FINAL ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to papers filed 07/13/2026, in which claims 1-18 were canceled; and claims 19-32 were newly added. All the amendments have been thoroughly reviewed and entered.
Newly submitted claims 30-32 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: The claims previously examined (which are now canceled claims 1-14 and 17-18) were drawn to product claims. Newly added claims 30-32 are drawn to methods of using. Thus, the common technical feature (under Unity of Invention Requirement) among the product of newly added claims 19-29 and the methods of newly added claims 30-32 is the composition of claim 19. This common technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Ortais et al (US 2020/0360889 A1), in which Ortais teaches the identical composition comprising microcapsules, each microcapsule comprising at least one active substance; and a shell surrounding the core, the shell comprising a biodegradable poly(beta-amino ester) (PBAE), and wherein the PBAE is a reaction product of at least one acrylate monomer and at least one amine monomer (Ortais: Abstract; [0015]-[0162]; Examples 1-18; claims 1-20). With respect to the indentation force at break as recited in claim 19, as discussed above, Ortais the structural the same composition as recited in claim 19 and thus, the indentation force at break properties are inherent to the structurally same composition of Ortais. It is noted that "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. As such, the product of newly added claims 19-29 and the methods of newly added claims 30-32 lack unity of invention.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 30-32 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claims 19-29 are under examination.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The Examiner has re-weighted all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Maintained-Modified Objection
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: Figs 10-12 of the replacement sheet from the Drawings filed on 07/13/2026 are not consistent with the descriptions provided for Figs 10-12 in the specification (see specification, pages 21-22). Figs 10-12 of the Drawings does not match with the descriptions of Figs 10-12 in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) to provide accurate descriptions of FIG(s) 10-12 (without introducing new matter) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Applicant had submitted “a complete set of replacement drawing sheets containing all figures of the application and corrected figure numbering throughout the drawing set.” (Remarks, page 6, last paragraph to page 7).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. While Applicant have provided replacement sheet of the Drawings in which the drawings are now in chronological order with the including of Fig(s) 18-23, the replacement sheet of Drawings filed on 07/13/2026 remained deficient for the reason that Figs 10-12 of the replacement sheet from the Drawings filed on 07/13/2026 are not consistent with the descriptions provided for Figs 10-12 in the specification. See objection to Drawings, page 4 of this office action. Accordingly, the Drawings filed on 07/13/2026 stands objected.
New Objection
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of “the amine monomer is selected from the group consisting of …, and polymers comprising primary amines groups, secondary amine groups, or both” is an improper Markush language. When materials recited in a claim are so related as to constitute a proper Markush groups, they may be recited in the conventional manner, or alternatively. For example, if “wherein R is a material selected from the group consisting of A, B, C and D” is a proper limitation, then “wherein R is A, B, C or D” shall also be considered proper. Appropriate correction is required.
New Rejections
Necessitated by Applicant’s Claim Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 20, the recitation of “or both” in the Markush group recited in claim 20 renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear what amine monomer is encompassed by “both.” Is “both” referencing to primary amine groups and secondary amine groups, or a different set of amine monomers recited in claim 20. Clarification by amendment in claim 20 is required.
Regarding claim 21, the recitation of “a molar ratio of amino functional groups to acrylate functional groups is greater than 1” renders claim 21 indefinite because claim 21 is dependent from the composition of claim 19, yet claim 19 does not recite any structure drawn to “amine functional group” and “acrylate functional groups”. Thus, it is not clear if the molar ratio is to the amino functional groups and acrylate functional groups that could be part of the composition or is the molar ratio is to the amino functional groups and acrylate functional groups that are part of the PBAE. Note that PBAE in claim 19 is drawn to containing acrylate monomer and amine monomer, and not amino functional groups and acrylate functional groups. Clarification by amendments in claim 19 or 21 is required.
As a result, claims 20 and 21 do not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of patent protection desired.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ortais et al (US 2020/0360889 A1).
Regarding claims 19 and 23-25, Ortais teaches a composition comprising microcapsules containing an active substance, wherein the shell wall of the microcapsules is formed from poly(beta-amino ester), and wherein the poly(beta-amino ester) microcapsules are formed by an addition reaction of amine functional groups (amine monomer) on acrylate functional groups (acrylate monomer) (reaction known as “Michael addition”), by interfacial polymerization (Abstract; [0015]-[0162]; Examples 1-18; claims 1-20). Ortais teaches poly(beta-amino ester) is known to be biodegradable ([0017]).
