DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment and RCE filed, 01 August 2025, of application filed, with the above serial number, on 15 May 2023 in which claims 1, 3, 4, 13 have been amended. Claims 1-5, 7-13 are pending in the application.
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Content of Specification
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION: See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be placed at the top of the first page of the specification unless the title is provided in an application data sheet. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS: See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT: See MPEP § 310.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT. See 37 CFR 1.71(g).
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM: The specification is required to include an incorporation-by-reference of electronic documents that are to become part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application. See 37 CFR 1.77(b)(5) and MPEP § 608.05. See also the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System posted on the USPTO website (https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2019LegalFrameworkPES.pdf) and MPEP § 502.05
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR. See 35 U.S.C. 102(b) and 37 CFR 1.77.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(c). The specification should set forth the Background of the Invention in two parts:
(1) Field of the Invention: A statement of the field of art to which the invention pertains. This statement may include a paraphrasing of the applicable U.S. patent classification definitions of the subject matter of the claimed invention. This item may also be titled “Technical Field.”
(2) Description of the Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98: A description of the related art known to the applicant and including, if applicable, references to specific related art and problems involved in the prior art which are solved by the applicant’s invention. This item may also be titled “Background Art.”
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(d). A brief summary or general statement of the invention as set forth in 37 CFR 1.73. The summary is separate and distinct from the abstract and is directed toward the invention rather than the disclosure as a whole. The summary may point out the advantages of the invention or how it solves problems previously existent in the prior art (and preferably indicated in the Background of the Invention). In chemical cases it should point out in general terms the utility of the invention. If possible, the nature and gist of the invention or the inventive concept should be set forth. Objects of the invention should be treated briefly and only to the extent that they contribute to an understanding of the invention.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S): See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74.
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(g). A description of the preferred embodiment(s) of the invention as required in 37 CFR 1.71. The description should be as short and specific as is necessary to describe the invention adequately and accurately. Where elements or groups of elements, compounds, and processes, which are conventional and generally widely known in the field of the invention described, and their exact nature or type is not necessary for an understanding and use of the invention by a person skilled in the art, they should not be described in detail. However, where particularly complicated subject matter is involved or where the elements, compounds, or processes may not be commonly or widely known in the field, the specification should refer to another patent or readily available publication which adequately describes the subject matter.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS: See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i) - (p).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE: See 37 CFR 1.72 (b) and MPEP § 608.01(b). The abstract is a brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole, as concise as the disclosure permits, in a single paragraph preferably not exceeding 150 words, commencing on a separate sheet following the claims. In an international application which has entered the national stage (37 CFR 1.491(b)), the applicant need not submit an abstract commencing on a separate sheet if an abstract was published with the international application under PCT Article 21. The abstract that appears on the cover page of the pamphlet published by the International Bureau (IB) of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the abstract that will be used by the USPTO. See MPEP § 1893.03(e).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING: See 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 and MPEP §§ 2421 - 2431. The requirement for a sequence listing applies to all sequences disclosed in a given application, whether the sequences are claimed or not. See MPEP § 2422.01.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Para. 137 describes multiple times “the technical between…”. Further, the phrase “in some embodiments” is repeated in virtually every paragraph at least once and appears to be a translation error as it is not clear which embodiments each variation occurs, each and every embodiment further comprising hundreds of other embodiment possibilities results in an infinite disclosure that is indefinite. Para. 121 is duplicative of para. 119. The intrinsic properties in par. 84-87, 89 and/or 149-152, 154 are repeated as technical properties in par. 91-95 and/or 156-160. Similar with 185-189 and 191-195.
As an example, Par. 136 recites “In some embodiments, the digital communication protocol is a connectionless, digital communication protocol. In some embodiments, the digital communication protocol comprises a connectionless, digital communication protocol. In some embodiments, the digital communication protocol is a connection-oriented, digital communication protocol. In some embodiments, the digital communication protocol comprises a connection-oriented, digital communication protocol.”
