DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II claims 5-7 and 9-11, in the reply filed on 11/25/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
Claims 9-11 are newly added.
The claims 1-4 and 8 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (US 2014/;0072493 A1), and in view of Liu et al. (CN 103055930 B, Machine-generated (PE2E) English translation is attached).
Regarding claim 5, Kato et al. teach a catalyst for exhaust gas purification comprising precious metals and oxide mixture of ZrO2 (5% mass of zirconia)([0200]), 94% mass of alumina as the instant claim ([0067] and [02000]) supported on a three-dimension structure of a refractory inorganic oxide supported on the catalyst (three-dimensional structure) such as zeolite (ZSM-5) ([0089]-[0090]) or three-dimensional structure honeycomb carrier ([0127]-[0131] and [0148]).
Although Kato et al do not specifically a content 3-14% mass of phosphorus oxide as per applicant claim 5, Liu et al. teach a catalyst composite comprising Al2O3 and about 1-5 mass% of phosphorus oxide which is encompassed by the instant claimed ranges of 3-14% mass in terms of PO4 (Table 1 and claims 1-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine phosphorus oxide taught by Liu et al. in the composite taught by Kato et al. to obtain the invention as specified in the claim 5, motivated by the fact that it has a higher degree of dispersion at the same time adjusting the acidity of the catalyst, thereby improving the activity, selectivity and prolongs the service life of the catalyst ([0019]).
Since both of Kato et al. and Liu et al. teach alumina supported precious metals, one would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, as discussed above, the combined references of Kato et al and Liu et al teach precious metals of Pt, Pd, and a mass ratio of the Pt to Pd is preferably 1:1 (Kato et al., [0085]).
Regarding claim 7, the metal oxide have diameter <10 nm which is encompassed by the instant claimed rages determined by X-ray diffractometry ([0054]).
Although the combined references of Liu et al. and Kato et al. do not specifically disclose using a CuKα as per applicant claim 7, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to choose a ray for XRD measurement including CuKα ray as the instant claim.
Regarding claim 9, as discussed above, the catalyst composite taught by Kato et al. comprises 5% mass of zirconia and more ([0200]), 94% mass of alumina, % zirconia (Kato et al. ([0200]), and about 1-5 mass% of phosphorus oxide (Liu et al. Table 1). As such, the combined references of Kato et al. and Liu et al. teach the instant claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 10, since the combined reference of Liu et al. and Kato et al. teach all of the claimed reagents and composition, the physical properties of the resulting composition (i.e., an amount of desorbed NH3 in an ammonia TPD measurement is 43-150 µmol/g of Al-P composite oxide, etc.) would necessarily follow as set forth in MPEP 2112.01(II).[1]
Regarding claim 11, the specific surface area taught by the combined references of Kato et al. and Liu et al. is 80-380 m2/g which overlaps the instant claimed ranges.
The references differ from Applicant's recitations of claims by not disclosing identical ranges (170-300 m2/g). However, the reference discloses "overlapping" ranges or “close” range, and overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
YUN . QIAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1732
/YUN QIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738
[1][1] “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).