DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The instant application with Application Number 18/253,045 filed on 05/16/2023 is presented for examination. As per the remarks of 05/16/2023 claims 1-10 are amended. Claims 1-10 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statment
The Information Disclosure Statements dated 05/16/2023 is acknowledged and the cited references have been considered in this examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda et al. (US 5, 545,046) (Hereinafter, Masuda) in view of Wang et al. (CN 207368343).
With respect to claim 1, Masuda discloses a charging socket (Fig. 1, 1; col. 3, lines 51-55) for mounting in a body of an at least partially electrically driven motor vehicle (Fig. 7, vehicle 104: Col. 3, lines 50-53) comprising a housing (Fig. 1, 11 or fig. 4, 14); at least one contact element (Fig. 4, contact element 21 and 19) accommodated in the housing (Fig. 4, housing 14), and at least one fastening region (Fig. 4, fastening or multiple bolts 15) formed on the housing (Fig. 4, 14) configured to fasten the charging socket (Fig. 4, 16) to the body of the motor vehicle (col. 3, lines 62-64) wherein the housing (Fig. 4, 14).
Masuda, does not expressly disclose wherein the housing comprises the metal material at least in a region of the at least one fastening region.
Wang, on the other hand, discloses the housing comprises the metal material at least in a region of the at least one fastening region (Para. # 0042: Please refer to Figures 3 to 5 and Figure 7. The first metal housing 13 is also symmetrically arranged; Fig. 3-5 and 7).
MASUDA and Wang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor namely charging connector for electric vehicle.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the housing comprising metal material or made with metals to the charging connector of Masuda in view of Wang for the benefit of having a good shielding effect (see Abstract), good durability and strong metal enclosure often offers a high level of security.
With respect to claim 2, the combined references of Masuda and Wang disclose the charging system as described above, Masuda further discloses wherein the at least one fastening region (Fig. 4, fastening or multiple bolts 15) has at least one receiving opening (Fig. 4, 19-fitting recess or receiving part).
Claims 3-10, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda and Wang as described above, further in view of Meier (US 20130335021).
With respect to claim 3, the combined references of Masuda and Wang disclose the charging system as described above, Masuda further discloses wherein the housing (Fig. 4, 14) has at least one insert (Fig. 4, 19/21) in the housing part (Fig. 4, 14); and further Wang discloses comprising the metal material is connected to the at least one insert (Para. # 0042).
But, both references, Masuda and Wang do not expressly disclose the housing comprising a plastic material.
Meier, on the other hand, discloses housing also made of different materials such as flexible plastic (Para. # 0011).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the housing comprising plastic material to the charging connector of Masuda in view of Wang for the benefit of avoiding an arrangement that is excessively rigid, and therefore a risk of fracture (Para. # 0011).
With respect to claim 4, the combined references of Masuda, Wang and Meier disclose the charging system as described above, further Meier discloses the at least one housing part in a force-fitting and/or form-fitting and/or bonded manner (Para. # 0008, 0009: the housing is to be fit to the adapter and a plug is fit to the housing).
With respect to claim 5, the combined references of Masuda, Wang and Meier disclose the charging system as described above, further Masuda discloses housing part is injection-molded onto the at least one insert (Col. 3, lines 65-67: housing portion can be provided as an integral molded structure).
With respect to claim 6, the combined references of Masuda, Wang and Meier disclose the charging system as described above, further Masuda discloses the part (insert) is arranged between a first housing part (Fig. 4, 14), and a second housing part (Fig. 4, 18:outer wall).
With respect to claim 7, the combined references of Masuda, Wang and Meier disclose the charging system as described above, further Masuda discloses one insert (Fig. 4, 18) has a larger outer circumferential surface than an outer circumferential surface of the at least one housing part (Fig. 4, 14).
With respect to claim 8, the combined references of Masuda, Wang and Meier disclose the charging system as described above, further Wang discloses wherein the at least one insert is-comprises a punched and bent part (Para. # 0049 and 0051: conductive terminal 12 and a pair of bent portions 173).
With respect to claim 9, the combined references of Masuda, Wang and Meier disclose the charging system as described above, further Wang discloses wherein the at least one insert (115) has a frame shape (Para. # 0011: first metal shell... wrapped around the first insulating body, a mounting frame protruding outward).
With respect to claim 10, the combined references of Masuda, Wang and Meier disclose the charging system as described above, further Wang discloses wherein the housing is entirely comprised of from the metal material (Para. # 0013: protective cover is connected to the first metal housing).
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/YALKEW FANTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859