As can be seen, the sentences are repetitive in nature, swapping ‘is’ for ‘comprises’, or stating that a connectionless, digital communication protocol comprises a connectionless, digital communication protocol. Other paragraphs have similar issues and are thus not short and specific.
The specification amendments amend the description to have ‘a plurality of devices (11, 12, 13,…23)’ while also adding ‘a plurality of appliances (11, 12, 13,…23)’
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “(11, 12, 13,…23)” has been used to designate both appliances and devices. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The specification is requested to be cleaned up of these minor informalities.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the (1) device database and (2) the method, including steps of loading, selecting, retrieving, transmitting, applying and producing, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laughton et al (hereinafter “Laughton”, 2022/0303339) in view of Reichl (hereinafter “Reichl”, 2020/0226223).
As per Claim 1, Laughton discloses a method of configuring a site comprising a plurality of devices including a plurality of site controllers, a plurality of sensors, and a plurality of appliances, the method comprising:
loading descriptor data for the plurality of appliances and/or for the plurality of sensors (at least paragraph 37; the building management platform analyzes descriptive information describing an entity);
selecting a first device from the plurality of appliances and/or the plurality of sensors (at least paragraph 44-46; device(s) new digital representations collected (devices being …sensors and/or appliances);
retrieving first descriptor data for the first device from the device database (at least paragraph 37; building management platform analyzes descriptive information describing an entity to extract semantic information describing one or more attributes of the entity. For example, the building management platform may execute a natural language processing (NLP) algorithm on descriptive information associated with an embedded building controller to extract a name and/or identifier for the building controller);
selecting a second device from the plurality of appliances and/or from the plurality of sensors (at least paragraph 44-46; device(s) new digital representations collected (devices being …sensors and/or appliances);
retrieving second descriptor data for the second device from the device database (at least paragraph 37; building management platform analyzes descriptive information describing an entity to extract semantic information describing one or more attributes of the entity. For example, the building management platform may execute a natural language processing (NLP) algorithm on descriptive information associated with an embedded building controller to extract a name and/or identifier for the building controller);
loading an ontology database comprising a set of rules applicable to the first device and to the second device (at least paragraph 37, 43, 77; the building management platform analyzes descriptive information describing an entity to extract semantic information describing one or more attributes of the entity; the building management platform may ingest and interpret external data sources (e.g., BIM data, enterprise management data, personnel data, etc.), extract semantic information from external data sources; one or more rules associated with a building management system…[f]or example, cloud building management platform 140 may generate an equipment template for a piece of HVAC equipment specifying one or more attributes of the HVAC equipment (e.g., tags associated with the HVAC equipment, normal operating ranges of the HVAC equipment, an operational schedule for the HVAC equipment, etc.));
producing relationship data indicative of a relationship between the first device and the second device by applying at least one of the rules of the set of rules of the ontology database to the first descriptor data and to the second descriptor data (at least paragraph 44, 69, 77, 133; an entity graph is a data structure representing entities (e.g., spaces, equipment, people, events, etc.) and relationships between the entities; cloud building management platform 140 may retrieve a number of data points that are related to a first data point (e.g., through a relationship tag, etc.) and may use the number of data points to generate a location tag for the first data point (e.g., a tag associating the first data point with a space such as a room, etc.); analyzing received data to determine relationships between various entities. For example, cloud building management platform 140 may determine that thermostat 2004 is located in room 2002 because thermostat 2004 measured a temperature increase corresponding to what would be expected based on operation of a HVAC system during step 2010. In some embodiments, step 2030 includes generating data to fill in gaps in an existing data analytics model (e.g., a digital representation of room 2002, etc.). For example, cloud building management platform 140 may generate relationship data (e.g., a tag, etc.) describing a location of a sensor for an existing sensor that is missing a location);
selecting a third device from the plurality of site controllers based on the relationship data (at least paragraph 78, 82; cloud building management platform 140 may perform a “BACnet scan” to retrieve identifiers associated with one or more building controllers located in a building. At step 214, cloud building management platform 140 may perform semantic extraction on the descriptive data to identify one or more attributes of the entity.; cloud building management platform 140 may monitor a temperature sensor associated with a room (e.g., located within the room, etc.). At step 460, cloud building management platform 140 may determine whether the sensor measurements align with expected behavior. For example, cloud building management platform 140 may compare an expected covariance of the sensor measurements and the change in the environmental variable to an actual covariance of the sensor measurements and the change in the environmental variable. At step 470 (YES), cloud building management platform 140 may determine the tag is valid. For example, cloud building management platform 140 may automatically close the blinds in a room, may measure (e.g., via a camera, etc.) an amount of ambient light in the room, and may determine whether a controller for the blinds is mapped to the correct room within a building model based on observing that the amount of ambient light in the room decreases in response to the blinds being closed);