With respect to the indentation force at break properties as recited in claims 19 and 23-25, as discussed above, Ortais teaches structurally the same composition comprising structurally the same microcapsules with biodegradable shell comprising poly(beta-amino ester) as recited in claim 19. Given that the microcapsule of Ortais being structurally the same as the microcapsule of claim 19, the indentation force at break properties as recited in claims 19 and 23-15 are considered inherent to the structurally same microcapsule with biodegradable shell made of poly(beta-amino ester) of Ortais because identical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. It is noted that "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Regarding claim 20, Ortais teaches the amine is selected from the group consisting of: primary amines of the type R—NH2; primary diamines of the type NH2(CH2)nNH2, where n is between 1 and 20; primary diamines comprising an aromatic center; primary (multi)amines; secondary diamines; and polymers having primary and/or secondary amine functions ([0039]-[0048] and [0078]-[0085]; claim 5).
Regarding claim 21, Ortais teaches the molar ratio of amine/acrylate is 1.6, 2, or 3.5 ([0108], [0114], [0118], [0152], [0155], [0157], and [0160]).
Regarding claim 22, Ortais teaches the shell of the microcapsule can be modified with a polymer coating, addition of a radical initiator, or reaction of residual amine functions on the surface with water soluble monofunctional acrylates in order to modify the surface state of the microcapsules ([0052]-[0054], [0093]-[0094], [0162]; claims 9 and 17).
Regarding claim 26, Ortais teaches the amine monomer includes aromatic diamine ([0044]; Example 17; claim 5).
Regarding claim 27, Ortais teaches the shell comprises a crosslinked PBAE formed using a multi-functional acrylate monomer having at least three acrylate functional groups ([0020], [0073]-[0086]; Examples 1-18; claims 1-5 and 10).
Regarding claim 28, Ortais teaches the shell further contains residual amine groups on the surface of the shell ([0054] and [0095]).
Regarding claim 29, Ortais teaches the microcapsules are washed prior to incorporation into the composition ([0027], [0110], [0150], and [0161]).
As a result, the aforementioned teachings from Ortais are anticipatory to claims 19-29 of the instant invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Below is the Examiner’s response to Applicant’s arguments as they pertain to the pending 102 rejection.
Applicant argues:
“the record does not establish inherency. Ortais discloses a broad genus of microcapsules encompassing numerous compositional and structural variations. Critical structural parameters that affect mechanical properties-including crosslink density, shell morphology, monomer selection, monomer ratios, shell thickness, and processing conditions-are not disclosed in a manner that would establish the specific force ranges now required by the claims.
Moreover, Ortais does not disclose any relationship between capsule structure and indentation force at break, nor does Ortais recognize or characterize capsule behavior in terms of fragile, brittle, or unbreakable mechanical regimes. Indeed, the present application identifies distinct fragile, brittle, and unbreakable mechanical regimes based on indentation force at break, whereas Ortais contains no comparable characterization of its disclosed microcapsules.
The reference does not disclose, measure, or discuss indentation force at break and therefore does not establish that the claimed force ranges are necessarily present.” (Remarks, pages 9-10).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. As discussed above in the standing 102 rejection, Ortais particularly teaches microcapsules having poly(beta-amino ester) shell wall. See claims 1-20 of Ortais. Thus, Ortais teaches structurally the same microcapsules as claimed in claim 19. Applicant is noted that claim 19 is not particularly limited as claim 19 is drawn to broadly to microcapsules comprising shell wall comprising a biodegradable poly(beta-amino ester) in which the poly(beta-amino ester) can be formed by any variety of acrylate monomers and amine monomers, wherein the microcapsule has an indentation force at break in the broad range from as low as less than 300 µN to as high as greater than 5,000 µN. This broad range for the indentation force at break can read on any core-shell microcapsule.
