1. Claims 1 – 8 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1 – 3) in the reply filed on 12/19/2025 is acknowledged.
3. Claims 4 – 8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/19/2025.
Priority
4. This application claims priority to application KR10-2020-0153718.
5. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/16/2023, 08/30/2024, 04/01/2025, 07/10/2025, and 10/30/2025 are acknowledged. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
7. The drawings submitted on 05/16/2023 are acknowledged.
Specification
8. The use of the term Triton X-100 and Matrigel, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claim 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
10. Claim 2 contains the trademark/trade name Triton X-100. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a detergent and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
11. Claim 3 recites a concentration of PEM in the scaffold but claim 1 does not recite any components other than the PEM. Therefore, claim 3 implies the presence of additional components in the scaffold or that the PEM is in a particular form (solution or gel) but the claim lacks antecedent basis for any additional components of the scaffold or the form of the PEM.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
12. Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a naturally occurring pancreas extracellular matrix without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) pancreas extracellular matrix which is not shown to differ from that in nature.
The Office published Office's new guidance document entitled 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, published January 7, 2019. Applicant is directed to the Federal Register, Volume 4, No. 4, pages 50-57 at page 74621.
Step 1 of the USPTO' s eligibility analysis entails considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The claims are directed to a composition of matter (step 1, Yes).
Step 2A of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance is a two-prong inquiry. In Step 2A Prong One, examiners evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception. The composition of matter (pancreas extracellular matrix) is directed to a natural phenomenon (Step 2A, prong 1, Yes). Because the claim recites a nature-based product limitation (pancreas extracellular matrix), the markedly different characteristics analysis is used to determine if the nature-based product limitation is a product of nature exception. The claim also recites “scaffold”, however, the Applicant’s specification teaches that the pancreas extracellular matrix is a scaffold (page 6, para. 24; page 13, para. 72; page 14, para. 76). As Applicant’s specification teaches the term “extracellular matrix” refers to a natural scaffold for cell growth that is prepared by decellularization of tissue found in mammals and multicellular organisms (page 8, para. 46), the claim recites a natural product. The markedly different characteristics analysis is performed by comparing the nature-based product limitation in the claim to its naturally occurring counterpart to determine if it has markedly different characteristics from the counterpart. Here, the closest natural counterpart is naturally occurring pancreas extracellular matrix. When the claimed pancreas extracellular matrix is compared to this counterpart, the comparison indicates that there are no differences in structure, function or other characteristics. Further, the claimed pancreas extracellular matrix is not markedly different from the natural counterpart as a result of decellularization as Wan (Wan, Jian, et al. BioMed research international 2017.1 (2017): 4276928.) teaches decellularized pancreas maintained its original shape and the integrity of the microstructure were largely preserved with the decellularized pancreas possessing a microstructure similar to the native pancreas (page 4, left col. last para and right col. para. 2; Figure 1 and 4). Wan teaches the decellularized pancreas scaffold were implanted into animals where they retained their appearance and texture and cells permeated through the scaffold (page 4, right col. last para.). Therefore, the claimed pancreas extracellular matrix is a product of nature exception and recites a judicial exception.
In Step 2A Prong Two, examiners evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. Besides the judicial exception, the claim recites the judicial exception is “for culture and transplantation of a pancreatic organoid”. An evaluation of whether this limitation is insignificant extra-solution activity is then performed. Note that because Step 2A Prong Two analysis excludes consideration of whether a limitation is well-understood, routine, conventional activity, this evaluation does not take into account whether or not the limitation is well-known. When so evaluated, this additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity because this limitation is an intended use of the judicial exception and Wan teaches transplantation of a decellularized pancreas scaffold where cells permeated in the scaffold (page 4, right col. last para.). The claim does not recite any specific form of the pancreas extracellular matrix of any additional components that distinguish the claimed pancreas extracellular matrix from its naturally occurring counterpart. Therefore, the intended use of the claimed pancreas extracellular matrix fails to meaningfully limit the claim because it is at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception. Accordingly, the intended use does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is therefore directed to the judicial exception (Step 2A, prong 2, No).