producing a first set of configuration data based on the relationship data (at least paragraph 61; Dynamic analysis circuit 154 may perform one or more actions and generate configuration information based on the one or more actions. For example, dynamic analysis circuit 154 may adjust a temperature setpoint associated with a space, monitor a temperature sensor associated with the space, and update a device configuration of the temperature sensor based on the monitoring; par. 106: cloud building management platform 140 may automatically update the incorrect tag or automatically update a device configuration of a device associated with the first data point to address the anomaly. For example, cloud building management platform 140 may update tag included in a building model to change a data point from being associated with a first space to being associated with a second space; par. 112: cloud building management platform 140 may update a building model to tag data point 1210 with one or more tags based on a selected configuration 1220 according to the associated parameters 1224. As another example, cloud building management platform 140 may update a machine learning model based on user feedback to increase an accuracy of future configuration suggestions. In some embodiments, a user selection of a “Reanalyze” option may cause cloud building management platform 140 to reanalyze information associated with data point 1210 (e.g., context information, etc.) to generate one or more new configurations 1220);
producing a second set of configuration data based on the relationship data (at least paragraph 61; Dynamic analysis circuit 154 may perform one or more actions and generate configuration information based on the one or more actions. For example, dynamic analysis circuit 154 may adjust a temperature setpoint associated with a space, monitor a temperature sensor associated with the space, and update a device configuration of the temperature sensor based on the monitoring; par. 106: cloud building management platform 140 may automatically update the incorrect tag or automatically update a device configuration of a device associated with the first data point to address the anomaly. For example, cloud building management platform 140 may update tag included in a building model to change a data point from being associated with a first space to being associated with a second space; par. 112: cloud building management platform 140 may update a building model to tag data point 1210 with one or more tags based on a selected configuration 1220 according to the associated parameters 1224. As another example, cloud building management platform 140 may update a machine learning model based on user feedback to increase an accuracy of future configuration suggestions. In some embodiments, a user selection of a “Reanalyze” option may cause cloud building management platform 140 to reanalyze information associated with data point 1210 (e.g., context information, etc.) to generate one or more new configurations 1220);
producing a third set of configuration data based on the relationship data (at least paragraph 61; Dynamic analysis circuit 154 may perform one or more actions and generate configuration information based on the one or more actions. For example, dynamic analysis circuit 154 may adjust a temperature setpoint associated with a space, monitor a temperature sensor associated with the space, and update a device configuration of the temperature sensor based on the monitoring; par. 106: cloud building management platform 140 may automatically update the incorrect tag or automatically update a device configuration of a device associated with the first data point to address the anomaly. For example, cloud building management platform 140 may update tag included in a building model to change a data point from being associated with a first space to being associated with a second space; par. 112: cloud building management platform 140 may update a building model to tag data point 1210 with one or more tags based on a selected configuration 1220 according to the associated parameters 1224. As another example, cloud building management platform 140 may update a machine learning model based on user feedback to increase an accuracy of future configuration suggestions. In some embodiments, a user selection of a “Reanalyze” option may cause cloud building management platform 140 to reanalyze information associated with data point 1210 (e.g., context information, etc.) to generate one or more new configurations 1220);
transmitting the first set of configuration data to the first device; transmitting the second set of configuration data to the second device; transmitting the third set of configuration data to the third device (at least paragraph 110, 114; cloud building management platform 140 to update a device configuration associated with entity 1320);
applying the first set of configuration data to the first device;
applying the second set of configuration data to the second device; and
applying the third set of configuration data to the third device (at least paragraph 110, 78; a user may select one of configurations 1220 to indicate that the user wishes to apply the selected configuration to data point 1210).