As such, as discussed above in the standing 102 rejection, it is maintained that Ortais teaches structurally the same composition comprising structurally the same microcapsules with biodegradable shell comprising poly(beta-amino ester) as recited in claim 19. Given that the microcapsule of Ortais being structurally the same as the microcapsule of claim 19, the indentation force at break properties as recited in claims 19 and 23-15 are considered inherent to the structurally same microcapsule with biodegradable shell made of poly(beta-amino ester) of Ortais because identical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. It is noted that "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Accordingly, the 102 rejection based on the teachings from Ortais is proper.
As a result, for at least the reason discussed above, claims 19-29 stand rejected as being anticipated by the teachings from Ortais.
Claim(s) 19-20 and 23-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al (WO 2020/009439 A1; citation and English translation via US 2021/0138423 A1).
Regarding claims 19 and 23-25, Park teaches a composition comprising microcapsules having a biodegradable shell containing poly(β-amino ester), wherein the microcapsules contains an active ingredient, and wherein the poly(β-amino ester) is formed from polymerization reaction of an acrylate such as a diacrylate with an amine such as diamine or polyethyleneimine (Abstract; [0009]-[0364]; claims 1-17).
With respect to the indentation force at break properties as recited in claims 19 and 23-15, as discussed above, Park teaches structurally the same composition comprising structurally the same microcapsules with biodegradable shell comprising poly(beta-amino ester) as recited in claim 19. Given that the microcapsule of Park being structurally the same as the microcapsule of claim 19, the indentation force at break properties as recited in claims 19 and 23-15 are considered inherent to the structurally same microcapsule with biodegradable shell made of poly(beta-amino ester) of Park because identical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. It is noted that "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Regarding claim 20, as discussed above, Park teaches the poly(β-amino ester) is formed from polymerization reaction of an acrylate such as a diacrylate with an amine such as diamine or polyethyleneimine.
Regarding claim 26, Park teaches the amine include an aromatic amine ([0062]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 27, Park teaches the poly(β-amino ester) is a crosslinked formed from polymerization reaction of a multi-functional acrylate having 3 or 4 acrylate functional groups ([0090]-[0094]).
As a result, the aforementioned teachings from Park are anticipatory to claims 19-20 and 23-27 of the instant invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Below is the Examiner’s response to Applicant’s arguments as they pertain to the pending 102 rejection.
Applicant argues:
“Park does not disclose measuring indentation force at break and does not classify microcapsules according to the claimed force ranges.
Rather, Park discusses capsule strength, elasticity, and fracturability in the context of obtaining desired release characteristics. Park teaches that mechanical behavior may be modified through changes in capsule composition and structure. Thus, Park treats mechanical performance as a design parameter that may be controlled and adjusted depending upon the intended application. Park expressly recognizes that capsule mechanical properties may be tailored for different applications, confirming that such properties are variable and formulation-dependent rather than fixed characteristics of all embodiments.
Park expressly contemplates modification and optimization of capsule strength and therefore recognizes that mechanical behavior is variable and dependent upon formulation and structural design. A property that may be varied and optimized to achieve a desired result is not a property that is necessarily present in all embodiments. Inherency requires that a claimed characteristic be necessarily present, whereas Park teaches that capsule strength depends upon selected materials, structural features, and processing choices. Accordingly, the Office Action has not established that the specific indentation-force-at-break ranges now recited in claim 19 are inherently present in the microcapsules disclosed by Park.
Indeed, Park demonstrates that mechanical behavior depends upon capsule
construction and structural design. The reference links performance to wall architecture, reinforcement mechanisms, composition, and other design considerations. Thus, Park recognizes that capsules having similar general compositions may nevertheless exhibit substantially different mechanical behavior.” (Remarks, pages 10-11).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. As discussed above in the standing 102 rejection, Park particularly teaches microcapsules having a shell wall containing poly(beta-amino ester). See at least claim 1 of Park. Thus, Park teaches structurally the same microcapsules as claimed in claim 19. It is reiterated that claim 19 is not particularly limited as claim 19 is drawn to broadly to microcapsules comprising shell wall comprising a biodegradable poly(beta-amino ester) in which the poly(beta-amino ester) can be formed by any variety of acrylate monomers and amine monomers, wherein the microcapsule has an indentation force at break in the broad range from as low as less than 300 µN to as high as greater than 5,000 µN. This broad range for the indentation force at break can read on any core-shell microcapsule.