In Step 2B, the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements adds an inventive concept into the claim. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the claim recites an intended use, which is at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception. Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim also recites “a scaffold” containing the judicial exception but Applicant’s specification teaches the judicial exception is a scaffold and Wan teaches the naturally occurring decellularized pancreas is a scaffold for cells (page 4, right col. last para.; page 3, right col. last para.; page 7, left col. last para. and right col. para. 1). At Step 2B, the evaluation of the insignificant extra-solution activity consideration takes into account whether or not the extra-solution activity is well-known. Here, recitation of “scaffold” and “pancreas extracellular matrix” is recited at a high level of generality with no additional components recited or recitation of the judicial exception in a form that distinguishes it from the natural counterpart. Thus, recitation of “scaffold” and the intended use does not amount to significantly more and does not provide an inventive concept (Step 2B: No).
Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product' s structure, function, and/or other properties. In accordance with this analysis, a product that is purified or isolated, for example, will be eligible when there is a resultant change in characteristics sufficient to show a marked difference from the product' s naturally occurring counterpart. If the claim recites a nature-based product limitation that does not exhibit markedly different characteristics, the claim is directed to a ‘‘product of nature” exception (a law of nature or naturally occurring phenomenon), and the claim will require further analysis to determine eligibility based on whether additional elements add significantly more to the exception.
Limitations that were found not to be enough to qualify as ‘‘significantly more” when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include: Adding the words ‘‘apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer; simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry; adding insignificant extrasolution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea; or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
In the instant case, the limitations of the claim does not impose limits on the claim scope such that they are not markedly different in structure from a naturally occurring product.
Claim Interpretation
13. For the purpose of applying prior art, claim 2 is interpreted as the scaffold containing PEM because Applicant’s specification defines “extracellular matrix” as “a natural scaffold for cell growth that is prepared by decellularlization of tissue found in mammals and multicellular organisms” (page 8, para. 46). The limitation “by treating a pancreatic tissue with a mixed solution of Triton X-100 and ammonium hydroxide” is interpreted as a product-by-process limitation in which determination of patentability is based on the product itself and does not depend on its method of production (see MPEP 2113 (II)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
14. Claim(s) 1 – 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang (Jiang, K., et al. "Biomaterials 198 (2019): 37-48.), hereinafter Jiang.
Claim 1 is drawn to a scaffold for culture and transplantation of a pancreatic organoid, containing a pancreas extracellular matrix (PEM).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Jiang teaches a scaffold for culturing islets comprising porcine decellularized pancreas ECM that was prepared by treating pancreas tissue with Triton X-100 and ammonium hydroxide (page 38, left col. last para. and right col. para. 1 – 3; page 39, right col. para. 2; Figure 3, 5, 7).
Regarding claim 3, Jiang teaches the concentration of porcine decellularized ECM is 1 mg/mL (page 39, right col. para. 2; Figure 3).
Therefore, Jiang anticipates claim 1 – 3.
15. Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Orlando (US-20220305175-A1; Filed 05/08/2020; Published 09/29/2022), hereinafter Orlando.
Claim 1 is drawn to a scaffold for culture and transplantation of a pancreatic organoid, containing a pancreas extracellular matrix (PEM).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Orlando teaches a scaffold comprising decellularized pancreatic extracellular matrix and pancreatic cells (page 7, 0104 – 0111; page 8, 0121; Figure 2, 3, 6).
Therefore, Orlando anticipates claims 1 and 2.
16. Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frenguelli (WO2019122351; Filed 12/21/2018; Published 06/27/2019), hereinafter Frenguelli, which is cited on the IDS filed 10/30/2025.
Claim 1 is drawn to a scaffold for culture and transplantation of a pancreatic organoid, containing a pancreas extracellular matrix (PEM).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Frenguelli teaches a scaffold comprising decellularized pancreas extracellular matrix, a cellulose-based bioink and pancreatic cancer cells for culturing pancreatic cancer cells (page 40, lines 15 – 28; Figure 18).
Therefore, Frenguelli anticipates claims 1 and 2.
17. Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jin (US-20180282699-A1; Filed 12/13/2017; Published 10/04/2018), hereinafter Jin, which is cited on the IDS filed 08/30/2024.
Claim 1 is drawn to a scaffold for culture and transplantation of a pancreatic organoid, containing a pancreas extracellular matrix (PEM).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Jin teaches a scaffold comprising decellularized pancreas extracellular matrix for culturing pancreatic organoids (page 15, 0092 – 0093; page 16, 0097, 0102; page 20, 0137 – 0139; page 22, 0158; Figure 2A, 3A, 3B, 3C, 6B).
Therefore, Jin anticipates claims 1 and 2.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/Z.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1632
/MARCIA S NOBLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632