Laughton fails to explicitly disclose a device database storing the descriptor data. However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of Reichl. Reichl discloses, in an analogous building equipment management art, building equipment including a controller and field device database storing descriptions of components and field devices (at least paragraph 5, 36, 51-56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of Reichl’s device database with Laughton as device databases are well known in the building management art, and Reichl teaches configuring and installing building equipment being much easier for a technician when they have all devices and descriptions of devices stored and retrievable and to ensure the devices being connected and installed are configured correctly and compatible with the controller (at least paragraph 42-43, 93, 63).
As per Claim 2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first device comprises an appliance (at least paragraph 2, 46-47; appliance- water heater, HVAC, appliances etc; Building management platforms may include entities such as controllers, sensors, or water heaters deployed within a space; [remainder of claim elements as disclosed and mapped in claim 1]).
As per Claim 3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the second device comprises a sensor (at least paragraph 2, 46-47; sensor- sensor; Building management platforms may include entities such as controllers, sensors, or water heaters deployed within a space; [remainder of claim elements as disclosed and mapped in claim 1]).
As per Claim 4. The method according to claim 1, the method comprising producing the first set of configuration data based on the relationship data and based on the first descriptor data (at least paragraph 61; Dynamic analysis circuit 154 may perform one or more actions and generate configuration information based on the one or more actions. For example, dynamic analysis circuit 154 may adjust a temperature setpoint associated with a space, monitor a temperature sensor associated with the space, and update a device configuration of the temperature sensor based on the monitoring; par. 106: cloud building management platform 140 may automatically update the incorrect tag or automatically update a device configuration of a device associated with the first data point to address the anomaly. For example, cloud building management platform 140 may update tag included in a building model to change a data point from being associated with a first space to being associated with a second space; par. 112: cloud building management platform 140 may update a building model to tag data point 1210 with one or more tags based on a selected configuration 1220 according to the associated parameters 1224. As another example, cloud building management platform 140 may update a machine learning model based on user feedback to increase an accuracy of future configuration suggestions. In some embodiments, a user selection of a “Reanalyze” option may cause cloud building management platform 140 to reanalyze information associated with data point 1210 (e.g., context information, etc.) to generate one or more new configurations 1220).
As per Claim 5. The method according to claim 1, further comprising producing the first set of configuration data based on the relationship between the first device and/or the second device as indicated by the relationship data and based on the first descriptor data and based on the second descriptor data (at least paragraph 61; Dynamic analysis circuit 154 may perform one or more actions and generate configuration information based on the one or more actions. For example, dynamic analysis circuit 154 may adjust a temperature setpoint associated with a space, monitor a temperature sensor associated with the space, and update a device configuration of the temperature sensor based on the monitoring; par. 106: cloud building management platform 140 may automatically update the incorrect tag or automatically update a device configuration of a device associated with the first data point to address the anomaly. For example, cloud building management platform 140 may update tag included in a building model to change a data point from being associated with a first space to being associated with a second space; par. 112: cloud building management platform 140 may update a building model to tag data point 1210 with one or more tags based on a selected configuration 1220 according to the associated parameters 1224. As another example, cloud building management platform 140 may update a machine learning model based on user feedback to increase an accuracy of future configuration suggestions. In some embodiments, a user selection of a “Reanalyze” option may cause cloud building management platform 140 to reanalyze information associated with data point 1210 (e.g., context information, etc.) to generate one or more new configurations 1220).