As such, as discussed above in the standing 102 rejection, it is maintained that Park teaches structurally the same composition comprising structurally the same microcapsules with biodegradable shell comprising poly(beta-amino ester) as recited in claim 19. Given that the microcapsule of Park being structurally the same as the microcapsule of claim 19, the indentation force at break properties as recited in claims 19 and 23-15 are considered inherent to the structurally same microcapsule with biodegradable shell made of poly(beta-amino ester) of Park because identical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. It is noted that "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Accordingly, the 102 rejection based on the teachings from Park is proper.
As a result, for at least the reason discussed above, claims 19-20 and 23-27 stand rejected as being anticipated by the teachings from Park.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Little et al (US 2005/0244504 A1) in view of Ortais et al (US 2020/0360889 A1).
Regarding claims 19 and 23-25, Little teaches a drug delivery system comprising biodegradable microparticles encapsulating a drug, wherein the poly(beta-amino esters) forms the shell or matrix of the microparticles (Abstract; [0008]-[0014], [0086]-[0155], [0159]-[0181]). Little teaches the microparticles is modified with a polymeric coating ([0010]).
While Little teaches the use of poly(beta-amino esters) in forming a shell of the microcapsule as being an alternative method of forming the microparticles, it would have been obvious to produce microparticles of Little as core-shell microparticles in which the shell is formed of poly(beta-amino esters) in view of the guidance from Ortais.
Ortais teaches a composition comprising microcapsules containing an active substance, wherein the shell wall of the microcapsules is formed from poly(beta-amino ester), and wherein the poly(beta-amino ester) microcapsules are formed by an addition reaction of amine functional groups (amine monomer) on acrylate functional groups (acrylate monomer) (reaction known as “Michael addition”), by interfacial polymerization (Abstract; [0015]-[0162]; Examples 1-18; claims 1-20). Ortais teaches poly(beta-amino ester) is known to be biodegradable ([0017]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the microparticles of Little such that the poly(beta-amino esters) is used in forming the shell so as to provide a core-shell microcapsule/microparticle, and produce the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Little suggested that the microparticles can be formed in which poly(beta-amino esters) is found in the shell of the microparticles, where Ortais provides the guidance and motivation for use of poly(β-amino ester) as part of the shell of the microcapsules provide a resultant microcapsule with increased mechanical strength. Thus, an ordinary artisan seeking to provide core-shell microcapsules/microparticles with an appropriate mechanical strength would have looked to modifying the microparticles of Little such that the poly(beta-amino esters) is used in forming the shell so as to provide a core-shell microcapsule/microparticle, and achieve Applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
With respect to the indentation force at break properties as recited in claims 19 and 23-25, as discussed above, Little in view of Ortais teach structurally the same composition comprising structurally the same microcapsules with biodegradable shell comprising poly(beta-amino ester) as recited in claim 19. Given that the microcapsule of Little in view of Ortais being structurally the same as the microcapsule of claim 19, the indentation force at break properties as recited in claims 19 and 23-15 are considered implicit to the structurally same microcapsule with biodegradable shell made of poly(beta-amino ester) of Little in view of Ortais because identical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. It is noted that "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. It is further noted that [w]here the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 20, Little teaches the amine is selected from primary amines, primary diamines, secondary diamines, and polyamines ([0012] and [0105]-[0185]). Ortais teaches the amine is selected from the group consisting of: primary amines of the type R—NH2; primary diamines of the type NH2(CH2)nNH2, where n is between 1 and 20; primary diamines comprising an aromatic center; primary (multi)amines; secondary diamines; and polymers having primary and/or secondary amine functions ([0039]-[0048] and [0078]-[0085]; claim 5).
Regarding claim 21, Little teaches the molar ratio of amine/acrylate is 1.4 ([0252] and [0265]). Ortais teaches the molar ratio of amine/acrylate is 1.6, 2, or 3.5 ([0108], [0114], [0118], [0152], [0155], [0157], and [0160]).
Regarding claim 22, as discussed above, Little teaches the microparticles is modified with a polymeric coating ([0010]). Ortais teaches the shell of the microcapsule can be modified with a polymer coating, addition of a radical initiator, or reaction of residual amine functions on the surface with water soluble monofunctional acrylates in order to modify the surface state of the microcapsules ([0052]-[0054], [0093]-[0094], [0162]; claims 9 and 17).
