc. in Xiang, et al.
Regarding claim 10, note page 4, line 7-18, page 10, lines 13-26, page 11, lines 15-22, in Xiang, et al.
Regarding claim 11, note page 1, line 25 to page 2, line 28, in Xiang, et al.
Regarding claim 12, note paragraph 7 above and also, page 13, lines 23-28 in Xiang, et al.
Regarding claim 14, note page 15, lines 22-32, in Xiang, et al.
Regarding claim 15, note page 8, line 27 to page 9, line 10, in Xiang, et al.
Regarding claim 16, note title, page 8, line 28 to page 11, line 14, in Xiang, et al.
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2023/0254677 (Park, et al) in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0182854 (Kim, et al) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of CN 1039806180.
Park, et al in view of Kim, et al discloses all subject matter, note above paragraphs, except for the set of networks includes multiple networks, and an order in which the UE attempts to register on the at least one network is randomized.
CN 1039806180 teaches the use of a set of networks includes multiple networks, and an order in which the UE attempts to register on the at least one network is randomized for the purpose of a fast search method for public land mobile network, note translation ¶8, 15, 41, and claims 1 and 5. Hence, it whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the use set of networks includes multiple networks, and an order in which the UE attempts to register on the at least one network is randomized in the method of wireless communication performed by an apparatus of a user equipment (UE) of Park, et al in view of Kim, et al in order for the maximum possible shorten the time of the new network is registered successfully, or terminal registration network is reduced to a certain degree by the network the possibility of rejection.
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 and 22-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicants have not presented any substantive arguments directed separately to the patentability of the dependent claims or related claims in each group, except as will be noted in this action. In the absence of a separate argument with respect to those claims, they now stand or fall with the representative independent claim. See In re Young, 927 F.2d 588, 590, 18 USPQ2d 1089, 1091 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The USPTO will not accept requests for consideration under the AFCP 2.0 filed after December 14, 2024.
If applicants wish to request for an interview, an "Applicant Initiated Interview Request" form (PTOL-413A) must be submitted to the Examiner prior to the interview in order to permit the Examiner and since Applicant had already an interview, a Supervisory Patent Examiner who must approve such a second interview, to prepare in advance for the interview and to focus on the issues to be discussed. This form should identify the participants of the interview, the proposed date of the interview, whether the interview will be personal, telephonic, or video conference, and should include a brief description of the issues to be discussed. A copy of the completed "Applicant Initiated Interview Request" form should be attached to the Interview Summary form, PTOL-413 at the completion of the interview and a copy should be given to applicant or applicant's representative.
If Applicants request an interview after this final rejection, prior to the interview, the intended purpose and content of the interview should be presented briefly, in writing. Such an interview may be granted if the examiner is convinced that disposal or clarification for appeal may be accomplished with only nominal further consideration. Interviews merely to restate arguments of record or to discuss new limitations which would require more than nominal reconsideration or new search will be denied.
WILLIAM D. CUMMING
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2645
/WILLIAM D CUMMING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645