As per Claim 7. The method according to claim 1, further comprising producing the relationship data by applying two or more of the rules of the set of rules of the ontology database to the first descriptor data and to the second descriptor data (at least paragraph 44, 69, 77, 133; an entity graph is a data structure representing entities (e.g., spaces, equipment, people, events, etc.) and relationships between the entities; cloud building management platform 140 may retrieve a number of data points that are related to a first data point (e.g., through a relationship tag, etc.) and may use the number of data points to generate a location tag for the first data point (e.g., a tag associating the first data point with a space such as a room, etc.); analyzing received data to determine relationships between various entities. For example, cloud building management platform 140 may determine that thermostat 2004 is located in room 2002 because thermostat 2004 measured a temperature increase corresponding to what would be expected based on operation of a HVAC system during step 2010. In some embodiments, step 2030 includes generating data to fill in gaps in an existing data analytics model (e.g., a digital representation of room 2002, etc.). For example, cloud building management platform 140 may generate relationship data (e.g., a tag, etc.) describing a location of a sensor for an existing sensor that is missing a location).
As per Claim 8. The method according to claim 1, further comprising: loading data indicative of a building information model of the site; producing the building information model of the site from the data indicative of the building information model of the site (at least paragraph 34, 43; generate a building information model (BIM); the building management platform may ingest and interpret external data sources (e.g., BIM data, enterprise management data, personnel data, etc.), extract semantic information from external data sources, dynamically determine configuration information, automatically enrich digital representations with derived information, and/or generate digital representations for spaces); and producing the relationship data indicative of a relationship between the first device and the second device by applying the building information model of the site and at least one of the rules of the set of rules of the ontology database to the first descriptor data and to the second descriptor data (at least paragraph 44, 69, 77, 133; an entity graph is a data structure representing entities (e.g., spaces, equipment, people, events, etc.) and relationships between the entities; cloud building management platform 140 may retrieve a number of data points that are related to a first data point (e.g., through a relationship tag, etc.) and may use the number of data points to generate a location tag for the first data point (e.g., a tag associating the first data point with a space such as a room, etc.); analyzing received data to determine relationships between various entities. For example, cloud building management platform 140 may determine that thermostat 2004 is located in room 2002 because thermostat 2004 measured a temperature increase corresponding to what would be expected based on operation of a HVAC system during step 2010. In some embodiments, step 2030 includes generating data to fill in gaps in an existing data analytics model (e.g., a digital representation of room 2002, etc.). For example, cloud building management platform 140 may generate relationship data (e.g., a tag, etc.) describing a location of a sensor for an existing sensor that is missing a location).
As per Claim 9. The method according to claim 1, further comprising: loading data indicative of a building information model of the site; producing the building information model of the site from the data indicative of the building information model of the site; producing an extended ontology database comprising a set of rules by merging the ontology database and the building information model of the site (at least paragraph 34, 43; generate a building information model (BIM); the building management platform may ingest and interpret external data sources (e.g., BIM data, enterprise management data, personnel data, etc.), extract semantic information from external data sources, dynamically determine configuration information, automatically enrich digital representations with derived information, and/or generate digital representations for spaces); and producing the relationship data indicative of a relationship between the first device and the second device by applying at least one of the rules of the set of rules of the extended ontology database to the first descriptor data and to the second descriptor data (at least paragraph 44, 69, 77, 133; an entity graph is a data structure representing entities (e.g., spaces, equipment, people, events, etc.) and relationships between the entities; cloud building management platform 140 may retrieve a number of data points that are related to a first data point (e.g., through a relationship tag, etc.) and may use the number of data points to generate a location tag for the first data point (e.g., a tag associating the first data point with a space such as a room, etc.); analyzing received data to determine relationships between various entities. For example, cloud building management platform 140 may determine that thermostat 2004 is located in room 2002 because thermostat 2004 measured a temperature increase corresponding to what would be expected based on operation of a HVAC system during step 2010. In some embodiments, step 2030 includes generating data to fill in gaps in an existing data analytics model (e.g., a digital representation of room 2002, etc.). For example, cloud building management platform 140 may generate relationship data (e.g., a tag, etc.) describing a location of a sensor for an existing sensor that is missing a location).