Regarding claim 26, Ortais teaches and provides guidance for the amine monomer to include aromatic diamine ([0044]; Example 17; claim 5).
Regarding claim 27, Ortais teaches and provides guidance for the shell to comprise a crosslinked PBAE formed using a multi-functional acrylate monomer having at least three acrylate functional groups ([0020], [0073]-[0086]; Examples 1-18; claims 1-5 and 10).
Regarding claim 28, Ortais teaches and provides guidance for the shell to further contains residual amine groups on the surface of the shell ([0054] and [0095]).
Regarding claim 29, Ortais teaches and provide guidance for the microcapsules to be washed prior to incorporation into the composition ([0027], [0110], [0150], and [0161]).
From the teachings of the reference, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention, as evidenced by the reference, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments on page 12 of the Remarks filed 07/13/2026 with respect to the 103 rejection are not persuasive and moot in view of the new 103 rejection over Little and Ortais.
Applicant also noted that Little and Ortais teach microcapsules having poly(beta-amino ester) shell wall. See 103 rejection, page 16-18 of this office action, said pages being incorporated herein its entirety. Thus, Little in view of Ortais teaches structurally the same microcapsules as claimed in claim 19. Applicant is noted that claim 19 is not particularly limited as claim 19 is drawn to broadly to microcapsules comprising shell wall comprising a biodegradable poly(beta-amino ester) in which the poly(beta-amino ester) can be formed by any variety of acrylate monomers and amine monomers, wherein the microcapsule has an indentation force at break in the broad range from as low as less than 300 µN to as high as greater than 5,000 µN. This broad range for the indentation force at break can read on any core-shell microcapsule.
As such, as discussed above in the pending 103 rejection, it is maintained that Little in view of Ortais teach structurally the same composition comprising structurally the same microcapsules with biodegradable shell comprising poly(beta-amino ester) as recited in claim 19. Given that the microcapsule of Little in view of Ortais being structurally the same as the microcapsule of claim 19, the indentation force at break properties as recited in claims 19 and 23-15 are considered implicit to the structurally same microcapsule with biodegradable shell made of poly(beta-amino ester) of Little in view of Ortais because identical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. It is noted that "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. It is further noted that [w]here the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Accordingly, the 103 rejection based on the teachings from Little and Ortais are proper to render obvious Applicant’s claimed invention.
As a result, for at least the reason discussed above, claims 19-29 remain rejected as being obvious and unpatentable over the combined teachings of Little and Ortais in the pending 103 rejection as set forth in this office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 19-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11654410.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the Patent ‘410 significantly overlap with the subject matter of instant claims, i.e., the claims in the Patent ‘410 being a method of making microcapsules, but the microcapsules obtained are the same microcapsules with a biodegradable shell made of poly(beta-amino ester) as the instant claims. Thus, the structurally the same microcapsule from Patent ‘410 would inherently exhibit the instantly claimed indentation force at break because that "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
It is noted that permitting claims to a method of making a compound could essentially result in an unjustified timewise extension of the period of exclusivity for the compound itself and thus, the "[n]onstatutory Double Patenting Rejection Based on Equitable Principles" should be considered.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instant claimed subject matter over U.S. Patent No. 11654410.
Claims 19-29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18251744 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the copending application ‘744 significantly overlap with the subject matter of instant claims, i.e., the claims in the copending application ‘744 being a product-by-process or a method of making microcapsules, but the microcapsules obtained are the same microcapsules with a biodegradable shell made of poly(beta-amino ester) as the instant claims. Thus, the structurally the same microcapsule from copending application ‘744 would inherently exhibit the instantly claimed indentation force at break because that "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
It is noted that permitting claims to a method of making a compound could essentially result in an unjustified timewise extension of the period of exclusivity for the compound itself and thus, the "[n]onstatutory Double Patenting Rejection Based on Equitable Principles" should be considered.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instant claimed subject matter over copending Application No. 18251744.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues by requesting “that consideration of the nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejections be deferred until the substantive issues of patentability raised in the present Office Action have been resolved.” (Remarks, page 13).
In response, the double patenting rejections over U.S. Patent No. 11654410 and copending Application No. 18251744 are maintained for the reasons of record, pending filing of a terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOAN T PHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613