As per Claim 10. The method according to claim 1, the site comprising a configuration controller having a memory storing the data indicative of the ontology database (at least paragraph 78, 120; building controllers; cloud building management platform 140 may be able to generate a more accurate model of a space if data from a HVAC controller serving the space became available and may generate a suggestion to configure the HVAC controller so that cloud building management platform 140 may use the data), the method further comprising: the configuration controller selecting the first device from the plurality of appliances and/or from the plurality of sensors; the configuration controller producing the first descriptor data for the first device; the configuration controller selecting the second device from the plurality of appliances and/or from the plurality of sensors; the configuration controller producing the second descriptor data for the second device; the configuration controller loading data indicative of the ontology database from the memory; the configuration controller producing the relationship data by applying at least one of the rules of the set of rules of the ontology database to the first descriptor data and to the second descriptor data; the configuration controller selecting the third device from the plurality of site controllers based on the relationship data; the configuration controller producing the third set of configuration data based on the relationship data; the configuration controller transmitting the third set of configuration data to the third device using a digital communication bus and a digital communication protocol; and the third device applying the third set of configuration data, the third device thereafter using the third set of configuration data in operation of the third device (at least paragraph 37, 43-47, 77; building management platform with controller(s) performing [remainder of claim elements as disclosed and mapped in claim 1]).
As per Claim 11. The method according to claim 10, the memory storing data indicative of the building information model of the site, the method further comprises: the configuration controller loading the data indicative of the building information model of the site from the memory; the configuration controller producing the building information model of the site from the data indicative of the building information model of the site; and the configuration controller producing the relationship data indicative of a relationship between the first device and the second device by applying the building information model of the site and at least one of the rules of the set of rules of the ontology database to the first descriptor data and to the second descriptor data (at least paragraph 34, 43; building platform controller generates a building information model (BIM); the building management platform may ingest and interpret external data sources (e.g., BIM data, enterprise management data, personnel data, etc.), extract semantic information from external data sources, dynamically determine configuration information, automatically enrich digital representations with derived information, and/or generate digital representations for spaces).
As per Claim 12. The method according to claim 1, further comprising: the third device deriving a set of proportional and integral parameters from the third set of configuration data; and the third device thereafter using the set of proportional and integral parameters to perform site control (at least paragraph 36-38, 44, 60, 64, 67; ie. root cause analysis using machine learning model and using feedback).
Claim 13 does not, in substance, add or define any additional limitations over claim 1 and therefore is rejected for similar reasons, supra.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01 August 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the specification objections, the arguments are not persuasive and only responsive to two of the three paragraphs/ issues that were presented. Further, while ‘is’ and ‘comprises’ are understood to have slightly different meanings, the specification is not claim language and the objection is directed toward much of the specification being written in substance, in claim form.
See above section (j): “The description should be as short and specific as is necessary to describe the invention adequately and accurately. Where elements or groups of elements, compounds, and processes, which are conventional and generally widely known in the field of the invention described, and their exact nature or type is not necessary for an understanding and use of the invention by a person skilled in the art, they should not be described in detail.”
Applicant argues that Laughton par. 37 describes a building management platform analyzing descriptive information of entities, there is no ‘database’ storing the recited descriptive information.
However, the specification recites
[0034] Generation of descriptor data typically involves a device database. In other words, a device descriptor is selected from a device database for a given device. The device database can, by way of non-limiting example, be a list of devices, the list specifying ports and/or addresses and/or control modes to be employed.
Thus, the loading of a device database as claimed in claim 1 is a loaded list of devices and their associated descriptive data. Laughton teaches a building with a plurality of entities including sensors, the building management platform analyzing (by loading) entity/device data and attributes of the entity. It is inherent or at least implied that the entities and devices and attributes are stored in a database or memory in order to be retrieved to be analyzed. However, in the interest of advancing the application, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on Reichl for the device database limitation, see above revised rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GREGORY TODD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443